BBB Accredited Business since

Malek Service

Phone: (979) 776-2222 Fax: (979) 776-2282 View Additional Phone Numbers 10464 State Highway 30, College Station, TX 77845 http://www.malekservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Malek Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Malek Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 1992 Business started: 12/01/1989 Business started locally: 12/01/1989 Business incorporated 12/01/1989 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
www.license.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
The number is TACLA009262C.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Angela K. Malek, Vice President Mr. Brant Malek, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Angela K. Malek, Vice President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
MSC Mechanical, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers heating, ventilation, air conditioning, refrigeration sales, service, maintenance, installation, construction and general repairs.


Additional Locations

  • 10464 State Highway 30

    College Station, TX 77845 (979) 776-2222 (979) 776-2285 (979) 446-0296

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am requesting a refund of $189.00 for inadequate repair work. I contacted Malek for a problem that we were having with a rental property in Bryan, TX. The renters stated that one room was significantly hotter then the rest of the house. On 06/08/2014 a repairman from Malek came to the house. After inspecting the system he contacted me via telephone and stated that he had moved a holding strap that was slightly pinching the duct work, however he stated that he did not feel that this was going to completely fix the issue. He stated that the main problem was that the duct work to that room was the longest stretch in the house and that it also came off the main box at a 90 degree angle vs. the rest of the house came off straight. His recommendation was to leave the door open as much as possible and to shave 1" off of the bottom of the door to that room to assist with circulation. He went on to say that, other then those things, the next option would be to replace that stretch of ductwork at a cost of $800-$1000. A week went by and the renters were still complaining that the room was too hot. Before spending up to $1000 to replace the ductwork on a 7 years old house I elected to call out another company for a second opinion. The new company, ********, came out and found that there was a damper closed on that stretch of ductwork. They opened the damper and the renters noticed an immediate improvement in airflow and stated the room became noticeably cooler within an hour. That afternoon I called to speak with someone at Malek. ****** returned my message and explained that their repairman had stated he could not find a damper on that duct and that he would discuss with his higher ups regarding a possible refund. The following day ****** called and stated that he could not refund my money because I elected to call out another company instead of calling Malek back. I explained to ****** that I did not call them back as I was already told what the next option was, an unnecessary $1000 repair. ****** stated that he would talk again to his bosses regarding my complaint. Several days went by in which I left messages and approximately 3 days later ****** again called back. He again reiterated that they were unable to refund my money since I did not call them back out when the room continued to be hot. He also stated that the repairman had opened the damper but, "the nut must have loosened and it slid closed again". I asked why the story had changed regarding the damper and ****** stated that he misunderstood the repairman the first time. I am requesting a refund of my $189.00 for an inadequate repair. I feel that this company is attempting to charge people for unnecessary repair work and are defensive because they were caught. They charged me for a strap that did not need to be moved and attempted to get me to carry out further unnecessary expensive repairs when the problem was easily and quickly fixed by another company. An honest company would admit their mistake and apologize by refunding my money for services that were inadequate and unnecessary.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $189.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response: Business provided a refund check.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to fix repeated issues with new air conditioner units. Facility had countless visits and issues not resolved in 12 month warranty period. Malek Services was selected to install new heating and cooling units at our new restaurant. From the very first day of operations the air conditioning units did not work properly. Maleck repeatedly sent technicians to address the problems but failed to fix the units. We had concern that the ******* units were not installed properly and the repeated service issues under warranty would have long term implications on the compressors and life of the units. We had serious concerns regarding the competence of the technicians and learned they had made some mistakes following the manufacture's specifications. One technician admitted that he did not read the manual and the thermostats had to be rewired. We would have different technicians from Malek try different procedures but still would not resolve the issues. Malek made dozens of service calls the first few months and said the major issue was we did not have enough AC tonnage. We called our architect and the MEP who designed the AC plans and they both claimed there design was right for the size of our facility. Their plans called for 35 tons of AC for our 5100 sq ft facility. Our architect said his plans was for 10 tons more of AC than the prior restaurant required. When we told our architect and MEP that Malek said we needed 10 tons more of AC, they said the additional units were not necessary and there was a problem with the installation. I called ******************************, a GC that specializes in building restaurants, and the owner of that company felt we did not need more AC and he questioned the competence of the installation. ********** sent their AC specialist to our restaurant and he reported the airflow in our bar was just 250 cfm and by design should have been 400 cfm. The********** technician also felt the units were located too close to each other and the compressors were working too hard. We also called another local AC company and met with ******* the owner of ***************. He felt the duct work installed was not the proper size for our needs. Meanwhile, my restaurant continued to have customer and employee complaints about the high temperature inside the restaurant. One Saturday night the thermostats read 86 degrees in the bar and customers were leaving. We met again with the owner and technician from Malek and they said we needed more AC. I had spent more than $85,000 on 35 tons of air conditioning and my customers, employees and business were suffering because it was too hot inside my restaurant. Malek recommended we add a two-stage AC unit but the installation would require taking down all the acoustic ceiling tiles in our main dining room and cause us to close our operations for a day. He suggested another option of installing wall mounted split units that would not require the duct work. While the MEP and architect faulted Malek and felt our restaurant was designed with sufficient tonnage, I decided the blame game between them was not serving my customers and best interest of my business. I needed immediate relief and reluctantly spent another $30,000 on the new units. The additional AC helped the bar area but we still had issues in other parts of the restaurant. Last weekend, we again had major AC problems and dining room temperature reached 82 degrees. Customers were fanning themselves. We called Malek again but they said our warranty had just expired and we would have to pay them to look at our units. To add insult to injury, they told my managing partner they wanted a check or credit card payment before they would do the diagnostic check. Without question, they failed to warrant their work and provide what any reasonable person would call quality work. When we spent over $115,000 on air conditioning a small restaurant, we should expect our customers and employees to be comfortable. This is an embarrassing reflection on the company's integrity and credibility.

Desired Settlement: Fix the **** units and have it verified by the manufacture and an independent HVAC company that the units are working properly and all duct work installed to MEP plans. ALSO, Malek would be required to compensate me for he costs of independent contractors evaluating their installation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response: The Original MEP Plan called for (2) ***** 10 Ton Split Systems with a small amount of Strip Heat and (2) ***** 7.5 Ton Heat Pump Split Systems with no auxiliary back up heat. That is exactly what we installed. The systems at full load capacity could not keep up with the building load. Modifications were made and even the engineer suggestions were completed. There simply wasn’t enough capacity for the load. Later we were hired to install (2) ***** 3 Ton Mini Split Cool Only systems over the bar area and (1) ***** 1.5 Ton Min Split Cool system over the entrance door. This giving a total of 42.5 Tons of cooling. The building was holding desired cooling temperatures, and you were satisfied with the results in the heat of the summer. We upheld our warranty obligation for (1) year and responded to every service request or concern. The heating problem during winter months is due to lack of heat design. The Heat Pump systems have no auxiliary heat strips to offset the defrost cycle. Which means when the units go into defrost mode they go into full cooling during winter months. Your engineer specified the chosen equipment on the plans. There are several maintenance issues that “can and will” adversely affect the building cooling capability; 1. Outdoor condensing coils—Currently they are restricted with grease and grime. This will not allow them to condense gas into liquid. Which will greatly decrease the BTU capacity. 2. Make up air fans—Belts broken or loose. Filters restricted will affect the amount of exhaust air pulling out conditioned air. This already happened once last year, almost to the exact date. 3. Attic Insulation—The lack of. 4. Attic Ventilation—The lack of. On June 27, 2014 we were called out because the dining was not cooling. The technician found the outdoor coils too dirty and offered to clean them. He was told y’all would clean them. On July 1, 2014 we were called out and again found the outdoor coils extremely dirty. Also told again not to do anything. On July 8, 2014 we were called out due to your people attempting to clean the cols; they ran a screw into the coil causing the refrigerant to leak out. This repair invoice is still due. Only July 25, 2014 our technician was called out after hours to do the dining temperature being too high. The technician verified that all of the a/c equipment was running and the outside units are very dirty and running hot. Since the (1) year labor warranty had expired (July 1, 2014) and our main office was closed for the day; the technician requested a credit card to secure payment. This is common practice for most service providers. We have stood behind our work and responded to each and every concern. But, when the customer ***** jerks the cell phone from the technicians hand, makes inflammatory vulgar remarks, threatens assault to the Malek managers, and owner The technician was in fear of his safety and left the premises. We cannot and will not do business with you or subject our personnel to a hostile environment.

10/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Malek provided an estimate over the telephone of $1,100+/- for repair, after 4 days delay due to parts/repair, they said it was $3,000+/-. Lighting struck house on 9/28, Called Malek out on Sunday for repair, agreeing to emergency call out. They came on Sunday, came back on Monday to determine what parts were needed, told me $1,100 for repair. I asked about another minor repair, it was going to add about $600, so total should be $1700, after 5 days delay, w/ no AC, they told me it would be $3,000 +/-. I asked about the estimate from prior day, they claimed they had told me more, but I wrote down the figures as we discussed and even clearly asked, so for $1,700 everything will be repaired and fixed. After an afirmative, I had authorized them to proceed with parts and repairs on Monday. On Thursday I was told they had told me it would be $3,000. Their representative is a very dishonest person.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for having a dishonest representative of the company lie to me. At any point in the process he could have said, oops, I was wrong in my prior estimate, the total amount is now $x,xxx. But the audacity of the bald faced lying to my face is what ticked me off enough to contact BBB.

Business Response: Initial Business Response: On the initial call on Sunday, September 29, we were told the system wasn't cooling. After diagnosis, a part was found burned and needed to be ordered on Monday, September 30. The part came in on Wednesday, October 2 we went out to install that morning. We were told not to work on it until after 4 PM that day. The technician left and returned later. At that time we were informed the house had been struck by lightning. Electrical surge of this nature can wreck havoc on control circuitry, and it did. Two technicians worked until 10 PM at night going through all of the control components. They had to isolate each of the problems. Again, we had to order more parts and return Friday to correct all of the issues. We apologize for the confusion and inconvenience. Next year, we will be in business for 25 years. I can assure you, we have no interest in being dishonest. A lightning strike is not common in the damages incurred can be overwhelming to both our customer and our technical staff. We are completely capable of correcting any malfunction. But, sometimes by the pure nature of the problem, it can take some time. Please rest assured, our work is guaranteed to complete satisfaction. You have a nice HVAC system and is now operating at its full potential. Final Consumer Response: I did not complain about the workmanship. I complained because your representative told me a price on Monday, then told me that he had told me the price he gave me on Thursday on that Monday. On Monday, he said $1,100 and some change. ON Thursday, the number had swelled to $2,900+/0. By your own letter, stating that there was extra work performed, you support my case in that the number provided on Thursday was not and could not have been provided on Monday. As I have already paid the bill, I am not haggling over price. I asked for an apology. Your Technician told me on Thursday that he had quoted me the $2,900 on Monday, which was a LIE! All I asked for was an apology and admission of this fact, your letter response backs up what I am saying.


Customer Review(s)