This business is not BBB accredited.

Lycos, Inc.

Phone: (781) 370-2700 Fax: (781) 370-2600 52 Second Avenue  4th Floor, North Waltham, MA 02451 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lycos.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lycos, Inc., offers internet services such as website hosting, domain and email for purchase and online games.


BBB Accreditation

On 5/20/2015 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Lycos, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Lycos, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Lycos, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1995 in PA Business incorporated 06/01/1995 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dan Prior, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

59

Business Category

ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Products & Services

Lycos, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Angelfire, Evincible, Gamesville, Lycos Domains , Lycos Mail, Tripod, Zeeblio

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
PayPal
Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lycos, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    52 Second Avenue4th Floor

    North Waltham, MA 02451

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a domain through Lycos for years. Last year on May 9th, there was a technical issue on their end that caused my entire website to go down. It took a week to correct this issue after numerous attempt on my part to contact Lycos. I was assured they had correct the DNS error on their end and it wouldn't happen again. This year, again, my domain has gone down at the same time. It's the same exact problem as last year on their end. Once again, it has happened over the weekend when Lycos is unavailable to offer support. Once again, I contacted them on Monday to have my domain issue resolved immediately. And once again, they offer no phone support and the person on chat is unable to help. It has to be escalated to DNS management, which takes days to hear back from. I asked when I should expect to have my domain up and running again and was told it may be an additional 24 hours before I can hear from the team and then several days after that before my issue is fixed. This is unacceptable. I pay for a service and through no error of my own, my service has been disrupted again.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting an immediate repair to my website/domain and for the issue to be permanently resolved so that it doesn't happen again in the future. I also feel that in cases like this there should be a better chain of command and phone support. How would Lycos feel if their website and all of their domains disappeared overnight and they couldn't reach anyone to get it resolved for over a week? Unacceptable.

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They deactivated my website and email with no warning and for no reason. I have paid them on time for 10 years. My site was down for 5 days. This negatively impacted my business for nearly 5 days I lost customers and jobs. They have no phone support and I was advised there were no supervisors and no supervisor would talk to me as there is no phone support. I received absolutely no follow up by anyone after my initial message to them through their website. I sent 6 emails and 4 Facebook messages over 4 days.. All went unanswered. Now I'm trying to transfer my site name out to another company and this to is difficult and I'm still waiting for my transfer code I need since I can't do it online myself. I would like some form of credit for this major inconvenience and the code I need to get out. This has been absolutely the worst service I have ever received in my life.

Desired Settlement: I want to speak to a higher supervisor, a credit for inconvenience, and my code to transfer my site out.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a website through Lycos/Angelfire for 13 years called **************.net In September of 2013 ***** ********* (former friend) went through the DMCA to have my website taken down for Copyright Enfringement claiming he owned images of ***** ********* on my website. Mr. ****** *********** contacted me through email to let me know I had 72 hours to take certain photographs off my webpage they were copyright. After speaking to Mr. *********** about the said Copyright material he found out that Mr. ********* did NOT own any images of ***** ********* even though Mr. ********* had written a book on her using her images and had that book copyright. Please not that NOBODY owns copyright over ***** *********'s images not even CMG who is the executor of her estate. CMG had no problems with my website. I received a letter from ***** *********** stating that my website was in good standing and that they would not take it down. He would inform Mr. *********. In April or May of 2014, I tried to log into my website and got a message that I was blocked due to suspected abuse. I contacted Lycos Support by email and phone several times no response. I called Mr. *********** and after several calls got him on the phone. He stated that my website was with the Attorneys and they would be contacting me. I asked him was it for the same thing Copyright and he said Yeah. I said we already dealth with that he said yes, I'll let them know. They sent me no emails or anything indicating they had a problem with my website they just took it down with nothing no notice. Also, they have my domain name **************.net locked up so that I cannot hot a new website with my name even though I paid for it and have renewed it for another year. I am getting nowhere with these people. If they would have done their homework and called the Copyright Office they would have found that Mr. ********* does not own the Copyright to any of Ms. *********'s Images.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my website to be put back up and not taken down again. I have not changed a thing on it since September of 2013 and I am in no violation . I am being treated like a Criminal and I have done nothing wrong. Meanwhile Mr. ********* goes around bullying people into believing he owns copyright to ***** ********* Images. Something needs to be done. I want my Website back up. Thank you

Business Response: I have been informed by our legal team that they are now working directly with the user to resolve this issue. 

Thanks,
****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a registered domain, **************.com since 2000. I have had my domain registered and my website hosted through Lycos/Tripod.com since 2004. I recently discovered that my domain name had been registered to a new owner and my website has disappeared on line. My ************** website was linked to many other websites where my books and artwork are available on the internet. It would take me hundreds of hours and significant dollar expense to repair the damage caused by Lycos failure to maintain my domain name registration. The Tripod website still lists www.**************.com as my web address and indicates that my domain is active. Lycos/Tripod has failed to protect my interests in my domain name. They refunded $179 but that hardly compensates me for the loss. I have attempted to resolve this through their customer service department (Request #******) and asked them to retrieve/buy back my website from its new owner and restore it. (The new owner's contact information may be found at: http://www.whois.com/whois/**************.com) They have politely but persisted in their refusal to address my concerns.

Desired Settlement: I want them to retrieve/buy back my domain name from its new owner and restore it. (The new owner's contact information may be found at: http://www.whois.com/whois/**************.com) Or I want reasonable compensation for Tripods negligence.

Business Response: We refunded the user for the time that they paid for the domain and did not receive services.  Through our terms of service, it is outlined that a domain can be lost and we are not responsible for such a loss.  We can not retrieve the domain for the user and recommend they reach out to the new owner if they would like to repurchase the domain.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The reply is disingenuous. I received no notification from Lycos that they had ceased paying for my domain name. And everything on my account currently indicates that the domain name wwww.**************.com is still active in my name. If I had been made aware of the situation, I could have preven ted my domain name from being taken. I have had this domain representing my publishing business for 14 years. It is a serious business loss that is not compensated at all by a refund of $179 for Lycos negligence. They need to contact the new owner and take steps to remedy this situation.

Business Response: I am sorry there is nothing further we can do for the customer in this matter.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Please add your rejection comments below.  Lycos failed to pay for my domain name as I contracted with them to do and also failed to notify me that they had done this. Indeed, their website continues to display my **************.com domain name as active (see attachments). Thus there is no way I could have known that my domain name had been abandoned by them and taken action to retain it. Lycos utterly failed to perform their obligations to me with any level of reasonable care. I contacted an attorney who informed me that this amounts to gross negligence on the part of Lycos and negates any defense or waivers of liability contained in their Terms of Service agreement. If Lycos does not change their position, and make an effort to retrieve my website, I will take appropriate legal action and file a complaint with the Massachusetts Attorney General's Consumer Affairs office.

2/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a user of lycos for years and starting last night I could not log in any longer. It keep saying Sorry, but the username and password you provided don't match. Please check them and try again. Note that the password is Case-Sensitive. When I tried to reset the password it says The email address (****@lycos.com) does not match any account in our system. I am surprised that it does not exist as it was working the yesterday morning. Please look into it and have it resolved access to my email is critical. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: Restore access to my email.

Business Response: I am sorry you experienced this issue with your account.  There was an issue with our registration system that left some users unable to log in or reset their passwords.  We have resolved the issue on these accounts and they are loading at this time.  User information and data was not affected.  Please log into your account and verify that your information is still available. If you have several failed login attempts, you may be unable to log into your account for 20 minutes.  Please wait 20 minutes and try your account again. Please let us know if you still have issues logging in.

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I registered my domain name with Lycos in 2003. In recent years I have not used to website as much, but I still needed to keep it up for occasional use and email forwarding. So I keep it on auto-renew and locked. Today, I needed to update the website and found the domain was pointing to a ******* parking page. I logged into my Lycos account and everything looked fine, like I still owned the domain, but ***** data I looked up belonged to a fake-sounding name in Australia. I learned from a chat rep that when it was supposed to renew on 9/17, the credit card had a processing error. Throughout this, I received no notice that my domain was about to auto-renew, no notice that there was an error processing the payment, no notice that my domain had expired, and no notice that my expired domain had entered or exited any type of grace period. My contact information was completely up-to-date throughout the process. After I asked why I wasn't notified about the renewal or card failure, the chat rep cut me off and exited the session without explanation or direction to any other customer service contact.

Desired Settlement: Now that my groups's important domain belongs to someone else through Lycos' blatant disregard, there is likely no way to get it back without a large sum of money and understanding and cooperation from its new owners. The first choice of ideal outcome would be the return of my domain to my ownership with two weeks. The second choice would be a sum of at least $800 to cover my time and expenses attempting to recover the domain myself, and partially make up for the loss of publicity that the group's website would have generated for their upcoming reunion events.

Business Response: It is our policy to send out failed payment e-mails if a plan fails to collect.  I am sorry if this message did not reach you.  The domain has not been owned in our system since September of 2012.  We will not be able to retrieve the domain from the current owner, it is not a company that we partner with.  This domain was not renewed with our registrar due to the failed payment and when it became available was picked up by another owner.  In these cases or expiration, messages are also sent from the registrar to the customer.  In this case, we will not be able to award the user a sum to try and retrieve the domain.  We recommend they contact the current owner to attempt to repurchase the domain.

Consumer Response:



Thank you for your reply.


I do realize that that is what happened, and that it is completely due to your failure to follow your own policy and failure to
uphold ***** registrant rights. I understand what it means that someone else now owns my domain through another registrar. You have informed me that you have no intention to attempt recovery of the domain, and that I should try to contact the current owner of it myself. This will cost me dozens of hours of my own valuable time and considerable expense paying the fees through ******* before even reaching the possibility of repurchasing my domain, with no guarantee of success. Again, because of your critical failure.

Considering the addition of lost publicity and income for the group's 3-year reunion event in addition to my time and expense to attempt recovery of the domain, the request is meager. I look forward to hearing your response. Thank you.


 

Business Response: I'm sorry, we will not be able to give you any sum for this domain loss.

Consumer Response:

 

Thank you again for your reply, ****. What would you and Lycos prefer to do to correct or compensate for this severe issue that resulted from their violation of policy?

 

 

 

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lycos is my e-mail provider as has been for about 15 years. On Friday, 12/6/13, they ceased letting me sign in to my email account. They posted some message on the sign in page about "my email provider has abused Lycos services and I am locked out." They are my email provider. Now I cannot access my account anymore. They said to prepare "tickets" to customer service about my problem. I did so 10 times and yet no response. They tell me they have emailed my email address to verify it is me. How can I read an email when I am locked out of my account. I called their telephone number for customer service seven times and left messages to open my account. They do not respond and you cannot speak to a live person. Terrible customer service for a problem which I did not do anything. They had no right to stop my email service after all these years.

Desired Settlement: I want my account unlocked so that it can be used as it is supposed to be.

Business Response: ******, I am sorry you are experiencing this trouble, can you please send us your ********** e-mail address so we can see what is going on with this account?

Thanks,
****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  

The company is asking me for my email address to investigate the complaint. The email address is  *******************. I have just provided the information that I was asked to provide with regard to complaint.

Business Response: ******, Thank you for providing us with that account.  Researching this account, I found that it was locked by our mail provider for sending out SPAM.  I have removed this lock and you can now login to your account and setup a new password to avoid future issues like this.  We recommend that a new password be at least 8 characters with a mix of upper and lowercase letters, numbers and at least one symbol.  Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.

Thanks,
****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sells outdated listings, refuses to update listings or remove business listings that are obsolete. Company sells business listings that are outdated and refuses to remove companies that are no longer in operation. I have contacted them multiple times as I can no longer access my listing account, but they refuse to respond in a professional manner. (I receive automated responses from them, or 'satisfaction surveys' which don't allow negative responses. Business listing: ****** Trucking, Minnesota This business has been inactive for more than 7 years but as a result of their duplication and sharing process I am bombarded with phone calls, daily, from people offering 'updated google listings', 24 hr. business loans, debt collection services, etc. Stop the madness, please. This is costing me money (phone service, $.20 per call) ******** *. ****** *******, Minnesota Angelfire was purchased by the Lycos company.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for multiple calls daily, (3+ years, 3+ calls per day, 7 days a week, .20 per call) and Removal of outdated listing.

Business Response: I'm sorry you're receiving so many calls about a bad listing, can you send me the URL where this incorrect information is listed so I can try to remove or correct it to prevent you from receiving any future calls? Thanks, ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The response submitted by the Lycos representative falls under the 'playing dumb' category.    My reasoning: Lycos and affiliates are selling my personal information (name, address, phone number) yet it claims it is not able to locate that same information?  Does that make any sense?   They can find it to sell it, but they can't find it to delete it?   This is the typical response I have gotten from them for the past five years. Once again,....My name is ******.  I am in Minnesota.  I operated a trucking company 10 years ago.  My phone number is *** *** ****.     If they are telling you they can't find it to delete it, then ask them how they are able to find it and sell it/share it with so many of their shady telemarketing clients.  

Business Response: ********, I am so sorry for the confusion in this matter.  I thought your information may be posted to one of the user created websites that we host.  I have found that outdated listing information online and have found that Lycos is not the source of this incorrect information.  I have put in a request with whitepages.com to remove this incorrect listing, this should be done in 5 business days.  They recommended I have you contact a company named Infogroup through their site http://expressupdateusa.com/ that provided Whitepages with the information, if this step is not completed, the listing will likely be put back on whitepages.com.  I was also able to locate the information on Yellowpages.com, I would recommend reaching out to them for help with removing this listing as well.  Infogroup provides many online listing services with information so that is the best place to start. Thanks, ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. The listing was originally placed (more than 12 years ago) via one site and one site only- and I cannot access that site anymore.   I do not know these other parties and should not have to spend time trying to track them down.   I went directly to the source, which is a company now owned by Lycos. These data collectors should be responsible for verifying the accuracy of the information they gather BEFORE they share it.   Typical online data retrieval irresponsibility.   

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been locked out of my email account now twice in less than 3 weeks. I have made multiple calls to lycos customer services, etc — basically leaving voicemail with my call back number on any possible voice mail I can access — since NO ONE answers a phone at this company. In addition, I have submitted more online request for assistance than I can even recall. Both of these attempts have led to ZERO responses from customer support! The 1st time I was locked out x 5 days and miraculously the account got unlocked ?? I never got a call back … just was able to login again and read one generic email from lycos asking to rate their customer service. But unfortunately, before I had time to sit down and rate their HORRIBLE customer service, I was locked out again. Again, I have called and left like 10 messages… submitted another TOO MANY request for manual unlock. And again, NO RESPONSE… and NO RESOLUTION!

Desired Settlement: I want my account unlocked so that I can access my contacts, etc. in order to set up an email account with someone more reliable.

Business Response: I'm sorry you were locked out of your account, this can happen for many reasons, can you send me your lycos.com e-mail address so I can research your account?  Thanks, ****

Consumer Response: ***********@lycos.com I don't understand why it's locked twice in less than 3 wks and can't get a hold of anyone to resolve it. ******* **********

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The web host ********* disabling my website without warning, without explanation, cutting communications and giving me no access to my work. I operate a community website that serves a disadvantaged community where I live. On 10th August I found that the website is no longer accessible via the internet. When I tried to log into my ********* account to see why, a message stated that I was locked out of my account due to "suspected abuse". To the best of my knowledge I have done nothing wrong. I was given no warning or explanation as to why this action had been taken. Briefly I was able to use online chat to ask technical support what had happened, but the advisor was only able to tell me my site had been disabled due to a request from Google. Nothing more. Then the online chat service was removed, although it is supposed to be a feature of the service you get. I have seen a confusing variety of web pages when I try to log into my account. I am advised to open up a Support Ticket but after I did that, one of the web pages I saw told me that I had no ticket history. I spoke with another web host firm and they said that this behaviour from ********* was very unprofessional. The other web host said that they would have explained to me what was wrong and offered solutions. ********* never bothered to contact me, although they have my phone and email details. My site has now been offline for 4 days and I still don't know the reason why. I can't even access my material to be able to save it to my computer. This material represents thousands of hours of work on my part. Had I not tried to visit my own website, I would not have known that it was offline. It could have been offline for weeks, because ********* don't bother to tell you. People in my community find valuable information on my website, but now there is a message on Google saying that the site no longer exists. So visitors will assume that this source of help no longer exists. I would also be concerned that being offline for so long would cause my website to fall down through the web listings. I have been working on the website since 2007 and don't deserve that. I am disgusted by this treatment from ********* and would eventually like to transfer my website to another web host, but I can't do that because ********* won't let me access my material. Some of it I have a back-up of, but the latest work is not backed up.

Desired Settlement: ********* to start talking. To reinstate my site or tell me what is wrong so that I can fix it. To have access to my material.

Business Response: I am sorry you are having this trouble logging in to your account.  Based on the information you provided, I was not able to locate a locked account, can you please provide us with the exact username you are using to log into ********* and these details on file with the account so we can assist you further:

1) Your member name (Login Name)
2) Your website's URL
3) Current email address on file for your account
4) First and Last Name
5) Mailing Address
6) Date of Birth

Thanks, ****
Lycos Customer Service

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** (Lycos Customer Service) Jul 26 05:35 am (EDT) Hello ******, Thank you for contacting Lycos customer support. We have checked the account " ******** " and found that it was renewed yesterday and we regret to inform that at this time we cannot refund the amount and requests you to use the service for an year. Also, we suggest you to log into the billing page using the url " registration.lycos.com/billingedit.php " and disable the auto renew option so going further there wouldn't be any charge on this account. Thank you, Victor B Lycos Customer Support http://cshelp.lycos.com ****** * ****** ****** * ****** Jul 26 05:14 am (EDT) Please terminate my **************.com site. I did not want it automatically renewed. Thanks, *** ******--- Submitted from: http://www.domains.lycos.com/help This email is a service from Lycos Customer Service.. Delivered by *******.

Desired Settlement: I am a contractor in Afghanistan with limited internet access and would like my credit card refunded for the charge that was made without notice to me. I did not approve of a subscription renewal and have not used the Lycos service.

Business Response: We have issued a refund for this transaction in the amount of $82.35.  Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.  Thanks, ****

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few days ago I tried to log into my email account. It said it was closed due to inactivity. That was odd to me since I am on it multiple times a day and had just been on it a few hours earlier. After not being able to reach anyone by phone I found the submit a ticket option. I submitted my ticket. For days I have heard nothing. Nothing about my ticket and no phone call back from the messages I have left. I found the submit a ticket page again. I tried to check the status, but that requires you to log in, which I can not do. This time it said something about abuse of terms of service. I had been getting a lot of random email undeliverable emails, so I am assuming I was hacked. I very very very rarely send an email from this account. I submitted another ticket including that I can't check the status of my first. This is my primary email, which I use daily. I need to be able to have access to it. Unfortunately getting in touch with anyone from Lycos customer service is impossible.

Desired Settlement: I would like my email to be reactivated as soon as possible.

Business Response: The customer account had been locked for sending SPAM.  The account was unlocked yesterday with the help of one of our Customer Support Agents and a new password was setup.  The customer was left a voicemail yesterday about the change.  Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with in this case.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

I would like to say even though they did call and fix the issue, it was after a week of trying to contact them. They also called me at 5 in the morning, luckily the phone didn't wake my children. having kids or not though, 5am is not an acceptable time to call someone.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My domain name www.**********************.com stopped working. I contacted my web hosting company and they informed me it was a problem with my domain. My servers aren't pointing to the right place and I was told to go into my domain panel to fix the problem. Lycos is the company I have my domain registered with. I am still shown as the admin on the domain name and Lycos is still shown as the company it is registered with. However when I log into my account with Lycos it says I have no domains. I submitted a request ticket explaining the situation. Logged on to follow up 48 hours later the request ticket has disappeared even though I received a confirmation email saying it was received and being reviewed. Submitted another ticket. This ticket is still under review. Have heard anything from Lycos. Have stressed the importance of getting my website woking ASAP. Have provided an email and phone number by which I can be reached. Still have heard nothing from Lycos. I can't find any other way of contacting them on their website. I would love to be able to call them and get this resolved right away but they don't seem to have a customer service number. At this point I want to transfer my domain name to another company. It is impossible to reach Lycos.

Desired Settlement: I want my issue with my domain name resolved and I want to switch my domain registration to another company.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****:
Thank you for contacting us to resolve the account issues that you have detailed. We would like to assist you further, but are unable to locate an account on file with any of the criteria you have provided. I am also unable to locate any previous ticket history for you. Can you please provide your member name, and email address on file? This will better assist us in reviewing your domain and determining corrective action.

I look forward to your response.

Regards-
***** *****
Lycos Domains Customer Service Manager

Business Response: There are no "points" listed. Can you please advise what else is required? Thanks!

***** *****

Consumer Response: I have resolved the issue I had with the business through my own research with no assistance from them even after submitting the complaint. However the issue has been resolved and so complaint can be considered closed. 

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a small business website which has been closed for 3 years, and I have made every attempt possible to have this site deleted. My personal information is on this website, and the ******* software with which it was created is now uneditable due to Lycos discontinuing the software. All I was able to remove were the paypal buttons. I am unable to remove my pictures, text, address and phone number from this site or delete the site files. I have made numerous email requests to the Lycos representatives to take the site down, according to their policies, and have not even received a reply. This website is called ******** ********, and it is located at: http://*************. ******.com/

Desired Settlement: Please take this website down immediately.

Business Response: Dear *****-
First and foremost, allow me to apologize for the delay in your response to this request. Based on the complaint you have provided it appears as though your ticket became "stuck" in our new CRM system and for that I am sorry. You have helped us in locating a system flaw which we will have corrected very shortly.

Without regards for the above, I would simply like to confirm the following:  You have an ********* and a Tripod account with us. This will effectively cancel both accounts and we just want to be sure that you are aware of this before we proceed. If you only wish for your Tripod account to be closed, please respond stating such. If you would like both accounts close, please advise and we will process your request immediately.

Thank you for your extreme patience and we appreciate you working with us to identify this technological issue for future customers.

Regards-
***** ** *****
Tripod Customer Service Manager

Network    *************    ****** (26)    lycos    05/28/2013 14:35:48    12/29/2001 12:43:52
Alias    *****/*************    ********* (33)    lycos    02/08/2012 21:22:09    12/29/2001 12:43:52

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Please close both accounts permanently. Thank you.

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I won on gamesville.com Bingo Zone on March 2, 2013 as show below. I have not received the Check, that was supposed to be delivered by May 2, 2013. ($16.00 3/2/13 Bingo Zone Game Winnings Confirmed You requested this check 3/3/13. Your check should arrive by 5/2/13.) Screen Name: ********* http://cshelp.gamesville.com/requests/2201 The prize is: $16.00USD Your win date is: Sat Mar 2 09:07 2013 I have emailed twice in the last 7 days requesting an update or status of the check and have had no response, and NO CHECK!!

Desired Settlement: To Receive the $16.00 Check.

Business Response: Dear ***** -
Thank you so very much for contacting us regarding your Gamesville.com check. We have tried to be as open with our communities as possible about the recent Gamesville.com issues. We do want you to know that if you have sent in your documentation, we are working on getting a check out to you. You see, after that Gamesville check incident we made some changes with the way we process checks and after working with many different banks we ultimately moved to a new bank for business reasons. That went very smoothly and our finance team is hard at work preparing the remaining balance of Gamesville prize checks for redistribution. You should see your check by the end of May. Once again, we sincerely apologize for the delayed response. We have been working in the background to ensure that all of our GV Members are taken care of. Please contact me directly at ***********@lycos-inc.com if you have not received your check by 5/31 and I will personally consult with our finance team.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb. 28, I wrote to Lycos to ask that my account with them to be closed. It is a free account, and I wish to no longer have it activated due to the fact that I was being cyber stalked at that address. I spoke with *** *****, a customer service rep, who said he would be glad to assist me. He asked for three security questions being my mothers middle name, dob, and country of origin. I gave him this information on two different occasions in which he said that he would process upon receipt. I submitted this information on March 1, and again on March 4, to which he said it would be solved. I received this message, Your request (#******) has been solved. To reopen this request, reply to this email or click the link below: http://cshelp.lycos.com/tickets/****** I tried emailing Mr. ***** again, to which I have not received a reply, This was on March 4. When I tried to click on the help link for my ticket, this was my response, Request not found You do not have access to request #******. It may have been solved or deleted. As of this weekend, I was still able to access this account. This lack of customer service is inane. It is a free account, and I just want it deleted. It would take less than five minutes on their end to give me some relief on my end. One week later, and I cannot even touch base with a human. It is sincerely a regret. I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO CONTACT BBB AT THIS TIME.

Desired Settlement: Finish this, and I will be satisfied. A follow up email to the address listed in my contact information would be sincerely appreciated.

Business Response: Hi ****-
Allow me to introduce myself; my name is ***** ***** and I am the Customer Service Manager for Lycos and all of its corresponding products. I would like to start by apologizing for what sounds like a rather difficult personal experience and for the issues that you have been having reaching our support team.

I have good news for you, your support ticket was not deleted. According to our system it was closed due to "no activity for more than 5 days". Our system shows that no response verifying identity was received. As you have reported this as a "cyber stalking issue" and the information submitted in your complaint does not match our internal records (the address on file is not the same as that in your complaint) we wish to be 100% certain that you are who you say you are before moving forward with your request to close this account.

If you would be so kind as to respond directly to this message with your date of birth and address on file, I will personally cancel your account immediately. It is our goal to assist you with this matter and ensure that you never have to concern yourself with it again.

We hope that this is acceptable and I will commit to a turnaround time of less than one business day for account cancelation upon receipt of your response.

I appreciate you bringing this to the BBB as it allows us to determine if we do have training issues which we would take very seriously. I am thankful that we were able to locate your ticket immediately and that we will be able to provide you with resolution very soon.  I look forward to working with you further.

Regards-
***** ** *****
Lycos Customer Service Management

Consumer Response: *****,
Thanks for your quick response.  Below is a text copy of what Mr. ***** sent which only indicates a request for a country, not address.

We would like to make sure that you are aware that once you cancel your mail subscription your mail content, contacts and calendar will be gone forever and Lycos will not be able to retrieve them. We find that communicating this to our customers up front is extremely important and valuable information to have when considering cancellation options. If you have already considered all of the above, then please respond to this ticket with as much of the information below as possible. This will allow us to verify your identity and though it seems like we ask for a lot, we do so simply to protect you:

Security Question: What is your mother's middle name?
Country:
Date of birth:

Once we have received your response, we will process your cancellation request should you wish to proceed. 

I have moved since creating my account nearly a decade earlier.  My addy on file for Lycos was:  **** ******** Blvd ***** ******, LA. ***** ************

Middle name mother is ***.  DOB is *********

Would you be able to send a note to my gmail account letting me know this account with Lycos has been closed.  My email account with gmail is, **************@gmail.com.

3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Details can be found on complaint form -Request #****** . I paid for an ********* website through lycos.com (www.******reunion.*********.com) and tried to introduce a simple response form for my family reunion on January 20. I've been trying to get assistance from lycos customer service since then (23 days ago) and the form still does not work. this is upsetting the plan of having a simple online form for my family members to complete. Most details can be found on the complaint log but this will summarize some of the problems -First, the form disappeared from my page which triggered the first request for assistance - This problem resolved itself. -Lycos advised me that the form was working but that gmail was blocking responses. they said to open a lycos.com email. - I did but the lycos.com email initially did not accept any emails from any sources. It started to work but the form was not forwarding responses. -Lycos advised me to redo the form from scratch to ensure there were no hidden html tags imported from Word - I did. Did not work -Lycos advised me to direct the form to gmail because lycos mail spams its own forms. did not work. After rebuilding forms and trying different email accounts, now when you press the submit button, the form never affirms that the information was sent. It seems to forward to gmail, but the sender never gets acknowledgement that the form accepted the information. This is unacceptable. The customer service reps (I've communicated with two by chat and one by phone) seem to understand the problem, but when they interact with the "engineers' I seem to get a quick unacceptable response which focuses the problem back on me. Lycos is quick to close out the complaint with no resolution. It seems so simple for a customer to put up a form. This is impacting my ability to provide services to my family in anticipation of the family reunion. The latest form is on the following page: http://*************.*********.com/online-registration.html

Desired Settlement: - make the form on this page work: http://******reunion.*********.com/online-registration.html - at least a partial refund for the time the website was not fully functional (so far approximately 1 month) - committment to take steps to ensure I'm properly serviced for my account

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******-
Thank you for contacting Lycos.com Customer Support. We have taken the time to review your complaint and would like to sincerely apologize for the fact that you stand here today working to resolve an issue that our support team has not been able to provide you with 100% satisfaction on. I would like to advise that you have made us aware of a training issue that will be addressed immediately.

Though Lycos works with many vendors and has many product offerings, our internal support agent should have worked with you to inquire further about the way in which you intended to set up all of your Lycos accounts prior to responding in full. Lycos Mail should not have been the first option recommended to you as there are some limitations with the way that it interacts with certain components of the web form that you have built.

Secondly, our internal support team does not offer a service at this time that would incorporate the alteration of or replacement of any code on behalf of a customer. We do hope that no one ever advised you that we were able to assist with this aspect of site development.

At this time, it is clear that our services cannot meet your needs and I would like to apologize again on behalf of the entire Lycos team though I have refunded your PayPal account in the amount billed ($32.45). We are limited in the amount that we can refund you so we are unable to process an additional refund (bringing your total up to $40.00) per your request. We can simply provide you with a refund in the highest amount that you were billed.

If you believe that we can offer you additional services at any time, please contact me directly at ***********@lycos-inc.com. I want to personally advise you that we have taken your case to our internal development team and will be using it to further develop our product offerings and in training seminars.  Thank you for taking the time to help us grow.

Regards-
***** ** *****
Customer Service Manager
Lycos Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I do appreciate that the company has offerred to refund the full amount I paid for the website and I stand corrected as to the price referenced in the response. 

Based upon the response, I think Lycos is not fully understanding what I was asking for in this situation.  I am using the  site builder tool and am attempting to use the form creator function from the tool.  I started from scratch and avoided cutting and pasting as advised by the rep to avoid accidentally importing any hidden codes from microsoft word.  My goal is not to add any customer code or perform any extraordinary function other than for the form to allow visitors to input the information and for the form to be forwarded to an email account.  With the page I just created (http://******reunion.*********.com/online-registration.html), I have followed all of the previous instructions provided to me.To simply refund $33 leaves me with 150 family members coming to the website that has already been announced to them only to find that they cannot register for the event.  I am saddened that Lycos is choosing not to make an honest attempt to fix this and to just refund the money.  My request was for a partial refund for the time was lost, and a repair of the problem.  Instead I am being offerred a full refund and a kick to the curb.  I don't know why Lycos is not attempting to fix this problem with a function of a tool they offer to customers.  Their resolution is not going to help me when my family members start accessing the URL I promised them and not finding the functions there.  In refunding the $33 , is the company now suggesting that I have to close the website or that I keep the website or ads reappear.  Either of these choices will not help me in the situation I'm already in.  I would have to find another web service, with a form creator, build another website, and then somehow contact family members to visit the other website in time to submit their deposits by our Feb 22 deadline.   Instead, I was seeking that Lycos fix the problem that's causing their web building tool not to function.  This would be much more valuable than the $33 now being offerred by lycos.  by the way, I only input a monetary amount of the original form because it seemed that the form used by the BBB required that input.Bottom line - Make a good faith effort to fix the problem instead of buying out of the problem by offering money. ******** ******* ******  

1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my www.**************.com has not been working for 3 months I write to their customer service, but they never fix it for me till today.

Desired Settlement: I hope they can fix the problem for me as soon as possible.

Business Response: Good Morning,
******** ***** is unfortunately no longer an employee here at Lycos and we are working through a transition at this time. Thank you for your patience.  I have reviewed the complaint by this customer.  After pulling our logs and files we see a discrepancy in the report by ***** *****.  He called in asking for assistance in this matter and also sent in tickets for which the images show the given information requested in order to correct his site issue.  The images gave a clear description on how he can fix his site issue dated on 11/01/12.  Thank you for notifying us of this issue.

-***** ***********

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

www.**************.com is still not working, can you fix it for me as soon as possible, or give me your telphone no, so I can call you as soon as possible.

Business Response: Dear *****-
First and foremost, allow me to extend our most sincere apologies for the delay in your response. Lycos customer support has had a change in organizational structure and we have reviewed your request again.

Based on the fact that I am able to verify that you do not have a working account today and that you have an extraordinary history with the ****** brand at Lycos, I have processed an account credit for you in the amount of $25.00. These funds will be on account and available to you any time you sign up for services via ****** using your  ************@yahoo.ca name. You can purchase a new domain, or rest assured that if you have an active monthly payment of $25.00 or less, we will cover it until the $25.00 credit on file is used up.  Again, we sincerely apologize for the delay and wish you the best. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any further questions.

Regards-
***** ** *****
Customer Service Manager
Lycos.com/******