Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

RetroFitness of Cranston

Phone: (401) 464-4055 Fax: (401) 464-4069 30 Kenney Drive, Cranston, RI 02920 http://www.fitworldri.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Fit World of Cranston/FitWorld LLC is a health club and gym specializing in personalized exercise programs, weight machines, cardio equipment, aerobics and Group exercise, cycling classes, cardio kick boxing, yoga, Pilates, and health and wellness seminars. Saunas, spacious lockers, and babysitting services are included.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RetroFitness of Cranston include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on RetroFitness of Cranston
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 in RI Business incorporated 11/05/2007 in RI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Kristine McPherson, General Manager Mr. Ralph Pecchia, Assistant General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kristine McPherson, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Ralph Pecchia, Assistant General Manager
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

HEALTH CLUBS & GYMNASIUMS HEALTH & FITNESS PROGRAM CONSULTANTS Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Hours of Operation
M: 5:00 AM - 10:30 PM
T: 5:00 AM - 10:30 PM
W: 5:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Th: 5:00 AM - 10:30 PM
F: 5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
S: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Su: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Debit Card
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Refund and Exchange Policy
10 day refund policy according to RI law.
Service Area
RetroFitness of Cranston provides their services in RHODE ISLAND.
Alternate Business Names
Fit World of Cranston FitWorld, LLC
Industry Tips
Health Clubs Health Clubs - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    30 Kenney Drive

    Cranston, RI 02920 (401) 464-4055

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I inquired about a membership back at the end of March when I gave them my credit card to bill for the membership. Then in April I met for my fitness evaluation and we discussed personal training. After deciding on a plan which was to be $160/month when billed was actually $189. I communicated with the facility and asked why an additional $29 and was told it was a non refundable fee that he thought we had discussed. When I went for the first session, everything that we had discussed had not happened (details can be provided if necessary). I contacted him 3 days later and told him I wanted to cancel any affiliation with the club. I was told that I could not cancel my membership as it was a 1 year non refundable contract and that they would credit for the training if I came into the facility and signed paperwork. I then stated I didn't feel as if I needed to physically come into the facility and sign any paperwork as I had never signed any paperwork in the beginning. I did not feel comfortable signing anything with this facility as they do not appear to be above board or in compliance with RI state law. I also asked him if there was a manager I could speak with and he told me he was the manager. I then tried to reach out to their corporate headquarters twice and have not received any response or acknowledgement from the corporate offices.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charge to my card refunded and no future transactions posted.

Business Response: **** *** has had her membership canceled and all funds returned.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I would just like to add this matter did not get resolved until after I contacted the RI Attorney General's office regarding this situation. This business did not want to cooperate with me nor did it's corporate headquarters ever respond to me after I made two attempts to contact them as well. I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, **** *** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on RetroFitness of Cranston
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)