This business is not BBB accredited.

Addario's Plumbing Heating, Cooling, & Electrical

Phone: (781) 289-3536 View Additional Phone Numbers 2 Gill Street Ste J, Woburn, MA 01801 View Additional Email Addresses

! BBB Business Review on Addario's Plumbing Heating, Cooling, & Electrical is being Updated by BBB !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Addario's Plumbing, Heating, Cooling and Electrical is a service plumbing and heating shop specializing in residential and light commercial service and installation.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Additional Locations


    2 Gill Street Ste J

    Woburn, MA 01801


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We agreed to a an estimate given by Addario Plumbing for a renovation project that included new heating and central air conditioning systems. The scope of the project changed after the original estimate was done due to structural issues and Addario revised his estimate . This new estimate was rejected due to its extremely high cost, over 30 % more and tens of thousands of dollars above other accredited professionals with great reputations in the field. We canceled the project and offered to pay for work performed. ***** Addario refused to give us a refund and / or a cost for any of the work that was performed. (disconnection of plumbing and meeting with general contractor to learn scope of project and heat loan paperwork submitted). We told Addario both verbally and via email that we he is fired and we want our deposit refunded and he has not replied to this request. He has exhibited all kinds of behaviors upon learning we have no plans to go forward with his firm. He has used guilt, extortion, and harassment and has told us if we do not use him even though his costs are so much higher, we will ruin the relationship . We feel he is fraudulent, unprofessional and his behavior is a disservice to his profession.

Desired Settlement: We wish to have our deposit of $18,595.20 returned to us along with $700 in legal fees for a demand letter.

Business Response: We are in communication with our client and we are looking to resolve this in the most efficient and professional manner.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.I have not been contacted by anyone at Addario Plumbing since August 18, 2016. This continues to be unresolved. Regards, **** *******    

Business Response:  In response to Mr. *******'s  complaint , he has retained an attorney who sent a demand for settlement directly to us.  As such, we have referred his demand for settlement to our attorney for resolution to avoid any conflicts between us and him.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.I have not been contacted by anyone at Addario Plumbing or their attorneys since August 18, 2016. This continues to be unresolved.  

Business Response: Customer has retained an attorney and therefore it restricts communication.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  We have not heard from anyone from Addario Plumbing or their attorney since August 17, 2016. Regards, **** *******  

8/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May 2016 my wife and I called many different HVAC businesses to request a quote to service our mini-split ductless heating and cooling system. We stated that the unit had a mold like smell emanating from it and we needed it to be flushed and cleaned with a mold treatment. We stated that this was the only issue and we did not require a evaluation of the unit. I have had experience with these units before, and I did not have the tools to complete the cleaning myself. When my wife called initially, Addarios customer service quoted us a price of $99.99 for the service. We then proceeded to schedule a time to complete this work. Addarios arrived late and outside of the window we were promised. The technicians went to the unit to take a look at it and confirm the issue. They then stated that the unit need to be cleaned. My wife proceeded to tell them that is the purpose of the service request. Addarios technicians then informed my wife that they were out of time in the day to perform this service and that they didn't have the tools to complete this service at the present time. They said we would have to reschedule. They also quoted a new price in excess of $300 to clean the unit. My wife proceeded to call me at work so that I could speak with the technician. I had explained to him the quoted price, and I stated that an evaluation was not required and we just wanted the work to be performed for the previous quoted price. After speaking with the technician, the technician and my wife proceeded to call Addarios customer service. The customer service person confirmed that the $99.99 previous quote was correct. We then begrudgingly scheduled a new service time. I stayed home during this service window and nobody showed up. Since we hadn't paid Addarios yet, Addarios had not performed the HVAC cleaning service requested, and they were late to the first appointment as well as a no-show for the next appointment, we decided that we would no longer pursue to schedule Addarios to complete our HVAC servicing needs. We had not heard anything from the company in 2 1/2 months. Then just last week on Friday July 29th I received a final notice of payment stating that our account would be transferred over to a collection service if a bill of 89.99 was not paid by August 12th. I was shocked at the bill as I had not received a previous bill, and Addarios did not service our Heating/Cooling Unit. I called Addarios at 2:39PM on Friday July 29th immediately after opening the final notice bill. I explained to them the situation above and requested that the bill be rescinded. After much explanation, the customer service representative stated that her supervisor would give me a call back later that day. I did not receive any call and I have not received a call from Addarios since. My wife then followed up with Addarios multiple times starting on Monday August 1st. She was placed on hold several times, for as long as 45 minutes at a time. She was hung up on by multiple customer service representatives. On Thursday August 4th, my wife was able to get through to a customer service representative. They explained that $89.99 is the service call amount and it is waived if the work were to be completed. She proceeded to tell the representative that we would like to schedule the HVAC work as to not lose out on the $89.99. My wife had confirmed that our initial quote of $99.99 would be honored with the Addarios representative. The representative then told my wife that someone would call later that day to schedule the service. We did not hear anything from Addarios for the rest of the day. My wife then proceeded to call Addarios today, Friday August 5th to try to schedule the service appointment. I requested that she verify the quoted price yet again, because we have had issue with the quoted price previously. The service representative told my wife that the service would cost $314 and that the $89.99 amount for the first house-call would not be rescinded. Therefore, now I am writing this complaint. I will be sending a check via certified mail on Monday August 8th to Addarios in the amount of $89.99. I will write on the memo line of the check that the amount is in contention. I will not put a stop payment on the check.

Desired Settlement: I expect to be reimbursed the $89.99 service call fee. I no longer wish to have Addarios service my Heating/Cooling mini split ductless unit, even if they agree to the previous quoted price of $99.99.

Business Response: This was an unfortunate misunderstanding the the customers check has been returned to them via registered mail.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, *********** *******

7/5/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had this company out for a quote. Sales rep said if I was going to get a rebate I had to write a check.nhe also wrote on contract not to deposit before I ok it. I got a different price much lower and then he gave me two other quotes. They also were more than the other company. I asked why they tried cashing my check. He said they were not suppose as the quote said. After trying to deal with them I said I was going with another company. I never heard back until lastvfriday I get a bill from a lawyers office saying I owe 1630 for services rendered. All they did was a quote! They told me at the sales meeting I could cancel not charge as long as work had not been done.mno work was ever performed.

Desired Settlement: Want them to take me out of collections

Business Response: I will have our lawyer reach out to the customer today.  She did not cancel the job within  3 business days, they put a stop payment on the check.  I called and left several messages with no return call.  The only call I got was after my lawyer sent out the letter.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  This is not true. I told them I just wanted a quote and I said I will give you a check and after I get a final quote and it's acceptable you can then cash the check and we would move forward. You never called me. Also send me the copy of the quote and you will see it says do not deposit check until Customet calls. On sept 25 I had two different quotes from you office with 2 separate dollars amounts. You were 6,000 more than majic air. I will pay this then I will log onto mass .gov and make another complaint to the liscening board of plumbers. To charge some one 1360 for a qoute is not fair business practice.  How many others have you done this to and go away with it. Regards, **** ********  

3/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had some plumbing work done back in January having to have a new shower put in. They did a Great job so great that I said to the plumber that day this makes my tub look disgusting and I see you do new bathtubs etc. He said yes I will give you a number to call. So I did and when the sales person came down with catalogs etc I was impressed with doing it in ONE Day so I booked it in late January so they said as soon as the parts come in they will call me. Well the parts came in on March 2 and I had them start March 4 and they are still not done! The carpenter shows up at 4:00pm and wants to stay until 11:00pm to hopefully finish the job. Twice I told them to go home by 9:00pm. I think that is very disrespectful when I have an 87 year old mother that is in bed at a decent hour and my daughter has to go to school in the morning and I am tired from working all day that I do not want to hear the noise up until 11PM. My point is this was advertised as a 1 day bath remodel not 2 weeks. If I knew this I never would have done it. To me it is False Advertisement. I purposely scheduled this on a Friday giving them the weekend if needed. But that still wasn't enough time. This is costing me over $10,000 and a lot of aggravation. The carpenter told me his boss wanted him to finish last night but come on who has someone pounding on the walls at 11:00pm and outside filing metal at that time of the night? The carpenter did say he was late coming over because he is doing something in the bosses house. So if that is more important to them than customers satisfaction I will never call them again. I almost want him to strip everything down and I will have someone else with professional hours do the work. As it is I am disappointed with the tub because it is smaller than the one I had so all they did was put wood around it to fit it in. I think they should have got a bigger size to fit the spot they took the old one out. They brought the wrong parts for the shower ***** and drain...some were chrome some were nickel so that is another thing the plumber has to come back and finish. The day the plumbers put the new toilets in they put one in and left the other saying that there was a part missing. Two days later a plumber had to come to move the tub for the carpenter and I asked him if he could please put the other toilet in so I don't have to keep running to the store to use the toilet he said sure why didn't they put it in? I tried to explain that they said a part was missing so when he looked at it he knew what it was and said he would be right back. He went to the store and bought it and put the toilet in for me. The following week the carpenter was working on it finally by Friday he had the walls up. So before he left I went down stairs and I saw that the box the shower doors were in were the wrong doors so I told him he said he would pass it on to his boss and they will call me. In the mean time he had to fill in the floor where they pulled out the tub because this tub is smaller. Another disappointment! So he said he would be back next week to work on that and they will order the correct shower doors. So all that was left to do was install the shower doors and put the soap dish, shelves and safety bar on. So to finish these last few things with 3 guys they could not do it in 5 hours. After that I lost my patients and sent a text to the owner last night and said I am calling a lawyer because this is ridicules. And at first I was going to give him some more work at a later date but forget it now. They put me through hell once but not twice. I did agree with the carpenter that before you offer the work to customers he should look at the project first and give you a better idea of how long something would take.

Desired Settlement: They have the responsibility of their advertisement saying "1 Day Bath Remodeling". They are responsible for their staff and the work the staff is doing. The carpenter alone called a family member to come over and look at something before he continued but she would not come by. I spoke to the owners brother one day about the bath tub not fitting right and all he said is it is the correct size. How would he know...he never saw it. He said they have to finish the project because I signed the papers. I said yes but I would like the correct items installed. I never received a copy of what was ordered all I got was the bill that I had to sign. I said that to his sister too, if I had a copy of what you ordered I would have seen that was the wrong door and corrected it right away. But that paperwork I never saw.

9/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a postcard in the mail from Addario's, advertising their triple play tune up special which cost $79.99 if scheduled prior to September 15th and was to include a tune up of water heater, furnace and air conditioner. I called and scheduled appointment which was completed on 9/03/15. At time of scheduling I was informed that I would receive a call the morning of the appointment and would be given a 2 hour time frame that a technician would arrive however I did not receive a call prior to tech arriving at 4:55pm at which time I had already left for work for the evening. My husband was unaware of appointment prior to their arrival as I believed they were not coming since I did not receive phone call with time window. Anyhow after advising my husband of the proposed work he let the tech in and inquired on tune up service which was to be completed and was advised that tech would be completing no such work and would only be completing a visual inspection of units. After tech completed inspection which lasted all but 5-10 minutes my husband paid for service and immediately contacted me after very confused as to why we would pay nearly $80 for what is essentially a quote for future service which typically is free. After speaking with my husband I called Addario's right away however I only reached what appeared to be their answering service and left my info to be contacted back the following day. I waited until around noon on Friday before contacting back at which point I asked to speak with a manager but was notified that they were on the line with another call. I explained the situation to two different associates and was advised by both that the technician was only supposed to complete a visual inspection and not anything further, I explained that the advertisement was for a tune up which normally consists of replacing filters, lubing and or oiling all necessary parts as well as cleaning and testing equipment. I again asked to speak with a manager and was advised that they would need to reach out to technician to find out what work had been done and would contact me back on Tuesday (today). I waiting again until around noon and had not heard anything so I called again and asked to speak with a manager and was advised by the associate who answered that they had spoke with tech who advised that he completed visual inspection as required and that I would not be issued a refund. I then advised that would take my complaint to the BBB, about 5 minutes later I received a call back informing me that they had not spoke with tech yet and were still awaiting his paper work to be turned in but had not forgot about me and would contact me back. Again though I was told that the visual inspection was their "tune up" and that the tech had found numerous areas which needed work which contradicts the story that she hadn't yet spoke with tech or received paper work. I informed manager that the only finding was a pipe which needed to be replaced which tech gave a price quote to fix however I advised that again a quote is typically free and should not cost $80 to obtain. As I explained to all 3 people I spoke with, I am upset that the advertisement is extremely misleading and if the service being offered is a visual inspection and not a true tune up then it should be advertised as so. I would not have spent $80 to be told that I need to get a yearly tune up/cleaning done when that is what I believed I was already paying for. I am also upset at the disgraceful customer service. Another side note to mention is also that the special is supposed to include a free carbon monoxide detector which we failed to receive, after mentioning this on Friday and clearly telling associate I was not interested in receiving now since I was seeking a refund however I woke up this morning to find the unit left on my porch.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of all money paid ($79.99)

Business Response: On September 1st we received a call to schedule a Triple Play which is a Visual inspection.  It was very clear when booking this appointment that it was a visual inspection.  We then booked the appointment for 9/3/15.  We called that morning explaining we would be on site between 3-5PM.  According to our GPS we where on site longer then 5-10 mins.  Our Plumber did a visual inspection of all piping in both bathrooms and kitchen also check piping in basement.  Addario, Inc. does not give free estimates on repairs only on new installations.    When we received  the call from ******* we did explain to her that we need to check with the plumber and review the paperwork.  The last time we spoke to ******* I told her the plumber would be in in the morning and to give me 1 more day and she agreed, but this didn't happen.  As far as the CO goes if was just an over site that the plumber did not leave it but was dropped off the next day.  ******* ***** signed the work order and gave us credit card information.  The credit card was not run so she did not pay for the service.  At this point we are looking for the CO detector to be returned as it was not paid for.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  I would like to add though just for the record that a call was never placed the morning of the appointment and that is was not clear that it was a visual inspection only. I also already advised that I did not want the CO detector as I was pursuing a refund therefore I am more than willing to return the unit, it can be picked up from the same location it was dropped off. Please notify me of when to place unit outside for pick up.  Regards, ******* *****

8/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is my belief that we were charged for a Chimney Liner and should be refunded that amount ($1195) Attempts are discussing this with the business have not yielded any positive or measurable results. We did send a certified letter which did not get a response. We also got a bill for a service we should not have been charged for, which was addressed in our letter that has not generated a response. They have also not provided the vent cover that was mentioned in our quote. I can provide documentation for all of this including a copy of the letter, a copy of the contract, a copy of the bill, and a copy of the certified mail.

Desired Settlement: We would like the refund that was verbally mentioned but curiously not itemized. We would like our vent cover. We would like to see the business adopt a model of itemized quoting and billing and we would lastly like a written acknowledgement that we are not to be charged for their mistake regarding the thermostat.

Business Response: I had a conversation today with the field supervisor and he did confirm that the chimney liner was not needed.  As far a the bill for the service call it was just a clerical error and was credited.There is no mention of a vent cover in the contract.Customer will be refunded the $1195.00 within 5 business days.***** *******Addario, Inc.************ ******************

Customer Review(s)