Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BuyDomains

Phone: (781) 839-2850 10 Corporate Drive Ste 300, Burlington, MA 01803 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.buydomains.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

BuyDomains sells domain names to commercial clients.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BuyDomains meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BuyDomains include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on BuyDomains
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1999 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/2005 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Karen L Dixon, VP, Marketing Mr. Aaron Visaggio, Director of Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Karen L Dixon, VP, Marketing
Customer Contact: Mr. Aaron Visaggio, Director of Sales
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

DOMAIN NAME SERVICES INTERNET SERVICES E-COMMERCE Internet Publishing and Broadcasting and Web Search Portals (NAICS: 519130)

Alternate Business Names
Yesdirect
BBB Program Participation

BBB Community Patrons
BBB Community Patrons are like-minded businesses that see ethics as the key factor in creating a stronger, healthier business community.

BBB Community Patrons' additional financial support enables BBB to pursue distinctive, mission-based programs focused on ethics that would not be possible if not for the generous backing from BBB Community Patron Sponsors.

Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Finding a Domain Name Service - 5 Tips - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site for Your Small Business Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

BuyDomains has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10 Corporate Drive Ste 300

    Burlington, MA 01803

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BuyDomains is cybersquatting on the domain {xxx*}.com. (*name hidden) My company owns {xxx}.co.uk, {xxx}.co and {xxx}.cn, and has top hits in ******. BuyDomains has offered to sell the {xxx}.com name to me for $1488 . The company has no use for the domain itself and its entire business model seems to be based on cybersquatting which contravenes ICANN rules: http://archive.icann.org/en/udrp/udrp-policy-24oct99.htm#4: use of a domain name in bad faith: (i) circumstances indicating that you have registered or you have acquired the domain name primarily for the purpose of selling, renting, or otherwise transferring the domain name registration to the complainant who is the owner of the trademark or service mark or to a competitor of that complainant, for valuable consideration in excess of your documented out-of-pocket costs directly related to the domain name;

Desired Settlement: BuyDomains should release the domain name to which it has no right and transfer it to my company, possibly for a nominal sum

Business Response: BuyDomains is a reseller of premium domain names, and not a registrar of primary registration domains like GoDaddy, etc who sell previously un-registered domains for prices from $8-$20.  BuyDomains purchased the domain in question, ************ in January of 2016, as an investment to resell to interested parties.  Mr. ****** has never had any previous claim of ownership of ************ so I am not sure how he could consider this ‘his’ domain.  BuyDomains has full legal rights and control over this domain. Although we do not purchase trademarked names, if Mr. ****** feels that there is any sort of trademark infringement and would like to pursue this claim via our trademark complaint, he may do so via our trademark complaint procedure here: http://www.buydomains.com/buydomains-trademark-complaint-procedure/

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  What possible interest could the business have in the name of '********' except to sell it to somebody who uses that name for a product? This type of business is termed domain-squatting and is illegal Regards, ***** ******    

4/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a domain name registration company. When a domain name is researched through the site AND IS AVAILABLE, they present the domain at a very high [rice. If you do NOT buy it at that price, they block out the domain so the customer cannot use a different service to secure the domain. In this caee, they now own a domain name that is representative of my business. In order to get the rights back, I have to now hire a lawyer and go to court. This is a highly unethical business practice, and is called domain name squatting.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to release the domain name so it can be registered through a service that has reasonable fees, or allow me to register for a reasonable price.

Business Response: BuyDomains is a reseller of premium domain names, and not a registrar of primary registration domains like Go Daddy, etc. who sell previously un-registered domains for prices from $8-$20.  BuyDomains registered the name in question, ******************** in 2010, as an investment to resell to interested parties.  We do not purchased trademarked names, however if ***** ***l would like to pursue this claim via our trademark complaint, he or she may do so via our trademark complaint proceedure here: *******************************************************************

?

9/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all, I bought the domain name from Buydomains last year, and without any notice whatsoever my website is suddenly unaccessible. I talked to Buydomains' representative who told me to contact Register.com, which I did in good faith, yet Register.com told me to again contact Buydomains as they said that it was not their responsibility. Up until the conversation with Buydomains' representative , I was not even aware that Buydomains had bought the domain name from Register.com, which seemed to complicate this matter even further. As a client, it does not make sense for me to contact Register.com as I have no business transaction with them. It is the responsibility of Buydomains.com to send out a renewal notice (as stated in Buydomains' FAQs page). I have ensured that my registration contact email address is correct so the issue could not lie there. I am quite unhappy with how Buydomains' representative handled this inquiry, as I am a registered paying client of Buydomains and therefore the responsibility of renewal notice lies with Buydomains, not Register.com. I originally paid around $500 to secure the purchase of my domain name. The renewal fee would have been around $20-25, which I would have gladly paid immediately if I had been given notice that the domain was about to expire. Now, Buydomains' sales representative has told me that I must pay $1188 to rebuy my domain. I find this extremely unfair and I reserve the right to take further action until this is rightly resolved.

Desired Settlement: Reinstate my domain name

Business Response: We are happy to help with this request.  Please reach out to me directly:**** ********** Vice President of Sales and Customer ServiceE: *************************P: ###-###-####    F: ###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Mr **** *********, Vice President of Sales and Customer Service of BuyDomains, has not responded to my inquiry directly, instead, he keeps sending me emails selling the same domain name, which I will not accept. I will not deal with this company again unless they change their manner of conducting their business. And I reserve the right to take futher action. This is not about the amount of money, it is about principle of doing business with decency. Regards, ******* **  

Business Response: Hi, ******.  In regards to the recent complaint, we recommended that the complainant reach out to me directly at my direct number and provided that information.  We are happy to hear them out and see if we can remedy here on our end.  If you want to reiterate this with them I'm still happy to offer that. Thanks, ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  ***, the VP, has not answered my questions directly. Instead, he just sent two emails promoting the same domain name which belonged to me in the frist place. Regards, ******* **    


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on BuyDomains
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart