BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Glitterati Style, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Glitterati Style, Inc.

Phone: (978) 539-8580 Fax: (978) 745-7776 View Additional Phone Numbers 30 Maple St, Danvers, MA 01923 http://www.glitteratistyle.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Glitterati specializes in woman's evening wear. The company offers brand name designer prom and pageant wear. Collections include gowns, dresses and accessories for Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, formal events, sweet 16 parties and corporate events.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glitterati Style, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Glitterati Style, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Glitterati Style, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 11, 2011 Business started: 08/05/2008 in MA Business incorporated: 08/05/2008 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Katherina Mena, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Katherina Mena, President
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

WOMENS APPAREL-RETAIL FORMAL WEAR-RENTAL & SALES FASHION CONSULTANTS FASHION ACCESSORIES Women's Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448120)

Hours of Operation
M: 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Su: 12:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
PayPal
Online
Alternate Business Names
Glitterati Glitterati Style

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Glitterati Style, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 30 Maple St

    Danvers, MA 01923 (978) 745-7775 (978) 539-8580

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (978) 745-7775(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a prom dress for my daughter which was worn once on May3,2014. When she returned home, 3 rosettes on the front right of the dress had significantly frayed, rendering this $450 dress unwearable. I contacted Glittertati by phone on May 7th, leaving all contact information and was told that I would receive a call back. (I assumed that I would hear back within a day) After receiving no response, I called back again, offering to bring the dress to Glitterati to show, what I clearly thought was a defect, but was told that I did not need to do that, rather, I should send them an email, describing the problem, which I did on May 8th. When I heard nothing, I sent another email on May14 to Glitterati, contacted the actual dress manufacturer (*****), who told me that they "*****" could not deal with the consumer, they would only deal with Glitterati. ***** told me they would contact Glitterati and that I should hear back from Glitterati. So I waited 4 weeks and once again called Glitterati on June 6th and sent yet another email. Still no response! It has been nearly 8 weeks and I have heard nothing from Glitterati! (all email correspondence can be reproduced if desired) I would like to add to the "nature of Complaint: that I also feel that the product was defective, because it should have frayed when worn only once. (please note that I am not certain of purchase date, since the gown was not brought home on that date. I have estimated the date as best I can. This was purchased in advance for a high school prom, and although it was purchased in the Fall 2013, it was not worn until May 3, 2014, the day of the Prom)

Desired Settlement: I want this gown replaced and altered to fit my daughter so she may wear it again. I would also like the public to know, that if they have any type of issue with a garment purchased at Glitterati, that they will not hear back from this company, even after multiple attempts of calling and emailing.

Business Response: First I want to offer a sincere apology for not following up more often with the customer as to the status of their complaint. We forwarded the customers complaint to the designer. The designer, *****, in turn forwarded the complaint to the manufacturer. The manufacturer is located in China. As of Today neither the designer nor the manufacture has responded to our numerous requests. We are still waiting on the complaint to see what their resolution would be. This is the first time we have ever tried to request a manufacture to replace a customer’s dress.  We did contact the local Seamstress at Pins and Needles, Located in *******, MA.  I was informed by their owner that the rosettes would be just a simple fix.  Even though gown sales are final and we are not responsible for: wearing, soiling and alterations.  We authorize the customer to have Pins and Needles fix the three rosettes at our expense.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

I would like you to send the follow up that you receive from ***** and their Chinese based manufacturer when they respond to your numerous requests.

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January 2014, I made provided Glitterati with a $300 downpayment on a prom dress for my daughter. I was instructed to call the next day to get the date the dress would be in. It took over 2-3 weeks and multiple phone calls to be told the dress would be in on April 7, 2014 (one month before my daughter's prom date). On April 6, 2014, my daughter called Glitterati to arrange a date to come pick up the dress and was told that the dress was not ordered. I called the store and spoke to an Assistant Manager **** who informed me there had been a lot of staff firings and he had only been working there for 3 weeks and could not tell me why the dress was not ordered but he did know that they no longer doing business with the designer, **** *****, due to the poor quality of the dresses. I asked **** for the owner's name and he told me she lived in the Dominican Republic where she had 6 other stores. As I was out of state, my husband then called back to get a better understanding of why we had not been contacted about this matter in advance of our daughter calling. My husband spoke to the manager, *********, who provided him with a number to wholesale retailer where we could possibly order the dress from. I called ********* back and expressed my dissatisfaction with their lack of communication and their obvious breach of contract. I also asked her for the owner's name and was informed the owner was in the store and aware of the situation but too busy with customers to speak to me. I informed ********* of the previous statement given just an hour before about the owner being in Dominican Republic and she brushed past it. She only offered to refund the money they have had for 2 months but would not make any attempts to find the dress.

Desired Settlement: I am completely floored by the lack of care this company showed for their failure to complete their contractual responsibility. The apology they offered was never sincere and always full of excuses instead of the truth in that they failed to complete their contractual obligation. It was a blatant failure to perform followed by repeated lies and they are in desperate need of a management overhaul. I was refunded my $300 with no interest or other incentive show gratitude. I am strongly considering suing them for breach of contract.

Business Response: I have investigated this mater, we are deeply sorry, and here are my findings: 1. Customer placed special order for dress at the ***** location. The ***** Location Placed the order with the manufacture and to this date are waiting for the completed order.  2.  We refunded the full deposit as requested. In addition we also informed customer that they have $100.00 credit toward any future dress purchase.  We will pay any reasonable request for interest on their deposit 3.  As far as we knew everything was on track until the recent two weeks We just found out, many of the dress manufactures are experiencing unusual delays. This is a new problem and has been systemic with some dress manufactures. I have contacted their reps directly and asked them for an explanation and all I was told is that “it is China!” 4.  We were therefore in the process of contacting all our customers affected and informing them of the situation and offering an immediate refund  or an exchange. 5.  When this particular customer called to inquire about her order it was on a weekend, our customer service department Works Monday thru Friday.  The Team member that received the call was working at another location in ******* and is not a Customer Service rep, and was not familiar with the ***** Dress store, or the ongoing situation. 6.  The Rep instead of saying call back during Customer Service hours, or call the ***** Store attempted to assist the customer. The rep started making calls and found out that there was a delay,  and was informed that the Customer Service Department would be contacting the customer Monday.  The rep decided to inform the Customer of the delay in the shipment.   7.  The weekend reps, were receiving multiple calls from different members of the family.  Felt threatened and intimated to come up with answers, since they are not experienced, in these situations. 9.  We are in business to order and deliver dresses and have a very good track record. We did everything as a retailer to rectify a situation that was out of our control due to our suppliers delays.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Message from Business: I have investigated this mater, we are deeply sorry, and here are my findings: 1.  Customer placed special order for dress at the ***** location. The ***** Location Placed the order with the manufacture and to this date are waiting for the completed order.  RESPONSE: The order was placed on January 18, 2014. During the time of purchase, I was instructed to call back the next day to determine the exact date the dress would be. I followed up with the ***** location as instructed and was directed to the ******* location.  I spoke to a man named ***** for over two (2) weeks before being told the dress was ordered and would arrive on April 7, 2014.  The issue of the dress was discovered after a call was made to the ***** store and was instructed to call the ******* store and no one could tell me if the dress had been in fact ordered. What I was told was there had been several firings of staff and they could not tell me what occurred with my order. As I stated in my complaint, I was also told that the company had severed relationships with the manufacturer for delivering poorly made dresses and not completing orders. I was never told they were waiting for the dress to come in. 2.  We refunded the full deposit as requested. In addition we also informed customer that they have $100.00 credit toward any future dress purchase.  We will pay any reasonable request for interest on their deposit RESPONSE: I did receive my money back but only after I told the manager, *********, that it was illogical to have my husband or I calling around for this dress that they should have ordered.  If the manufacturer is selling faulty gowns, why then provide us of a contact in New York where we could obtain the dress? Which we did and the dress is beautiful and not "falling apart" as they told us it would. I have only received a verbal credit of $100 but given the way in which this entire transaction occurred I do not believe there is a credit or will ever be one. I should not have had to ask for interest on money held for 3 months. I did expect superb customer service and at the very least a written letter of apology for this matter that included a check with interest and a $100 gift card.  3.  As far as we knew everything was on track until the recent two weeks We just found out, many of the dress manufactures are experiencing unusual delays. This is a new problem and has been systemic with some dress manufactures. I have contacted their reps directly and asked them for an explanation and all I was told is that “it is China!” RESPONSE: Never once were we told the dress was delayed. Both Asst Manager ****** and Manager ********* told me they severed ties with the manufacturer. Also, at the time of my call, I was told the issue had been known for about 3 weeks. The date continues to change with them. Was it in February or March that the issue was discovered? Was the relationship severed or was the dress delayed? Please pick one! 4. We were therefore in the process of contacting all our customers affected and informing them of the situation and offering an immediate refund  or an exchange. RESPONSE: As stated above, no refund was offered until after I called and requested Manager ********* to rectify this situation since their failure to communicate is why were in this situation.  5. When this particular customer called to inquire about her order it was on a weekend, our customer service department Works Monday thru Friday.  The Team member that received the call was working at another location in ******* and is not a Customer Service rep, and was not familiar with the ***** Dress store, or the ongoing situation. RESPONSE: It was not one Team Member but 2. ***** has always instructed me to talk to the ******* store because that is were they actually have **** ***** gowns on the racks. I have called ***** on the weekday when we were trying to find the date we could expect the dress and was instructed to call ******* to speak to ***** each time.  I am happy to supply my phone records to show the multiple times I have called ******* per ***** asking me to call him back because he was with a client. 6. The Rep instead of saying call back during Customer Service hours, or call the ***** Store attempted to assist the customer. The rep started making calls and found out that there was a delay,  and was informed that the Customer Service Department would be contacting the customer Monday.   The rep decided to inform the Customer of the delay in the shipment. RESPONSE: I spoke to a manager and assistant manager not a sales rep. and both claimed to have the information. Not one said I needed to call back on Monday or said there was delay. In addition, I asked to speak to the owner and was told she owns several stores in DR and that is where she was. After Mgr. ********* called me back she informed me the owner was in fact in the store assisting other customers and could not speak to me.  It was at this time I was told I needed to be refunded because they would not work to find the dress. 7.  The weekend reps, were receiving multiple calls from different members of the family.  Felt threatened and intimated to come up with answers, since they are not experienced, in these situations. RESPONSE: Multiple phone calls??? My daughter called and as most children would do in this situation, she called her mother (I was in New York) and informed her father. I called and spoke to ******. My husband called and spoke to Mgr. ********* who called me. I called her back to have her find the dress and she returned my call. We neither threatened or intimated anyone. We were definitely upset about their lack of communication and I even more when Mgr. ********* sucked her teeth over the phone and said "whatever" when I commented on their lack of communication since I ordered the dress.  If she were intimidated why continue to call my phone and have conversations with me? This is an unacceptable excuse for their poor staff decisions and very offensive to my family and myself. This whole ordeal has been emotionally detraining and equally frustrating by the multiple stories this company continues to tell instead of the truth. The truth, my money was taken in January 2014, to purchase a Toni Bowls dress for my daughter's senior prom; the company asked that I call for delivery date and I did the following day and was told the manufacturer is closed on Sunday and someone would call me the following day, which was MLK day. I did not receive a call but thought it was an oversight to suggest the following day due to it being a holiday. I called back later that week and spoke to ***** who promised me to call me back and after waiting with no response, my husband called ***** and was told he would call my husband back. After 2 weeks or more of this we were finally told the date the dress would be delivered. We have not called to check in on the dress because I felt the worse of customer service was behind me until my daughter called and was told there is no dress and will not be one.  I have never filed a BBB complaint against anyone but given their lack of care and respect we received, I felt this was necessary. 9. (you mean 8 correct?) We are in business to order and deliver dresses and have a very good track record. We did everything as a retailer to rectify a situation that was out of our control due to our suppliers delays.   RESPONSE: I'm sorry but has the owner called to apologize? No, she has not! Has anyone offered a heartfelt apology that was not followed by pointing fingers and accepting this is your brand and no matter who may have messed up it is a poor reflection on the entire organization? No, not even a simple letter that just said accept our apologies for this oversight. You are still blaming everyone but yourself; the manufacturer is at fault for not sending it, the prior staff is at fault for not ordering it; my husband, daughter and I are responsible for misinformation because we had a crying teenage at home upset about not having a prom dress. Not once have you said here is how we messed this transaction up!!! Accept some responsibility for your miscommunication or rather non-communicate customer service because in the end it was your responsibility not the manufacturer to contact me about the delay. It was your responsibility to call my daughter in March about this issue to allow more time for her to reconsider another gown. It was your responsibility to take this matter seriously prior to me filing this complaint. Disgusted