Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

SwissOutpost.com

Phone: (866) 845-4642 Fax: (508) 651-9099 View Additional Phone Numbers 209 W Central Street Ste 201A, Natick, MA 01760 View Additional Email Addresses http://swissoutpost.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SwissOutpost.com, "The Swiss Army Supersite", is an online retailer.  We sell Swiss Army knives, Swiss Army, Wenger and other watches, business and travel gear, outdoor gear, cutlery, and fragrances.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SwissOutpost.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SwissOutpost.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1973 in MA Business incorporated 04/14/1997 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Peter Adler, President Mr. Robert Grove, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter Adler, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Grove, Business Manager
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

WATCHES-DEALERS LUGGAGE-RETAIL INTERNET SHOPPING CUTLERY Jewelry Stores (NAICS: 448310)

Products & Services

SwissOutpost.com sells the following brand(s): Casio, Citizen, Luminox, Mondaine, Swiss Military, Victorinox Swiss Army, Wenger

SwissOutpost.com offers the following product(s): Casio watches, Citizen watches, Luminox watches, Mondaine watches, Swiss Army business and travel gear, Swiss Army cutlery, Swiss Army fragrances, Swiss Army knives, Swiss Army outdoor gear, Swiss Army watches

Method(s) of Payment
Checks
Money order
Wire transfer
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states the offer a full refund, no reason required.
Industry Tips
Online Shopping

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    209 W Central Street Ste 201A

    Natick, MA 01760 (866) 845-4642

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,  On 4/21/2013 I placed and order with Swiss Outpost as a wholesaler / retail dealer. Order # *****. I have sent several emails over the last week, and today (5/6/2013) I called the 866-845-4642 customer service 3 times over a 3 hour period. Got voice mail each time and left a detail message of order number and why I was calling. Sent two more emails advising if products not mailed already to please cancel order. Or if mailed please provide a tracking number. My inability to contact anyone via email or phone upsets me. This is poor customer service. I have bought from them in the past with no issues.

Desired Settlement: Just and explanation of why no response to my several email and phone attempts to find out the status of my order. I no longer want the products. I do not intend to do business again with the Swiss Outpost, or recommend them to any of the other knife, outdoor, and watch retailers I know.

Business Response: Hello ****,  I run SwissOutpost.  Your BBB complaint came to my attention today.  I and we sincerely apologize that we did not respond to your attempts to contact us about your order #*****. We take customer service seriously and we usually respond to every email within 24 hours. We also do our best to answer every telephone call. We were short of staff in May as our main shipper left, but we have good coverage now. We are pleased that you bought from us in the past with no issues (at wholesale price), but can appreciate that you don't want to again. But we are sorry to lose your business.  If you change your mind, we would be happy to supply you again. We are sending you a ********** Microlight by way of additional apology.

Best regards,
***** ** *****, President SwissOutpost.com