Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McCarthy Construction

Phone: (339) 927-1664 151 Bedford St, Burlington, MA 01803 http://www.calmccarthyconstruction.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

McCarthy Construction specializes in both residential and commercial projects.  The business services include but are not limited to windows (sales, installation and replacement), doors, decks, patios, basements and more.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McCarthy Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for McCarthy Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McCarthy Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 15, 2014 Business started: 01/01/2011 in MA Business started locally: 01/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.mass.gov/eopss/
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is CS-083608.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.mass.gov/eopss/
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is 172619.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Callaghan McCarthy, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Callaghan McCarthy, Owner
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT STORM WINDOWS & DOORS-REPAIR WINDOWS WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE WINDOWS - VINYL WINDOWS - EGRESS DOORS STORM WINDOWS & DOORS DOORS - REPAIRING DOOR FRAMES VINYL DOORS DOORS - FRENCH DECK BUILDERS PATIO, PORCH & DECK ENCLOSURES DECK - REPAIR DECK BUILDER VINYL DECKING BASEMENT - REMODELING BASEMENT - FINISHING All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Service Area
McCarthy Construction provides their services in ARLINGTON, E ARLINGTON & EAST ARLINGTON, MA.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Read Before You Sign Windows

Additional Locations

  • 151 Bedford St

    Burlington, MA 01803 (339) 927-1664

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McCarthy Construction was hired in October 2015 to repair heavy ice dam damage to my home. The initial contract price was approx $60,000.00 and required gutting the main floor of our home back to the studs inclusive of all electrical and plumbing. This price increased significantly due to additional damage found. In addition to fixing the ice dam damage I hired McCarthy Construction to refinish and rebuild a staircase including a banister and to vinyl side the entire house. I specified what I wanted done and that it needed to be completed before we moved back into the house as we have 2 young children - He stated the stairs he could definitely do but the siding he'd get back to me about. The job was supposed to go from October 25 to the day before thanksgiving - things to date are still not finished with ample opportunity, requests and being given a vacant home for 9 days while we were on holidays. Long story short, there has been continual issues. I made certain rules VERY clear and they continually broke them, these included not smoking i=on my property and keeping the site tidy - 2 workers continually smoked even when told multiple times not to and they left all sorts of construction trash everywhere including, nails, metal pieces, siding, wood, spray foam chunks. My dog ended up swallowing a chunk of hard plastic from something left laying around resulting in a $1200 emergency surgery but as we couldn't identify what exactly it was I got stuck with the bill for that. A list of other issues/damages: -damaged hardwood floors which he had fixed but the floor guy went approx 6-7 inches into 2 other bedrooms so they are now 2 different colors. -multiple cracks in the ceiling including one that is approx 8+ft long and bows -gaps in hardwood flooring at front door that get wet and expand the wood discoloring it -blotchy painted walls,ceiling, baseboards and trim throughout the entire main living area, dining and kitchen -they damaged my faucet during demo and replaced it with a cheap one without informing me or consulting me - they damaged my insinkerator and didn't install it properly which lead to a slow leak under my kitchen sink damaging the cabinet - I had to call in my plumber to fix it and ultimately the insinkerator had to be replaced. - electrical outlet wasn't replaced to code when doing siding, there is also large gaps around external meters leaving exposed wooden shingles -loose siding -chipped pvc trim was caulked instead of being replaced as i had requested - bulges in plaster in master bedroom from nails/screws coming through the plaster - damaged alarm system - his subcontracted spray foam guy spray foamed the alarm shut it cost 1100 to replace and I am still owed $316 by McCarthy Construction - stairs are mismatched, they have 3 different types of wood that don't match, have nail heads coming out of treads, overhanging wall mount blocks that I never approved they just decided that's how they were going to do it.

Desired Settlement: At this point the business is not welcome to return to my home after all these issues and 8 months to rectify them and failing to do so as such McCarthy Construction needs to pay for all repair costs including hotel costs and dog boarding while repairs are done. We can not be in the home for painting, sanding etc for medical reasons.

Business Response: Unfortunately, my client did do work for this customer. He has been advised not to respond to this claim. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Regards, ***** *******    


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on McCarthy Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)