Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Future Floor Surfacing

Phone: (401) 419-1109 479 Providence St Apt A1, Warwick, RI 02886 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.futurefloorsri.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Future Floor Surfacing provides professional flooring services to residential and commercial properties; specializing in hardwood flooring:  installation, refinishing, repair work, replacement of existing boards, staining, decorative borders, restoration of historical hardwood floors, custom work and gymnasium floors. Fully licensed & insured.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Future Floor Surfacing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Future Floor Surfacing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Future Floor Surfacing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2011 Business started: 09/18/1997 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.state.ri.us/contact/index.php
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The number is 15308.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ronald L Parrott, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald L Parrott, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

HARDWOOD FLOOR CONTRACTORS HARDWOODS CONTRACTORS- FLOORING FLOOR LAYING, REFINISHING & RESURFACING FLOOR HARDWOOD Flooring Contractors (NAICS: 238330)

Products & Services

Future Floor Surfacing sells the following brand(s): Specialty Forest Products, Wood Pro

Future Floor Surfacing offers the following product(s): Hardwood flooring

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
S: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Personal check
Cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states all work is guaranteed to customer satisfaction.
Service Area
Future Floor Surfacing provides their services in RHODE ISLAND.
Alternate Business Names
Future Floor Surfacing and Hardwood Flooring
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Carpets and Rugs Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Carpenter Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Future Floor Surfacing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 479 Providence St Apt A1

    Warwick, RI 02886

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this complain to express my deep concerns, dissatisfaction, disgust and utter rage with the service that I have received from the owner of Future Floor Surfacing. I had hired Future Floor Surfacing during my home renovation project to refinish my hardwood floors; a job that was gratefully taken on. Initially, I was quoted $4,100 for the project, but I counter offered with $3,500 which was agreed on but never honored later (I have all this in e-mail and writing). At the time that I hired this company I told the owner that the house is in the process of being painted. Since the property is a two family home, we agreed that he would start the floors on one floor while the other was being painted and switch when completed. I was advised that my walls wouldn't be affected by his work. Throughout the project, Future Floor Surfacing had multiple altercations with the other laborers working in the house stating that they were getting in his way and he used vulgar and insulting language, raised his voice, threw tantrums and made others feel really uncomfortable being near him. He insulted the painter, the contractor and even my father who had gone to check up on the status of the project. At the completion of the project, the hallway walls of the home were left a complete mess with stain marks all over the entire walls. Stain marks were also found on walls in almost all of the other rooms in the house requiring a repainting of all of the walls affected by his absolutely messy work. Besides that a portion of the floors were left unfinished. Upon bringing this up to the owner, I was met with complete and utter disrespect, being talked down to, belittled, threatened, sworn at and insulted. I have never in my entire life had to deal with someone with such horrible people and customer service skills, especially one who owns his own business. I was cursed at over the phone and through text message which I have record of and will gladly forward along. At one point, the owner asked what it would take to make me happy seemingly understanding his wrong and asked if I’d be happy with compensation (all in text messages). I agreed, but then 5 minutes later, I received a text message stating that he changed his mind and again I was insulted with profane language! The behavior of the owner is completely uncivil, chaotic, unprofessional and absolutely unacceptable. He curses and threatens his customers and other members of the labor workforce and makes people feel absolutely uncomfortable being around him. If you want someone who is going to provide you with superior customer service, I strongly suggest you stay as far away as possible from Future Floor Surfacing.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome for such horrendous service and unprofessional and degrading behavior is this: Honor the agreed to price of $3,500 and refund the additional $600 since the $4,100 was already paid in full. A payment in $300 in damages to the walls. An additional payment of $300 for being threatened, sworn at, insulted and for leaving the job unfinished This brings the total of my request to $1,200.

Business Response: On July 22nd, I was paid in full for this project by the contractor.  At the time of payment, I was unaware of any issues / complaints by the homeowner regarding the floor; as none were disclosed to me.  The day prior, I received an email from the homeowner stating, “As far as the floors, they look good to me except a couple of spots on the stairs look like didn't get stained very well and the little area on the first floor in the laundry room didn't get sanded or stained.  If you can take care of that, I'm happy with the rest.”Therefore, I was surprised to receive this complaint two days later.  I am very passionate about my work and put my heart and soul into each job.  I worked on this project for over a week, morning to early evening, including weekends, spent two days just cleaning the dirt left on the floor and in-between the boards, extracted countless nails and sanded lead paint off the stairs.  It took 5 days to repair the floors, which were said to be unsalvageable; however, I salvaged them.  The homeowner wanted a gray stain, he picked out the color and I did a sample in the closet to which the homeowner approved.  The floors came out exactly like the sample with 3 coats of water-based polyurethane (as agreed to).While most of this work was going on, the homeowner could not reached by phone; his number was out of service due to being out of the country.  This made communications difficult and perhaps lead to this unfortunate circumstance. However, I am on your side in this situation; as every homeowner has right to be satisfied with the service they receive; therefore, I immediately placed a phone call to the homeowner on July 24th and left a message stating I’d be happy to accommodate any issues with the floors.  I received a text message reply refusing any service.  To my end, the contracted job has been completed, but I am more than willing to revisit any “work” unsatisfactory to the homeowner.  I would appreciate all future communication be conducted over the phone or in person; I will not respond to any more emails or text messages.  Thank you for your cooperation.

Consumer Response:  Future Floors Surfacing is missing the point.  My complaint is not geared mostly to the quality of his work on the floors, but rather the way he has spoken to me, other people working in my home, including a member of my family and also how he has treated himself throughout the course of the project.  The only complaint I have in regards to his work is what I have previously stated, which is the stain marks which have ruined my hallway and some of my walls throughout the house, and as Future Floor Surfacing mentioned, an area on the stairs and a patch of flooring on the first floor kitchen which was not completed whatsoever.  Future Floor Surfacing is also correct stating that I am rejecting any further service from him.  This is due to his conduct and his mistreatment of his clients.  I do not want to see n Future Floors ever again.  My original complaint stands as is and my demands remains as is.  As far as being out of the country and not being able to be reached by phone - well that's what usually happens when you leave the country and this was discussed thoroughly with Future Floor Surfacing before I left.  My contractor was assigned the handling of any dealings with Future Floor Surfacing including communications, questions, comments and payment.  Any and all dealings were to be made through the contractor working in my home.  In any case, Future Floor Surfacing had my e-mail address and never sent me an e-mail while I was away.  This could have been done if any problem was faced.  I expect compensation for damages, incomplete work, frustration and not honoring the original negotiated price of $3,500 down from $4,100 (all stated in original complaint).  Otherwise this complaint will remain indefinitely.  Original Ask for the $3,500 price - 5/20/2014"Would you be able to do this job with the gray stain for $3500?"Reply from Future Floor Surfacing - 5/20/2014"It  depends on how much time it takes for the patch work. I can try that amount though..."Regards, **** **********  

Business Response: The homeowner is correct is stating the total cost of the job was dependent upon the amount of patchwork required to salvage the original hardwood floors.  This is an old home with the original hardwoods under other flooring; it took a large amount of time and effort (as described in my previous email) to restore the original hardwoods.  Each homeowners should expect professionalism, which is why I am offering my professional hardwood flooring services to remedy any issues he has with the floors, the walls, stains, etc. I do not understand how retracting my service fee will fix the flooring situation.  Thank you.    

Consumer Response:   I am rejecting the services, because as Future Floor Surfacing mentioned, each homeowner should expect professionalism, which is absolutely not what I nor other parties involved received and therefore neither myself nor anyone else wants to encounter the same situations again.  Retracting a portion of the fee as is being requested will pay for SOMEONE ELSE to fix the damages and complete the incomplete work.   Regards, **** **********  

9/11/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called future flooring for an estimate for installation on floating flooring that i have at my dads home and asked if he can take a look at the job with a price and when he is able to install the floor. I asked him to call my dad with the correct home number and he did and was supposed to stop by the house and this is when the problem starts, he never came over the house and my dad called him back again and another date was set per future flooring for the second time and he never showed up again or called back. Me and my dad got someone else to do the job and we will never recomend future flooring to anyone ever. My dad called future flooring nicely to tell him that it was unprofessional for a no call no show on his part and that we have someone else to do the job and he just he has been working for 20 years and hung up on my dad.

Desired Settlement: Next time future needs to be honest and responsible to there potential customers. I don't want any reply from future flooring. I just want BBB to give them this complaint

Business Response: Right after I read this review, I immediately called this customer and his Dad with an apology for any inconvenience I have caused them.  I do remember asking my assistant to call this customer and reschedule due to current projects taking longer than expected.  I now know that was never done.  I will continue to work on communicating with customers more efficiently.   

My company would graciously appreciate not posting this review, as I currently have a A+ rating with the BBB that I would like to maintain.  I include the BBB logo on my web site, proposals, invoices, business cards, plus, I'm about to be featured in RI Monthly Magazine with the BBB logo as part of my advertisement.  Please advise... 
 
Sincerely,
******    

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint .

There is no resolve needed, *** did apology and thats all i want. For three years I'v had problems  with many contractors either not calling me back or comming to the house to look at the job and ron did the same thing. I am tired of games with these contractors and don't know how some stay in business.

I can't believe *** has this behavor even being involved with BBB i thought i would be better with someone through BBB but i was proven wrong, I am very dissopointed!  I'am not with drawing this complaint and if *** calles me or my dad again i will put in another complaint for harrasment.