BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

Glacial Energy of New England , Inc

Phone: (508) 833-3500 24 Route 6A, Suites 1-2, Sandwich, MA 02563 http://www.glacialenergy.com/

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Glacial Energy of New England , Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Glacial Energy of New England , Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Glacial Energy of New England , Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 08, 2010 Business started: 06/15/2006 in MA Business incorporated: 01/27/2006 in NV
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dianne McNeal , Exec
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dianne McNeal , Exec
Number of Employees

240

Business Category

ELECTRIC SUPPLIES


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    24 Route 6A, Suites 1-2

    Sandwich, MA 02563 (508) 833-3500

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

Glacial energy did not disclose that we were under a fixed rate for only a period of time and that our rate was variable after that. The company stated that their prices for electricity were less than ******** ****, our local electric company and that we would save money. Their rates are now more than triple ******** ****s rates. For the month of January, we were charged $1601.10 for electricity. According to the rates they just told me when I called, our bill for the month of February will be double that amount. Glacial energy increased their rates by almost 100% for the month of January and more than tripled their rates for the month of February. By the time we discovered this, February had already passed. ******** **** rates are $.08 per kwh and I was told over the phone that I was now paying $.26 per kwh. When we signed up with Glacial energy, we believed that we would pay a reasonable rate for electricity. I called customer service numerous times and each sales representative was unable/unwilling to help when I asked to reduce our rate and adjust our bill. We have now submitted a form to remove their service. We were also told that it might take 1 - 2 billing cycles for them to remove us.

 

Desired Settlement: We would like to pay the amount that we would have paid if we stayed with National Grid. We would like a refund for the amount of our bill for the billing cycle from January 9th - February 9th and February 9th - March 11th and until they process our request to stop service.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary of events: We contracted with Glacial Energy in November 2009, month to month. We were to be charged wholesale ISO NE rates plus a fixed adder of .005. They have raised our rates numerous times only to reduce them once we contact them. In January, 2013 I contacted ******** **** and they agreed to lock us in at 6.5%. We formally notified Glacial Energy of the change on 1/13/13. Glacial confirmed receipt of our cancellation, as we had requested. In March we received a bill for service from 1/20 - 2/20 with a rate of 21.077 plus the adder. The previous bill and reason for leaving was 9.355. According to my conversations with ******** **** regulations gives you up to 45 days to transfer service. (It only took Glacial 2 days to take over our service in 2009 but delayed service back to ******** **** for 30 day.) They are blatantly overbilling us as a last minute re-cooperation. We contacted ******** **** and their variable rate for commercial for the same period was 6.92%. I contacted ISO NE and reviewed rates with them on their website. They are broken down hourly and daily and there were some spikes in rate, but I did not see a consistent 21% anywhere. I have asked them to justify the rate with no response other than their response below. I went to the bank to stop payment. (They direct withdraw) The way they structure their direct withdraw letter allows them to continually submit and charge me if it is declined. I can forward you the document. (It is quite clever for this circumstance) Finally, the question: Is there any way that I can fight this? They are overbilling what we should have paid by $1626.80. GLACIAL'S RESPONSE: The electric rate has spiked for February because of the NE winter weather conditions causing increased power demand. There was also an issue with insufficient space in the natural gas pipelines for NE that fuel electric generation. This drove the monthly purchase price for power up on the NE ISO market. It is a temporary increase and things should settle back down as we move into spring. I have attached your rate history since your enrollment with Glacial Energy. Even with this increase factored in, your overall rate with Glacial has averaged .08249/kwh for 2012 - 2013.

Thank you,
****** ******
Glacial Energy
Director of Customer Care
888-452-2425 ext ***
888-446-5361 Fax

Desired Settlement: A refund of the overage charges of $1626.80.

Business Response: As we previously informed the Customer, the Customer was charged in accordance with her contract.  The increased rate for their last month on Glacial Energy service had nothing to do with the Customer's notice of cancellation of service.  Rather, the electric rate spiked in January/February 2013 because of the winter weather conditions in New England causing a severe increase in power demand in the region.  There was also a shortage of space in the natural gas pipelines to fuel electric generation in the region.  This drove up the wholesale cost of electricity in the day-ahead market at ISO New England.  Customer's rate is based on the wholesale cost of electricity each month in the day-ahead market at ISO New England.  If Customer had remained on service with Glacial, the effects of the temporary rate spike would have dissipated shortly thereafter.  This is the nature of a variable rate product -- sometimes there are unforeseen events that cause temporary rate spikes.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their rep came to my door and "persuaded" me to enroll with them as my "energy provider." She told me nothing but lies about what it was all about. It took me a lot of time and was just a scam. Now I have to un-enroll.

Desired Settlement: publicize what they do

Business Response: ***** *******'s enrollment with Glacial Energy was rescinded per her request on 3/12/13.   I also forward her complaint to the Sales Agency for follow up.  I spoke with her personally and apologized.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were approached by a sales representative for Glacial Energy in early 2010 about switching our electric service. The representative made claims of significant savings over National Grid. We at first turned down the sales pitch, but after persistence from the sales rep, we agreed to switch our services, figuring that even if the savings were minimal that at least there would be a savings. We have been with the company since and haven't really reviewed/compared the rates since we signed up in April of 2010. We recently received our invoice for January 2013 and almost fell over...the bill was almost double what it usually had been!! With a little research, we realized that our usage had gone up slightly, but the rate had jumped almost 40% in one month!!! Upon further research, we found that the previous rate was about 20% higher than National Grid's rate and the new rate is double what National Grid charges!!!! This has been going on for almost 3 years....Where is the savings????????? Our experience with this company has been that they have pushy sales tactics that promise BIG savings and then once they hook you, you find out not only that THERE ARE NO SAVINGS, but you end up paying 20-50% higher rates than you would have with National Grid!! When we contacted them to find out why our rates were so high, the customer service representative blamed it on recent weather causing spikes in the wholesale rates, but National Grid is still charging half of what Glacial Energy is charging!! The representative was unable/unwilling to help over the phone and stated that she would have a sales rep get in touch with us...within 24 hours....What??? Really??? When I call National Grid with an issue, I can immediately speak with someone who can assist me!

Desired Settlement: I feel that due to the deceptive tactics used to sign us up on a program that was going to SAVE US BIG Money and not following through on their promises, they should analyze our account over the past 3 years compared to what we would have paid if we had stayed with National Grid and refund us the difference for the overcharged amount!!!

Business Response: We have offered a new Fixed Rate contract to Mr ****, which he has agreed to as of 3/15/13.  We have also offered him a good will credit in the previous invoice.  He will continue with Glacial Energy under this new contract.

Consumer Response: I have agreed to a temporary 3 month contract at a fixed rate of 7.9 cents/kwh, which is about half the rate that I was being charged on the variable rate program, but it is still higher than National Grid.  Glacial has also agreed to provide us with a $1500 credit to make up for months that we were billed at rates that were significantly higher that what we would have paid through National Grid.  Providing everything goes according to plan over the next several moths, I will be satisfied that complaint #******* has been resolved.  Regards, ***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/10/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The representative for ******* ****** called on us and made savings promises and have since doubled their rates. Now they are saying it will take 1 to 2 billing cycles to change my service and by that time my company will be closed because I'll be broke.

Desired Settlement: Please do what you can to warn other small businesses regarding this company. A refund would be nice but I really don't see that happening.

Business Response: Upon reviewing the customer's account, it was determined that customer was entitled to some credits on the account.  Therefore, some significant credits were applied.  Customer has indicated that the resolution is satisfactory.

Consumer Response:

Although I don't feel I would have received the same actions had I not contacted the Better Business Bureau, I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Thank you for being there for customers!!

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1