BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/05/1990


(979) 446-23933608 Oak Ridge Dr, BryanTX 77802-3424

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/05/1990

BBB has determined that A-1 APPLIANCE & AIR CONDITIONING SERVICE meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A-1 APPLIANCE & AIR CONDITIONING SERVICE's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A-1 APPLIANCE & AIR CONDITIONING SERVICE

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

TERRIBLE Customer Service - Ice Maker
TERRIBLE customer service. The technicial, ****, was unresponsive and after 3 months trying to have him fix a problem that he was paid to fix, i finally moved on and asked my warranty company to find me another company.

I had tenants living in the property and he woiuldn't even give me the courtesy of calling them to set up an appointment. Made me look like a terrible landlord. I never write reviews, but this guy warranted a negative one. Absolutely terrible service.

Desired Settlement
Please take care of my ice maker, or pay me back my service charge.

Business Response:

On 10/21/14 we received a work order from ******************** to check an ice maker and dishwasher located at ************************************ Tx (wo#*********). After inspecting them, I recommended replacing both. NEITHER THE HOMEOWNER NOR TENENT EVER PAID THE $75 SERVICE FEE. *** sent a replacement ice maker and dishwasher. We installed the IM but the DW was installed by another company...we don't accept delivery of and transport appliances. About 2 months later the homeowner called saying the IM quit working and was advised he'd need another wo#. After hearing this he became hostile. Since *** discourages their vendors from returning to a home where hostilities exist, he , again, was told to call his home warranty.

03/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My AC unit has been down since December 2012 and this company has replaced thousands of dollars in parts and still does not work.
In December 2012 this company replaced the entire outside Heat Pump compressor unit. Did not fix problem. They returned and said they needed a hot day to adjust the freon. A month later returned and said it had no freon in the unit. They said it had a bad coil. Coil was replaced finally in February and here it is March 5th, 2013 and the unit still does not work. 3 months is long enough to wait and still not fixed.

Desired Settlement

Business Response: We received an A/C work order from ***** on 12/7/12 for this homeowner, and first scheduled with him on 12/8/12. I had to explain my presence to his tenent, then discovered I had to wade across raw sewage to inspect the outside condenser, due to a damaged septic tank. Discovering it had to be replaced, I advised the tenent that ***** had to approve and order the parts, & that the process usually took 5-7 days before repairs could be done. When I called back to schedule repairs I advised the homeowner that I would need inside access to the thermostat to check the refrigerant levels & he assured me the back door would be unlocked. Since it WAS NOT unlocked, I installed the condenser & removed the old one, still maneuvering around raw waste, intending to check the refrigerant when access was provided. When I returned & started up the system, I discovered the inside evaporator coil also needed replacement. I got approval and parts, then on the day of installation, the temperature dropped below the 70 degrees needed to get a proper charge. This was completed in early March, with warmer weather.
This job was slowed due to lack of communication between homeowner and tenent, and failure 12to unlock doors as needed.

Consumer Response: This is a bunch of hog wash and that is putting it nicely. He could have easily walked around the garage side and not waded through the water (it was NOT raw sewage) while the septic was being replaced. This is a $400k home, not a mobile home!! Every time we attempted to get service he had some excuse like his truck was broken down. Since the writing of this complaint the AC unit went down again and my son called him. He said his truck was down again so again it was 80 degrees in the house. He finally made it out a week ago to repair. As of today the AC unit is operating but this is a warning to everyone that if you want it done correctly and the first time DON'T use this company. I had no choice as the warranty company contracted with this fly by night AC company.

11/03/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/01/1987Business started: 09/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
920 Colorado
Austin, TX 78701
(800) 803-9202

BBB records show a license number of TACLB006239C for this company, issued by Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 03/13/2016. THOMAS, LYNN PAYNE, Air Conditioning/Refrigeration Contractor.

Type: Air Conditioning/Refrigeration Contractor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lynn Thomas (Owner)Ms. Karen L. Thomas (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company is an air conditioning and heating company.

Alternate Business Names
A-1 Air Conditioning & Heating
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions


3608 Oak Ridge Dr

Bryan, TX 77802-3424

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3608 Oak Ridge Dr 

    Bryan, TX 77802-3424(979) 446-2393

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Brazos Valley and Deep East Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.



Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Home Remodeling Contractors

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.