BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/05/1990

A-1 APPLIANCE & AIR CONDITIONING SERVICE

Phone: (979) 446-2393

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My AC unit has been down since December 2012 and this company has replaced thousands of dollars in parts and still does not work.
In December 2012 this company replaced the entire outside Heat Pump compressor unit. Did not fix problem. They returned and said they needed a hot day to adjust the freon. A month later returned and said it had no freon in the unit. They said it had a bad coil. Coil was replaced finally in February and here it is March 5th, 2013 and the unit still does not work. 3 months is long enough to wait and still not fixed.

Desired Settlement
FIX THE AC UNIT!

Business Response: We received an A/C work order from ***** on 12/7/12 for this homeowner, and first scheduled with him on 12/8/12. I had to explain my presence to his tenent, then discovered I had to wade across raw sewage to inspect the outside condenser, due to a damaged septic tank. Discovering it had to be replaced, I advised the tenent that ***** had to approve and order the parts, & that the process usually took 5-7 days before repairs could be done. When I called back to schedule repairs I advised the homeowner that I would need inside access to the thermostat to check the refrigerant levels & he assured me the back door would be unlocked. Since it WAS NOT unlocked, I installed the condenser & removed the old one, still maneuvering around raw waste, intending to check the refrigerant when access was provided. When I returned & started up the system, I discovered the inside evaporator coil also needed replacement. I got approval and parts, then on the day of installation, the temperature dropped below the 70 degrees needed to get a proper charge. This was completed in early March, with warmer weather.
This job was slowed due to lack of communication between homeowner and tenent, and failure 12to unlock doors as needed.


Consumer Response: This is a bunch of hog wash and that is putting it nicely. He could have easily walked around the garage side and not waded through the water (it was NOT raw sewage) while the septic was being replaced. This is a $400k home, not a mobile home!! Every time we attempted to get service he had some excuse like his truck was broken down. Since the writing of this complaint the AC unit went down again and my son called him. He said his truck was down again so again it was 80 degrees in the house. He finally made it out a week ago to repair. As of today the AC unit is operating but this is a warning to everyone that if you want it done correctly and the first time DON'T use this company. I had no choice as the warranty company contracted with this fly by night AC company.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.