BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Harvey Building Products?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Harvey Building Products

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 598-5400 Fax: (781) 788-4167 1400 Main St, Waltham, MA 02451 http://www.harveybp.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Harvey Industries ,Inc. is engaged in wholesale distribution of exterior building products as well as the manufacturing of doors and windows.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Harvey Building Products include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Harvey Building Products
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1963 Business started: 01/01/1961 in MA Business incorporated: 06/09/1961 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cynthia Aulenbach, Customer Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cynthia Aulenbach, Customer Relations
Number of Employees

1,200

Business Category

WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS WINDOWS BUILDING MATERIALS

Products & Services

Harvey Building Products sells the following brand(s): Harvey Windows

Harvey Building Products offers the following product(s): Doors, Patio Rooms, Windows

Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states no credit will be allowed for custom made or special order items; stock, wholesale items may be returned within 30 days, subject to the published material return policy in our catalog.
Service Area
Harvey Building Products provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Alternate Business Names
Harvey Industries, Inc.
Industry Tips
Windows

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Harvey Building Products has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 Main St

    Waltham, MA 02451 (800) 598-5400

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Therma-Tru Smooth Star entry door with twin sidelites through the Harvey Building Products location in Nashua, NH in November 2008. I had this door professionally installed by Brouillette Building & Remodeling of *********, NH on November 18, 2008. *************** followed the manufacturer’s instructions for the installation of this door. In November 2013, I noticed some rot in the wood frame of this door. I contacted *************** and he in turn contacted Harvey field service in ***********, NH to request a warranty claim on the door. On January 31, 2014, *************** and the Harvey field service rep (***) visited my home to review the door. On February 20, 2014, I received a call from *************** to tell me that the Harvey field service rep told him that there’s nothing that Harvey can do to remedy the situation. I’m not happy with this response for a couple of reasons: I maintained the door and the frame as per the instructions that came with the door, the door is only 5 years old and should not be experiencing this level of rot. Also, this door came with a “Frame Defense” exterior door frame with a lifetime warranty from Cascade Wood Products. Again, I maintained the frame per the special instructions of the Frame Defense brochure included with the door. I am still hoping that Harvey Building Products will honor their warranty obligation for my Therma-Tru door. I have also contacted the *********** NH field service by email on my own on two occasions, March 11, 2014 and March 12, 2014 but I have not received a satisfactory response. The filed service rep claims that Harvey does not warrant the wood frames but I feel this is a defect of either material or workmanship in the construction of the frame.

Desired Settlement: I would like Harvey Building Products to stand behind the products they sell and provide me with a replacement frame with labor included to replace the frame at no charge.

Business Response: We have been in touch with this homeowner and he is aware that this is not a warranty claim.  We are working with him to provide replacement materials so he can arrange to have his door repaired.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. Harvey Building Products worked with me to resolve my issue and I am happy with the result. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: our home has harvey windows installed and randomely one of the panes cracked on two different windows. on both incidents it was the inside pane and while no one was even near the window itself. i have contacted harvey and they have stated that they do not cover glass breakage. when i reviewed there policy it states that they cover there windows against manufacturer defect. i feel that this is a defect because the windows are less then 10 years old, they where professionally installed(80k worth), only one pane broke on a double pane glass window, and it was the inside pane that is not exposed to the elements. i have a detailed email train with a representative that escalated to what he stated was the highest level person i can talk who never returns my calls.

Desired Settlement: i would just like the sash replaced (quouted price of 85.64). i also offered to have a field rep meet me at the home so they can look at the window if they desire.

Business Response: The consumer had two separate warranty claims. Harvey immediately replaced the sash under warranty for the first claim filed last fall. When the consumer file a warranty claim for a second window in early December, we requested additional information and it was referred to a supervisor.  The consumer was contacted on 12/13 but did not respond until 12/20.  We again called on 12/23 and finally reached him on 12/31 to let him know that the sash is being replaced under warranty

Consumer Response: 4 hours after i filed this complaint harvey contacted me and are replacing the window.  i have attached the email train so that you can see the dates of communcation.  they where helpful after this, the problem has been resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Harvey Building Products *** ******* Drive *********** MA ***** (***) ******** to order 30 replacement windows for my home. Their sales person came to my home with my contractor and measured the windows. I received 4 different quotes from them with all the same measurement. I finally decided on a window type and wanted to place the order. When the delivery came and it was time to install the windows 1 did not fit it was the wrong measurement . I looked over my quotes and saw that the 1window was a different size on my paper and a different size on the order that they sent to the factory. Upon realizing what had happened I call the *********** office and they told me that it was my fault and they could not help me because I gave them the ok to place the order. I tried to explaine to them that they quoted me for the right size window but when they placed the order to the factory they made the mistake inputting the measurement in to there computer system. I was told that the only thing they could do is give me a price break of 25% off if I wanted to order a new window. I called the main head quarts in ******* MA told them what had happened and the only thing they did was call the *********** office and had the *********** office call me and say they was nothing they could do for me. Product_Or_Service: Replacement windows

Desired Settlement: Replacement I feel that I am not wrong in this situation they had the right measurement from day one. Why am I at fault for somebody who entered the wrong measurement into the computer system. I feel that Harvey should replace the window for me.

Business Response: HARVEY RESPONSEOur customer, the contracting company, informed us that they authorized this person to place a window order with our company on their business account, with her clear understanding that she was taking full responsible for the accuracy of the order. She understood the order was for custom manufactured windows. After several quotes from us, which did have some differences, she came in and placed an order. As we do with all our custom orders, we printed the order form and reviewed all the details of the order with her. She was reminded at the time that she was responsible for reviewing the order and confirming that we had understood and entered the information on the order as she requested it before signing to authorize the order to be place into production. This is a standard procedure that we follow with our customers. She reviewed the order and signed it.  Harvey produced the windows as ordered.  She has acknowledged to our *********** branch that she was fully informed that she knows she was responsible for confirming the accuracy of the information on the order before signing and placing the order.  In an effort to help this individual we did offer to produce another window at a discount. We then offered to discount the window even further.  Our offer is still available to her.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I feel that since there sales man came out and measured and took all the correct measurement and on all the quotes are the correct measurements that I am not at fault.     

Business Response: Measurements are the responsibility of the contractor, the Harvey rep would have been present for consultation only.  Regardless, there is no dispute about correctly measuring the openings for the windows.  The issue was responsibility for confirming that ALL the details of a complex custom window order were entered correctly before the order went into production.  That is the responsibility of the contracting company placing the order - we have them review all the details for exactly that reason. This consumer took it upon herself to act as the contractor, she was clearly told that she was responsible for accuracy of the order and was specifically told at the time of the order that she must review all the details herself for accuracy before signing the order. She reviewed and signed the order.  Harvey has made a good faith offer to help in this matter, which she has so far not accepted. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I gave Harvey the right measurements like I have said in the past. I am not at fault if the person behind the counter input the wrong measurements. Seeing that I am not getting anywhere with this matter I will take it further I will take Harvey to small claims court.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was looking to replace a few windows in my house. I visited the Harvey Showroom in Lincoln RI. I talked with the sales person there for over an hour. We were looking at their Majesty (wood) windows double hung as well as there rolling windows. At no point did the sales person showing us the double hung windows explain they do not open all the way. The bottom part of the window stops 3 1/2 inches from the top. If this had been pointed out to me I would have gone with a casement window and not the double hung. I explained to the sales person that this was for my kitchen and the window was going to be small. They in fact did have some window on display that were similar in size to my window. Again if they had explained to me that this window did not open all the way I would NOT have purchased them. To make matters worse the contactor I picked * ** ******** (since Harvey does not actually install the windows) sent his son and a Harvey Rep (******) to my house to measure for my new windows. I was very clear that I wanted (needed) my kitchen window to be the same size as my existing Andersen window. Even with the Harvey rep seeing how small this window is did NOT point out that Harvey double hung windows do NOT open all the way. If I had been told this I would have NOT purchased the double hung window. Also, to make matters worse the Harvey rep did NOT measure correctly and this window is smaller than my existing Andersen was . I feel that two Harvey representatives had the opportunity to tell me this information and decided not to. I never would have guessed that a window would NOT open all the way. And at the very least they should have measure the size correctly and at least this window would have been slightly larger.

Desired Settlement: I want Harvey to take back this double hung window and replace it with a casement window at NO expense to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 25 Harvey windows and siding. The widows were being installed when the contractor realized 4 windows shipped were the wrong size that's after 1 was removed from my dinning room, he called Harvey to get the right sized remade but Harvey was more concerned with placing the blame on someone that they waited 4 days to place the order. When I called to inquire when I would get my windows that after 3 weeks of plywood in my dinning room window I was told they did not know. When I told them that it was unacceptable I was told it is what it is. I then told them I was cancelling my siding I was told go ahead cancel it. If Harvey's customer service is like that I guess they don't care about the CUSTOMER AT ALL. I would not recommend Harvey products to my worst enemy

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated in some way for the way I was treated.

Business Response: Harvey Building Products is a manufacturer and wholesale distributor of building products. We sell to the professional contracting trade and do not sell directly to the general public.  Mr. *******'s complaint does not provide the name of the contarcting company that placed the order with us for custom measured and manufactured windows so we are unable to identify an order to determine why there was a problem with the size of four of the windows.   We are sorry Mr. ******* felt we were not responsive to his situation. Problems with orders placed with our company are handled directly with our customers, the contractors who place the orders.  We would be happy to do a complete review the matter an determine if Harvey was at fault and address Mr. *******'s comments once we are provided with the name of our customer so we can identify and review the order.  thank you

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. 

My quote # is ******* After my complaint was sent to the BBB I called and spoke to vice president ******* and he was dismayed that I did not get a response as of 5/8/13 he informed me that someone would be in contact with me. I received a call mid afternoon informing me that Harveys does not deal with the customer direct but would make a exception in my case. I was told that my windows were delivered to the warehouse and that they were there, and it was up to my contractor to pick them up. It seemed to me all Harveys cared about was where to assign blame for the  wrong windows ordered, and that I made a complaint with the BBB and called the vice president. I was not offered any compensation what so ever for my troubles. As I stated in my original complaint that the order was placed on  4/22/13 and it just happened that after I filed a complaint with the BBB 3 days later my windows arrived. Throughout this whole ordeal I was treated poorly, When I first called Harveys 800 number and spoke with **** in manufacturing he could not give me a date as to when the windows would be done, all he said was " that there is a rush on the job and it could be two more  weeks" I then told him that I had also ordered siding from Harveys and that I was going to cancel that order he said " go ahead" I feel you don't treat customers like that. As I write this I still have a piece of plywood in my front window which has been there since 4/22/13, and they asked my why I wrote the BBB  

Business Response: Harvey received Mr. *******’s BBB complaint on Monday May 6th. We were unable to identify the order or contracting company and responded promptly on May 7th requesting that information so we could review the matter. 
 
We have spoken directly to Mr. ******* and informed him that Harvey manufactured windows as ordered by the contracting company and that we had fulfilled our promise to the contracting company to rush production on a second order. We explained that the contracting company’s business dealings with our company are confidential, which Mr. Russell had already explained. We also reminded him that installation arrangements are done by the contracting company.  Mr. ******* expressed his gratitude for our help and his understanding that Harvey had not caused the problem. He confirmed that he was satisfied with our response to his inquiries and he understood he should address his concerns with the contracting company. 
 
Harvey provided good customer service for our customer, the contracting company, by providing quality window products and processing a rush second order (placed 4/26). We understand that Mr. ******* is unhappy about having to have his window opening boarded while a new window was being made. We do not understand why Mr. ******* continues to look to Harvey for compensation when he is now well aware that he should be addressing his concerns to the contracting company he hired.
 
This BBB complaint was filed against the wrong business.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased Harvey Windows for installation in the upstairs of our house many years ago. After the installation of the Low-E windows we had holes develop in our pool liner. At the time, we did not draw any connection to the installation of the Low-E windows and the pool liner was relatively old, so we went ahead and replaced it. This past year the new pool liner developed holes again and we have patched them as they have occurred. We remodeled the upstairs and installed a low-e Harvey window in the bathroom upstairs and now we are seeing the effects of directed and concentrated sunlight onto another area of the pool liner. After seeing on the news the complaints of homeowners with Vinyl siding damage caused by low-e windows, we examined the situation more closely. We can determine the position where the window is directing and concentrating the light onto the pool liner causing damage. We can also stand and find the directed point and follow it down to the edge of the pool. At this point, continued damage is being caused to our pool and we have no recource. I sent in an email to Harvey explaining the situation and received a call back from ***. *** tried to sell me screens and indicated that Harvey's position is that they have no responsibility for the property damage. I then asked for his manager to call me back. **** ****** called me back and indicated he was the Field Service Manager and reported directly to the CEO **** ******. I recounted the story again. **** attempted over the course of 45 minutes to convince me that the windows were not the cause of the damage and that I had an "environmental condition" that was causing the damage. Prior to the installation of Harvey's product in the bathroom the damage was limited to one area of the pool and now after the installation of the new window the damage is occuring in two areas. In addition, the side of the pool that is in DIRECT sunlight for most of the day is showing no damage. Harvey did not offer to send out a technician to observe, nor did they even offer to provide screens free of charge to correct the condition. **** was well versed in the issue, even citing internet articles and code specifications. ***, also indicated that this is a problem that they "see once in a while." **** also indicated that "every window reflects light" and "other manufacturers can have the same problem." I inquired as to why there is no disclaimer on the window saying that it has the potential to cause this problem. **** agreed that it does not exist. I asked **** for a response in writing as to their intentions. The only remedy given to me was to write a letter to their CEO **** ****** to ask for compensation. I believe my only recourse may be to pursue legal action, but I wanted to give Harvey an additional chance to respond appropriately because I feel that Mr. ****** had not done the proper dilligence with the company to assess the risks and respond.

Desired Settlement: I believe that Harvey should provide screens/film/something to prevent the damage from recurring in the future. Some type of light diffusion is required. Window coverings, bushes, etc. are not practical nor possible for the window position. (Which, they would know if they would come look at it.) In addition, I have already absorbed the cost of one replacement liner for my pool and I believe that Harvey's product is a direct (not proximal) cause of the damage and that it is a known product defect, therefore I should be compenstated for the cost of replacing the pool liner either directly, or via Harvey securing the work to be completed and direct compensation to the installer.

Business Response: July 24, 2012
 
Response to BBB complaint # *******, filed 7/17/2012 by homeowner *********** ******.
 
Thank you for your outreach on behalf of Harvey Building Products and Mr. *********** ****** and for the detailed account of Mr. ******’s experience since purchasing his windows in October, 2011.  
 
Heat distortion caused by thermal deflection is a rare phenomenon that can occur when certain contributing factors combine to cause damage to nearby materials.  According to his claim, Mr. ******’s plastic pool liner was affected by this phenomenon.  Thermal deflection off of Low-E or other double-paned windows is not exclusive to Harvey windows (or even to Low-E or clear glass windows); there are many reflective products that could lend themselves to sunlight damage.  We sympathize with Mr. ******’s issues because it is difficult to foresee and predict when the various contributing factors will combine to produce the phenomenon.
 
After a careful review of this situation, including conversations with the homeowner, industry experts, and our manufacturing team, we have come to the conclusion that our windows have performed as designed and that we therefore cannot replace Mr. ******’s pool liner or contribute to the costs of doing so.  The damage to the pool liner is the result of an environmental phenomenon, the causes of which are still being researched by industry groups like the Vinyl Siding Institute (VSI) and the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB).  A related report by VSI can be reviewed at http://www.vinylsiding.org/aboutsiding/cleanmain/solarandheat/index.asp.
 
Since 1961, Harvey Building Products has manufactured and distributed over 10 million high-quality windows and doors through professional contractors throughout the Northeast.  We are committed to educating homeowners and contractors about the possible dangers of thermal deflection and the importance of using full window screens, awnings or landscaping to diffuse the sun’s rays before damage occurs.  
 
Although our products did not malfunction or perform improperly, as a gesture of goodwill we offer Mr. ****** free window screens in an effort to mitigate the conditions that have caused damage to his pool liner.  Utilizing a different window is not an option, as the energy-efficient windows Mr. ****** purchased are the right type of windows for his home and meet the energy requirements mandated by state building codes.  And, as mentioned above, all windows (regardless of manufacturer) can be subject to the thermal deflection phenomenon.
 
Mr. ****** is welcome to contact ******** ****** to arrange for the complementary screens at (***) ********, or email him at ***************@harveybp.com.
 
Sincerely,
*** ********
Harvey Building Products
1400 Main Street
Waltham, MA 02451

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I will not accept window screens as a replacement, as the company is aware of this potential problem and has been for a very long time.  The fact is that their product directly damaged my property and acceptance of their "gesture" would show that I accept their explanation and dimishes my ability to hold them accountable.  They had an opportunity to be a good corporate citizen and have chosen not to do so.






     


 

 

Business Response:

We stand by the position stated in our response to Mr. ******'s complaint.  While Mr. ****** has rejected the offer of screens, we stand ready to provide these if he should change his mind.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Harvey knows they have a defective product that under the right conditions can cause damage to property.  In no way was this disclosed prior to purchase, nor do they provide information to installers or consumers as to how to avoid this damage situation.  Other manufacturer's of windows having similar complaints against them in no way excuses Harvey from the damage their product is causing.  I continue to stand by my complaint that their product has damaged my property and they should be a good corporate citizen, compensate me for my losses, provide a fix and create a product that does not damage property.

http://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/blogs/dept/musings/window-reflections-can-melt-vinyl-siding

If it can melt vinyl siding then it can melt a pool liner.  We used to have one Harvey low-e window and had one damage spot on the liner, now we have two low-e windows and another damage spot is appearing.  When the bathroom window (the second one) was not a Harvey low-e window that part of the liner was not melting.  Our original pool liner lasted for over 10 years and was destroy in a handful by the the first Harvey window and now the replacement liner is being destroyed as well.

I realize why Harvey would not want to accept responsibility, but the fact is that their window is concentrating reflected sunlight and damaging my property.  Window manufacturers have been aware of this problem for 10 years - why would they continue to sell defective product?



 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Harvey windows installed in 2009 throughout our house. We are concerned about the screens as they do not lock in place. A simple push to the side and the screen will fall out. Our *** year old is likely to do just that. I have inquired with their customer service department and received a response that says I should close the windows or limit them to a 4 inch opening. This is unacceptable and this remains a sever safety hazard. They have not been helpful and refuse to acknowledge the risk.

Desired Settlement: A simple recommendation on how to secure the screens so they are not readily pushed out would do.

Business Response: Insect screens are designed to provide ventilation while keeping insects out. They are NOT designed to prevent a child's fall from a window.
 
The consumer's statement in the complaint with the BBB that Harvey refuses to acknowledge the risk is completely false.   

In fact, Harvey not only acknowledges this, but we have a very clear warning tag on every screen we manufacture that states WARNING  SCREEN WILL NOT STOP CHILD FROM FALLING OUT WINDOW  KEEP CHILD AWAY FROM OPEN WINDOW
(see attachment).  Asking Harvey to secure the screens so you can rely on them to keep your child safe is not an appropriate request. 

Harvey shared some of the Consumer Protection Safety Commission's recommendations with the consumer which they found unacceptable.   Here is what the CPSC says on its website. Perhaps one of their other recommendations will be more acceptable to them to keep their child safe
 
To help prevent injuries and tragedies, CPSC recommends the following safety tips:

Safeguard your children by using window guards or window stops.
Install window guards to prevent children from falling out of windows. (For windows on the 6th floor and below, install window guards that adults and older children can open easily in case of fire.)
Install window stops so that windows open no more than 4 inches.
Never depend on screens to keep children from falling out of windows.
Whenever possible, open windows from the top -- not the bottom.
Keep furniture away from windows, to discourage children from climbing near windows.

Some jurisdictions require landlords to install guards. Check your local regulations.

If the consumer wishes to open windows from the top and does not have full screens on the windows, they may contact our service dept and purchase full screens for the windows.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The response from Harvey demonstrates that they do not understand the issue and are not looking to assist or listen to their customer. A few points:

 - I do not expect nor did I ask that the screens be modified to prevent a child from falling out of the window.  My issue is that a child, even a child, could indeed remove the screen themselves as it is a simple push to the right or left.

 - I have asked for advice on what others have done to prevent the simple removal of the screen and have simply received an utter lack of cooperation, a clear lack of knowledge of their own product (they have stated that every Harvey window has the 4" window stop - mine do not!), and a simple failure to listen to their customer's concerns.

 - I was told by customer service that I should just close my windows.  This is an unacceptable response.
 
I am glad to hear that Harvey ackowlwdges the risk.  The question is, what will they do about it?  The said warning stickers are small, in black and white, and are only on one side of the screen.  Other companies have figured out how to prevent children from pushing out the screens with clips or screws, why has Harvey not acknowledged the risk AND provided a remedy for those concerned?

Frankly all that I sought was advice while expecting that Harvey's reputation would indicate that they have thought this through and have a solution to recommend.  Their lack of cooperation is disturbing. 

Other than closing my windows, what can Harvey offer?


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sliding door and all of my windows are manufactured by Harvey Building products. It is a shame at only 6 years old, nearly half of my windows have "failed". The first time I called Harvey to report hazing of 4 of my windows,
my warranty claim was placed and was told my windows were to be received in 2 weeks. Three weeks went by, so I decided to call to find out what was going on. Apparently, my order was never placed in the system (Funny because it took 20 minutes to go over the sizes and codes to verify they were correct, and now 3 weeks later they have disappeared). I figured this was an accident, so we filed another claim for the 4 windows. Another three
weeks went by and no delivery. I called again and told they are ready for delivery. Did not know I had to call to have them delivered. Delivery was quick, turnaround in 2-3 days. Got home from work and only 4 of the 4 windows were there. Called Harvey again and was told they only have 2 windows on the order. Starting to see a pattern here. They filed another claim, and I requested to have an email sent to verify what was on the order and that the order was actually placed. This order was expedited and received in 1-2 weeks. Now, March 16, I filed another claim for 4 more windows that have hazed over. Received another email confirming order was placed and would be delivered in 2 weeks. Three weeks go by and nothing. I followed up by email and get the response "Hello Timothy: Your windows are ready to go. I must admit I am concerned about one of the sashes. If you have a problem with one of these sashes please let me know. As for now I could just be a computer error. But I have called our branch and asked them to drop these windows off at your home. " Upset that this has happened again, I emailed back to find out what his concern was with the ONE sash. Well apparently, another one was left out. So 3 of my 4 windows are going to be delivered. Not only am I upset with the quality of the product not lasting more than 6 years, but
also the service and quality control of the company.

Business Response: Although we are unable to review all of the details from the warranty claim from 2011, Mr. ******* did experience less than our normal level of service, and we apologize for that poor experience.  Once the problem was identified, we clearly stepped up and resolved the issue of the third and fourth sash and provided them promptly.  

We did receive a warranty claim for 4 sash seal failure on March 16th, 2012. In updating Mr. ******* on the status of the delivery on April 9th, our service department did not communicate a production delay on one sash clearly to Mr. *******. He was not told one sash was left out; he was told that one may not have been delivered to the warehouse. Mr. ******* filed this complaint the same day. Mr. ******* was updated with a second email the next day, before this complaint was received by Harvey, explaining that one sash had been delayed in production but that all four sash were completed and were scheduled for delivery to his home the following day, Thursday April 11th. All four sash were delivered on April 11th.

We take pride in the quality of our products and service and stand by the warranty on our windows.  Mr. *******'s experience was not our best effort and we again apologize for the delays in providing him with the replacement sash.  Please note that the reference to nearly half of the windows having failed is not accurate.  Mr. ******* has 17 Harvey windows - 34 sash - and we have replaced only 8 sash under warranty.

We hope Mr. ******* will have many years of energy efficient performance from our windows. We of course continue to stand by our window warranty and although we hope Mr. ******* does not need to contact us again, we will do our best to honor any future claim he may have under warranty in a timely manner.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  I find it amusing that it takes a response to the Better Business Bureau, to have all of my windows delivered at the same time.   Why not stand by what your representatives are telling customers and deliver ALL of the contents in TWO weeks, not nearly four that it took.
I guarantee, if I would not have emailed, only THREE of the sashes would have been delivered.  I would have gladly accepted the resolution, if this would have been the first time this has happened, but it is not, it happens every single time.
I want people to see that quality and service I have received from Harvey, and know that both are sub-par.  Also, to your response to nearly half of my windows have failed, regardless if a window is made up of two sashes, it is still a SINGLE double-hung window.  Now if my math is correct, eight separate sashes for eight completely different windows, is NEARLY half of the 17 windows you provided earlier.  So I stand by my previous comment.

 

 

Business Response: As we stated in our initial response, one of the 4 sash was delayed in production, so the order was delayed, we do not dispute that.  Mr. *******'s statement that if he had not emailed BBB only three sash would have been delivered is not
accurate.

BBB did not send his initial complaint notice to us until after 4:30pm on April 10th. By that time we had already emailed Mr. ******* to inform him that the fourth sash was complete and being shipped to PA on April 11th and all sash were
being delivered to his home the following day.  By the time we looked into the BBB complaint on April 11th, the last sash had already been shipped.  We again apologize that we did not provide our normal level of customer service with his
sash replacement order. This does not happen "every single time" or even frequently.  If a problem does occur, we make every effort to rectify the situation as quickly as possible, as we did with Mr. *******'s sash.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaintInteresting, I received confirmation that my response was sent to Harvey at 4:36 AM, on April 10th, well before I was contacted again from Harvey.  So my comment prior about contacting BBB holds true.  Just to verify that the time stamps are accurate, the last response from Harvey was dated April 24 at 2:43, and you know what the time stamp said on the communication through BBB, 2:43 on April 24.  Very puzzling how it would only vary on your end?

As for the issues happening every time, or frequently,  why has it happened EVERY SINGLE time I submitted a warranty claim?  Why did my first claim mysteriously disappear out of your system?  Why did the next time only a partial of my order be delivered?  Why this time did I receive an email stating there were issues and everything was delayed?  Once again, if my math holds true, that is EVERY SINGLE TIME.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

3/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Required Field I had the windows in my house replaced in November 2011. The replacement windows are Harvey Slimline DH type. They are extremely noisy. They vibrate and let sound into my house to the extent that I am experiencing hearing loss and tinnitus. I cannot sleep in the rooms they are in.

Desired Settlement: I need sound proof replacement windows. I am desperately trying to resolve this issue.

Business Response: Harvey Building Products has spoken to the installing contractor. The contractor confirmed that the windows are manufactured and installed correctly, and there is no warranty claim.  Vibration of the windows would be a result of an outside source.  Mr. ******* would need to identify the cause of the vibration in order to resolve his problem.   Harvey Slimline windows are insulated but are not manufactured to be soundproof, nor are they marketed as such.  If noise outside Mr. *******’s home is causing him problems with his hearing, he should be looking to address the source of the noise. 
 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The cause of the noise is the window itself. I can hear vehicles 2 or 3 streets away that I did not hear with the old windows. But more annoying is the windows themselves constantly vibrate or resonate increasing the ambient noise level in the rooms  in the house. Again, the old windows never did this. Also, when the 40 plus windows were installed, one room had the old windows and there was no sound in that room. These new windows are causing a low level constant humming or buzzing that is annoying and may lead to hearing loss. These windows need to be replaced as soon as possible.

 

 

Business Response: Any vibration causing the window materials to generate any kind of vibration, humming or buzzing can only be the result of some other source affecting the windows that is capable of producing a vibration, such as sound waves, electrical, or a variety of other possibilities.  Harvey has asked the installing contractor to revisit this home to try to help him determine the cause of his problem.   

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaintThe contractor was here and really had no suggestions except to turn the AC power off in the house. I did that and the noise is still there.  The only real solution is to have the windows replaced with windows that are not defective.




 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We, (***** *** *****)contracted to have our home vinyl sided through City Roofing & Siding (******************* ************)in 2008. We had extensive work performed, and cost exceeded ***. The product used was CertainTeed Granite Gray, 5" Monogram siding, purchased through Harvey Products. Job was completed in 2009. By fall of 2009, this product was failing (oil canning), bubbling in various locations. At first, small sections were replaced. The siding again failed. In spring 2010, a large (east side) portion and other smaller sections were again replaced (mismatched color-siding supplied, City Roofing absorbed labor costs), but the siding oil canned. Granite Gray, 5" Monogram does not perform here. We have no close reflection (heat cause). In its 3rd year, consistently new areas are failing. When nights are cool and days are sunny, our siding is at its worst. We have been in constant contact with Harvey/CertainTeed. CertainTeed refuses to stand by their product, although there is plenty of information available that "monogram" siding has documented failure. (Harvey also has acknowledged a large leaking window on east side of our home that is causing water damage to walls, floor, ceiling, insulation-yet to be replaced) Harvey is a responsible distributor.We have documented photos, letters, email communications. We've been unprofessionally and inappropriately treated by a CertainTeed rep yelling and spewing profanities, stating "this is nothing, you should see some homes". CertainTeed/Harvey only offers partial replacement of same faulty product, over insulate underlayment now thrice punctured, with no guarantee when it again oil cans. (nothing was done to improve/change product) Both companies refuse to take responsibility for this obvious defective product, and make us "whole" by giving us the premium product we believed we purchased for a home improvement in 2008. We are sickened that this home improvement was an expensive mistake that has devalued our most important asset.

Desired Settlement: We paid for a complete restoration, home improvement with new, non-punctured, insulate board,siding that performs without oil canning. No unnecessary damage to trim, fypon, window screens, surrounding property, etc., which we have been experiencing with continued work. We were not locked into any particular manufacturer or color. They've ruined our property. For resolution, we are seeking the premium work and product for which we paid in full years ago, for an extensive home improvement.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response: The consumer has made no statement for Harvey to respond to regarding why Harvey's response was rejected .  The new Harvey window is ready when they are and has been for months. His issues with other vendors have also been addressed as far as we know. If he is unhappy with their offers he should address his complaint to those businesses.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.] I didn't have high expectations when contacting you, and you haven't disappointed.  I was very clear when submitting our claim.  I have sent an attachment proving Harvey was asked when they intended on installing the leaking window as it continues to cause further water damage to surrounding walls, floors and ceiling.  We are still waiting.
Harvey and Certainteed recently offered to replace only  2 sides of the effected property  with the SAME defective material that has been already changed in piece meal, up to 3 times.  Each time, the color is different.  Each time there is oil canning.  They have done nothing to fix the problem with their monogram siding.  There is plenty of documentation readily available online, and both manufacturer and distributor sell this product knowingly.  It is not cheap by any means.  They dupe clients.  This product does not perform and should not be sold.  To falsely "guarantee", but not cover is fraudulent.  This is our largest assest, our home.  We believed we were adding, making a home improvement.  We ended up ruining our home.  Re: their offer to us, they will not replace the underlay insulate board, that we paid for new pristine condition, and is now punctured up to 3 times already.  They will not repair/replace damage to screens and trim that has been to no fault of ours, because of the on-going needless work.  This is no resolve, and you have been very little help.  Appears you forward information, receive information, relay information, but never read anything.  I'd have better results at a news station, where I'd explain my steps of first contacting BBB.  Where would a BBB employee turn when they dealt with a bad siding manufacturer/distributor?  I'm sure you wouldn't leave this junk on your home.

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Manufactured defective storm windows installed on *** ******** ****** one month ago: 11/2011One can see daylight and cold air through the seams of the joints and theirarogant response from their Field Man in Hew Hampshire is "That is way all storm windows are manufactured today"!!Send me your BBB email and i will send a paper trail of their response to their defective product.

Desired Settlement: Replacement or $2400 Refund!!

Business Response:

Both Harvey Building Products and Hour Glass Company - the contractor Ms **** hired to purhcase and install Harvey *********** windows in her home - were made aware that Ms **** had concerns regarding the storm windows. TThere is no product defect.  Those concerns were discussed with Hour Glass company and they notified Harvey that they have made adjustments to the product to address her concerns.  This was done proir to Dec. 1, 2011. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]
Hour Glass (who installed the Harvey windows) is so  dissatisfied with Harvey's response that they will no longer continue to carry Harvey product.  The frame of each one of the 14 windows installed has a mitered corner (lower right) that is not airtight.  There is a gap of approximately 1/16th of an inch.  Harvey claims this is how the windows are manufactured and there is no defect.  Hour Glass and client feel that a $200 storm window should not require  industrial sealant to achieve airtight-ness on a brand new window.  Harvey windows was dismissive and uncooperative with client and distributor - to the point of  cancelling an existing appointment to inspect the problem firsthand.  

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

Business Response: Harvey Building Products restates that the windows are not defective.  Hour Glass Company made commitments to both the homeowner and Harvey in writing that they would return to the job and make adjustments to address the homeowner's concern. Hour Glass Company even told Harvey they had already done the service prior to December 1, 2011.      After receiving this second notice, Harvey contacted Hour Glass Company and discovered they actually had not gone back to the job and would not return to complete their work. On December 8, 2011 Harvey sent a letter to the consumer telling her that we had become aware the contractor failed to keep his commitment to return to her home to address her concerns, and as a show of customer support, we extended an offer to seal up the areas the contractor did not address. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

I disagree with every aspect of the Harvey response.  Hour Glass was extremely responsive to my concerns, and it was only through the efforts of Hour Glass that Harvey deigned to respond at all - and that was after several weeks of contacting them.  Their initial response to me was rude and dismissive.  They even set up an appointment to come view the windows on November  30th, and then cancelled!   And now they are trying to blame Hour Glass for failing in their commitment to me.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  Hour Glass felt (quite rightly) that the mitered corner in the lower right side of every single one of the 15 storm window frames should not have a gap of almost 1/16th of an inch.  We both felt that $200 windows should not require sealing of the aluminum frame before they are installed.  Hour Glass simply tried to get Harvey to acknowledge and act on the valid concerns of his customer.  Harvey refused.  So Hour Glass came and sealed the windows.  I  would use Hour Glass again - happily.  I will never buy another Harvey product.

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 10 Harvey windows 1/2009,had them installed on 5/2010 install went fine was happy with the product up until the cold weather hit in 1/2010. Called **** *** (Harvey Windows) at 603-216-8400 and explained to him that there was a draft coming thru the windows and that they were icing up on the inside. This only happened on high wind days with bitter cold temperatures. Harvey sent a tech out and replaced all the insulation strips around the edges of the window due to a manufacture defect where he stated they were cut wrong and showed me how short they were. The tech said should be ok,call if any other issues. A month later the windows were icing again. Called **** and he said has to be a humidity issue. Got a humidistat, read 34% well below standard. called **** again he than told me to get a dehumidifier,did that,bought 2 / one upstairs/one down stairs, neither one hardly runs. By this time thru most of the winter of 2010, nice weather came around and couldnt duplicate issue. January 2011 again having the same issue. Called ****, again telling me its a humidity issue. Told him I would like a tech to come out, advised me it would now cost a $100.00. I said I wasnt paying to have a tech come out for the same issue thats been going on for 2 years now. He than said it can only be a humidity issue that is causing this which a argued heavily because regardless of humidty in a house thats 70 deg. I shouldnt be getting an inch of ice. We talked about the basement having a small crawl space. **** said that is where the humidty is probably coming from. Had the basement foamed, sealed and insulated in fall of 2011. Now its January 2012 and still having the same issue.I finally had a gentlemen from Harvey Windows named **** ******* who was willing to help me I contacted **** and **** to keep them informed of what I was doing and shortly after received a call From **** who told me he can longer help me. I have no where left to turn, have exhausted every avenue and tried everything possible

Desired Settlement: I would like the windows replaced with a suitable product that isnt going to have drafts and ice up any more.....if unable to provide me with that I would like a refund

Business Response: Harvey has again contacted Mr. ******* and reviewed his condensation problems.  We are working with him to identify additional options to help him resolve his issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Harvey Industries supplied windows and doors for my house; they were professionally installed by a local contractor, Exterior Solutions of Natick. One storm door failed (split at the seams) after about two years of service. The door was replaced under warranty (a difficult process involving quite a runaround, but not the subject of this complaint). This occurred in the spring or summer of 2010. The screen element fit but, in October 2010, when I went to install the glass element for winter I found that it did not fit. Repeated (dozens!) of calls made by Exterior Solutions on my behalf have yielded no remedy. This past September, under threat of a lawsuit, Harvey finally said they would replace the glass element. This appears to be just another lie as three months have passed, many calls have taken place, and they have done nothing to resolve the complaint. I am about to enter the second winter without a serviceable storm door.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the cost of the door so that I can replace the Harvey product with one from a reputable company.

Business Response:

Mr. ******'s problem was not reported to Harvey by Exterior Solutions until Sept 2011. They were unable to provide us with enough information to provide the correct insert until very recently.  As soon as Harvey had the correct information, we produced the item and it has been delievered to Mr. ******.   His complaint regarding delay in responding to his request should have bene registered against Exterior Solutions, not Harvey Industries.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

This is an absolute falsehood, not representing what occurred. Exterior Solutions intervened only after I could not get the local Harvey representative to respond to several calls. On many occasions, going back more than one year, Exterior Solutions advised that they had been trying to get Harvey to honor the warranty. Only my threat of a lawsuit in September of this year got them to agree to honor the warranty. Since then Exterior Solutions was ASSURED several times by a Harvey employee named **** that the action to replace the glass panel was underway. The delivery of the needed glass panel occurred earlier TODAY. Even if their response was the truth -- it assuredly is not -- is Harvey really so out-of-touch that they feel three months to replace a defective glass panel is acceptable? Surely that would be better than the fourteen or fifteen months it actually took, but totally unacceptable.

BBB intervention apparently forced the resolution but in my view Harvey's dismal warranty performance was exacerbated by this dishonest response to BBB. With today's delivery of the glass panel its finally over. They remain an extremely flawed company in my view. 

****** ******

 

 

Business Response:  Mr. ******’s claim was that Exterior Solutions made repeated calls to Harvey over the past year with no result until Sept of 2011.  Our response was that Sept of 2011 was the first time Dave at Harvey was contacted by Exterior Solutions about this matter. That is true, regardless of what Exterior Solutions may have told Mr. ******.  It appears Mr. ******’s ‘threat of lawsuit’ to Exterior Solutions in September 2011 coincides with their first contact to us.
It took Exterior Solutions over two months to provide us with all the information we needed in order to be able to produce the correct product.  We don’t consider three months acceptable any more than Mr. ****** does, but he should be sure of his information before making accusations of dishonestly.  Harvey never disputed this warranty claim and provided the replacement material as soon as we were provided the information necessary produce the correct size panel.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

I believe the person responding on behalf of Harvey is either (a) less than honest or (b) mis-informed. I tried myself, to no avail to get Harvey to respond. Exterior Solutions became involved only after Harvey did not respond to me. Two people at Exterior Solutions, **** ******* and *** *********, either spent over a year telling me bold-faced lies or the calls took place and sharing DETAILS of how they were being stonewalled by Harvey. Although I wasn't listening in on the calls I am certain that the calls did in fact take place.  As I stated in the earlier message this is finally over; if Harvey somehow finds it satisfying to exacerbate the ill will by pretending they handled this appropriately they can continue to do so. I'm done.  

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/28/2011 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Harvey window through G&M Contractor in November 2010 for my studio condominium that I own as an investment property. Due to the harsh winter, the installation was pushed up until March 2011 which was understandable. When the contractor came to measure the window in March 2011, they damaged my pre-existing screen beyond repair. I had intended to keep this screen for another usage (it was only a couple of years old and I paid $120 for it). The contractor did not apologize about the mishap and offered no retribution. I got a call in late April from G&M, that the replacement window I ordered went "missing" and the contractor had to order a new one and could not guarantee an installation date. Over the next couple of months, I was promised several installation dates (from May 2011 thru July 2011) by Mike, the owner of G&M contractors. I had to coordinate with my tenant and was getting frustrated with the lack of customer service and late delivery of the product. In July 2011, the contractor came to replace the window and experienced difficulty in installing the new window and took longer than expected. The contractors stated that this was the first window they installed in a studio and proceeded to hand the invoice and warranty information to my tenant, even though I had instructed them to mail it to me. Furthermore, they misspelled my name on the invoice which I need for tax purposes. I voiced all of these concerns to the management company and the contractor to no avail. I will not hire this contractor again and may not order Harvey windows again because of poor customer service and late delivery of products.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a written apology from the contractor for the late delivery of product and reimbursement of $120 for the damaged screen and late delivery of product.

Business Response: Harvey Building Products is a manufacturer and wholesale distributer of building products. We sell to the professsional contractor, not directly to consumers and we do not provide any installation services.

G & M Contracting is an indepentant business which Mr. **** selected and hired to do work on his property.  If a window order placed by G & M 'went missing; Harvey would deal directly with G & M who is our customer.  If we caused a delay we certainly do appologize, although it is unclear whether Harvey was responsible for that portion of Mr. ****'s issues.
All of the complaints Mr **** has regarding a torn screen, installation delays, name spelling, paperwork, etc are issues with G & M Contracting, not Harvey Building Products.   Mr. **** has filed his complaint against the wrong business. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]  The business should be held more accountable for its contractors and the timelines, installation delays and customer service.     I am seeking retribution for my damaged property.

Regards,

MS.  **** ** ****

 

 

Business Response:

Harvey Building Products is a manufacturer and distributor and does not provide installation or have 'contractors' as employees. We can not be responsible for how other companies operate their businesses.

Ms **** selected the contracting company to do work on her property herself. No Harvey employee was involved with any measuring or installation or any damage to Ms. ****'s property.    She clearly states that
G & M Contracting damaged the screen and was responsible for  installation scheduling by its own employees, as well as her other issues regarding paperwork.  Ms. **** does not claim any issues with the window Harvey Building Product manufactured.   Again, Ms. **** is filing a complaint against the wrong business.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

A consumer can not place an order with Harvey Windows directly.  Consumers need to order through a Harvey Windows company approvedcontractor.    My window order was placed by East Coast management company via the trustees of the condominium that I own in Lynn, MA.  Please be advised that there are other condo owners who are also unsatifsfied with the work product, delivery and timeline of G&M Contractor.   My consumer complaint will be further lodged with Attorney General's office and this matter will be considered unresolved with BBB.

Regards,

**** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.