This business is not BBB accredited.

Boston Green Goods

45 Braintree Hill Office Park  Ste 300, Braintree, MA 02184 ! There is an alert on Boston Green Goods !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Boston Green Goods is a distributor of healthy home products via the internet, catalogs and phone sales. The company sells and provides product comparison ratings on products such as air purifiers, dehumidifiers, humidifiers, steam cleaners, vacuums and bedding. 


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 7
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Boston Green Goods
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1998 in MA Business incorporated 06/01/1998 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Susan B Rodriguez, V.P. Sales & Customer Service Ms. Mercia Tapping, Owner Ms. Lisa Aliquo, Finance Manager Ms. M.J. McEldowney, Chief Operations Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. M.J. McEldowney, Chief Operations Officer
Principal: Ms. Susan B Rodriguez, V.P. Sales & Customer Service
Principal: Ms. Mercia Tapping, Owner
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

ENVIRONMENTAL & ECOLOGICAL PRODUCTS & SERVICES WATER FILTRATION & PURIFICATION EQUIPMENT DEHUMIDIFYING EQUIPMENT BEDDING AIR CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT-ROOM UNITS AIR CLEANING & PURIFYING EQUIPMENT LIGHTS BULBS & TUBES Environmental Consulting Services (NAICS: 541620)

Alternate Business Names
EXGBB, Inc. Greenandmore.com
Industry Tips
Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    45 Braintree Hill Office Park
    Ste 300

    Braintree, MA 02184

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company advertised a full refund policy. I followed all of their instructions and received an email from them confirming the refund. After two months of emailing them, I have yet to even receive a response nor the refund.

Desired Settlement: 1. Refund me the money they agreed to;2. Respond to my request to return the other items. At this point they will have to waive their 30 day return policy since they have yet to respond to this other request.

5/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/1/2015, I ordered an ** Air Purifier from ******* ****** **** online in the amount of $899.98. The advertisement said next day shipping or possibly it could take up to two days. My money was taken from my credit card on 3/3/2015. After emailing them as suggested to check on my order, I never received a response. I sent another email about a week later, and never received a response. I finally called a number I found and they said wrong department and hung up. After searching I found another number, but a recording came on saying that all lines were busy and to leave my name and number and they would return my call. Again, no response. Finally on approx. 3/31, I emailed them again and asked them to please cancel my order and refund my money. I waited several days and didn't hear from them again, so that's when I sent BBB my complaint. I did check on my order status once again before filing this complaint, and noticed that it is saying I have 'No Orders'. Therefore, I'm assuming my order was canceled as requested, but my money hasn't been refunded yet. My order number was ******. I also received an Order Confirmation after placing the original order. It was #*******.

Desired Settlement: All I want at this point is my $899.98 refunded back to my credit card.

5/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The product was ordered through ******* ****** **** back in January 2015, Order#*******. The product delivered (a much cheaper model) was not the product ordered & it was delivered weeks later & after I had cancelled the order. There is an issue with the refund they sent through ******, & I did not receive the full amount of the refund. According to ******, they sent the refund as" payment for goods & services" instead of a "personal payment", therefore, I was charged a fee. ******* ****** needs to re-issue payment as a personal payment so I can receive the rest of the refund. I've emailed, called, & left messages to ******* ****** **** with no reply or return call back. Please see the information below from ******: Payment Received (Unique Transaction ID # *****************) Business Name: *****************.com (The sender of this payment is Verified) Buyer email: ****@bostongreengoods.com Payment sent to: ******@gmail.com Business Contact Information Customer Service URL: http://www.*****************.com Customer Service Email: ****@bostongreengoods.com Customer Service Phone: ###-###-#### Amount received: $474.05 USD Fee amount: -$14.05 USD Net amount: $460.00 USD Issue a refund Help You have up to 60 days to refund the payment. Date: Mar 25, 2015 Time: 12:46:04 PDT Status: Completed Subject: *****************.com has just sent you $474.05 USD with ****** Note: Here is your refund for cancelled order #******* Payment type: Instant

Desired Settlement: I would like the remaining balance of $14.05 refunded to me. - I realize this is not a large sum of money but it's a matter of principle & they most certainly owe me that. Thank you, *** ** 04/09/2015

4/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Why has no one contacted me regarding my order?? My **** account shows that you have already debited your funds, yet I have not received my VERY expensive vacuum cleaner. I have tried to go to your online assistance to check on delivery status, but no information is generated. This is extremely disappointing. Why will no one call me or send me an email from a live person?? Below is my 2nd attempt to contact you. > Date: Mon, 23 Mar 2015 01:27:19 -0400 > From: *********************************** > To: ********************* > Subject: ******* ****** ***** *** - Order Status message confirmation > > Dear **** ********: > > > PLEASE DO NOT REPLY TO THIS MESSAGE - it has been automatically generated. Please use the link at the end of this message to contact us again. > > Thank you for contacting ******* ****** ***** *** The information we collected from you is as follows. > -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- > First name: > **** > > Last name: > ******** > > Customer email: > ********************* > > Daytime phone #: > ************ > > Postal code: > > > Order number: > unknown > > Note: > The email I received indicated I could check the delivery status within 24-hours. I placed the order on 03-17-15. It was for $709 for a ***** vacuum cleaner. The funds have already been debited from my account. Where is my vacuum cleaner?? >

Desired Settlement: I want my vacuum cleaner delivered within 24 hours.

Business Response: We have contacted this customer and verified that her vacuum is in fact delivering today 3/31/15.   We recently changed our internal system, and it caused a slight delay in her order.   She is very happy that she will be receiving her vacuum today, and with the fact that we provided her with some free bags due to her inconvenience. 

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ****** ****/Boston Green Goods has failed to refund the $2249 for product returned for full refund. (Received on March 20, 2015) Full no hassle refund as stated on website confirmed verbally through customer service. First product purchased didn't operate as specified and returned. Waited two months for second one and it also did not perform as specified so ******* ****** ****/Boston Green Goods send labels for it to be returned also (received March 20, 2015) Although purchased through a credit card, I was advised on April 3, 2015 that a check had been placed in the mail on April 2, 2015 for the full amount. On April 10, 2015 called inquiring regarding the tracking information for the check as I had not received it and was expecting an email with the info. None came. On April 13, 2015 I called and was advised that a check was being "run" that morning and they would send it overnight that day and advise me of the tracking number. Called back later in Day on April 13, 2015 inquiring on tracking number and was advised they would let supervisor know (in a meeting) and she would email me the information that day. April 14, 2014. No email and no information provided.

Desired Settlement: That Boston Green Goods/******* ****** ***** immediately refund the money. Preferably to the Credit card it was purchased with since they don't actually send checks even when they state they will.

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on January 5th (#****** in the amount of $1,157.80). After 48 hours with no updates on their website regarding the status of the order (which was described as having very fast shipping) I sent an email asking for an update. No reply was received. I sent another email the next day after that. Again, no reply was received. I then called their service line and was directed to voicemail. When calling back through the sales department, the call was immediately answered. The sales person forwarded me to service and I was advised my order was on hold and would not ship for at least another 6 days. I told them that I wished to cancel the order, and they agreed that would be fine. That was on Thursday, the 8th. On Monday, the 12th, I still had not received the refund to my account from the cancelled order, so I called their service center. Again, I was directed to voicemail, however upon dialing through sales, the call was immediately answered. The sales representative forwarded me to a service person who advised my refund would be taken care of by the end of the day and that I would receive an email update confirming the transaction. After 2 days, no such email or refund was received, so I called back again on Wednesday. Again no answer through service. Dialed through sales, with an immediate response. Sales person advised he could not forward me, but I needed to talk to **** at extension ***. I called back and left her voicemail. **** returned my call a few hours later and I was unable to answer, but she left a message stating that the systems were down and she would take care of the refund as soon as they were back up, hopefully by end of the day. I have now waited another business day beyond that, with no further communication and still no refund. It has now been a total of 9 days since the order was cancelled, and I have no product, no order, no refund, and alot of wasted time trying to chase these people down.

Desired Settlement: I expect a full and immediate refund to my credit card for the order that they could not fulfill in a timely manner.

Business Response: Dear ******, We apologize for the delay and inconvenience that you experienced with your order. This is not typical of the way our company hasoperated over the last 15 years in business.  We are working hard to make improvements  about how to prevent the situation you encountered. We were understaffed in Customer Service in January because an uptick in business and of an agent relocating to another state and some temporaryworkers that was not working out leaving the company.  Both of those factors reduced our ability to respond in a timely fashion in Customer Service. We see that the Customer Service manager did communicate with you and did refund your card in full. Thank you for your feedback and understanding.Regards, *****************.com 

3/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to purchase a water filter from Boston Green twice, through the ******* ******* **** website, once in May 2014, and again in January 2015. The first time I tried to purchase it, they charged my **** account but never sent the product. They then cancelled my order but did not refund my money. I could not get any explanation from them after several attempts to get answers, so I had to turn to my bank who opened a case and refunded my money. Eventually, by the end of July, they finally returned the money and explained that the product was on back order with no expected date of availability. I have written documentation is needed. Because I had ordered from ******* ******* **** before and had previously had a good experience, I thought I would once again try to order this product from them in January. However, before I did, I asked through their website chat if the product was in stock and what I could expect as far as the timing of the delivery. I was told it was stock, and it would ship out immediately from them, NOT from the manufacturer. However, a week later, the product was still not here and there was no tracking number on the order tracking website, AND, they had charged my account. I contacted them, and again, after several attempts and unkept promises of return calls, I learned that the product was back ordered with no real expected date of availability. I demanded that my money be returned until the product was actually shipped out and a call from a supervisor. I was told yesterday that my money was refunded, but my bank statement shows no refund.

Desired Settlement: 1. I want my money back until the product is shipped out. 2. I want them to honor their original promise to deliver the product right away. 3. I want them to drastically improve their customer service experience. 4. I want others warned about the dishonest practices of this business.

Business Response: Dear ***, We show that your order was placed on 1/16/15 and charged. We cancelled the order per your request and the full refund was submitted on 1/22/15. It sometimes takes a couple of business days for the banks to transfer the funds. We do not have control over the timing of the funds exchange. We can only submit the transaction at our end.Please let us know if you do not see the refund on your credit card statement. Thank you for your feedback. Regards, *********************  

Consumer Response: I was not complaining about the speed of my refund. I was complaining about being given false information multiple times about products being in stock, the expected delivery date of the product,  being charged multiple times for products that were not expected to ship for an unknown period of time, and unacceptable customer service where I could not get answers and no one was helpful in getting my order corrected. My complaint will stand, since I have placed two orders in a row and had the same problem occur. Regards, *** ******  

3/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1-25-15 I placed an online order for a product costing Approx. $967.00 they said they had it in stock & that it would arrive in 2days after shipping. After four days my credit card payment went from pending to posted transaction, I had not received tracking information yet. On the 5th day I called and spoke to ******* *****, she stated that they were having “supply chain Issues” And that the product was not available at the time, She said she sent me an email stating this. This was on 1-30-15. I immediately canceled the order & requested a full refund. After i got off the phone with her I received two emails, one stating that they did not have it in stock, another about the order cancelation. Their web site said they had it in stock, that is the only reason i ordered from them. I have called them approx. 5 times & emailed them at least 4 times trying to get a refund. On 2-9-15 I called them to check the status of my refund, they said it had been processed. I’ve check my credit card everyday, no refund has been posted. On 2-12-15 I again spoke with ** *****, she stated my refund had NOT been processed, and that she would put in an urgent request.

Desired Settlement: To get my Credit card refunded.

Business Response: Dear ****,We apologize for the supply chain issue for the product you ordered. We have addressed the problem since. We cancelled your order and submitted your full refund of $967 on 2/13/15. Please let us know if you have any other issues or questions regarding this matter. Regards, Customer Service Dept. *****************.com

2/27/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/24/15 I ordered Perfect 16 replacement filters Order No. ****** and received an order confirmation on the same date. On 2/9/15 I checked on the status of my order that indicated “drop ship ordered.” On the same date, I filled out a contact form requesting when the order would be filled but the only answer I received was an automated message that stated “we will respond to your request as soon as possible.” When I received no other response, I again filled out another contact form on 2/12/15 and received the same response. On 2/18/15, I requested via email that my order be cancelled and a refund issued. I followed up on this on the same date by calling the office and talking with a ******* ****** who told me it would be another month before my order could be filled. I requested that the order be cancelled and my credit card be refunded. ******* told me this would be done and she would send me an email confirming this, but to date, I have received no such email. I called her again on 2/20/15 and left her a message, but she never returned my call. It should be noted that my credit card was charged on 1/28/15 when there was no chance of my order being filled in a timely manner. This is not good business practice. I am still requesting a full refund for my order.

Desired Settlement: A prompt refund to my credit card.

Business Response: Dear ******, We are sorry that we were not able to fulfill your order sooner.  We had supply issues short staffed in Customer Service in Februarydue to staff illnesses and staff out for medical issues and the 3 weeks in a row of snowstorms in Boston. We shouldhave communicated to you earlier about any supply issues were were having for the product that you ordered. We are back up to full staff now and are working hard to quickly catch up with our customer communication and order fulfillment.We cancelled your order per your request and submitted your full refund today. We emailed you that this was done earlier today as well. Thank you for your feedback and understanding. Regards,*****************.com 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. I am taking it on good faith that I will receive a refund.Thank you for your assistance in this matter. Regards, ****** *********

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Concerned and Interested Business Representative, I hope this letter is reaching you in a prompt and responsive manner. My intent is to be able to share my experience with your company with both the strengths and weaknesses I encountered. Although the picture I paint is primarily the negatives I faced attempting to receive a service from you, I hope you will view this as my honest concern and suggestions to enable your company to better serve customers in the future. I went to your website *****************.com because it looked like a reputable site with enough information to enable me to purchase the most appropriate air purifier for my allergy needs. I used the web chat feature at least twice and talked to representatives who gave me direct links to the products that may serve me and answered my questions. This was especially important because the vast array of products available for allergy needs was daunting at first and I did not want to end up with a purchase that would break quickly or make me feel unsatisfied. I had one webchat representative send me several links to products as I told them what I was looking for, but then asked me if I had any other questions as they had another call coming in. I reluctantly said I was good despite feeling like I was being pushed off the online web tool. Overall, your representatives did a good enough job that I felt confident in moving forward with my purchase of an **** T500 Tower Air Purifier on January 20th . I received an email confirmation the same day and was able to pay with Paypal, so my initial experience with your company was positive. I noticed on the bottom of my email receipt: “Limited LifeTime Warranty: *****************.com offers a free Limited Lifetime Warranty on select products. For a complete list of qualifying products click here.” I was intrigued by this and started a webchat asking when I would receive the warranty from your company. The web representative took 5 minutes to reply to me and when the did answer the call they stated “Sorry, I was on the phone and didn’t see this.” I believe this to be pretty unprofessional, both the delay in responding and implying they were on a personal phone call. The representative continued to be delayed in their responses and short with their answers to me stating that the warranty is through the **** company that makes the product, not with their website. I find it odd that your receipt to me would claim to have a warranty but was able to look through the list of products and see that mine was not on the list that your company warrantees so I was satisfied with the response I got. A few days but no more than a week later, I had not received any tracking information about when my product would arrive so I used your website to check my order status. I appreciated the instructions on what my user name and password was, but my order simply said In Process. I called the (888) number and a representative told me that there had been more products like this ordered than expected and the manufacturer was getting them ready for shipment. When I asked when it would be shipped, your company representative told me they would find out at the end of next week when my package would be sent to me. I was mildly disappointed, but I decided to call back in a week. The following week, my order was still processing according to the online Order Status tool so I called a representative again. The representative said that the manufacturer would not be shipping my package to me until the end of next week and that it would take a few days but no more than a week to arrive to me. I was again disappointed, but wanted to give your company the benefit of the doubt and continue to work with you. I mentioned to the phone representative that ****** is selling the same produce online and says it will be shipped and arrive to me within a few days. The representative agreed that I could go with another company if desired and I told them I would think about it. Now three weeks after my initial purchase date, I called your company and asked if my order had been shipped as I had not gotten an email or tracking information. The representative stated the manufacturer was still working on packaging the product and it may only be a day or two more. At this point I decided to cancel my order and the representative agreed to put the refund request in for me easily. I asked the phone representative how long my refund would take to process and they told me the person who processes payments is not in today but it should only be a day or two. I jokingly asked if it would be another week as that has been the response I had gotten to every call so far and the representative assured me it would not take a full week to process a refund. I purchased the same product on ******.com on February 8th and it did cost me about $20 extra because they charged me tax when your company did not for an unknown reason. I had hoped that my refund would appear on my credit card statement around the same time that the purchase from ****** would need to be paid so I would not have a high balance on the account or suffer a negative balance for too long. (For your records: My ****** product took only three days to ship on February 11th and arrived to me the following day on February 12th.) Unfortunately this is where your company has continued to show complete incompetence. Three business days after requesting my refund I called the phone representatives again and they told me ******* handles the refunds and had left for the day (it was almost 6pm, so I forgave this) but they would email her and that ******* should call me first thing in the morning on February 12th. I did not receive a phone call and called during my lunch break on the 12th and a second representative told me they would email ******* and she would call me that day about my refund. ******* or any representative from your company has never returned my calls and on February 13th I called twice because my refund is still not processed and both phone calls said the representatives are busy and asked me to leave a message. I have left a message and my Order Status online now says “Uncompleted order on hold!” with a $0 balance. To me this should imply that my refund is processed but it has not been refunded to my credit card. It is now 4 weeks past my original purchase date and 2.5 weeks past my request for a refund. I seriously questioned whether your company was a scam and checked my bank, credit card, and paypal accounts to make sure no unauthorized purchases were made. I checked the Better Business Bureau website and see your last three complaints from February-December, 2014 were all related to delays in shipments or processing refunds, so this has been an ongoing problem for your company. As I conclude my current status with your company, I would like to summarize a few key points. I hope you will think strongly about whether your company is outfitted properly to serve customers in a prompt and professional manner and recommend that if you are not able to make sufficient changes in the future that you consider selling the *****************.com website to another entity who is better equipped to handle customer demand or disbanding it entirely as it currently appears to offer inadequate business practices. The questions you should consider are: • Does your company offer a rigorous screening and training program for web and phone representatives? Although my interactions on the phone were pleasant, my web chats were unprofessional and it appeared your representatives were working from home and likely distracted by other matters than serving your company. • Are you capable of monitoring your representatives properly or offering a survey after webchats to determine which representatives are serving customers well and which are falling below reasonable standards? • Does your Order Status tool provide enough information to customers so they do not have to call or use webchat to determine why their order has not arrived yet? • If a shipment is going to be delayed, is there something your company can do on the sales page or immediately after purchase to inform customers that there will be a delay as the product is unavailable at this time? Perhaps customers will order a different product that will ship immediately. • Are there other resources you can utilize to obtain your products so they are more likely to arrive in a prompt manner? If the manufacturer holds up the process, could you purchase them through ****** or other websites so they are already on hand when a customer orders through you? • Do you have enough staff on hand to process orders and refunds? Are your computer systems or general process for issuing refunds difficult to manage or arduous that would delay the refund? • Why is it that your Order Status tool tells the customer that the order was uncompleted and there is a $0 balance but it has not yet gone through to the customer’s credit card? It is unfortunate that Better Business Bureau standards only assess “a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints.” And that “does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.” I feel this is sorely needed. Finally, I was hoping my refund would have been processed before I had the time to write this 3-page complaint so I could be a decent person and mail or email it directly to your company instead of making it public on Better Business Bureau. But your failure to issue me a refund further proves that your company is not able to serve customers in a manner that is in-line with a basic sense of decency and proper business practices. I hope you will consider my suggestions in earnest and come to a decision about whether you are able to continue to serve customers in a reliable way. I sincerely trust that my refund will be applied to my credit card account as you have done so with the previous few complaints, but I am less hopeful that your company will make the necessary changes to your business and that you will continue to suffer delays in your efforts to provide a service. I hope that your staff experience minimal disruption to their work overload as I sincerely believe they are all trying to be helpful to customers, but if disbanding your company is the best way to ensure that customers obtain the products they request in a prompt and efficient manner, then I hope you will make that mature and responsible decision. Sincerely yours, ----------- Order # ---------

Desired Settlement: I request to receive a refund to my credit card account as verbally agreed upon.

Business Response: Dear ******, We are sorry that we were not able to fulfill your order sooner and that your refund was delayed.We had supply issues short staffed in Customer Service in February due to staff illnesses and staff out for medical issuesand the 3 weeks in a row of snowstorms in ******. We should have communicated to you earlier about any supply issueswere were having for the product that you ordered.We cancelled your order per your request on 2/6/15 and we are sorry that the refund was not processed at that time. Per our records you contacted us on Friday 2/13/15inquiring about your refund. The person who was supposed to process your refund was out sick for two daysso your full refund was submitted to your {Paypal account on 2/17/15.  We do appreciate your feedback about the positive aspects of our company. We do offer free webchat product consultations for which product would fit our a customer's particular allergy situation. We will review and process your input and discuss it with our staff to come up with options for us for better Customer Service coveragein cases of illness and inclement weather. This will be our 15th year consulting with our new and returning customers and selling healthy home products in our catalog and online. We just had a rough patch in February in terms of our service and are back up to full staff now and are working hard to quicklycatch up with our customer communication and to return to the standard of service that we have worked hard to achieve over the years. We wish we had the resources and systems that ****** has but not many companies do. We will learn from your situation and make changes improve our processes and customer communication. Thank you for your feedback and understanding. Regards,*****************.com 

Consumer Response: I have received my refund and do believe the company will try to improve services in the future (if not for their own sake), but to claim that the delay was due to one month of February with weather and sick leave is ignoring the previous three complaints spread out over the course of a year. If customers are not informed about a manufacturer's delay before making their purchase, I believe more complaints will result. Best of luck to you as you figure out how to properly staff your company throughout the year and hope it does not lead to more unsatisfied customers in the future.

2/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order with the Boston Green Good, and their web page quoted the final amount of $664.05. However, their invoice additionally included the sales tax of $43.69. I immediately contacted their customer service, and told them that the shipping address is in CT. Hence the MA sales tax should not be charged (the vendor is a MA-based company). ******* ****** replied to me saying that my billing address is in MA, and hence the tax has to be charged. I replied to ******* 3 or 4 times, and never heard from her back. I wrote to ******* that all online vendors charge sales tax using the shipping address only. For example, ****** has exactly this clearly written at their policy page. Moreover, by the MA law (TIR 01-14, The ****** ****** Decision) the tax has to be charged using the shipping address only. Their customer service ignored all my letters. I called ********, and left a voice mail. She never returned my call. They just consistently ignored me 3 or 4 times. And meanwhile they shipped me the purchased item to my CT address, even though I was disputing the charge with them. So, (i) they never told me in advance about the sales tax, (ii) they charged the sales tax illegally (iii) they ignored 3 or 4 of my messages, (iv) they shipped me the purchased item even though I was disputing the charge with them.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $43.69

Business Response: Dear *****,We tracked your order and see that it was successfully redirected to your Connecticut address instead of the Mass. address that you entered in your original online order. We were not sure if the shipper (the manufacturer) had enough time to change the ship to address since it was on the *** truck with a Mass ship to label on the package. We are glad to see that ******* was able to reach the shipper who was able to work with *** to redirect the package to the new CT address. We see that it was delivered to the Connecticut address this week. We submitted your tax refund today  of $43.69 because we do not have to collect state tax for Connecticut ship to addresses. We do have to collect for Mass. ship to addresses. The refund should appear on your credit card statement in a few business days. We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience tied to this transaction. Please let us know if you require any further assistance on this matter. *** Package InformationLocation     Date     Local Time     Activity******, CT, United States     02/25/2015     11:50 A.M.     Delivered        02/24/2015     5:16 A.M.     As requested by the sender, the delivery change for this package was completed. / The address has been corrected. The delivery has been rescheduled.**********, MA, United States     02/23/2015     2:08 P.M.     Arrival Scan    02/23/2015     8:12 A.M.     The sender requested a delivery change for this package. / Your package will be delivered to an alternate address. Thank you*****************.coma Boston Green Goods company

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** *********

2/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called in November 2014 and ordered a Air Purifier and several replacement filters for other air purifiers. Within two weeks, I received my Air Purifier. I called in Decemcer and was told that the replacement filters were delayed due to an unexpected order rush to the company(**** ***- ******, Texas)and would be delivered by the end of December. On Jan.20, 2015 I tried calling the company(******* ****** ****) and was unable to connect to anyone. I found their website and sent an email to the CEO concerning this problem, and have not had a response as of this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I want not only an apology in writing, but either my replacement filters or a complete refund of my money.

12/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/15/2014 I ordered merchandise from ********************* that was advertised as "in stock/ships same or next business day". On 11/17/2014 my credit card was charged for the merchandise. On 11/27/2014 I had not received merchandise and website "Order Status" stated only that order was "in process" - so I emailed them and requested information as to my order and why I had not received it. I received an immediate auto confirmation that they had received this email and would reply as soon as possible but they have never responded as of this writing 12/3/2014. I called their customer support number this morning at 8:35am MST, 12/3/2014 - the woman who answered stated she could not access my order because she had no access to the computer. She stated she would have someone call me as soon as possible today to address my nondelivery problem and I asked for the response to be sent via email. It is now 5:28pm MST and I have received no return phone call and no email. This is completely unacceptable they quickly took my money and sent me nothing and refused to communicate in any manner.

Desired Settlement: I want an immediate credit card refund in full NOW!

Business Response: Dear ***** ******,We saw your BBB complaint and want to address it. We apologize for this situation. You should have been notified much sooner of the out of stocksituation on the product that you ordered from us. We had more of the product coming in but they were delayed due to the Thanksgiving holiday and inclement weather.We should have updated you on the delay when we found out about it. You were contacted by one of our Customer Service reps on 12/4/14 about the out of stock product.You cancelled your order with our rep and the order was cancelled on our end on 12/5 the full refund was  submitted on 12/5/14.Please accept our sincerest apology and let us know if you have any other questions regarding this cancellation and refund.Regards, Customer Service Dept www.*****************.comPhone: *** ******** press 2

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ******

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a vacuum cleaner 8/8/14. Order #******. Credit card was billed 8/11/14. I have been unable to contact the company to find out why the delay in shipping the product. To date, 8/18/14, I still have not been able to contact the company directly to talk to a customer service representative and the product has not been shipped.

Desired Settlement: I would like an IMMEDIATE refund to the credit card or IMMEDIATE shipment of product ordered and paid for.

Business Response: Dear BBB and ****,  We apologize for the delay in responding to this complaint. We did not see the emails that BBB sent because they were mixed in with some BBB spam emails  that were flagged as having potential viruses attached and must have been deleted.  We just received the final complaint notification in the mail today and are responding to the complaint.  We received an order from the bill to customer **** in our online system on 8/8/14.  Processing was done for the day so the order was processed on Monday 8/11/14. That is when we charged the customer's card.  An order confirmation was sent to via email. The product and accessories were shipped out on 8/12/14 and were received at the ship to customer's  address of *** ******, ** on 8/13/14  via*** tracking# ******************.   We apologize for **** not reaching anyone when he contacted us. We were short handed that week due to vacations in the department.  We value **** as a customer and truly appreciate his business past and present.  We will institute a *** process of checking the online BBB system weekly in the future since the email notifications of complaints may not be the most reliable method to notify us.  We recently added personnel to our Customer Service  group to handle the increase in order volume for the upcoming holiday season.  We will be sending  a free set of vacuum bags for the vacuum ordered for the ship to customer as a gesture of apology for the delayed response to his inquiry.  Please let us know if there is any other information we can provide to you or **** in this matter.   Regards,  ** ********** *************************  a Boston Green Goods company

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, **** ******

2/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered air purifier (********* ******** *** Air Purifier #******** ) from this Boston Green Goods wholly owned subsidiary, order number ******* on January 12, 2014. The item was supposed to have arrived already. It has not arrived and the company does not provide customer service. The website they have for order status does not provide any useful information on the status of my order (such as a tracking number). It only lists my order's status as "Drop ship status" which means nothing. The customer service line puts you into a voicemail that they never call back from. I got through once to the ordering phone number who would only forward me to the voicemail. On return phone calls, they must have blocked my phone number as they subsequently made it impossible to get anyone on the phone. They billed my american express card for $299.00 under reference number ****************** on January 14, 2014. This business clearly appears to be set up as a scam. If they ever answered their phone, did not block my line to the order number, or returned messages, I might feel otherwise.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund my credit card and also submit to an audit of their order fulfillment practices to be completed by an independent auditor. I would like background checks of ****** ******* and **** ********** (including former companies of their employment).

Business Response: This is in response to Mr. ****'s complaint.  First of all, I want to apologize for not responding sooner but for some reason we did not get the BBB complaint letter here at our office. We have been a loyal member of the BBB for 11 years with a high business rating that we promote on our website. I've researched Mr. ****'s order status information with my Customer Service Team here at Boston Green Goods, Inc.  The product he ordered from our website, *********************, was a ********* ******** air purifier that is dropped shipped directly from the manufacturer for us.  The manufacturer notified us back on January 14th that this item was backordered.  We unfortunately were not notified in time to stop the order from being charged.  Usually the backorder status with ********* products is just a few days. However, because of a strong demand for this product around the holidays, we were later told it would be backordered until the end of January.  An email should have gone out to the customer explaining this back order status and to contact us about it directly.  If that did not happen, then the fault is ours for not communicating this information. The ********* air purifier came back into stock earlier this week and was shipped out to Mr. **** on 2/4 with a confirmed Fedex tracking number.  It should have been delivered either yesterday or today.  As for Mr. **** trying to reach our Customer Service department, I'm not sure why he was unsuccessful since we do have a full staff answering our toll free number, email and chats from 9-6pm EST Monday - Friday.  And we do pride ourselves on following up for any messages that are left.  Also, I want to be clear that we do not block any calls from coming in or have the technology to do so.  The ********************* website has been in existence since 2000 and we pride ourselves on helping customers provide the best product solution for their health needs with ratings, reviews and comparison information we have on our site and with the product experts we have on our staff.  I will reach out to Mr. **** today to make sure he received his product and to credit his count to make up for the delay in delivery and the obvious frustration he had in reaching us. Sincerely, **** ********** Marketing Director Boston Green Goods, Inc. Home of *********************     


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Boston Green Goods
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart