Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

East Commerce Solutions, Inc.

Phone: (800) 527-5395 View Additional Phone Numbers 22 Morris Ln, E Providence, RI 02914 http://www.eastcommercesolutions.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

East Commerce Solutions, Inc. specializes in Merchant Services for Retail, Restaurants, Internet, Municipalities and B2B, Medical, Fuel Oil/Utility, Mail/Phone and Non Profits. The company offers  Credit Card Processing equipment and software, Mobile Processing Solutions, Gift & Loyalty Card Programs, Ecommerce with Secure Payment Gateways, and Point of Sale Systems, Bar Code Scanning, and Camera Surveillance. They also specialize in Payroll Services offering secure, reliable, cost effective payroll processing for all business types.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that East Commerce Solutions, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for East Commerce Solutions, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on East Commerce Solutions, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2008 Business started: 02/02/1998 in RI Business incorporated 02/02/1998 in RI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Medeiros, Chief Executive Officer Ms. Lisa Medeiros, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Medeiros, Chief Executive Officer
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Medeiros, President
Number of Employees

125

Business Category

MERCHANT ACCOUNT SERVICES CREDIT CARD & OTHER CREDIT PLANS-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES WEB SITE DESIGN SERVICE WEB HOSTING CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE POINT OF SALE SYSTEMS BAR CODING SERVICE SURVEILLANCE EQUIPMENT, SALES & SERVICE CREDIT CARD – MERCHANT SERVICES PAYROLL PREPARATION SERVICE Other Accounting Services (NAICS: 541219)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Su: Closed
Service Area
East Commerce Solutions services all 50 States
Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Read Before You Sign Unauthorized Credit Card Billing Website Design Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

East Commerce Solutions, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 22 Morris Ln

    E Providence, RI 02914 (401) 431-6320 (800) 527-5395

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a debit/credit card service with East Commerce Solutions through my business banking representative, *** *********, at Rockland Trust in Bridgewater, MA in October 2015. My customer number at East Commerce Solutions is **********. It was a fee based service that did not fit the nature of my business (****** *** *** *******). I just didn't use it enough for it to be practical. I canceled the service on November 16, 2015 with ****** ******** in customer service. She explained that I had to mail the device back to the company also bills under the name, Merchant Services. *** ******** sent me a form to fill out and return along with information about how to ship the swiping device back to Merchant Services. I faxed a Merchant Request to Close Processing Account form on the 16th and shipped the item back to Merchant at ** ****** **** ** **** ********** with a copy of the Close Processing form inside as directed. I sent it via **** with a signature receipt required that the company said they received on November 28th. I didn’t question it as it seemed reasonable. I paid another payment of $28 for service to East Commerce Solutions in November for fees incurred during the transition to closing the account on December 1, 2015. When I went over my account in January I noticed that East Coast Commerce cashed the check for $28, but Merchant Services deducted fees automatically from my account also after cancellation. I contacted Merchant Services about this problem on Dec. 16th, Dec. 17th. 12/2/15 Merchant Service/Merch Fee ********** $45.82 1/4/16 Merchant Service/Merch Fee ********** $35.00 I contacted Merchant Services again in January (from my business phone) and spoke with ****, who raised his voice at me when I asked for the deductions to be returned. Not satisfied with this treatment I contacted my bank rep., *** ********* and explained the situation to her. I attempted to call and/or spoke with *** ********* about this. She agreed they should not be charging me the fees after the service was discontinued and assured me she would make it right. She would not return calls when she said she would and still has not solved it to my liking – I just want the two fees returned (total-$80.82) that Merchant automatically deducted after cancellation of service. The number of times I’ve spoken with or left messages for *** ********* (with no success) follows: Jan. 12th, Jan. 13th, Jan. 14th and Jan. 20th. You have helped me in the past when I had problems in business. I hope you can help me again. I made my end of the bargain by following instructions given to me for discontinuation of service to East Commerce Solutions / Merchant Services through Rockland Trust. I only expect them to refund the money they deducted for fees after cancellation of service and to discontinue deducting funds from my Rockland Trust account (Routing # ********* Acct# **********).

Desired Settlement: The outcome desired is Merchant Services refund of $80.82 to my Rockland Trust Account or by check to me, and cessation of fund deduction from my bank account on this cancelled service.

Business Response: We agree to refund this customer and apologize for the miscommunication and her frustration.   A refund check will be processed today

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #******** with the addition that they will no longer deduct funds from the Rockland Trust account. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ********* ******

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was approached on June 4th by a Sales Representative named ***** ***** to explore the possibility of doing my credit card processing with East Commerce Solutions. I was told by ***** that I could lower my monthly charges on my online store (on my website) by signing up with them. ***** was to go back to the office and do an analysis that would show how they could save me money. I signed some paperwork and was told by ***** that the paperwork did not really mean anything and that nothing would happen until I was satisfied with the analysis and the service. I told ***** at that time, that I did not know how to switch credit card processing on my website from my present service to East Commerce Solutions. He told me not to worry, that East Commerce Solutions would work with me to make the transition and again, nothing would go into effect until that transition was done to my satisfaction. I was sent the analysis and called ***** to review it. In speaking with *****, it indeed looked like East Commerce Solutions could save me money on credit card processing and so I asked him to start the process of transitioning from my present credit card processing service to East Commerce Solutions. He told me that ******* would call me on 11 June to do the transition. I again stressed that I did not want anything to happen until the transition was complete so that I did not lose any commerce/revenue. ***** again assured me that he would not switch my account ON until I was satisfied with the service. ******* called me on 11 June and it was obvious that she had no idea how to transition my website store from the current credit card processing service to East Commerce Solutions. She had me on the phone for 45 minutes doing a "hunt and peck" through every tab and button on my site to try to see how to do it and failed. She told me that someone else would have to get on the call with her to do it as she did not know how. She set up a time of 2:00 on June 25th to do it. When she called back, it was just ******* and she told me that someone would call me at 9:00 on June 29th to make the transition. No one ever called. I got a call the next day from an East Commerce Solutions representative asking, but it was not scheduled, I was out of the office and could not take the call. An additional time was set for 2:00 on July 1 to make the call to me - that call was never made either. At that point, I contacted ***** ***** and told him that I did not want to go forward with East Commerce Solutions as I was very disappointed in their lack of support and apparent incompetency in transitioning my website store. Mr. ***** told me that he had never had anyone tell him that, but that he would void our paperwork as if it never happened, in keeping to his promise that "nothing will happen until you are satisfied" In the meantime I got a letter for ****** ** ******** welcoming me to East Commerce Solutions dated June 5th, which is one day after speaking with ***** *****. Recall that ***** ***** told me that nothing would happen with my account until I was satisfied. I was immediately alarmed and started monitoring my checking account What I discovered was that East Commerce Solutions and ****** (their affiliate) had made a $15 withdrawal from my checking account for WITHDRAW / MERCHANT SERVICEMERCH FEE on 3 August and a $10 WITHDRAW for AUTHNET GATEWAY BILLING made on 4 August. I called this to ***** *****'s attention and he sent me an email that stated "*****, my goal has always been to serve as a consultant and help you navigate through merchant services, while saving you money along the way. I believe I have done that." Nothing could be further from the truth. There was no help navigating through anything. He sent my paperwork into the company (after he told me that nothing would happen until I was satisfied), he provided absolutely no guidance on the transition and he basically disappeared. I am very disappointed and upset that monies were taken from me for a service that was never provided. I could not process a credit card with East Commerce Solutions if my life depended on it. I have no card reader, I have no software, I have no web portal to do it with, I have nothing except a withdrawal from my checking account. When I relayed this displeasure to ***** *****, and asked that he return my monies, consistent with previous actions, he turned me over to someone else, a Mr. *** ****, Vice President. Mr. **** told me that he would "terminate my account" but that after doing some research, he did not feel a refund was warranted. I told Mr. **** in an email "the first two calls I got from a woman (*******) who was totally incompetent. She kept me on the phone for an hour while I hunted and pecked through menus on my eCommerce website to try to figure out how to switch me over and she could not even get started. Then she was going to set me up with another person on a specific day and time, I set it up on my calendar and he never called. Then he called me randomly when I was in the middle of a meeting and seemed peeved that I didn’t set everything aside and take his call. Bottom line: No one seemed to know what they were doing and I lost total confidence in your ability to deliver." Mr. **** replied "Please understand that by signing the merchant agreement you were opening the account and giving your OK. Fees start from the moment that the account is approved." which is totally counter to what ***** ***** told me. A complete bait and switch. Mr **** then went on to say "At this point I have authorized a refund of the July fees of $15. You will see this in the next 10 business days". I never saw the refund. I called and sent email to Mr. **** to tell him that the refund had not been received and to date I have not had either an email or a telephone call returned. The monies have not be returned. In addition, I would like the other $10 returned to me as well. East Commerce Solutions did nothing to earn the money, they failed to deliver what they promised and they went against their word by activating my account before I authorized it. If this is standard practice, this is a very deceptive, unethical and dishonest company, in my humble opinion. I

Desired Settlement: would like all of my money back - at total of $25. It is not so much about the money as it is about the principal. East Commerce Solutions promised me a service that they did not deliver (not even close) and then turned around and took money from my checking account.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********,We regret that you were dissatisfied with the service you experienced with our corporation and agree to refund the $25.00 as you requested.Sincerely,**** ********, President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ********

4/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For three consecutive months, money was withdrawn from my bank account without any authorization. This withdrawal was never approved and the withdrawal should never have occurred as the bank information was only supposed to be used as location for deposits. After the first withdrawal there were numerous attempts to stop the withdrawals and to get a refund of the money that was taken. These attempts were met with " it shouldn't have happened" and "We are attempting to get this resolved". I have yet to receive the repayment of the funds that were not supposed to be taken.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the funds that were taken.

Business Response:

East Commerce Solutions refunded $60.00 to the customer on 3/24/15 ck#*****.  We agree to refund the additional $30.00 today.
We apologize for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response: As of Today, 4/2/15, no money has been refunded. No check has been received for either the amount that was promised ( $90.00 via email) or the lesser, inadequate amount of $60.00. I will continue to hold this complaint open until the full amount of funds is returned and this matter is resolved.  

Business Response:

We will follow up with you next week. I can assure you both checks are now cut and have been mailed.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

12/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: East Commerce Solutions "accidentally" removed $551.92 from our account after we closed one account with them and opened another since we changed our business entity (we were charged $37 in overdraft fees from the bank the first day, and $74 the second day since we were not aware). Once we called, they said they mistakenly took an extra $490 out of our account, and it would be credited back, however, when we asked what the other charges were for....no one knew or could explain. Our "representative" told us they were the fees for the month. We put enough money in the account to take care of the fees, however, then East Commerce Solutions deducted another $18.95, $16.95 and $9.95 in one day, and only refunded $441.00 of the mistaken $551.92 This meant that we then had another $64 overdraft fee and a $148 overdraft fee...again because they did not notify us that they were taking more money out even when we were talking to them about the mistaken deduction and explained that we closed the bank account. They are refusing to pay for the overdraft fees which started due to the original $551.92 deduction. They are refusing to explain why the full $551.92 was not refunded and cannot explain why they kept $110.92 of it and then charged us the $18.95, $16.95 and $9.95 on top of the other 'fee'. This has been going on for a few weeks, and our representative said repeatedly said he would take care of it. After numerous e-mails that were not responded to, and phone calls that were not returned....they finally said they were not giving us any more money since we closed the account and the funds were not there.....not believing that we had overdraft protection on it and had it linked to the new account. (By the way, this was sent in an e-mail, and when my response was that we needed to speak about this and to please call....they have yet to call me and it has been days). They want if I had overdraft protection in writing, which is none of their concern since it would not be an issue had they of not deducted such a large amount from the account to begin with. And I will not provide them with any more of my banking information considering what they have put us through and what they owe us. As of this date, they owe us $323 in overdraft fees incurred due to their error, and have charged us $156.10 in fees for 1 month of service in which we used their credit card machine for 1 customer's charge of $375........so why we were charges $156.10 no one can answer and we can't seem to get an itemized bill.

Desired Settlement: I would like $323 to cover the overdraft fees from my bank as well as either the $156.10 worth of fees or an explanation as to how it cost so much in 'fees' for one charge of $375. ( I have already provided the bank statements for proof).

Business Response: Our customer service department is pulling all documentation for me to review this case. The fees were deducted from the transaction processing network, not East Commerce Solutions.The refund also came from the processing network, not East Commerce Solutions.  We are contacting the processor and reviewing this information to determine how to resolve this matter for the customer.The customer provided all bank statements showing overdraft.  East Commerce Solutions did charge the customer for equipment that they were using and we are verifying return date to prepare the refund due for fees we did assess.Due to the holiday, I will not be able to respond until 12/1/14.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  We are still hopeful it will be taken care of and have a refund sent to us.   We are upset that this has been going on for a month and we're told it would be taken care of.  Wondering how long until we here back?  Regards, ****** ****  

Business Response: East Commerce Solutions will refund the client the 18.95, 16.95 and 9.95.   We debited these fees related to credit card processing equipment and we agree to refund these in full.We also agree to refund $37.00 for the overdraft that occurred after our debit.  We again requested information from Priority Payment Systems which debited the client the $551.92 and refunded $441.00.East Commerce Solutions did not have anything to do with the other transactions the client is questioning.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  The amount we were charged for the deduction you have spoken about was $64 on the first day, and $148 on the second day, so this does not satisfy our request.  The $37 fee was for the other errors in which money was deducted from our account, dealing with your company and the credit card machine, which were not authorized, and they company admitted they deducted $551.92 in error.Feel free to refer to the statements for proof. Regards, ****** ****    

11/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Local rep ran my numbers and found the only way I would save money with East Commerce would be if I didn't have an early termination fee with current provider. Rep told me East Commerce could buy out my contract. When she showed up the next time, she informed me they could only reimburse me half my termination fee. She put in writing no contract length with East Commerce and reimbursement of half my buy out cost - $244.50. Then they stalled me for six months. ****** refused to get involved, even though East Commerce is selling their services. Ultimately, CFO of east Commerce wrote to tell me they would not reimburse me because I refused to sign a three-year commitment with them. Never explained why they started providing service in the first place if they needed a signed commitment. Eventually was told I did sign a contract - so I asked why, if they had signed a contract, they still wouldn't reimburse. Both companies are represented in all billing materials and statements - however neither one seems to be responsible for the actions of the other.

Desired Settlement: Own up and send me the $244.50 your representative promised me in writing.

Business Response:

The refund will be sent to the customer as requested

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

While I remain most hopeful that East Commerce will honor their obligation, I have e-mails dating back to April from the V.P. of Customer Service assuring my reimbursement was on the way. I notice their reply doesn't say "we sent" a check, only that they will. Until I receive actual payment I will not rescind my original complaint.

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

Business Response: ok I will provide a tracking number and will obtain signature required for delivery of check which we will overnight today to address customer provided

5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 different incidences My husband ******** ******* will address the details of the complaint -Credit card service company did not provide require 1099 in a timely manner. I spent hours on the phone trying to get the document. It was sent a week late after several hours on the phone -Attempted to change direct deposit bank from 1 bank to another. Spent hours on the phone trying to get documents from my bank that the bank did not consider normal documents. We sent a voided check and many documents bank provided and our direct deposit move to another bank was rejected -Canceled service with the company. Called and emailed the rep and was told to fill out form. The form was filled out and sent. Company now claims it was never received. Funds were removed from my account and we are fighting to get funds back of $22.00. Company is very unreasonable. Merchant account was not used during month I was charged fee because I was under the assumption it was closed

Desired Settlement: refunded April fee of $22.

Business Response: On 2/8/14 the customer called asking about receiving the 1099 reporting form.  we informed her that this form is generated from the processor, Priority Payment Solutions. We provided the phone number for the customer as East Commerce Solutions is not authorized to generate this report.  On 2/25/14 we received a request to change the checking account.  On 3/3/14 we received the required documentation to do so. On 4/2/14 the customer called us and informed us she already switched her processing and wanted to close her account. We submitted the closure request to the processor.  Billing is in arrears and the processor charged that fee for the month. Due to her dissatisfaction, we will refund the $22.00.

Consumer Response: East commerce agreed to pay back $22 from a previous complaint (********), but instead they pulled $270 from my account with absolutely no authorization what so ever. They have over drawn my account. They are bullying me. It's horrible what they are doing to a small business owner. Pay back $270 + $22 + ALL BANK FEES and losses I take for being overdrawn   I don't fully agree with all the statements from East Commerce Solutions.  It is wrong for East Commerce to think they have no responsibility to provide the 1099 and pass the buck on to Priority Payment Solution that couldn't find any information about my 1099.  The sales Rep for East Commerce  had to address the problem.  The 1099 is legally required by February 1st and was not provided in a timely matter and it shouldn't be my responsibility to have to badger East Commerce for a document they are required to provide We submitted a request to change checking account on 3/3/14, however the documents I submitted was rejected.  The required documentation was unreasonable and I wasted hours with my bank trying to jump Through East Commerce Solution's ridiculous hoops.  This was the reason I decided I did not want their services any longer.  East commerce wrongfully charged me for services from 4/5/14 to 5/5/14.  In their defense, they admit to fully knowing that it was my intention to cancel the account on 4/2/14, yet they charged me for the month.

However, I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

Business Response: The $270.00 was charged by the processing net work Priority Payments, East Commerce Solutions Inc. did not debit the merchants account. It is written in the Priority contract that there is an early termination fee. We have been in contact with Priority Payments on behalf of the merchant requesting a REFUND. We are willing to refund the $22.00 even though it is not our obligation to do so. Thank you Sincerely ****** ** ******** CEO East Commerce Solutions Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I am rejecting this OFFER until I see that the resolution has been implemented.  The original complaint against east commerce was resolved by a promissory commitment from East Commerce, however, East commerce or whoever removed $270 from my account instead of refunding the $22. The $270 was not mentioned in any email, or paperwork that I have for closing the account. **** ******* the sales rep for Priority Payment never mentioned a cancellation fee.  The fee is unjust.  I have no equipment that needs to be returned and I clearly didn't cause East Commerce or Priory Payment any inconvenience that is worth $270.    This is the 4th incident.  East commerce must understand that I am not going to address multiple companies in this matter and I am not going to accept any resolution that does have verifiable action and end results.  

3/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began using East Commerce Solutions , Inc. in January 2011 to process my company's credit cards. I cancelled my account in July 2013. In October 2013, while reconciling my September checking account statement, I noticed a $195 deduction from my checking account from East Commerce Solutions. When I called to inquire what it was for, I was told it was for an early cancellation fee. I had looked through my records before I cancelled my account to make sure that I wasn't under any contract and did not see anything about a contract in my file. The woman I spoke with, ****** ********, emailed me a copy of "my" contract. There are two places on this contract for signatures and I did not sign either one. My signature was forged. I'm assuming my rep, ******* *******, signed my name, but I cannot be sure. I am 100% positive that I did not sign it and I had never seen this contract before it was emailed to me on 10/9/13. When I called East Commerce back after seeing this contract that I did not sign, I was informed by one of your customer service reps that there was nothing they could do about it since it was in the contract. They told me to call my rep, which I did. He told me that I wasn't under contract and there shouldn't have been an early cancellation fee and that he would get it taken care of. That was five months ago- he has given me several dead-end promises via email and phone, but I have yet to see my money reimbursed. And then, on 10/22/13. another $100 was deducted from my checking account and I was told this was for a closing fee. Forgery is a crime and if your company does not reimburse my money, I will pursue legal action.

Desired Settlement: I want the $295 back that was deducted from my checking account.

Business Response: The charge $295.00 was charged directly by the processing network Elavon, not East Commerce Solutions, it is in the contract that she did sign. She processed for over 1 1/2  years without incident she closed her account without notice directly with the processing network we were never notified by the customer until after she was charged the termination fee. Once they go direct to the network we cannot get them a refund, we do not receive any of the $295.00 it goes directly to Elavon. We also paid a termination fee on their behalf when they switched to our processing. For all of the reason stated I feel this is not a complaint that we should be liable for. We also have the customers signature on several documents and they all match, the sales rep has been with us for 5 years and never has had a complaint filed against him. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand now that East Commerce Solutions is a member service provider for Elavon.  All of my statements have the names of both companies on top with Elavon's address.  I have one business card form ******* ******* that has the Elavon logo & info on it and another of his business cards with the East Commerce Solutions logo & info.  The only information that is the same on both of the cards are *******'s cell phone number and fax number.  I submitted a complaint to the BBB last week for Elavon as well.  I've attached their response.  To me, it seems that they are saying you are responsible and you are saying they are responsible and East Commerce told me when I originally called to inquire about the $195 fee that I would have to deal with my rep, *******, to get it taken care of.  And my rep, who I believe was doing his best to get my money refunded (see attached email conversations with him), was saying he was waiting on a hold up from you.... Everyone seems to be pushing it off onto someone else and no one will take responsibility.    It's not even the money for me at this point, it's the principle.  If I had been told by ******* and had signed a contract stating that I would be charged these fees, I would not be making this complaint.  I understand, now,  that you have these policies in place, but I was never informed of them.  ******* never told me I was under a contract nor that I would be charged a termination fee.  He also told me, in the attached copy of our email conversations, that I should not have been charged a termination fee.  The only two papers I had in my file from ******* when I signed up to use East Commerce Solutions/Elavon were a Merchant Receipt  and a Quick Application, both from East Commerce Solutions.  It's very frustrating to be told that I knew of these charges and had signed something that I did not.  I'm positive I did not sign that contract and I never saw it before it was emailed to me on 10/9/13.  I run my business with honesty and integrity- it's a shame you don't.   

Business Response: We regret your dissatisfaction and agree to refund the $100.00 fee.  I have a copy of the Elavon contract which fully discloses the $195.00 fee with your signature. Elavon assessed this fee, not ECS.  I am unable to upload the document here and I have requested assistance from BBB so that I can provide this for you. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Thank you for working with me to get this resolved.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July of 2013 East Commerce Solutions called me several times trying to convince me to switch over to their credit card processing services promising to save my money and if they couldn't they would pay ME $500, which they do advertise on ******** ***** website under merchant services. After they did a comparison with my current credit card processing company they said I would have an annual savings of $5181.16 with them if I switched ( I have it in writing) . So needless to say I made the switch on August 25, 2013 and after only running 3 days worth of credit cards noticed they debited my checking account a high fee for the small amount that I processed. So I called East Commerce Solutions immediately questioning the fees I was charged and told them that is not what I was promised and I wanted to cancel their services today she told me that I would have to run credit cards for a whole month to see the savings and convinced me not to cancel yet and do the month of September . (When I asked , I was also told there would NOT be a termination fee because they are affiliated with my bank , ******** *****) In the meantime my prior processer called me in September to say she was returning my phone call message to cancel their services and when I told her that I didn't leave her a message she confirmed that the voice on the message machine was not mine so I informed her that I did not want to cancel their services yet and that I was waiting until the end of the month to make my decision and she said she would call me back the first week of October to see what I have deicded to do. So after running the whole month of September I was charged a few hundred dollars MORE than what I would of paid with my prior credit card processer and after making several calls to East Commerce Solutions in a week timeframe with them all telling me they would have my saleman give me a call ( never did call me to this day )and it was then I was informed I would be charged a termination fee . My prior processer called and we reprogrammed my machine back to their services. The VP of East Commerce Solutions finally called me and told me that after she reviewed my account she seen that I called several times with no result and apologized for the poor customer service I received and she knows what the problem was ( they had my account coded wrong) and she apologized again, when I asked her to code it the right way and give me a refund for what I was overcharged she said she can't because I was no longer a customer and I didn't qualify for the $500 but they would waive the termination fee. ( WHAT TERMINATION FEE ??? )

Desired Settlement: I want them to put my account in the RIGHT code for the months of Aug. Sept. and Oct. ( That they admitted was wrong ) and give my back what they overcharged me or I want the $500 I was promised If they couldn't save me money, which they clearly didn't by their own admission !!!!

Business Response: When the customer contacted us we researched and found that there was an SIC coding error which occurred at the transaction pricing network.  We informed the customer that once we got this corrected we would issue a refund. This has been corrected and a refund of $306.55 will be sent to this customer by East Commerce Solutions.  Apparently she called Priority Payment Systems and was informed of a cancellation fee. This information was given to her in error.  This account has been cancelled as they requested and the refund will be issued to satisfy her complaint. **** ********,President 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Also they need to STOP debiting my checking account, on 12/2/13 they withdrew $15.45 and I want that deposited back to my account ASAP and to stop any future withdrawals.

11/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used East Commerce Solutions in 2006 for our credit card merchant. We have been receiving a $10 a month charge SINCE 2006. As we work with several merchants, I did not know which merchant this way until I contacted them in 2011 and was told that we would be removed at that time. While looking through my statements today, we have been continuing to be charged $10 per month and when contacting them today- we were told AGAIN that they would stop the charges, but would not credit us for any of the previous charges. The charge is for a warranty program on a terminal that they are saying we did not return 6 years ago. Even if that were true, as ***** ******** pointed out today- we have MORE THAN PAID for this terminal and any warranty that is on it. The customer service is abysmal. I asked for a copy of our paperwork, but was told that them stopping future charges was all I would be receiving.

Desired Settlement: We are not seeking a refund for charges prior to 2011, but would like a credit to our account for the past 2 years, $240.

Business Response: I apologize for the inconvenience this customer has experienced.  I have confirmed that our records show the customer contacted us on 10/17/13 to address this issue.  She had been charged this fee again in October and we removed her account from all future billing.  We agree to refund 13 months which will reflect the last year plus this month's October billing.  A refund of $130.00 will be sent to the customer today.

10/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stopped using East Commerce Solutions in April, 2013. They took $270 out of my account for early termination. I called and pointed out to them that I had it in my contract that there were to be no early termination fees. I was refunded after 2 weeks. On August 5, 2013, I found 2 withdrawals from my account in their name. I looked up any other withdrawals they had made, and discovered that they have been taking out fees from May, June, July, and August, despite the fact that I had closed my account with them. I contacted them on August 5, and they refunded me for 1 of 5 of the withdrawals that they took from me. They assured me I would get the entire amount within 10 business days. I contacted them 15 business days later, and they told me to contact Corporate headquarters, and gave me the number. Corporate tried to send me back to East Commerce. I called East Commerce, and they assured me my money would be back in my account by 9-1-2013. I waited until 9-4 to contact me, and again, Corporate tried to send me back to East Commerce. Corporate tried to tell me they owed me 1/2 of what they took, and with some arguing and reading my bank statements to them, they told me they would reimburse me by 9-6-2013. I have spent many wasted hours on hold with both East Commerce Solutions and ******** ******* Systems, (their Corporate Headquarters) trying to get them to stop taking money out of my account, and to get them to return the money they had taken.

Desired Settlement: I would just like the $67.35 they owe me in a timely manner.Thank you.

Business Response: East Commerce Solutions worked with you to establish a merchant services account with ******** ******* Systems.  We have contacted ******** ******* Systems regarding your refunds.   They refunded $270.00 on 5/14/13 and a refund in the amount of $67.35 was processed on 9/6/13. This amount should have been deposited in the checking account that is on file with them.  They did confirm with us that your account has been closed as you requested and all future billing is stopped. East Commerce Solutions, Inc. is not a part of the ******** ******* Systems corporation.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. 

Today is Sept. 18, and still haven't received my money. I've been told every week since August 5th that it would be returned within 1 week, and still, it's not here. Thank you.

Business Response: Please be advised, PRIORITY PAYMENT SYSTEMS is NOT the corporate headquarters of East Commerce Solutions- we are two distinct and separate corporations.  ******** ******* Systems issued the refund to this customer on 9/20/13.  The amount was $67.35 and they have provided #*********016885 as the trace number to prove this.   The customer's refund was due from ******** ******* Systems NOT East Commerce Solutions and the refund has been issued.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

It took hours and hours of frustrating telephone calls with both companies pointing the finger at the other company. I finally received satisfaction once the B.B.B. became involved with this. Hopefully, the B.B.B will inform others of the bad practices of BOTH these companies.

10/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rep for East Commerce promised set up and delivery of services that did not match actual services received. Multiple communications involved layers of personnel with conflicting information and no clear paper trail that identified fees, how many entities would get paid per transaction or clearly defined roles of services for the various parts of service. Frequently left to self-serve and bounce around to multiple pieces of service providers, in spite of the fact that rep knew our priorities to switch to them were: ease of service and fast settlement. The final straw was a change in our bank account updated with the entity charged with our online merchant service. It wasn't until almost 30 days later that discovery of deposits was going into the wrong account while spending continued in the new account resulting in over $900 in charges and fees with our bank. When contacting East Commerce, was told that I needed to notify them too although there is no paper trail or supporting documentation anywhere that defines account management or what to do when changes occur. They have still not responded to our bank representative (as of 9/3/13) explaining an $82 transaction fee that does not match up with % for services contracted. Company has denied any wrong doing to our bank although is unable to offer a clear documentation path between both parties clearly outlining terms of services, procedures and all parties involved. Further investigation revealed that one credit card transaction processed pays 4 separate administrators and additional investigation supports that shoddy contract practices and shady sales practices are the "norm" for this company.

Desired Settlement: Company has cost us in time and fees above and beyond what appeared in our bank account. At minimum, we seek restitution of $978, the damage specific to our account.

Business Response:

There are many parties involved with the merchant processing account for this customer.  The processor Powerpay and the secure payment gateway authorize.net.  The customer signed paperwork reflecting this and was given setup and training. The customer did not contact East Commerce Solutions to facilitate the checking account change.  Unfortunately she did not know that she wasn't receiving funds until 30 days later. There is no way we could have known this we do not see the credit card transactions she processes on a daily basis. Our internal system reflects detailed contact with this customer to provide assistance once we were notified of the problem. We offered assistance to correct the bank account change and worked with the processor and gateway for her.  I have contacted this customer's bank as she requested. We have cancelled her account at her request. We regret her dissatisfaction. Credit card processing rates and fees were fully disclosed. We do not feel a refund is due from East Commerce Solutions since they appear to be a result of bank overdraft charges.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

East Commerce's reply is factually incorrect. There was no training given, there were multiple phone calls and contacts to the sales rep that phone records will support, he rarely would do anything via email.  The paper trail is inconsistent and the various rates on the contract to do not match with actual charges deducted from card processing.  The claim of "not knowing" transactions is of grave concern as detailed conversations were held about volume of transactions to actually determine percentages to be charged. Company is again repeating past history of inconsistent communications and should provide a paper trail to support their claims as strong as my paper trail that details days, dates and times of dissatisfaction since May, 2013.

Business Response: Please provide specific information regarding these transactions in question.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Where do we subit the transaction referenced?  Is there a fax or email or do we upload it on this forum? NOTE:  This 1 issue should NOT take the place of the main complaint: misrepresentation of services by sales rep.  We have an email trail from March thru July that goes about 20 communications deep, separate and apart from phone records.  This transaction is only one part of a larger issue.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on East Commerce Solutions, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart