Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

International Rail

Phone: (617) 559-0944 Fax: (617) 507-3488 15 Hancock Ave, Newton Center, MA 02459 http://www.italiarail.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

International Rail, LLC provides train tickets Italy with a variety of train services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that International Rail meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for International Rail include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on International Rail
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 30, 2010 Business started: 08/06/2009 in MA Business incorporated 02/01/2014 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike T. Fuller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike T. Fuller, President
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

RAILROADS-TICKET AGENCIES All Other Travel Arrangement and Reservation Services (NAICS: 561599)

Alternate Business Names
Interrail, LLC ItaliaRail.com RailAgent.com Railpass.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

International Rail has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15 Hancock Ave

    Newton Center, MA 02459 (617) 559-0944

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used the http://www.italiarail.com/ website to book train tickets for my travel to Italy in May. I selected the Canadian currency and continued with my bookings, which remained in Canadian. When I paid, I immediately paid $498 with my credit card. Since I selected Canadian currency, I expected to see the $498 on my credit card statement. However, I was charged $644.48 (a difference of $146.48). I spoke with an agent on February 12, 2015 who told me that the system must have switch the currency - without me knowing - because the initial ticket cannot be issued yet, and continued back at the US currency. The agent advised that I would not be refunded the difference or all of the tickets, so the proper currency could be booked - without the webpage switching the rate blindly. This webpage issue should be addressed and clearly clarify with a pop-up when a currency has been switched back to US funds. It is very misleading to a customer when they select a currency, and everything switches without them knowing at the time of payment.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund for the charge difference of $146.48.

Business Response: We are very sorry for the experience you had on our website.We are unable to duplicate the issue. I have attached 3 screen shots that illustrate what happens when you choose the CAD as well as the prices in USD when that is chosen.What we are considering doing is adding USD to more clearly indicate that it is USD so that if a customer didn't switch over to the CAD pricing (as appears to be the case with your order) then it will be more obvious that they haven't switched over. You may have accidentally clicked NO instead of YES when the pop-up asked you to confirm changing currency.Having said this, I would like to assure you that you weren't overcharged $146.48 you would have had a higher price to pay in CAD regardless (see attached examples), had you switched over to the CAD pricing.As a courtesy and to make up for any additional fees that your bank likely charged for foreign transaction (USD to CAD) we would like to reimburse you 5% to cover the delta your bank would have charged (it is usually 3-4%) - $25 USD - I would also like to offer you a free ItaliaPass if you didn't add it to your order or reimburse you if you did ($19 value) - I am also willing to waive any booking fees you were charged.We are sorry that you had this experience and do not want to profit from an honest mistake that may have been made. We are also making changes to the site to make sure it is absolutely clear what currency you are paying in.If this is not acceptable I am willing to reimburse you the $498 USD you were originally charged.We hope you have a great time in Italy.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ******* *********

2/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to purchase some tickets online from Rome to Venice. The next day I was contacted by a business representative telling me that my booking was pending, and I would need to resend my cvv code to confirm the purchase. They also told me that there was a price increase and asked me if I wanted to proceed with the order. I informed them that I did not want to proceed, and they replied saying they have cancelled the order. (The events I have just described took place 15 days before my date of departure). A few days later, I checked my bank account and the charges changed from "**** hold" to "**** purchase". At this point I emailed the company and asked them why my card was charged. They told me I had another booking under my name. However, a few days prior I had received an email notifying me that my order was just cancelled, nor did I receive any email confirming my tickets were booked. I checked my inbox, junk mail, and deleted folder but I clearly did not receive any confirmation. By this point in time I had already bought tickets from another company. How is it possible that I made 2 bookings when I only clicked "checkout" once? Either there was a human error or a system error. I had informed the company that there was an error by them and I wanted a refund 8 days before my date of departure. However, they said they did not make the rules and there was nothing they could do... I understand that the company does not set the rules, however I was under the assumption that my tickets were cancelled nor did I receive my tickets on time, therefore I should not have to pay for something I did not receive. If this was a small amount I would not complain, but this is a large amount of 290.50 euros. As a student, I am now faced with a large burden.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the cost of the tickets which was 290.50 euros

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****,I am sorry that you feel that your order was not handled properly and that there was any issue in the first place.Unfortunately I think that you may be mistaken in what has happened.You did attempt to place an order on our Website on December 9th but your credit card was declined and never charged.You then placed the same order a 5 minutes later and it successfully went through - the second credit card charge was processed 7 minutes after. The cost of both orders was the same and in fact you were charged only once for €290.50We also have detailed logs of when your email ticket was sent to you and we can see that it was received and opened numerous times by yourself.In your complaint you claim that you clicked checkout once - this is probably true but you made a 2nd separate successful order with us after the first one failed.I am attaching proof of these transactions.You also claim that you never received your tickets the attached logs clearly show that you did.I can only assume that you may be confusing us with another Company where you may have made yet another transaction but we can see that you did pay for (on the second try) and did receive your tickets.I hope that this helps clear up any confusion that there may be. Please contact us directly if you have any additional questions or concerns.Thank you,**** ******PresidentItaliaRail.com 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Prior to the departure date you can see that the ticket was open twice, once at 12:34pm and 3:07am. If this means I viewed the ticket online, then this is not possible. At 12:34pm I would have been at work and would not have checked my email and at 3:07am I would have been asleep. Could it be that the ticket was viewed by a representative from **********? ********** later resent me the tickets on the 18th of December after I made numerous complaints that I did not receive my tickets. From then onwards I opened the ticket because I needed details to file a refund application. I needed these tickets urgently so after I placed an order on the 9th of December, I checked my email to see whether or not it was successful, but I received no confirmation. The first email I received was from a representative from ********** telling me that my card was declined.I understand that this was a non-refundable ticket, but given my circumstances are you unable to provide any sort of compensation? In regards to my first ticket, the situation was resolved by **********. But for my second ticket, many days before the date of departure I had good reason to ask that an exception be made and for my ticket to be refunded, but ********** just told me to contact **********.Regards, *** *** ****    

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****,The times that you reference are UTC time zone - it appears that you are based in New Zealand - there is a 6 hr. time difference so in NZ time the emails would have been opened at 6:34 pm and 9:07 am.The system only tracks when the emails were opened by the recipient - it is not possible for ********** employees to trigger an event logged by our email tracking system. We have this in place precisely so that we can see if a customer has opened and viewed the email ticket they were sent - which you apparently did.We have no way to get a refund from ********** for your ticket but if you made a mistake we do not want to profit from it - we can offer you a courtesy credit of €20 which is roughly the amount we made selling you the ticket. I am sorry for the trouble you experienced and wish we could do more, but under the circumstances I am afraid we can't.**** ****************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I am currently in New Zealand, but during December I was staying in Czech Republic, which meant there could have only been a 1 hour difference between UTC and CET.Could I please know if you are willing to settle for €20 for each ticket I purchased, or €20 in total for all 4 tickets? Regards, *** *** ****  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on International Rail
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart