This business is not BBB accredited.

The Ski Monster

Phone: (617) 275-2561 60 Canal St, Boston, MA 02114 http://www.theskimonster.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Ski Monster is an online retailer. The business specializes in skiing, snowboarding, skating, and water skiing equipment. They also offer a variety of lifestyle apparel.


BBB Accreditation

On 3/10/2015 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Ski Monster include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for The Ski Monster include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Ski Monster
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 2008 Business started: 06/19/2008 in MA
Business Management
Mr. Eric Gerrmann, Co-Founder Mr. George Michaelsen, Co-Founder
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Gerrmann, Co-Founder
Principal: Mr. George Michaelsen, Co-Founder
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

SKIING EQUIP-RETAIL & RENTAL CLOTHING SNOWBOARDING EQUIPMENT ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING WATER SKIING EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES All Other Miscellaneous Store Retailers (except Tobacco Stores) (NAICS: 453998)

Products & Services

The Ski Monster sells the following brand(s): Deeluxe, Arbor, Atomic,, Blizzard, Dalbello, DC, Elan, Elan, Fischer, Flow, K2, Line, Marker Bindings, Nixon, Nordica, Oakley, Phase 5, Ride, Salomon, Tecnica, The North Face, Volkl

The Ski Monster offers the following product(s): Lifestyle apparel, Skateboards, Skis, Snowboards, Wakesurf boards

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Cash
Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states the following on their website: TheSkiMonster.com has a 90-day WORRY FREE return policy. Life is short and you need to feel completely confident in your gear purchases. We want your stoke levels rising, and if your UNUSED item fails to meet a 100% satisfaction guarantee then send it back. No Worries.If you would like to exchange an item for something else, the best thing to do is send back your current item and place a new order at the same time. This way we receive your new order immediately and ensure it will not sell out.-All items being returned must be unused and in their original condition.-Buyers are responsible for the cost of shipping and packaging of the returning item.-A Return Authorization (RA) number must be obtained within 60 days from date of purchase.-All items must be returned within 30 days of receiving an RA number.TheSkiMonster.com reserves the right to refuse any return that does not follow the above guidelines.
Industry Tips
Clothing Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Ski Monster has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    60 Canal St

    Boston, MA 02114

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm not sure what type of issue this is other than a complaint as follows: The Ski Monster is not registered with Corporations Division Office of the Secretary of the Commonwealth*** ********* ****** **** ***** ******* ** ********* ************* ** ************ ************************ E-mail: ***********************However The Ski Monster is doing business like they are an LLC with the Secretary State. I bought a pair of skis and the skis' DIN/Binding setting was not properly set by The Ski Monster - they were shipped to me. ****** the owner promised the SKIS were ready to go and the DIN/Binding were set - they were not set - the invoice is 940604065 skis costs about $400.00. ****** ********** is the owner of Ski Monster and he assured me the skis were ready to ski on and he asked my age, height, and ability, and weight to set the DIN's and this was by phone calls and e-mail. During a fall in April 2014, on the skis the DIN/Bindings did not release. The DIN's were either not set or set too high by ******. It caused great injury to my right knee. Since April I've been going to the physical therapy, doctor, ortho surgeon. I tried to sue. I can't sue the SKI MONSTER because they are not registered in California where the accident happened. Ski Monster is registered in your State either. Yet they are running a business. I've paid approximately $5,000 in medical bills, ski pass that I could not use anymore, and physical therapy. I'm seeking the money for the price of the skis $400.00 and the ski pass $900.00, and what ever else you can help me with. I'm also reporting that this business is not a legally registered business nor an LLC. They are not registered. I can't file a complaint about that and I've talked your Sec. of state - they told me you would need to tell you and also file the complaint with you that this business is not properly registered to do business and they are falsely doing business as an LLC.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the SKIS of $400.00 and the ski pass $500.00 and if possible some of my cash out of pocket for medical bills. I'm complaining that this business is falsely doing business as an LLC - and are not registered with your Corporations DivisionOffice of the Secretary of the Commonwealth*** ********* ****** **** ************ ** ********* ************* ** ************************************ ******* ************************