BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Marshall Building & Remodeling?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Marshall Building & Remodeling

Additional Locations

Phone: (401) 438-1499 Fax: (401) 433-5585 152 Forbes Street, Riverside, RI 02915 https://plus.google.com/+Marshallbuildingandremodeling View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Marshall Building & Remodeling is a local, family-owned company, specializing in roofing, siding, and windows throughout RI and southeastern MA since 1983.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marshall Building & Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Marshall Building & Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Marshall Building & Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1983 in RI Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated: 01/01/1985 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is CS-030132.

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.ri.us
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The number is 4266.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Marshall, Owner Ms. Anne Marshall, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Anne Marshall, Complaint Handler
Principal: Mr. Thomas Marshall, Owner
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

SIDING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES VINYL SIDING SUN ROOMS ROOFING CONTRACTORS ROOFING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL REMODELING & RENOVATION CONTRACTORS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS HOME IMPROVEMENTS DORMER CONSTRUCTION DECK MAINTENANCE & RESTORATION DECK BUILDERS Siding Contractors (NAICS: 238170)

Products & Services

Marshall Building & Remodeling sells the following brand(s): Andersen, CertainTeed, GAF, Harvey, Mastic, Pella, Tamko

Marshall Building & Remodeling offers the following product(s): Roofing, Siding, Windows

Method(s) of Payment

Personal checks

Bank checks

Money orders

Financing is available

Service Area
Marshall Building & Remodeling provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS & RHODE ISLAND.

Alternate Business Names
Marshall Building Products Marshall Home Improvement
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Handyman Services Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Roofer Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Home Improvement Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Windows

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Marshall Building & Remodeling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    152 Forbes Street

    Riverside, RI 02915

  • 9 Middle Street

    S Dartmouth, MA 02748

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Marshall's installed a roof for us 12/01; BP Organic Shingles were recommended with a 25 year warranty. We believe Marshall's purchased them from ****** **********, Dartmouth MA. Earlier this year we noticed streaks on the roof on the front of our home which we thought was dirt after rain/snow etc. Over the summer we noticed that the shingles in the rear of our home were curling, peeling and seemed to be disintegrating. Small pieces of the shingles have broken off and have collected in our gutters. Called Marshall's and spoke with **** ******** who stated that yes there was a problem with the shingles and that a class action suit had been filed but because ** was a Canadian company there wasn't much they could do. The only offer we had was to put a new roof on our home at a lower cost. We knew nothing about any recall or class action suit; we were not notified by any of the companies involved. We feel that because there was a warranty on the shingles that we should not have to pay to install a new roof. We have notified the Massachusetts Attorney Generals office regarding this matter also. Someone needs to take responsibility for this before our roof gets worse; eleven years of a 25 year warranty is not what we paid for.

Desired Settlement: We would like our roof replaced as it has only been eleven years since it was installed and these shingles should have lasted much longer according to the warranty.

Business Response: We completely respect this customer's frustration. We, too, are frustrated by **** defective shingles and their hesitancy to stand by their warranties. These shingles were a trusted product when we installed them 11 years ago. In fact, we installed the very same product on our own homes and those of our friends and family. Many of us are currently facing the same situation as this customer.

Frustrating as it is, the bottom line is that we did our job correctly, as installers. We installed the roofing shingles according to the manufacturer's specs, and even offered a 10-year workmanship warranty on the project. The decline of this customer's roofing shingles is due entirely to manufacturing defects, which were unknown to us at the time of installation.

We agree that someone needs to take responsibility for the poorly made shingles, but that responsibility lies with the manufacturer who offered a 25-year warranty on their product. At this point, ** had been inundated with claims and is making it increasingly difficult for people to seek resolution with this matter, thus the reason for the class action suit that has been filed against the company.

After receiving **** ******* call about her roof, we provided her with the information needed to submit a warranty claim to **, as well as information on how to join the settlement, if she and her husband so desired. We also offered to replace their roof at cost, meaning we are not seeking to make any profit on their roof replacement, but would only require the money needed to pay our workers for their time and to buy the materials (on which we've also negotiated with our suppler to receive a 10% discount for this customer).

At this point there is little else we can do as a roof installation company. We are offering a roof replacement at cost to customers suffering with defective BP shingles.

Consumer Response:

While we understand *** ********** claim that his company was only installing our roof, use of this product was made at his suggestion and we wonder why there was no attempt to contact us when his company was made aware that the ** ******* shingles were failing.  Someone needed to take responsibility for contacting customers to make them aware of the situation.  Therefore, in addition to filing a claim with ** we have also contacted the Massachusetts Attorney General's office. 

 

 

Business Response: We spoke with the Attorney General's office today (9-17-12) and they concur that this problem has nothing to do with Marshall Building and Remodeling. They agree that we have lived up to our obligations to our customer. As such, they have advised the customer to join the class action suit against **. To assist the customer in this process, we have sent them all of the necessary paperwork. In response to the customer's comment, we hadn't contacted all of our prior ** customers about the defective shingle issue, because not everyone's shingles have been affected. It's only been reported in some cases.

3/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Marshall installed a roof on my home approx 8 years ago, for the last three years i have been requesting repairs on the roof, like nails sticking up/out, moisture on ceilings of second floor.. The agreement was warranty for ten years. I have called numerous times and spoke directly to both of the owners and they both stated that it would be taken care of...... I also have another property and have the same issues on that property, siding hanging for years and years and no actions just "We'll take care of it" and nothing! I think other consumers should know what they are getting into! Sick of them taking my money , but no customer service or follow up!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The sad thing is these people have worked for my friends and family for years and this is the thanks I got!

Desired Settlement: I had to pay some one else to do the job they promised to do and I would like to be at least refunded the monies I had to pay out.. Never mind the stress this has caused!

Business Response: In response to complaint#*******.

First of all we would like to start off by correcting some of the misinformation stated in the complaint.

The roof in question was not installed in February of 2005 for the amount of 9000.00, but was actually installed in September of 2002 for 4225.00.  There were never any service issues regarding this roof until the complainant contacted us in the fall of 2010 regarding a moisture problem he was experiencing.  Our service man met the customer at the job site and upon inspection realized that the customer had recently insulated and refinished his second floor attic space and did not incorporate the proper ventilation system when he closed in the roof line.   Our service man explained to him the only way to properly ventilate the area would be to open it up and install baffles between his roof rafters.  Although the customer was skeptical he seemed to reluctantly accept our findings at the time.  We explained that improper ventilation would result in serious moisture issues inside the house, as well as causing roof issues with shingles buckling and lifting.  I don't believe that any of the remodeling that was done was inspected by the building inspector because it would have never passed the ventilation requirements.

We were recently contacted again by the customer in the fall of 2011 regarding an issue on the front of his roof where he noticed a couple of shingles were lifting and wanted us to go by to inspect it.  We again sent our service man to his home where he found that there were two shingles lifting.  We explained again that this could possibly be caused by poor ventilation or nails popping up and lifting the shingles.  Because there were no leaks we felt it be best to wait until the weather warmed up before we attempted to address the problem.

Most recently we received a call on February 1st 2012 regarding a separate issue on a piece of property owned by his mother-in-law.  We had installed a vinyl siding job at this property in August of 1994 and although our service warranty had expired in 2004 we continue to service the property when needed at no charge.  The latest issue was regarding a siding panel on the third floor that had come loose and a corner post that had been hit by a car.  The complainant had offered to pay for the service call because the warranty had expired but based on our long term relationship we told him we would take care of it the following week.  On February 7th we sent two service men out to his in-law's home, we not only repaired the panel that was the initial concern but also found an additional panel on the opposite side of the house that had come loose and repaired that at the same time, all at no charge.  The only thing that was not addressed at that time was the corner post that had been damaged by an automobile, because the corner post is now a discontinued item we would have to fabricate our own and was something that could not be done at that time.  We felt we could come back at a later date to take care of it.  Once  again because we have been doing business with these people for over 20yrs and have developed not only a good working relationship we also developed a friendship.  So needless to say we were surprised as well as disappointed with the complaint that they filed.

We were contacted on February 15th by the complainant stating that he was filing complaint with the BBB and was restraining our company from his  properties.  We told him that we had repaired the loose siding panels on his in-laws home but he was still upset because the corner post had not been done.  We received a complaint from the BBB the following day and after reviewing the complaint it was stated that he had to hire a third party to repair the lifted shingles on his roof at a cost of 500.00. I personally drove by his home and noticed the same two shingles that were lifted had not been repaired.  I then tried to contact the complainant several times and finally received a return call on Tuesday the 21st of February.  We had a civil conversation but I made it very clear to the complainant that everything that he was complaining about were issues the we were not responsible for, but because our relationship and the fact that we have always been there when he needed us we took care of them at no charge. I told him that were beginning to feel like we were his personal maintenance company to be used whenever he had a problem on his own house or in-laws house.  I was hoping that he would retract his complaint but I think that he felt that it was to late to reverse what had been done.

***** ********

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns.