Find us on Google+

BBB Business Review

Text Sizesmall medium large

BBB Accredited Business since

Simply Lobster

Phone: (800) 796-3189 View Additional Phone Numbers 1292 Lisbon Street, Lewiston, ME 04240 http://www.simplylobsters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Simply Lobster specializes in the ordering and shipment of food service. The business products include but are not limited to soft tail lobster, hard shell lobster,streamers, surf and turf.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Simply Lobster meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Simply Lobster include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Simply Lobster
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1986 in ME Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 01/01/1986 in ME
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald Lee, President Mr. Donald Lee, President Mr. Donald Lee, President Mr. Donald Lee, President Mr. Donald Lee, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Lee, President
Principal: Mr. Donald Lee, President
Principal: Mr. Donald Lee, President
Principal: Mr. Donald Lee, President
Principal: Mr. Donald Lee, President
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

LOBSTERS FISH & SEAFOOD-RETAIL Seafood Product Preparation and Packaging (NAICS: 311710)

Products & Services

Simply Lobster sells the following brand(s): Maine Lobster

Refund and Exchange Policy
(taken from Web page)
What happens if I get a dead lobster when I ordered for a live one? 
Rarely will this happen, but when it does, we will credit you for the dead lobster. Our guarantee is 100% live lobsters upon arrival (Exception: Acts of God and weather delays beyond our control).  You must, however, inform us in writing (info@simplylobsters.com) or by calling us (1-800-796-3189) within 2 hours of receiving your package.  We cannot be responsible if you call us 3 days later, to let us know.  (Leaving us a message on our phone or an email is fine)  We absolutely DO NOT Tolerate False Claims, and can usually tell when false claims are made.   Please inform us immediately when you have an issue.  Early notice, allows us to assess the matter promptly.  Keep in mind when a refund is issued we reserve the right to request a return of the dead lobsters.  Of course at our expense.
Service Area
Simply Lobster provides their services in CONNECTICUT, MAINE, MASSACHUSETTS, NEW HAMPSHIRE, RHODE ISLAND, VERMONT.
Alternate Business Names
Gendron's Seafoods, Inc. Gendrons Seafood

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Simply Lobster has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
Industry Ratings Comparison Chart X
Same Relative Size   All Businesses
The information in the chart below represents an industry ratings comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size or for all businesses (see toggle). This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business.
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.