This business is not BBB accredited.

Father and Son Relocation Services, Inc.

Phone: (781) 391-7400 Fax: (781) 391-6060 View Additional Phone Numbers 45A Dunham Rd, Billerica, MA 01821 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.fatherandsonmovingne.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Father and Son Moving & Storage specializes in a moving and storage services. 


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Father and Son Relocation Services, Inc. include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Father and Son Relocation Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 22

Additional Complaint Information

Based on BBB files this business has a pattern of complaint concerning delivery, service, and customer service issues. Consumers state that the business gives them a price for the services, yet when the job is to be done they are told it is far more than the price they are quoted. Consumers also state that this business does not arrive to complete the job until days after the scheduled arrival date. In many cases their belongings arrive late, damaged, or not at all. Consumers also state that customer service is not responsive or helpful. 

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Father and Son Relocation Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 2007 Business started: 06/29/2007 in MA Business incorporated 01/07/2008 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

United States Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov/
Phone Number: 202-366-4000 / TTY = 1-800-877-8339 or 855-368-4200
The number is 31326.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Taylor, President Mr. Michael D Prescott, Local Sales Manager Mr. Keith Taylor, Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael D Prescott, Local Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Bryan Taylor, President
Related Businesses
PR Taylor Enterprises, LLC
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

MOVERS Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Certified Check
Money Order
Credit Cards
Refund and Exchange Policy
Business States: Local Moves - In order for your deposit to be fully refundable, all cancellations must be made in writing no later than 5 business days prior to the pick up date stated on the original signed estimate. The letter must be mailed, emailed or faxed to the office listed on this estimate. Your deposit will be non-refundable if your cancellation notice is not received at least 5 business days prior to the first original moving date.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Mover - 5 Tips - Video Moving

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Father and Son Relocation Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of D+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    45A Dunham Rd

    Billerica, MA 01821 (781) 391-7400 (888) 395-4333

Routine Literature Request
 


BBB routinely randomly checks on businesses literature/advertising to consumers.

Please email or send via postal mail a copy of the literature/advertising you received from this business.

email: research@boston.bbb.org

Postal mail:
BBB
Research Department
290 Donald Lynch Boulevard, Suite 102
Marlborough, MA 01752-4705


Thank you.
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Father & Sons to move my furniture on November 23rd from Boston, MA to New Orleans, LA. The expected delivery date per **** ******** via the phone was 3-8 days, but the contract said 14 business days. Given that the Thanksgiving holiday was shortly there after I expected my furniture to arrive December 15th at the latest. I constantly called the office and emailed regarding when my furniture would arrive and was given either no response or the same answer of "I'm trying to get a hold of dispatch". I called their dispatch line and no one ever picked up or returned my voicemails. I called the local sales office and a gentleman there said that "they normally don't go to New Orleans so it's hard to get a team to move me there". I told him if that was the case they shouldn't have taken my business. I spent the holidays sleeping on an air mattress and had to check my family who had prebooked tickets to come see me into a hotel.

Desired Settlement: I would like my furniture delivered by the first weekend of January at a discount.

Business Response: We deeply apologize to *** ******** for the delay in getting her items to her.  Delivery was made on January 11th and we certainly recognize that is shouldn't of taken as long as it did for her items to be delivered.  For her inconvenience, we discounted her bill $700.00. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.] Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. While I understand things happen a simple update that you needed more furniture to fill the truck would allow me the opportunity to get someone there to help relocate. Without that knowledge I was in the process of buying new furniture since I had essentially thought my items were stolen or the company had closed.  Regards, ******* ********

6/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ALL COPIES ATTACHED A sofa was to be delivered to #* ****** St in *****, MA and if not able to get it into the apt, it would be brought back to where the mover picked it up and there would be no charge for delivery. Original agreement was for ($200.00) for the sofa and an extra $100.00 was added for the (2) small sections agreed to by both parties. ($300.00 total). The sofas did not fit into the apt. all was brought back, but the charge remained. The Atty. General’s office has 128 complaints against this company. Can not understand how they are still in business.

Desired Settlement: I put it on my credit card, Chase Card Services (Visa) and would like my money back, $300.00.

Business Response: This move was not booked by ***** *********, but was by ****** ******.  The move was supposed to be for a one piece couch from ***** to *****.  When we arrived at the pick up location, it was discovered the couch was in fact a three piece sectional.  Both parties agreed to the increase in price and the move proceeded.  The couch was too big to get into the new location.  We asked if the landlord if could remove the banister so the crew could get the couch up the stairs, but the landlord was not willing to do that.  We then had to bring the items back to the original location and drop them off.  At no point during the booking process or the move was it discussed that the move would be for free if the item or items couldnt fit at the new location.  Several hours of labor were required to perform this service and the crew and the company needed to be compensated.  Mr. ********* has filed a chargeback with his credit card company and has lost that request.

5/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Father & Son movers to move me from ******* Nh to ***** Fl. First thing the day before my car and items were suppose to be picked up they charged me $150 more for my car. I was suppose to get refunded for that and did not. I arrived with my family in ***** on March 4 my car was suppose to be waiting for me it didnt show till 6 days later and it has broken pieces on the grill and was put on a different hauler when i contacted AD a Father & Sons he said thats what insurance is for and didnt want to hear anymore. My belongings arrived days later. Wile unloading the driver and crew were NOT keeping count at the end I asked if the truck was empty they said yes i then asked if i could see they said NO.After truck was unloaded they left 3 hrs later the driver called stating he had 3 of my boxes still and will return them in 3 days. I did not see him i have been calling weekly on my items and i was finally told on monday April 14 2014 that my items were lost and are not in the warehouse. I am missing over $1200 in my kids video games from ps2,wii and xbox 360. All my sheets and towels and items that belonged to my decease friend. I have tried to work this out with the company and nothing. No returned phone calls nothing

Desired Settlement: To be refunded for the $150 difference on my car that i was suppose to get and an additional $2000 for my missing belongings and i feel thats cheap

Business Response: We are sorry to hear of the issues that occured during Ms. ****'s relocation of both her car and household items.  We have no record of charging Ms. **** any additional money to transport her car and ask for documentation to support that claim.  Also, we request the shipping documentation of her household items because we have no record of servicing this move. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

i was trying to reply to you folks about my complaint and it went without a message Father and Son movers wanted docket #****** as far as the money for moving my car i only spoke with the man his name was **** ********* please feel free to contact me if you need more info thank you

Business Response: Unfortunatly, we don't have anyone by the name **** ********* that works at Father and Son or a docket/job number that matches the one provided.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Now isnt it funny how they said they have no docket number that matches what i have yet in their first response to my complaint they had stated and i quote "We have no record of charging Ms.**** any additional money to transport her car" right there is admission that they did move me. If the BBB would like the numbers i have I am more then wiling to turn them over. I am just asking whats rightfully mine. I wish i had done more research on this company before ever hiring them.Lesson learned

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Father and Son to transport my car to California. They promised the car would be picked up the next day, and that they would refund my $200 if the car was not picked up. They did not pick up the car. When I called back, Father and Son promised the car would be picked up the following day. When I asked if there would be a refund if they did not pick up the car, Adilson Santos, the representative, said, Yes. They did not pick up the car that day, or the next. I filed a complaint against Father and Son, and was told I would reimbursed immediately (see below). I did not receive the refund. When I called they said, "Don't worry." Three weeks have passed, and it is clear that they will not refund my money. Nor will they answer my calls. ***** ******** **** ******** Ave ***** **** CA ***** Dear ***** ******** : This notification is in regards to your complaint submitted on 9/9/2013 8:22:20 PM against Father and Son Relocation Services, Inc.. Complaint # *******. The business has sent BBB a message regarding your complaint. The contents of this message are below or attached. Message from Business: We apologize for the delay in responding to this matter. We have researched the customers claim and are initiating an immediate $200.00 refund of the customers deposit for the Auto Transport that was booked and not completed. Please respond to this message within 10 days. Thank you. Better Business Bureau

Desired Settlement: I would like an immediate refund, by check, of $200.

Business Response: We apologize for the delayed response to this situation.  We have at this point completed the research on this and deemed that the customer is correct and due a refund.  We will be processing an immediate refund of $200.00 to the customer.

Business Response: We apologize for the delayed response to this situation.  We have at this point completed the research on this and deemed that the customer is correct and due a refund.  We will be processing an immediate refund of $200.00 to the customer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I would be perfectly happy to receive the refund this business has promised. However, this is the second time I have been promised an "immediate refund" which has not been delivered.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I would be perfectly happy to receive the refund this business has promised. However, this is the second time I have been promised an "immediate refund" which has not been delivered.   

Business Response: We have researched this and found that the CC Refund that was executed never went through.  Below is confirmation of this refund now going through.  

Transaction ********** has been successfully ACCEPTED by the system.

Below is a summary:
Transaction ID: **********
Payment Method: XXXX****
Amount: USD (200.00)
Customer Name: ***** *******    

As well although the carrier we had planned to utilize didn't actually do the Auto Transport we have since received an Insurance request from ****** Fire & Insurance Company for damages to Ms. *******'s Automobile.  This was not hauled by our carrier as evidenced by the BBB Complaint filed by the customer so we have advised said insurance company of these facts.  

Business Response: We have researched this and found that the CC Refund that was executed never went through.  Below is confirmation of this refund now going through.   Transaction ********** has been successfully ACCEPTED by the system. Below is a summary: Transaction ID: ********** Payment Method: ******** Amount: USD (200.00) Customer Name: ***** *******     As well although the carrier we had planned to utilize didn't actually do the Auto Transport we have since received an Insurance request from Quincy Fire & Insurance Company for damages to Ms. *******'s Automobile.  This was not hauled by our carrier as evidenced by the BBB Complaint filed by the customer so we have advised said insurance company of these facts.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

This is the third time Father and Son has promised a refund. I've just checked with my credit card company, and no refund has been issued. As for their claim that they are not responsible for the damage to my car - they are. Father and Son does not actually transport cars, they are brokers. The charge of $200 was for speedy pickup, which is why they promised a refund. When the car was finally picked up, it was through another broker, which they arranged. Since they arranged everything and charged me for it, they are responsible.

Consumer Response:



I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

This is the third time Father and Son has promised a refund. I've just checked with my credit card company, and no refund has been issued. As for their claim that they are not responsible for the damage to my car - they are. Father and Son does not actually transport cars, they are brokers. The charge of $200 was for speedy pickup, which is why they promised a refund. When the car was finally picked up, it was through another broker, which they arranged. Since they arranged everything and charged me for it, they are responsible.

11/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are not enough words to describe the horrendous experience I have had with Father & Son Moving. As background, I was moving from SE Florida to Boston and came across this Company as I researched multiple long distance moving companies. From the time of my initial call with the salesperson "****," I was completely mislead. I explicitly stated that my delivery must happen between November 1st and November 3rd, as I was starting my new job on the 4th and wouldn't be available. I chose to use Father & Son because **** said on numerous occasions that they "could meet that window", would "take care of me", and "do it right." Despite my efforts to get it in writing (he was smart enough not to email me back), I was told it would be done, and even accepted his excuse as to why he couldn't change it on the contract (he stated the system wouldn't allow it without changing my pick-up date). I also asked if calls were recorded just to be safe, but later was told by customer service that was not the case. This was just the beginning of the lies. I landed in Boston on November 1st and called the company since I hadn't gotten an update since my driver left (the driver also said he was leaving three days after pickup and would be there earlier than the 1st). I was informed by dispatch that the truck hadn't even left Florida yet and they were well within their contracted time limit. I explained what I was told by **** and they did not change their tone, with the "Operations Manager *****" even telling me that "I should not live on this planet if I think everything should go right". This was just the start of the customer service department experience, which should be called the customer disservice department. Only once over the ensuing weeks did the head of customer service actually call me back like he promised. Without any remorse, "***" repeatedly left me out to dry waiting for an answer and offered a measly $200 compensation for late delivery and inconvenience. If only I had more characters left....

Desired Settlement: I would like the total moving cost to be completely refunded. The $200 compensation I received doesn't even cover one nights hotel expense that I incurred because of their failure to deliver on the contract. In addition, I am seeking reimbursement for hotel stay, rental car expense to buy home goods, and refund of home goods purchased. BTW, they were even late by their own standards, not delivering my items till long after the 10 business day window.

Business Response: We understand that this customer isn't happy with the final offer from F&S but we have gone beyond what the contract offers.  The customers move was scheduled with a 10 day delivery window with a request for an 11/3/13 delivery.  We were 3 days beyond the 10 day window which would allow the customer a $90.00 rebate due to late delivery ($30.00/day).  We compensated the customer with $210.00 already discounted directly off his final balance. The Company Terms & Conditions clearly state in Line #4 that we have a 1-10 Business Day Delivery Window - See Line #4 below. 4. Delivery Schedule – The time frame of when you can expect to receive your shipment after it has been picked up. East Coast 1-10 Days, Mid West 7-14 days, West Coast 7-21 days These estimated delivery times of arrival shall go into place from the first day that you are ready to accept the shipment. You will be required to submit to our office in writing the first date available for delivery including the delivery address. Delivery spreads are based on business days only although deliveries may be made on the weekend. Please note that some pick ups and deliveries may be handled by affiliate companies.

11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired father and son relocation to move my house stuff from ********* to *********. when the driver arrived he misbehaved and demanded money. when i told him i will call the cops if they do not give me my bags. He then started unloading my bags and throwing them on the road. They brought a few bags inside my house and damaged property of the building by dropping the bags. When i counted my bags i told them my bags are less they said ohh we will bring it and ran away with the truck. When i contacted the company and reported this they spoke to me very rudely and were unhelpful. When i filed a complain with their insurance they said i signed for the bags which is untrue. the company employees spoke to me in a threatening manner. Broke my property in the bags.

Desired Settlement: I want my stolen bags back and the property that they damaged repaired or $10500 for the harassment.

Business Response: This complaint stems from a job that was $460.00 in total.  She is stating here and in court documents losses of in excess of $6,500.00 !The customer has now not only put a complaint on the BBB but has also filed a Small Claims Case with the State of Massachusetts District Court System.  Any ancillary charges that were presented to the customer were in compliance with the "Company Terms & Conditions" of which were signed on electronically on the date of booking as well as the day of pick up.  The customer has been offered the option of following through with the F&S claims process but as of yet has not taken advantage of this opportunity.

Consumer Response:

 

 


 

 

 

Business Response: Since there is no information on this rejection of our response there is not much we can add to this situation.  We have since received a Small Claims Notice for this customer.  The customers total shipment costs were under $500 and she isn't claiming any damages to her shipment.  The Small Claims Suit that is filed is for $6,500.00 at this time.  Very unsure as to what this could be for.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Father and Son Moving    DOT: *******    MC: ******    Mover Registration: *****

Dear BBB:  We contracted with Father and Son relocation, from Billerica, MA to provide service for a recent move from ****** to *******, IL. We had explored varying national and local moving companies and arranged for three in-home estimates. We selected Father and Son because of the informative nature of the Sales person, ***, the price of the estimate (It was the average of the three estimates I had received), the promised date of delivery, and the expectation that our belongings were in “good hands”. The original estimate was for $5775.29 - We paid a deposit of $1890.97. Another moving company (Cross-Country Movers) showed up at our door on 8/20/2013, indicating that Father and Son didn't have the capacity to move us. The movers loaded our belongings in a truck that appeared rented and not affiliated with any moving company, and then let us know that the cost was actually over $10,000, based on the cubic feet of our belongings. The mover indicated that we had more boxes that originally estimated - and this was the reason why the actual cost was doubled. We pointed out, yes, we had 12 more small-medium size boxes, however, we had two less pieces of furniture (two recliner chairs) - and we were puzzled regarding how this difference could result in almost double the cost of the move. We have moved up and down the east coast at least six times and we have never experienced a difference like this. The driver called his boss at Cross-Country, and I spoke with ***** at Father and Son, and they decided to give us a “discount’ on my move, and the resulting cost was $8764.00, - which is $2989.00 over the in-person estimate price. Our belongings arrived over a week after the promised date, and there were many damaged item. Apparently, our things were in a warehouse in Jersey City for the week, and were moved between trucks. Our mattress pad was only partially covered in moving blankets, but, much of it was exposed. We paid the driver the balance of the $8764.00 – because this was a different driver, and it was midnight. Since receiving our things, we wrote several letters to Father and Son, followed-up with phone communications to both Father and Son and Cross Country movers, however, to date, we have no affirmation of the disservice of this company. Father and Son Relocation has been under-investigation by the MA Attorney General’s office, and also the FBI, because this is an interstate business. Despite knowing this, we proceeded to contract with the local moving company based on the informative nature of salesperson, the agreed upon date of delivery, the price, and the promise that our belongings would be handled in a professional and high quality manner. None of this occurred. It is unfair to a consumer to be in a position to have to pay double than what was previously agreed upon in an in-person estimate. A customer makes a decision to hire a mover based on several variables, including price, quality, customer service, and timing. When none of these things are honored in a transaction – a company should be held responsible. We hope others can learn from our experience with both Father and Son and Cross Country Movers and choose a more honorable company. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Monetary difference between agreed upon and actual cost of the mover; Investigation by BBB, DOT, and others regarding the moving practices of this company; and payments for damage sustained to belongings.

Business Response: Father & Son has at this point refunded the entire deposit paid by this customer.  We are working diligently with the customer to get any additional compensation available to her from the Autorized Agent/Carrier of this job.  Customer is in constant contact with our Customer Service Manager and they are working together towards final resolution.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I appreciate Father and Son's communication with me regarding this issue. The issue of over payment and damage to household goods continues. Father and Son indicated that their authority/responsibility for over charge and damaged goods is not theri responsibility, since, they contracted out my move with another carrier, who than apparently contracted out to a third carrier. My original contract was with Father and Son, not Cross Country Mover, thus, i continue to believe that Father and Son has responsibility to provide oversight in this agreement. Father and Son reimbursed us for the down payment made to their company, however, the irresponsible performance of Cross Country Movers, selected by Father and Son, and not me, the customer, merits additional investigation.

Business Response: F&S is still working with Mrs. ******* to resolve this situation.  We will stay in contact with Mrs. ******* until final resolution is attained.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with this company to move all of my household goods from NY to my new home in Florida. The main reason I selected this company was their assurance they would not outsource the move to another company. Their website states "We offer one-stop, end-to-end moving and storage services for local and long distance residential and commercial relocation." Just to be absolutely sure, I asked ****, their salesman, if there could be another chance they would outsource the move, and both times he said absolutely not, and to quote him from the second time I asked, he said "No chance. Father & Son moves that route all the time." The move was scheduled for Saturday, July 13, 2013. The day before, Friday, when I called ****, he said the move had been outsourced and not to call them anymore as they were no longer responsible for our move. The outsourced company turned out to be rude, unprofessional, dishonest and they ripped us off. They charged us $850 over the original estimated cost of $1719 even though there was less load than originally estimated; they charged us $195 for repacking which we had done ourselves; they changed the moving time from the original estimate of 7 days to 21 days; and they lost several items, including a dining room table and 6 chairs, a living room chair, and a $950 racing bike. This company takes no responsibility for any of our loss.

Desired Settlement: Refund us $850 for the overcharge by their outsourced company, and take responsibility for having our lost items returned or compensate us $4,000 for their replacement value

Business Response: Here at F&S Moving we usually haul all of our customers moves.  That being said at times we need to utilize other Licensed FMCSA Carriers to assist us so as to make sure the customers move happens in a timely fashion.  This process is clearly stated in our Company Terms and Conditions which are signed off on by each and every customer.  Below will be a reference copy of Line #9 of the Company Terms and Conditions that explains this process in detail. As for the overcharge all of the final charges are determined by the actual carrier and any disputes and responsibility lands on the carrier.  This also means that all damages should be covered by the carrier as well.  Filing a claim can only be done with the company that carries a shipment.  We again recommend that Mr. **** contact the carrier and request Claims Services from them. Reference: 9. Carrier Role/Agent Role – In the event of unforeseen circumstances whereby Father and Son Relocation Services is unable to service the client it may elect the following. As a properly licensed interstate carrier, Father and Son Relocation Services reserves the right to coordinate and arrange for transportation of a client’s House Hold Goods by an FMCSA authorized motor carrier whose charges will be determined by its published tariff. Father and Son Relocation Services will not be responsible for the acts, conduct or omissions of the motor carrier whom the client will hire directly by way of a bill of lading contract. Father and Son Relocation Services is not a party to the contract for moving services entered between the client and the motor carrier.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/11/2013 I gave a deposit of 777.83 for my move in 10/2013. I spoke wilt ******* he stated if I change my plans to email him and ask for my refund and I emailed him on 8/17/2013. I called 8/20/2013 to make sure he received the e-mail and he says he received it and he will let his supervisor know and I should receive it in 5 busines days. I called on 8/26/2013 to follow up with ******* and he transferred me to accounting and his supervisor said he never received an email from ******* stating i wanted my refund. He said he will look into it and get it processed. Someone called 30 minutes later and said I should receive my refund by 8/30/2013 and i still dont have it.

Business Response: F&S has already refunded this customer on 09/06/13 per the terms and conditions as stated in the contract that was signed by the customer.  As you will see in the Line #1 the Reservation/Deposit is clearly defined in detail.  As well in Line #10 the Cancellation Policy clearly states that the 25% is refundable if the cancellation is received in writing within 7 Days of the original move date.  This line also clearly states that the Binding Fee is NON-REFUNDABLE.

References:
1. Reservation/Deposit – To make a reservation, a deposit of 25% of the total of the move is taken in order to secure a moving date as well as to secure space on the truck. When furnished with a Binding Estimate the associated fee for such an estimate will also be collected in addition to the 25% for securing the reservation. The deposit will be applied to the move and deducted from the cost of the move. Reservations can be made with a Visa, MasterCard or American Express, by signing the estimate I allow the company to charge my card for the agreed amount. Carrier reserves the right to collect up to 60% of the balance due prior to the goods leaving the origin state.

10. Cancellation Policy – All cancellations must be made in writing within 7 business days of the first available pick up date as stated on the original estimate and are fully refundable. The letter must be mailed, emailed or faxed to the office listed on this estimate. The Binding Estimate Fee is non-refundable. Your deposit will be non-refundable if your cancellation notice is not received at least 7 business days prior to the first date of your moving pick up window (moving date).

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Father and Son to transport my car from Massachusetts to California on August 28, 2013. ******* ******, the rep at Father and Son, assured me that they were a family-owned Mass business, that they had "hundreds" of drivers going from MA to CA, that they would indeed show up the next day or my deposit would be refunded, and that the price would be $200 deposit (because it was such short notice) plus $100 deposit for the driver and $1325 in cash or money order upon delivery. I left my car with a friend and caught my flight to CA. The driver did not show up the next day. ******* said he had no information. *********, the dispatcher, said that because it was the weekend, the driver wanted $1400. I said fine. Another day passed, and the driver still did not show up. By now, my friend had missed several appointments, and was growing worried. ********* told her that the driver would come the following day, and wanted yet another hundred dollars. (It was now up to $1500.) The driver did not come that day. ******* said he would look into it, but did not call me back. ********* was touchy, and said he was working his butt off, and to give him a break. I called ******* again, and once again he assured me that if the driver did not come (on Sunday) my deposit would be refunded. Finally, the driver appeared on Monday, four days late. Then, I heard nothing for five days. I had no idea when he was going to arrive. I called *******, and he said he had no information. I tried to call the driver, but his phone was out of order. Finally, I got a call from my friend, who said that the driver had called her, wondering where I was. She gave me the number he'd called her from, I phoned him, and an hour later he appeared at my house in CA. The driver told me several things I had not been aware of. First, the deposit was the broker's fee, not a deposit for the move. Second, the additional $100 was not for the driver, but for the second broker, *********, the one who had actually posted the job. Third, the driver did not ask for more money. Father and Son had posted the job for $1325 and none of the drivers had responded. Once Father and Son (or *********) raised the amount to $1500, a driver accepted the job. Father and Son should have refunded my deposit because the driver did not come on the day promised (several times). They should have disclosed right from the start that they were brokers, not shippers. They should have told me that the additional $100 was for a second broker, not for the driver as stated. They should not have quoted a price without having a driver.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $200 deposit that Father and Son charged me for a next-day pickup. The pickup was delayed by four days, and Father and Son stated on several occasions that if the car was not picked up on the scheduled day that they would give me a refund of my deposit.

Business Response: We apologize for the delay in responding to this matter.  We have researched the customers claim and are initiating an immediate $200.00 refund of the customers deposit for the Auto Transport that was booked and not completed.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company performed my relocation services from Pennsylvania to Florida. The home goods they delivered had extensive damages and they fail to return any resolution to both myself or my attorney. When I begin to identify the damages on delivery, ( my mattress black with hand prints and not covered but I paid to have this done) the mover informed me he was not aware the mattress need to be covered but it was clearly marked that i purchased $75.00 in covers and not communicated. Needless to say the mattress was hauled uncovered and is now contaminated. The next remark made by the movers was that they do their best and if I claim anything damaged that their paycheck would be deducted and that they only live 30 minutes from my location in West Palm. My witness and I viewed this as an intimidation tactic and decided for our own safety not to present any further damages to them. At the end of the move the movers asked me to sign my name on the form and I specifically asked what am I signing for and the person said you are signing saying we delivered your stuff. On the bottom of the form it states to list damages but considering the intimidation statements made to us by the movers we felt it was best to report it directly to the company or we may be harmed. While the movers were present I contacted the sales rep to inform him that that mattress was damaged not covered and of course he never returned my call. The very next day i sent an email to the company informing them that my TV was damaged as well and that I needed a preson to call me back right away. The person did call back and informed me to take pictures and forward everything to him to process claim and that they assured me the movers intimidation tactics or remarks were not supported by the company. By the end of the week I presented my claim of various items damaged including photos and not heard back from the company. I then hired a cargo attorney who sent a letter of demand but also had no response from the company. The money of damages is approx $2200.00 which does not seem like much but for me it is the principle of the situation and I am willing to spend money to prove what they did is wrong to the consumer and hopefully help others who use this company. There no good faith effort from this company to make things right at this current time. If no resolve is made I will be pursue litigation , place a claim against their bond , seek further damages, and attorneys fees. From the very beginning the company appeared to be questionable in regards to the sales reps knowledge, so when I questioned him or several things of accuracy or things that did not make sense , he responded that " he was new and he is just learning this job ". I read other complaints filed and this seems to be a normal response or a business response agenda which were given to other consumers. They also transmitted forms to be signed as agreements and pressured me to sign the forms right away with no delay so I would not lose my truck. The explaination I received of what I am signing for is to book the truck and to agreeto the first payment authorization. I notified rep in the beginning of the week before my move that things had to be removed from the inventory and some things added but it ended up to be less weight due to the removing of heavy furniture. I asked the sales rep why my price went up and he explained that it is better to inflate the price because I am paying for weight and if it is overweight I will be hit with big fees so it is best to do it this way and I will get money back after the drivers pick up my things and directly go to a weigh station. If it proves on the weight ticket to be less weight I will be reimbursed at the time of my delivery in Florida but he wanted me to be safe not to be hit with overweight fees. My price went from $1800.00 to $2600.00 to PROTECT me from over fees.( This is eveident of a tactic used to get you to spend more money which they will never give a consumer back unless the contracts you are signing are explained which in my case were not). The rep told me I would receive a weigh ticket at delivery to show me the weight of my things and I would only pay by weight.. At pick up I noticed that the update to remove my furniture I was not taking was never done though I asked to have this update done via email and phone call. I immediately contacted the company after noticing this error via phone and email but never heard back from them in any regard to this error. At the end of packing my things the movers asked me to sign the form stating they picked up my things and never explained I am signing for piece count not weight. Why would the company even supply me with a form that was a different agreement of piece count now when the original agreement was by weight? I found out later from dispatch when I questioned the weight that the form I signed at pick up meant I am paying by the piece count not by the weight which contradicts what I was told about paying for weight by the sales rep. This was another tactic used to get more money from the consumer but I am not seeking a resolution on this situation as I just want the consumer to be aware of the misrepresentation I was provided with the services rendered. My delivery was also late based on my verbal agreement so we had to get a hotel room because we had no furniture or bed. The was another cost not expected. I called dispatch who gave me the run around over and over and the same thing with the movers/driver stating the same thing. The sales rep even informed me to work it out with the driver and throw them EXTRA CASH to get my delivery when I needed it. Another tactic used to gain more money. Needless to say I ever received any money back for the lessor weight as stated by the sales rep. I want a resolve to my damages in order for me not to proceed with litigation. Again, this is not about the money but it is about the principle and I will pursue it further at whatever the cost to prove that this company does not provide services at 100% of what consumers pay for as well as suppy you new forms to sign that conflict with the original agreement. I want to be compensated for my damages or I will pursue this claim and more.

Desired Settlement: In the amount of claim submitted to the company $2202.50 I have suffered great emotional stress over this as well as worryment of the movers returning to harm me or my family

Business Response: Mr. ***** has retained a lawyer to contact us on his behalf and multiple calls into the office have yet to yield a return call to Father & Son Relocation Services. 

The claims process was explained in detail to the customer and he has yet to follow the actual claims process.  The customer E-Signed the Company Terms & Conditions which include Line #3 – Liability/Insurance (See below).  This contract includes .60 per pound based off the customer’s selection.  At this point the customer is now looking for Full Value Protection which was offered yet declined at the time of the contract being E-Signed.  As well information was forwarded to the customer that gave them the option still for a 3rd party insurance.

As far as delivery is concerned the delivery window was 04/29/13-05/13/13 and delivery was made on 05/06/13.  On that very same day the customer had called into Long Distance Dispatch and advised that if he didn’t hear from the driver immediately he would claim his entire shipment as lost.  The delivery window for all East Coast moves is 1-10 days per the Company Terms & Conditions Line #4 – Delivery Schedule (See Below).  As such he was advised the shipment isn’t lost and is still in transit within the contracted delivery window.

The cost of this move went at estimate.  The estimate was for $2694.60 and this is what the final bill was.

 

Reference:

(3) Liability/Insurance – Included at NO CHARGE is liability coverage of 60 cents per pound per article with a $0 deductible. Unless otherwise specified on this order for service you are accepting 60 cents per pound per article as your liability coverage. This is not insurance, it is basic liability coverage. By Signing below I agree that
I have been offered additional insurance at a rate based on the amount of coverage requested. Insurance is voluntary and will become effective when a separate, full policy payment is received and a specific policy has been issued. Additional full value protection is available and additional insurance may be purchased through a 3rd party company. Additional full value protection is available and additional insurance may be purchased through a 3rd party company. Additional insurance must be purchase within 3 business days of the move. For more information about additional insurance please contact the following companies:

- MovingInsurance.com at 888-893-8835 or www.movinginsurance.com

- Baker International at 800-356-0093 or www.bakerintl.com

(4) Delivery Schedule – The time frame of when you can expect to receive your shipment after it has been picked up.

East Coast 1-10 Days, Mid West 7-14 days, West Coast 7-21 days

These estimated delivery times of arrival shall go into place from the first day that you are ready to accept the shipment. You will be required to submit to our office in writing the first date available for delivery including the delivery address. Delivery spreads are based on business days only although deliveries may be made on the weekend. Please note that some pick ups and deliveries may be handled by affiliate companies.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Consumer Response:




 

Business Response: Today at 4:30pm E.S.T. a conversation was had with Mr. *********** ** ****** of ********** * ******** based out of *** *******, CA in regards to Mr. ***** and his claim.  Mr. ****** has been advised to have Mr. ***** contact our Claims Firm (Claims Services International - 877.274.0074 or info@csipros.org).  Again Mr. ****** was advised that the consumer needs to speak with CSI to initiate a claim as he was told by F&S on his initial contact to us.  The attempt to have his lawyer write a letter in an effort to ask for over $2,000.00 rather than go through the claims service leads us to believe he is hoping to get more than the agreed upon .60/pound that he signed for on the companies TERMS & CONDITIONS.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I was told to contact the third party after I was originally informed by ****** ****** to send the claim, damaged list ,evidence (photos) to F&S which I did specifically and followed F&S Reps instructions. F&S sent me an email after their initial instructions to send the information to a third party and I disputed that second instruction and hired an attorney. It appears they want to take no responsibility and the reps of F&S do not have any idea of what their own process is at their company.  The F&S company was negligent in handling my property and needs to be held responsible whether or not I waived the insurance or not PERIOD. F&S has a responsibility for the damages caused by their staff for blatant neglect and mishandling of my home goods. I filed a full value claim for my damaged property to replace or repair despite F&S response of not paying the $2000.00 value. F&S is to provide a service to move your things and is responsible to deliver the property in the same condition they received it period unless the situation is not within their control. ie; traffic accident, weather of natural disaster.  These types of situations would be understandable and not within F&S control but my damaged home goods were due to mishandling and neglect.  Good business ethics of F&S obviously lack and I am a man of principle and will pursue this no matter what it costs me. I will contact their third party with my attorney per their instructions but I will not settle for lesser value of claimed damages initially presented to F&S. There is a blatant disregard for a consumers property and F&S taking no responsibility for the movers/ handlers who are the responsible parties of damaging my property. F&S is responsible and it will be expected that my claim is paid in full by whoever they choose. I already paid them  to move my things and they damaged them and now I am expected to accept over $2000.00 in damages created by their movers ? They point out I am only entitled to .60 cents per lb. for their wantful and willful neglect and mishandling? UNACCEPTABLE - This you can see by the written statement below from F&S that they do not feel I am entitled to be paid for WHAT THEY DAMAGED. Really ? .60 cents per lb will not even be close to the value of the created damages by f&s for blatant neglect, and mishandling. F&S is delusional to think I am expected to accept less when they caused the damaged. If I am not compensated in full based on my claim value, I promise to take further legal action against F&S for the damaged value , attorneys fees and court costs and also file a motion of intimidation tactics/threats spoken by F&S movers/handlers for the emotional distress and worry they have caused me. I have a witness to all the facts of damages and threats/intimidation. I would like the BBB to keep this complaint active until the legality of this situation is settled.  Several other clients on the web who have filed complaints in one form or the other have the same issues that I have had and are willing to participate in a class action suit with me. I want this paid in full or I will continue to pursue every possible option I have including the media.

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed a contract with this company to move my belongings across the country. Paid a deposit of over $1,000. Days before the move was to occur the company informed me they had changed plans and I was forced to sign a new contract with another company for more money. Father & Son did not forward my deposit to the new company and is refusing to return my deposit even though they did nothing in the move. The company they sent to move my belongings was terrible and most of my belongings were damaged or are missing. The new company is not certified by the BBB and a simple Google search reveals they are a shady company with numerous complaints against them and even some criminal activities.

Desired Settlement: I will accept nothing less than a full refund of my entire deposit.

Business Response:

After a lengthy conversation with Ms. ****** we have gotten her to understand that the company that actually carried her items/goods is the one that is repsonsible for the claims process on anything that is damaged and/or missing.  F&S makes every effort to haul all of it's own jobs but when we can't we give the move to a Licensed FMCSA Carrier.  This is the case with this move.  All damages need to filed against the carrier. 

F&S has offered to refund the customer $200.00 and she has accepted this offer.  This was done even though there is no liability for us to do so.  We have furnished Ms. ****** with the proper contact information for the carrier and advised her to let us know if there is any additional information we can assist her with.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I did not agree to the $200 refund from my deposit of $1082.55 from F&S.  I had to sign a new contract with Florida Southwest Vanlines, Inc in the amount of $3,762.65 for the move.  F&S backed out of the previous contract, they did not forward my deposit to the new company or return any of it to me.  They kept $1,082.55 of my money without doing anything about my move. 

Business Response: We understand that this customer rejects our decision but this doesn't change the facts of the situation.  We have given the customer all the information necessary to show that her deposit was applied to the move cost with the carrier.  As well the deposit and binding fee are retained by us as the booking agent.  All funds have been applied to the customers shipment in accordance with the Company Terms & Conditions signed by the customer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. The contract I signed with Father and Son was to MOVE my furniture to New Mexico, not to broker it out to another moving company.  I was forced to sign a new contract with another company on the day of the move for more money, F&S didn't forward any of my deposit money to the other moving company or return any portion to me.  Why Father & Son think they are entitled to $1082.55 to arrange for another mover to do the job is ludicrous.  Then to make matters worse the company they chose to replace "their own truck and their own people"  does not have a very good reputation!

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am not sure if this should be this category or should be delivery.  I recently moved from ******** MA to ************ Florida.  Father and Son picked up my furniture/etc on June 27th and delivered it to ************ on Monday July 1. I was not in ************ as yet so my signed for the delivery. When I arrived, I found that several of my items were missing: 1 metal bedframe...1 barstool with a back and swivel seat and 2 oriental style are rugs. When I realized that these items were missing I called the salesman that I worked with to ask him how I would make a claim. He wasn't there so I left a message on his voice mail to ask him to call me back. I also called the 800 number and found that all claims must be in writing so I sent them an email. I have sent them an e mail just about every day since asking them 1. do they have my things and 2. can they investigate the matter. I have also called the claims number and asked them to call me back. I have had no response from any of my calls or no response from my e mails. Servie has not be good. When I scheduled the appointment I was told it would be on the 26th, I didn't realize that there was a two day schedulling window and my move would be scheduled the next day on June 27th which put me in a crunch. The pick-up was supposed to be in the morning between 8-12. which didn't happen because of delays. Dispatch was nice enough to call me to tell me that they were running late and rescheduled to 12-4pm. It was 6:30 by the time the truck arrived at my house. When the men opened the back of the truck to load my things there was stuff falling out of the truck, when I said I hope that you are not putting my stuff in there with that, they said no that stuff falling out of the truck was just garbage and picked it all up and threw it further into the truck. Needless to say this made me very uncomfortable but at ^:30 on the day I had to be out of the house I did not have much choice.

Desired Settlement: All I want from Father and Son Moving are my things. Bedframe/barstool/and 2 area rugs.

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: COMPLAINT INCLUDES CLAIMS THAT FSRS: (1) GROSSLY INFLATED SHIPMENT WEIGHTS IN PROVIDING AN ESTIMATE ; (2) AT TIME OF PICK UP , RAISED THE COST TO SHIP THE ALREADY GROSSLY OVER-ASSED SHIPMENT BECAUSE THE ITEMS WERE CLAIMED TO BE HEAVY ; (3) ATTEMPTED TO ASSES STORE CHARGES AFTER LOADING SHIPMENT ; (4) LOST (7) ITEMS OF SHIPMENT AND UNACCEPTABLY DAMAGED 51% OF FURNITURE SHIPMENT ; (5) DID NOT ASSESS CLAIM IN FULL COMPLIANCE WITH CONTRACT TERMS AND UNREASONABLY EXCLUDED SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE ; (6) HAS NOT PROVIDED REIMBURSEMENT FOR TRANSPORTATION COSTS OF ITEMS LOST /DESTROYED AS PROVIDED BY US DOT REGULATION ; AND (7) HAS IGNORED FOUR(4) REQUESTS TO FORWARD FORMS APPROPRIATE TO INITIATE THE ARBITRATION PROCEDURE DESCRIBED ON ITS CONTRACT OF LADING.

Desired Settlement: PLEASE SEE EXHIBIT 2: (1) RECOVERY BASED ON AMSA WEIGHTS FOR UNACCEPTABLE DAMAGE TO MY FURNITURE ; (2) REIMBURSEMENT OF ACTUAL TRANSPORTATION CHARGES FOR ITEMS LOST/DESTROYED AS PROVIDED BY US DOT REGULATION ; (3) COMPLIANCE WITH MY REQUESTS FOR ARBITRATION FORMS ; AND (4) RSRS SHOULD CEASE ISSUANCE OF FALSE AND DECEPTIVE ADVERTISING CLAIMS .

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that Ms. ****** has had difficulty with her move and have been attempting to finalize all claims through our claims provider - Claims Adjusting Firm (CAF).  All claims made are processed solely through CAF not the F&S offices. F&S uses the AMSA Military Scale to get the weights of all items being shipped by our customers.  This shipment resulted in more items being shipped than were in the initial estimate for service.  The delivery spread is agreed upon and signed off by the customer in the Estimate and Terms & Conditions. When delivery isn't able to be accepted there is a “Storage in Transit” charge levied as per our Tariff.  

Again this customer has filed a claim through CAF and was offered a settlement offer on 02/08/13 which she has yet to accept or dispute as of today.




Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

My response is actually contained in the body of my complaint.  Consequently, in an attempt to make it easier to understand, I have reorganized my complaint to respond to the six (6) specific sentences in the F&S response.  My full response is attached.Most importantly, I reject the statement that I have yet to accept or reject a 02/08/13 settlement offer.  On March 8, 2013, I filed with CAF a letter of exceptions to its Notice of Award.  I have documentation from the U.S. Postal Service that the my letter was delivered to CAF on March 11, 2013, at 11:21am.  CAF never responded to my letter of exceptions suggesting that the settlement offer was of the "take it or leave it" variety.Further, it is apparently inaccurate that "All claims are processed solely through CAF not the F&S offices".  On April 3, 2013, I received an e-mail message from F&S Representative **** **** advising that he had received my letter rebutting my settlement offer.  He stated that, if agreed upon by me, he would send a one-time settlement release form to fill out, notarize, and return.  The $225 offer represented approximately 15% of my total formula based claim.  On April 15, 2013, I responded by e-mail to **** ****'s settlement offer, I detailed the vague aspects of the settlement offer and stated that it was unacceptable.  In that e-mail, I made one (1) of a total of four (4) requests that F&S forward the forms necessaryto initiate the arbitration procedure described in its contract of lading.  The contract states specifically that the request for forms must be directed to the company.  F&S has never responded to any of the three (3) written requests or the one (1) telephone request.    

8/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted a price for my move. It was lower than all other bids so I gave a deposit of $447 to secure trhe move. When the movers arrived, they said it would cost triple the quoted price. I refused to let them continue the move. They refused to return the deposit. They have a policy to cancel within 7 days, but we were in 5 days when we entered the agreement. Their was not a 7 day window. They quoted $1200 and raised the price to $3500 after I secured the job. (bait & switch).... I got the job done for less than $1000 the next day. It is true that I had more boxes than what I thought and expected a higher price. But the price tripled and I only had more boxes. Not triple the load. The weight would not changed that drastically, because the extra boxes was clothes blankets and pillows. They basically stole my $447 and I have no way to get it back. They never gave me any service. No service was rendered. I hope you (BBB) can help... Thank You!

Desired Settlement: To advise not to do business by phone. And to make sure none of my associates have the same problem. An agreement of such should be good for both parties and protect both parties. They have my money and no service was rendered. Now I cannot get it back. My bank is working with me to reverse the charge but has had no success. If I do not get it back, I will make sure everyone knows of this companies practices.

Business Response: Upon arrival at the customers Pick-Up location the driver noted that the customer had more items and weight than his estimate indicated.  The drivers initial visual assesment showed the shipper had an extra 60 Cartons, 16 Plastic Totes, Excercise Bike as well plus some extra furniture.  The driver gave a revised estimate and the customer refused service at that time.

Noted below are the Terms & Conditions line #10 which shows that the cancellation policy is that all cancellations must be done no less than 7 business days from the customers original pick up date.  Also in the Terms & Conditions in line #5 it states that charges would take place for any overages of weight.

Again, this customer E-Signed the Terms & Conditions and was furnished with all necessary documents to go over the inventory he provided that the contract was built off.

Sources:  Company Terms & Conditions:

5. Additional Weight – The estimate and order for service are based off of weight. The weight is determined off of the inventory provided by you. Should there be any additional weight as a result of additional items not listed on the original inventory there will be a charge of an additional 10 cents per pound above the discounted tariff price for all additional weight.

10. Cancellation Policy – All cancellations must be made in writing within 7 business days of the first available pick up date as stated on the original estimate and are fully refundable. The letter must be mailed, emailed or faxed to the office listed on this estimate. The Binding Estimate Fee is non-refundable. Your deposit will be non-refundable if your cancellation notice is not received at least 7 business days prior to the first date of your moving pick up window (moving date).

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Numerous issues with this company. I have tried on numerous occasions to reach the company but no one returns phone calls. A few examples of my issues: I had to pay additional money or they were going to hold my furniture. They never weighed my furniture but charged for additional pounds. They outsourced the work to a very unreliable firm.They told me they had a truck break down and had to rent another truck making them 5 hours late after confirming time of delivery that morning. Were told they had to use one specific elevator in the apartment building but did not comply thus costing me a fine. Every time I spoke to them after they picked up my furniture they told me a different story and the main issue was they do not recognize two men as a couple and would not honor a check from checking account. Everything about them is false and no one should use them in the future. Any firm that does not recognize a gay couple as moving together needs to come to a 2013 realization. They need to be put out of business.

Desired Settlement: my main goal is to make others aware but truly feel the fact that they charged for extra weight without proof should be considered illegal and those funds should be repaid.

Business Response: As a licensed mover at times we may be required to use a “Temporary Agent” if we have a mechanical issue or a truck that fills up unexpectedly.  This is a common andaccepted practice in the moving industry.  In regards to this move we did have a mechanical issue and in an effort to get this move covered we used Cross Country which is a “Temporary Agent” of Father & Son Relocations Services.As is standard in the industry we don’t accept any personal checks for final payment.  This is communicated in the Company Terms and Conditions Line #2 – Forms of Payment.   This section also covers the fact that we don’t unload at the destination until the remaining balance is paid.  Upon arrival at the Pick-Up location a Written Revised Contract was initiated and signed by the customer.  This is a standard practice that is done when a customer has more items than were listed. At pick-up this customer signed the “Written Revised” binding them at the agreed upon new rate.Here at Father & Son Moving we are very understanding and open to all individuals.  We don’t discriminate based off race, religion, color, creed or sexual orientation.  We have had past and present employees that are of different races, religions, color, creed and sexual orientation and would in no way discriminate based off anything of that nature. We have reached out again to make a good faith effort to compensate this customer  with a $150.00 refund and at this time are awaiting a response.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Father and Son has my address, email address, and phone number, with no communication received from them as they stated in their response. They also state that the items were over the original estimate, and that is incorrect. The conversations with both ******* and then ***** ****** were specific with the items moving. Our quote for the move was $1935.00 plus $290.25 fuel surcharge and $295.00 Binding fee. We were assured our cost would be 2520.25 and that if any weight overage occurred we would be presented with proof of weight. No proof provided for the extra cost of $321.00. Father and Son also states about the contract signed, and I am more then happy to read them there own contract that states Upon pickup 50% payment will be due in the form of credit card, cash, or money order. After all of the items were  loaded the driver advised that a credit card would not be accepted from Mr ******. They did recommend paying by check. Three days later I received a call that a check from Mr ****** was unacceptable. I was willing to give my credit card number but was told the company does not accept. A clear opposite to the contract signed. One last false statement from Father and Son is there reasoning for using another company. They told us from the initial call that a sub company would be used but that they were part of the father and son family and not to worry. Another extra $450.00 added to have the furniture delivered.Clearly the information initially received and in this response from Father and Son is all false. If they had tried to reach me or answered one of my many calls, emails or letters I would give them some credit. They have done nothing to make this situation correct and I still feel that we are owed at minimum $771.00 which is $321.00 for non proof of extra weight required by law, and $450.00 for special truck, if not the full difference between the $2520.25 and the final cost of $4027.48, which equals $1507.23.I await the next steps taken.

7/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Father and Son to move my belongings from ****** to NJ and was informed by the salesperson they could move my belongings on Friday and arrive by Saturday. When I confirmed this information a few days prior, I was told they would pack up my belongings on Friday but it would take 5-10 days to deliver to my new location. I escalated this matter to several individuals in the company and was hung up on multiple occasions. When I finally spoke with someone they indicated they would attempt to be there by Monday but could not guarantee this date. Lastly, when I asked if they would lock in the rate in writing, as I did not trust what they were telling me, the individual indicated they would need to take inventory and that could be more. Due to the inconsistent information and low customer service I submitted a request to cancel this service and a full refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for services no provided.

Business Response: This customer was booked on a Binding Estimate based of weight and distance.  That price wouldn’t change if the inventory at pick up matched the inventory provided by the customer.  The customer E-Signed the contract for a delivery spread of 1-10 business days.  It was our expectation to meet the needs of the customer per the E-Signed contract underthe Company Terms & Conditions Line #4.

A full refund of $527.00 was given to the customer even though she cancelled within 7 business days of the first available pick up date on the original estimate.  This is noted on the E-Signed contract under the Company Terms & Conditions Line #10. Reference – Company Terms & Conditions – Lines 4 & 10(4) Delivery Schedule – The time frame of when you can expect to receive your shipment after it has been picked up.East Coast 1-10 Days, Mid West 7-14 days, West Coast 7-21 daysThese estimated delivery times of arrival shall go into place from the first day that you are ready to accept the shipment. You will be required to submit to our office in writing the first date available for delivery including the delivery address.

Delivery spreads are based on business days only although deliveries may be made on the weekend. Please note that some pick ups and deliveries may be handled by affiliate companies.(10) Cancellation Policy – All cancellations must be made in writing within 7 business days of the first available pick up date as stated on the original estimate and are fullyrefundable. The letter must be mailed, emailed or faxed to the office listed on this estimate. The Binding Estimate Fee is non-refundable. Your deposit will benon-refundable if your cancellation notice is not received at least 7 business days prior to the first date of your moving pick up window (moving date).  This being said F&S refunded

7/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a Scam Artist Company-DONT EVER USE. They lie and say they are an actual Moving Company-They tell you they are. Then the day of my move a new supposed moving company shows up and takes your stuff to an unknown place held hostage for a fee. People need to know they are a Broker Not Movers I directly asked them if they were brokers or a moving company- they lied directly to me- I have all phonecalls recorded and copies of emails i sent-They falsify all data on this website- Do not believe a word they say to you on the phone- they wont come and do inventory because they are not movers- Avoid this company they also have numerous BBB complaints with a F rating- They should be shut down- they lied to me- took my money and now all of my belongings have been held hostage by another moving company-I dont even know if ill ever get them- I now have to sue them for fraud and nondisclosure- and deliberately lying saying they would do my move enen though in their contracts in very small print- never verbally disclosed- that they can sell your job if they wont do it- and I was never informed that this is what they did or would do until stragers showed up from another moving company to take my stuff-this is unethical- especially when the day before I have the recorded voicemail from them saying father and sons s calling to confirm that they are moving you Monday may 20, 2013. Which they have not!!They should not be allowed to be on this website or anyother- they are scam artists-DO NOT USE them EVER!!!! I am out not only my deposit money, travel money to be there and vacation time, but now all of my belongings-65K worth!!! and

Desired Settlement: Return all of my money, returtn all of my merchandise as I will have them arrested and the Massachusettes Attorney generals Office shut them down!

Business Response: As a licensed mover at times we may be required to use a “Temporary Agent” if we have a mechanical issue or a truck that fills up unexpectedly.  This is a common andaccepted practice in the moving industry. In regards to this move we did have a mechanical issue and in an effort to get this move covered we used Cross Country which is a “Temporary Agent” of Father & Son Relocations Services.In the Company Terms and Conditions Line #2 – Forms of Payment it’s noted that the company doesn’t unload at the destination until theremaining balance is paid – at no time do/did we hold the customers goods hostage.The customer’s goods were delivered within the delivery window that was agreed upon and signed for by the customer in the Company Terms & Conditions Line #4 – Delivery Schedules.   The pick-up in CA was 05/20/13 and delivery was in NJ on 06/02/13.  This is well within the 7-21 days listed in the Company Terms & Conditions Line #4.As a practice we do complete visual estimates when they are in a location that we have a representative available. The customer E-Signed the contract which has Physical Survey Waiver Agreement included in it – See Below.We have reached out again to make a good faith effort to compensate this customer with a $200.00 refund and at this time are awaiting a response.

Reference:(2) Forms of Payment – A credit card may be accepted for the deposit of the move only. At time of delivery Cash, cashier’s check, postal money order or wire transfer will be accepted only. The remaining amount will be due at destination before the shipment is unloaded.(4) Delivery Schedule – The time frame of when you can expect to receive your shipment after it has been picked up.East Coast 1-10 Days, Mid-West 7-14 days, West Coast 7-21 daysThese estimated delivery times of arrival shall go into place from the first day that you are ready to accept the shipment. You will be required to submit to our office in writing the first date available for delivery including the delivery address. Delivery spreads are based on business days only although deliveries may be made on the weekend. Please note that some pickups and deliveries may be handled by affiliate companies.Physical Survey Waiver Agreement: In accordance with 49 CFR §375.401(2), shipper agrees to waive a physical survey of the household goods and alternatively agrees to receive an estimate based upon the shipper provided item list of property to be transported.

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired father and sons movers to move us to Florida. Once they had the furniture they informed us it was more furniture than they had estimated. Looking over the estimate noticed the counter piece of furniture as one piece. Then took them apart and counted them as four. The estimate they gave us was 4031.00 and after the loaded their truck told us it would be more. The then charged us another 1102.00 more. They also broke an oak buffet (paid approx 500 dollars) and the glass in a curio cabinet (belonged to my inlaws before the passed).. Have left three messages with the company reference the damage as instructed by the driver and they have not returned our phone calls. Once they had the furniture on their truck we felt like we had no other choice but pay the extra $1102.00.

Desired Settlement: Pay to have items repaired and explanation of overcharged among.

Business Response: Our apology directed to you:
Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. Westrive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that itfails to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know.We’re sorry that you received service that promptedyou to contact us with a complaint, and we regret any inconvenience orfrustration that your experience has caused you. To ensure that our staffconducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for ourcustomers, we’ve notified the proper department of your complaint.We willpersonally investigate on the matter of the items that the customer claims weredamaged. We have sent the customer claim forms TODAY via email. The Customersneeds to fill out the claim forms form and send a letter of grievanceexplaining the overcharges complaint, we will then evaluate the claim and sendthe customer compensation if compensation is due. The customer simply caneither fax the forms filled out to 1-888-392-4934 or send the information viaemail to cs@claimsadjustingfirm.org.  The Claims Adjusting Firm has theircontact information on the forms; to make it easier for you to contact themdirectly. I can assure you they will take your claim seriously and offercompensation if compensation is due. This customer’s claim number is FSNE-IRI563.Your patronage is important to us, and we hope thatyou’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you.Thank you again for bringing these matters to ourattention.  

Sincerely,
****** ****
Customer resolution specialist

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Have not received companie's e-mail theyclaim they have sent. they already have a copy of the damaged property that was documented by the driver and written down on their paperwork. They also have a copy of the original quote ( not an estiment) and a recipet of what we paid.

4/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother is relocating from ********, NY where she has lived for 80 years to ****** *****, FL. This has been a traumatic experience for her. When she spoke to the salesperson he was at first kind and courteous. My mother decided to go with them. They were scheduled to pick up the furniture on March 16th and ended up not showing up until the next day after my mother had left because my sister had come from hours away to pick her up. We were told that we would receive delivery of the furniture within 10 days. Today marked the 10th day. When my mother called to complain and find out a clear status she was told that the furniture would not be delivered for at least another 5-10 days. Both the salesperson John and the dispatcher that she spoke to were rude to her and treated her disrespectfully multiplying her anxiety over this traumatic move. No clear explanation has been given for this significant delay on top of the disrespectful behavior of the staff.

Desired Settlement: An apology to my mother for the way she has been treated. Also a discounted price would help compensate for the delay in delivery (my mother is now moving into a home without a bed and most of her clothing) and for the added anxiety that has been placed on her.

Business Response: We understand the customer's concern about the delivery spread. In our contract we have up to 10 business days to deliver the customer's belongings. This being our slower season, we have to accomodate all jobs as they are being booked which may delay the driver from making deliveries. This particular customer was picked up on 3/16 and her 10th business day would be today 3/29. Unfortunately, the driver is still servicing jobs and heading South to make deliveries so this customer will be delivered on the 2nd or 3rd of April and we offer a $30 per business day discount taken off the final balance. We do apologize for the delay and will make every effort to get the belongings delivered as soon as possible.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint in regard to the late delivery. 

I am disappointed that they did not offer an apology for their disrespectful behavior to my mother, but will press the issue no further. 

3/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After a very unpleasant experience using this moving company, to top it off they never delivered the legs to my jewelry armoire. The driver admitted he left them at the last house he delivered to. He had me note it on my final bill which I paid in full, and promised it would be delivered or shipped within 2 weeks. It has now been one full month and my calls and messages go unreturned. I am unsure if they are purposely ignoring me, but I never had a problem getting a hold on a customer service rep when I was booking this move.

Desired Settlement: I would love to get my armoire legs, or I'll settle for $100 to purchase a new one (the one I have is only one year old and was purchased at $250).

Business Response: We are sorry to hear the customer had a damaged household good,The customer needs to file a claim in order to be able to receive any type ofcompensation for her jewelry armoire, she never contacted us at all to file herclaim, because I can assure you if she did we would have provided her with thetelephone number for our claims adjuster who would have sent her claim forms.The claim forms will be sent to her via email, by today. The email we will beusing is ******************@gmail.comif she wishes to receive the forms on a different address please have herprovide us the new email address. Any further communication will be thru CAF,their information will be on the claim forms. Their direct contact number is954-317-2448. The claim number assigned is ***********.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. 

I HAVE attempted to call and write them multiple times with NO RESPONSE, but I'm glad that they are finally now responding to my complaint.  I will be sure to tell everyone I know never to use this company and will fill out the paperwork when all I want is for them to deliver all goods that I paid them to deliver.