BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of BuyDomains?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BuyDomains

Phone: (781) 839-2850 225 Wyman Street  2nd Floor, Waltham, MA 02451 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.namemedia.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

BuyDomains sells domain names to commercial clients.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BuyDomains meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BuyDomains include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on BuyDomains
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1999 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/2005 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Karen L Dixon, VP, Marketing Mr. Neil Kavanaugh, Director of Market Place Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Karen L Dixon, VP, Marketing
Principal: Mr. Neil Kavanaugh, Director of Market Place Sales
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

DOMAIN NAME SERVICES INTERNET SERVICES E-COMMERCE Internet Publishing and Broadcasting and Web Search Portals (NAICS: 519130)

Alternate Business Names
Name Media
Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Finding a Domain Name Service - 5 Tips - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site for Your Small Business Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services

Additional Locations

  • 225 Wyman Street  2nd Floor

    Waltham, MA 02451 (781) 839-2850

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
  • - Additional Business Login
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is happening for the 2nd time now. We were in negotiations for a particular domain from BuyDomains/Afternic which was listed for sale at $2488. After certain rounds of talks, they quoted us their best price as $1995, and we received a mail from BuyDomains with an unique link to purchase. We thought about it and then decided to go ahead with the purchase. We clicked the link, and then filled out the forms of purchase on their website. On the last page, it asked mode of payment. We chose Wire Transfer and closed the website. Then, we dropped a mail to their representative asking to delist the domain for 24-hours from Afternic website, as Wires Transfers may take up to a day. We received a confirmation. A few minutes later, we received a mail from them, that someone else is purchasing the name from at the full price of $2488 and he has paid by credit card instantly. When we expressed our surprise, they said sales happen on a first-come-first-served basis and that whoever pays first gets the name. Despite our requests for reconsideration and consequent offer of paying the full price, they did not agree. We find this business practice highly unethical and are dejected by it.

Desired Settlement: At the very outset, they should tender a written apology acknowledging their mistake and accepting that this was a wrong business practice. Then, they should cancel the sale with the other buyer and honor their agreement with us. Further, they should issue us a significant discount coupon which could be used on any domain at BuyDomains/Afternic.

Business Response: Our policy clearly states that all sales are on a first-come, first-servedbasis.   While the timing of this attempted purchase is certainlyunfortunate, we simply cannot sell a product we no longer have.  We doapologize for the unfortunate timing, and would be happy to offer a 35%discount off any of our Buydomain's owned domains.  We can honor thisthrough September 30th, 2013.   If they would like to redeem thediscount, please have them reach out directly to **** *********, Vice Presidentof Sales and Customer Service at 781-839-2835.

Consumer Response: There should be a provision of a lock in, for 24-hours or so, once a customer purchases a name and sends the wire. The policy which the company has right now, is not fair. Anyway, I guess there is no point in dragging this further. I'll accept the resolution.


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

2/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the past 30 days I have twice entered into contracts to purchase domains from Afternic/BuyDomains and, in each instance, the sale was cancelled. In both instances there was clear offer, acceptance and consideration. One domain was listed publicly at a "Buy It Now" price, which I agreed to pay via American Express and the other domain was offered and accepted via email as part of a negotiation with a broker from Afternic/BuyDomains. Two weeks have passed since I accepted the offer on the second domain and I have not received any written response from Afternic/Buy Domains as to what happened. In addition, Afternic/Buy Domains has done nothing to make it right.

Desired Settlement: There are many things Afternic/BuyDomains could do to acknowledge its mistake and make it right. The two most obvious would be to: A. Send a written explanation/apology, and B. Offer a significant discount on another domain for which I have an interest and that is owned by Afternic/BuyDomains.

Business Response: This customer did have an unfortunate situation with the initial purchase of a domain we were brokering, which turned out to be a fraudulent listing (the party did not ultimately own the domain they had listed for sale).  The complainant's funds were  immediately refunded, and the seller in question permanently suspended for their fraudulent listing. The second case was substantially different. During the course of negotiations, the seller got cold feet and opted not to sell the domain name.  The seller has the right during the course of negotiations to change their mind, and that is what happened in this case.  Either way, we do appreciate the complainant's frustrations given the close proximity of the two events. 

We'd like to extend to the complainant our apologies for these unfortunate circumstances, as well as a 25% discount on any name owned by Buydomains.com.  His salesperson will be made aware of this discount should the complainant wish to pursue this remedy, and he can assist him in locating and purchasing a suitable domain at the discounted rate.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cyber Squatting: I'm a digital marketing consultant based in Sydney Australia. My Client, ****** ******* is wishing to build a consulting business based on his name and good will. With over 40 years of professional experience, ****** has retired from his last position as a CEO, and now is consulting to other businesses. When looking to but a domain for his website, based solely on his name and reputation, I came across buydomains.com, which had the name registered, in order to sell it at an inflated price. When I say inflated, I mean that godaddy.com and other domain registrars will sell domains for $1-$7 range, the .com is normally the highest in the range. Afternic sales representative on the other hand, replied to my inquiry with $1088 (!!) price tag. I believe this is extortion, and shouldn't be allowed. under US federal law it's defined as CyberSquatting, and consumers should be protected under Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anticybersquatting_Consumer_Protection_Act) The company claims to have A+ rating with BBB, and I wonder where the TRUST is.

Desired Settlement: I would like to buy this domain, *************.com for a reasonable domain price, as would be sold from a registrar. The company currently holding the domain has no use for it, and only has it in bad faith to sell at inflated price.

Business Response: Mr. ****** unfortunately does not seem familiar with the secondary market for domain names.  While domains can be registered for as little as a few dollars, the domain must be unregistered and available for new registration. At this point, 20+ years into the internet, many domain addresses (particularly .com's) are no longer available on the primary domain registration market and thus need to be purchased on the secondary market. Buydomains, Sedo, Moniker Fabulous (an AU company) are all active marketplaces for secondary domain names, all with solid reputations.

The governing body of internet web addresses (ICANN) does provide a dispute resolution procedure (UDRP) and Mr. ****** can certainly pursue this avenue if he wishes. Otherwise we'll be happy to discuss the secondary market purchase of the domain with him directly.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I feel the business response was condescending and didn't offer a solution to my problem

Business Response: We are not attempting to be condescending, but rather are pointing out the difference between the primary registration and the secondary domain market, which Mr. ****** did not seem to be aware of. We offered two potential solutions, reiterated here: We would be happy to discuss the sale of the domain name on the secondary market with Mr. ****** directly. Otherwise, we suggest that Mr. ****** pursues the ICANN dispute resolution procedure (UDRP).

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have have several rude experiences with this company. I have been interested in possibly purchasing a particular premium website domain name (.com) for use with a potential business venture. I had initially discussed this with a sales representative about 9 months ago. He was extremely rude and insulted my intelligence and business savvy. He used high-pressure sales techniques (which I am familiar with) and this was part of it. So I dropped it after a while. I recently saw that the domain had not sold yet. So I called today at approximately 1:30 CST and spoke with a sales representative. I was negotiating with him, and he tried to ask me some questions that he has no business asking. These included: 1) What I thought a comparable website was worth. I'm not going to answer that because I could pigeon-hole myself into a price that is above what I believe is fair. 2) What I wanted to use the domain for. That is my business only because if I have a profitable idea, I don't want that out there until the site is actually launched. Business 101. I steered things back to what we needed to be talking about. I made an initial offer, he made a counter offer, and so on, and we agreed on a price of $1200. He said it was only valid if I paid today. I told him this is digital real estate and real estate does not work that way...I have to get the Venture Capital released, and that I could pay soon. He again insulted my business experience (of which I have 15+ years before ever being in the military). I could see right through his sales techniques so he wasn't getting me with them. He got angry, and hung up saying "Call me when you're serious". It has been my experience now that this company is extremely rude, and does not engage in ethical sales practices. They try to pressure you, and if you don't cave, they insult you, and act like you don't know what you're doing. In reality, I was doing exactly the right thing for smart business.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from the company, and for them to provide a sales representative that will not be rude, and will negotiate in a normal fashion, so we can finish this sale. I'm extremely fair person so I'm not expecting them to sell something at a price that doesn't provide a good profit for them. Also, I have very thick skin (I'm in the Infantry), so normally a little insult here and there doesn't bother me...but this was extreme, and is not acceptable behavior for anyone in business. They can't expect to try to push people around. This needs to be dealt with.

Business Response: We certainly apologize if this customer had a poor experience with a specific sales representative. We obviously want to provide a positive and professional experience to all customer and we will investigate this situation more closely. That said, often times customers may get frustrated with the direction of the price negotiations, but we cannot stray from company pricing policy based on the fact that someone has filed a complaint against us. We are happy to provide a direct line of communication with senior management, however, where the negotiation can be resumed at a higher level. If this is acceptable we are happy to  arrange this asap.

Consumer Response:

The issue is not resolved yet. That is a weak apology at best, and does not seem in any way sincere. There were multiple salespersons who behaved in the same way, indicating a culture of this kind of behavior at the company. I was not the one who got frustrated, and it had nothing to do with the company's pricing policy. It's digital real estate...you negotiate prices. The company needs to come back with a stronger offer. I do want to speak to senior management there.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basically I inquired about buying the domain name Klaphake.com which is my legal last name. Buy domains.com is squatting on the domain with no business model except for trying to get me to pay thousands for the domain. They are not trying to build a business around Klaphake.com at all.

Desired Settlement: I want the domain Klaphake.com handed over to me. It is my legal last name and I want to make a family website out of it.

Business Response: The complainant has no inherent rights to this domain name simply because it is his last name.  The fact of the matter is that thousands, if not hundreds of thousands, of other individuals share this last name and none of them can claim any specific "rights" to the domain name.   As such, we are well within our rights to own this domain as we have for the past 6 years.  As the BBB is well aware, our company has been in the domain industry and a BBB member for 10+ years and maintain the highest standards for meeting all legal and industry standards in terms of our domain ownership.   We view this complaint to be simply without merit, and see no need to seek any specific remedy with the complainant.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

I believe that the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act of 1999 gives me some legal right to the domain in question based of the fact that the business in question isn't trying to make a legit business out of the domain.  They are simple sitting on the domain and trying to sell it to make a profit. Please see the following that directly states that a persons legal name is one of the reasons for this law. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anticybersquatting_Consumer_Protection_Act

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

Business Response: Our use/ownership of this domain is perfectly valid.  As owners of nearly 1 million domains since 1999, our company is well aware of our ownership rights. If the complainant feels he has legal rights to this domain, ICANN provides a dispute resolution  platform that they can pursue. However, at this point we remain 100% comfortable with our ownership and use of the domain and consider this matter to be closed.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

So now you are telling me to submit a grievance with ICANN on this behalf so you can just pull the same crap that you are with me through the BBB in the ICANN grievance. This whole process has shown what kind of company you are. It is crazy to think that I would like to own my last name for a domain name and create a nice family website for a affordable price. This is not something that I am planning on making money on or anything....it is just a website for my family...but you would like to sell it to me for thousands of dollars. By the way i don't really care how many domain you own or how many years you have been in business because in this case you are straight up domain squatting. This domain is the only one that is relevant to this case.

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in negotiations with **** from **********.com. I had the price of $5500 for ****.com (my last name) and **********.com I agreed to that purchase and gave my credit card and my information to ****. ****.com was estimated at $8500 and ********** was estimated at $2,200 and I thought I was getting a good deal. The purchase did not go through so I told **** I would call him back after contacting my bank. I found out through my Bank that my limit was $5,000 and I called **** back to tell him that and tell him that I had to wait on **** opinion, my brother.  After I got my brother’s advice. I called back buydomains and left two messages for **** saying I was interested in purchasing ****.com and to call me back. I had plans of either negotiating down **** and ********** down to $5,000 (to stay within my limits) or cutting ********** out of the picture to get a price that I did not have to send a letter to my bank and get approval. I was also going to use a different credit card entirely than the one on record. As my personal funds are used on the credit card I gave ****. I go to sleep that night and I wake up to a huge surprise. My credit card is charged $5,000 without my authorization and I own just ****.com   Quickly I was disgusted and furious. I talked to godaddy about this (as they are very helpful in helping me with domain and website probems) and they explained to me that this is called SLAMMING a credit card. Not only do I feel violated, but my trust with buydomains is completely gone with ****’s actions and disregard for my authorization. Also ** called buydomains for me and talked to a supervisor and the supervisor said that someone will call me back Tuesday the 3rd and that everyone is out of the office for the New Years holiday. To my surprise I get a call the day after that and it is **** and he is both snobby and arrogant to me and explains that buydomains will not be doing business with me and they will be reversing the charge. Not only did the $5,000 charge go through, but also was tied up for 10 days up until Saturday January 7th. I had ** talk to **** and the supervisors as I was visibly shaken from this ordeal. I don’t know who **** thinks he is talking to me the way he did, but he not only infuriated me he also sent me into a manic episode. The pain, stress and sleepless nights caused from this have made me have to talk to my psychiatrist about this and now I am on a double dose of my medication. My doctor does not know if I am still “out of the woods” just yet and I may spiral out of control due to this ordeal. I really want to forget this ever happened, but when **** started in saying buydomains will not be able to do business with me and (which basically meant that I would not be getting ****.com) and all that money was tied up for so long during the holiday season makes this unforgettable. I will never be able to forget this traumatic event. I since had to cancel my Credit card so that **** did not have my information. I never gave **** authorization to charge my card for $5,000. And how **** responded to me in an arrogant and talking down to manner like I was to blame for him charging my card without authorization is despicable. I don’t think **** was capable at handling me at all. He was a self proclaimed big shot and has sold 100’s of thousands of domain names for big money and this money is obviously meaningless to him. However, when I am talking $5,000 at the age of 25 and in a fragile state this means a dam lot to me and my negotiations were not though at all when buydomains slammed my credit card!!!
- ****

Desired Settlement: I wanted to still buy ****.com and I was interested in *******.com, but with the way I was "negotiated" with the last time I am hesitant to even start the negotiation process with buy domains again.

Business Response: Hello BBB,

We received a call from the customer where he expressed interest in purchasing the domains. He gave us credit card information that was in his name. After the initial conversation with the customer, we received calls from members of the customer’s family imploring us to not sell the domain to the customer, citing a mental condition. At this point we were wary and wanted to be cautious, so we held up running the credit card based on the concerns of the family members. We then received two urgent voicemails (which the customer notes in his complaint) from the customer the next morning where the customer demanded that we sell the domain and push the purchase through.

We decided based upon the voicemails that we should run the order, but before we did so we advised our accounting team that there was a strong possibility that we would need to cancel this order. We received a call two days later, at which point we promptly refunded the order and reached out to confirm with the customer that we had refunded the money. It is unfortunate that the purchaser has a mental condition, but under the circumstances we handled the situation as best we could.

Regarding the customers desired resolution to the situation: We would be very reluctant to sell the name than for no other reason than the customer’s best interest. Given the concerns of his family members, the mental condition that they cite, and the customer’s reaction to charging the credit card which (we were implored to do), we believe that the customer should discuss the purchase with his family and rethink the decision to buy.

-NameMedia team

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

Regards,

**** ****

 

 

Business Response: Attached to this message is a .pdf file containing both the purchase and refund receipt. As the attached receipt clearly indicates, we processed the refund on Friday, December 30th, as requested.  We stand firmly behind all of our previous statements regarding this complaint, and given the complainant’s erratic behavior and ******** ************* ****** our hope is that the BBB will see our obvious responsiveness and promptly close this complaint.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

******** **** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/29/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a domain name www.**********.com for $1500 on January 6th and they sent me an email stating that I would be receiving an email within 7-10 days with my login information to transfer the domain. I called twice on Friday January 13th and twice on Monday January 16th... Once today January 17th... I was transferred to a voicemail and never got a phone call back from anyone. I also sent an email out on the 16th asking to provide me with the information needed and no answers...

Desired Settlement: I want my domain to be transferred asap on January 18th - I need the login information to transfer the domain! Our website is ready to go live!

Business Response: Hello BBB and ******,

This is *** ******* of the NameMedia (BuyDomains) Marketing department. I reached out to my customer service and inventory departments regarding this issue, and they revealed that they had sent the login information over to you ****** on 1/10 and again on 1/12 after receiving your messages. Can you please check your email and see if you received the information? If not, I can supply it to you here.

In addition, please understand that we sometimes require 7-10 business days after purchase to transfer domains. At the moment, it has only been 8 business days, and initially we had sent you the login information after only 2 business days. I would imagine that the email may have gotten stuck in a spam folder or not received due to a firewall.

We want to work with you to remedy the situation and get you the login information ASAP. In addition to this message, I have reached out to you via my work email. Please respond to either this message or that email as soon as you can so we can determine the best and fastest way to get you the login information for your domain.

Best Regards,

***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a price quote on a website at the end of July 2011, which was provided via email. Since then I have unsubscribed three times using the link in the email and written emails requesting to be removed, to which I have received no answers and have remained on the email list. Of course, when I was interested in knowing the price of a website, I had personal email response quickly. The most recent email was sent 12/21/11 and they are sent every 1-2 weeks.

Desired Settlement: Removal from all contacts lists of any form immediately.

Business Response: Hello ******, We do not wish to send you email that you don't want to receive. I am sorry and also concerned that the unsubscribe link did not work for you - I will contact our email provider regarding this issue. Could you please let me know what individual here at NameMedia (BuyDomains) you tried to reach out to? Or what email address you sent to? I need to contact to individual and investigate why they didn't see your unsubscribe request. In the meantime I have personally taken you off of our mailing lists, you will no longer receive any BuyDomains emails. Please do let me know if you have any other email addresses in addition to **********************, as I would need to remove each one to ensure that you do not receive any further emails. Regards and Happy Holidays, *** (Direct - ###-###-####)

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the company regarding a domain for my wifes business ******************). Their asking price for the domain was significantly outside the range we were willing to offer. We declined to purchase, or negotiate for the domain. The company has continued to contact me approximately every other week for months. I have requested that they remove my email address from their list. I have phoned and requested that they stop contacting me. The contacts are obviously automated, I have even called to "find out" about the discounts being offered and it is clear that they simply wish to get me back on the phone to negotiate a price for the domain starting from their original offer price.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to to stop attempting to contact me.

Business Response: Hello *******,

We do not wish to send you emails that you do not want to receive, and we apologize for not getting you on our unsubscribe list after your first request. It does seem strange that even after you called in and asked to be removed from our mailings that you continued to receive emails, as we take those requests seriously and we are constantly working to update our unsubscribe list. Is it possible that you had more than one email address on the mailing list, and only had one of them unsubscribed?

In any case, I have manually added ********************* to our master unsubscribe list; that address will no longer receive any emails. Please do let us know if you have any other email addresses that you would like removed.

Also for future reference, all of our emails have an unsubscribe link at the bottom, which you can click to remove yourself from all mailings.

Regards,

The NameMedia (BuyDomains) marketing team

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/8/2011 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/25/11, I purchased the domain name FindAPersonalTrainer.com from BuyDomains.com for $250. I received a confirmation of my order and the money was debited from my credit card. As it turns out BuyDomains misrepresented on it's site that it had the authority to sell domain. One week before BuyDomains sold me the name, it was purchased by a company called DataCube (this fact was either unknown by BuyDomains or purposely overlooked). After 7/25/11, my company spent time and money to begin developing the website and creating a logo for the domain. Today, I received an email from BuyDomains informing me that their "seller" didn't actually own the domain at the time of the sale and that my money would be refunded. However, they've had three weeks to tell me this. During this time, my company relied in good faith on the BuyDomains' reputation as an honest, ethical broker of domain names. This was all to our detriment as we've already paid designers, content writers, etc. to start building the site. After receiving the email from BuyDomains that they couldn't and wouldn't honor the sale, I found the page where the domain is parked and submitted an offer to purchase through the contact form. I received an email from saying the domain name was now $4,995. I've emailed BuyDomains at least four times today and have yet to receive a response.

Desired Settlement: I want to have the domain I paid for. The only way for that to happen is for BuyDomains to either buy the domain for me (at their expense, less the $250 already paid) or pay my company $4,745 so that we can purchase the domain that we have already spent three working to develop.

Business Response: This issue was resolved offline in the week following the complaint. We responded to **** the day following the complaint, and explained to him that the domain's listing party failed to notify us of the recent sale of the domain, which
resulted in the domain remaining on our site for purchase and the eventual attempted purchase by ****. We initiated action against the listing party immediately after we were made aware of the situation, and also proceeded to offer **** another domain at the original purchase price. **** was very agreeable to our proposed resolution to the situation after understanding that we take these matters very seriously.

**** also updated us that after receiving his domain that he had checked off this matter as resolved in the BBB system, however we are still receiving emails. Please update this issue as resolved.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

In light of BuyDomains.com swift action in proposing a fair resolution of this matter, and its subsequent steps to protect its domain marketplace, I would prefer that my complaint be stricken so as to not be a mark against this company.  If that is not possible, please know that I am satisfied that my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #******* have been resolved.

Regards,

**** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/2/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wish to enjoin you in a complaint against a predatory Internet domain name company, buydomains.com. If you determine you cannot help me in this complaint, I would at least appreciate you giving me some assistance to know who else I can complain to to get some resolution. My name is ****** ********** I have a legitimate claim to the domain name ************** as I conduct business in that name. I note that the domain name has been gazumped by buydomains.com. They have no legitimate interest in that domain name, but have merely speculatively registered that in the hope that someone will pay them $2388 (!) for it. On another occasion, a business I help with IT had ****************** registered. Due to family tragedy, the domain name briefly lapsed. We immediately attempted to renew it through our broker/ISP in Australia only to find buydomains.com had gazumped it and again refused to hand it over for a reasonable price. In the end the company had to pay as crucial emails, invoices, letterhead, business cards, etc were being lost due to lack of the domain. I am sure these examples are representative of an endemic problem. Here in Australia, anyone registering a .com.au domain name *must* prove they have some legitimate claim on it. Evidently, this is not the case in the United States. I feel buydomains and others who employ the same process of bulk registering domain names and then charging outrageous prices for them are unscrupulous. I cannot imagine it could be regarded as objectively fair that a company, who have no moral right, have made no effort, and who are able to steal other people's domain names, can get away with it with impunity. Surely there is some consumer protection available? I offered buydomains a fair price, even in excess of that of registering a .com domain name that is as-yet unregistered. What can be done? Can you help?

Desired Settlement: 1. I wish to make every representation to those who may be able to improve consumer protection law and restrict the practices of bulk domain *********. 2. I wish buydomains.com to accept a fair price for the domain name I seek, and which I manifestly possess a greater claim to. I do not recognise they "own" it legitimately. They have stolen it, in the same way that someone who find $100 on the footpath may possess it but effectively steals it. I propose this price is the cost of registering a new, unpossessed domain name (presumably what they paid), plus US$40, giving them a profit for their time.

Business Response: As the BBB is well aware, Buydomains.com has been a business in good standing for 10+ years.  In each of the two cases the compainant references, Buydomains.com acquired and retains the domains legitimately and in compliance with ICANN (domain governing body) standards.  The complainant appears frustrated by these standards, which is understandable, but is directing his frustration at our company which has done nothing wrong and adheres strictly to the ICANN rules and regulations at all times. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

With regard to buydomains' comments, I feel the need to re-state my original grievance in its entirety. Buydomains may claim that ICANN rules are abided by, but the moral force of my complaint is not mentioned, let alone satisfactorily addressed.

Rather than complain about the broken ICANN process or the contemptible actions of domain squatters like buydomains (whose claim to be 'of good standing' in the industry is risible), I again advance my preferred resolution to this problem. I will gladly pay buydomains a fee equivalent to that required for registration of a non-claimed domain, plus an administrative fee not exceeding $50 for their time, for transfer of the domain ************** rather than the demanded fee of many thousands of dollars.

Please forward this to buydomains.com and advocate on my behalf that this is a mutually beneficial solution, which will negate the need for further escalation.

Regards,

****** *********

 

Business Response: The bottom line is that the compalinant has no rights to either of the domain names mentioned thereby we consider this matter to be closed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

I am insulted by the response of buydomains.com, and I cannot in good conscience accept their claim that the matter is closed.
I find the claim that I, ****** *********, have no legitimate claim upon the domain *************, as audacious, and challenge buydomains.com to justify any superior affinity they might have to this domain name, apart from cybersquatting it.

Again, my intention is not to trade insults, but to put in good faith an offer to buy ************* in a profitable transaction. Their claimed value upon this domain of $2388 is unjustified.

I again ask you to advocate on my behalf for them to accept my offer to avoid further escalation.

Regards,

****** *********

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1