BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

Nu-Chrome Restoration

Phone: (800) 956-0005 Fax: (508) 324-0004   ! There is an alert on Nu-Chrome Restoration !

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business is not currently rated. Business has filed for bankruptcy and is seeking to dissolve the business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

54 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 25
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 28
Total Closed Complaints 54

Additional Complaint Information

Based on BBB files, Nu-Chrome Restoration has a pattern of complaints concerning delivery issues. Consumers state that they send their item(s) to the company to be restored and repaired. Consumers state that the company gives an estimated date by which the item(s) will be finished. Consumers state that after contacting the company numerous times to verify that the item(s) are complete, the company continuously states that the item(s) will be finished at a later date. Consumers state that after numerous attempts to get delivery of their item(s), the company neither ships them nor returns calls or emails.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

16 Customer Reviews on Nu-Chrome Restoration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 15
Total Customer Reviews 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 02, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1996 in MA Business incorporated: 03/22/2011 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald Kemp, President Mr. Mark Kemp, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Kemp, President
Principal: Mr. Mark Kemp, Manager
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

COATINGS-PROTECTIVE

Alternate Business Names
Nu-Chrome Plating Nu-Chrome, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Nu-Chrome Restoration has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of NR.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    32 Industrial Ct

    Seekonk, MA 02771

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

On 03/21/2014, the business filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 7 (Liquidation) of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case# 1:14-bk-11203. Those with monetary claims against the business are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to Massachusetts Bankruptcy Court 5 Post Office Sq 10th Fl Ste 1000 Boston MA 02109 for resubmission to that court. The case number should be entered on the form.


Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have sent some very rare 1937 Dodge Coupe parts to be chromed. I also sent a $1000 deposit. Don or anyone else will not answer the phone. I have sent emails and left messages. No reply. I need my parts done or not and my money back if not. I have been trying for over 3 months to get ahold of anyone. Nothing.

Desired Settlement: These parts are not replaceable. I want my parts back done or not and my money if they are not done. MAIN THING IS THE PARTS!

6/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Originally mailed two items to be chromed. Found out the business was not good. Informed them that all I wanted was parts returned. No work was needed,all they had to do was mail the items back. Over a week to mail something back??? Just want my parts back.

Desired Settlement: Return parts that were mailed to them. At my cost.

4/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent a rare car part to be restored to Nu-Chrome. It was received by them on December 4th. Shortly afterwards I sent an email requesting confirmation of receipt and an estimate of when I could expect to have the work completed. Numerous messages and phone calls to obtain the status were unanswered by Nu-Chrome. In the first week of January, I received a call back from "***** who indicated that he had "found" my part and that it would be put in the line for repair and that it would be completed in a couple of weeks. Subsequently I called back two weeks later, and continued to call and send messages with no response. I finally received a response from "**** the first week in February, in which he stated I my part would be completed in the "next couple of weeks." Three weeks later I again left voicemail and email messages requesting status. On March 15th I received an email from *** stating that their shop had been closed for a couple of weeks due to a "legal issue" and that my part would be done by the end of the month. I have sense requested that no work be done on my part, to return it overnight air with insurance. I have not received a response from the March 15th request to return my part.

Desired Settlement: Return my part via over night air, insured.

4/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec 10, 2013 I sent a 1965 Pontiac GTO rear panel to be repaired and rechromed. I was told I would have my panel in one month. I have called over and over again asking for a response on the status of my piece. I was finally contacted one month ago in Feb. that the piece was to be completed and sent the following week. Here we are again a month later and still no product. Tried to contact Nu-Chrome once again and still no response. The piece cost me $400 and I paid Nu-Chrome $400 to do the work. I am out $88 plus shipping.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my 1965 GTO rear piece either completed and delivered or my money refunded and the piece returned.

4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: .I sent two chrome boat speedometer housing's to Nu-Chrome to be re-chromed. I had emailed them pictures before sending the two units to them and they gave me an estimate on the price to re-chrome. Once they received the parts, the estimate was more than double what they originally said. I told them I did not want the work done, and to please return my property to me, and I would gladly pay the cost for shipping them back. These are extremely rare, expensive and non-replaceable parts, as the company that made them (******** ****.) is no longer in business. Nu-Chrome is refusing to send my property back to me even though no work has been done. Now they do not return any of my telephone calls or emails

Desired Settlement: Return my two speedometer housings to me. (There are four pieces altogether, as two pieces fit together to form one complete housing)

3/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had contracted Nu Chrome to do rechrome work on our auto restoration projects for the past 10 plus years. We had not needed Nu Chrome's services for a year or so and had a pretty good relationship with them in the past.In December of 2010 we inherited a restoration project (a 1954 ********). The owner had brought all the chrome pieces to Nu Chrome for their restoration and rechroming. One of the larger pieces (the front grille surround) was badly damaged but Nu Chrome insisted they could repair it and the repair would be undetectable. We called Nu Chrome and told them we were doing this restoration and that parts should be shipped to us. They told us the job should be ready to ship soon. Over a year later we were still trying to get the parts from them. When we finally got them a few small parts had to be redone and the large grille surround was repaired incorrectly and did not fit the car. I had several conversations with them and it was decided that the best thing to do was to have me jig up this part, so that it could be repaired and its fit would be guaranteed. We did this and shipped the part to them in in September of 2013. We were assured that this would be a priority job since it had already cost us considerable time and money. We explained that we could not complete the body work on the nose of the car without fitting this piece. We were told from early October 2013 until February 2014 that it was ready to ship. It never arrived. It finally arrived on 2/17/14. The work was so poorly done that I believe it cannot be salvaged. Now I will either have to buy a replica part or send this part to another plater to see if it can repaired and rechromed to a satisfactory condition. These cars are becoming quite valuable now and their value is diminished by the use of replica (aftermarket) parts. We have been in the business of doing high quality auto restorations for over 40 years.

Desired Settlement: We have invested a considerable amount of time and money so that their repair would be easier and we would be assured that the part would fit ( after repair and rechroming). The delays to the project have cost us additional money and has moved the completion date forward by several months. We would like to be compensated for our costs, delays, and labor. additionally we anticipate the cost of repair or replacement to be approximately $750 to $1000.00. We would ask for a total refund of $2000.00.

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My parts that i sent to Nuchrome consisted of brand new brackets automotive related. The parts were to be chrome plated and returned to me within a few weeks time frame. Close to a year later they came back in horrific condition. Chrome peeling and rust covering them also damaged and cracked. Many emails and phone calls were not responded.

Desired Settlement: Refund me for the service i paid along with the cost of the parts.

3/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After contacting Nu Chrome by telephone December 31, 2013, I shipped a pair of vent window frames out of my 1966 ******** to them to be chrome plated. I received a call from ****** **** on January 2, 2014, advising the cost of $420 and that the parts would be shipped to me by the end of the following week. **** requested payment by check, and I immediately sent them a check in that amount which has been deposited in their business account and paid by my bank. After allowing an additional week beyond the promised shipping date, I began calling Nu Chrome and I always reached a voice recording, and I left a message each time. I called about ten times over a ten day span and emailed them four times and never received a reply. I must have my parts back for my restoration, and I demand my full payment of $420 be returned. I must have these vent window frames back since they are not available anywhere.

Desired Settlement: I demand a full refund of my payment and most important, I must get my parts back because they cannot be replaced.

2/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent vintage car part to be chromed in September and am not able to get Nu Chrome to finish the work and send to me the finished part.

Desired Settlement: I would like the order to be completed and mailed to me.

2/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been having Nu Chrome refinish my vintage 1972 ******** parts. Job number ****. Job was supposed to take 2 months. This was in April 2013 Submitted 50% deposit approx. $800. NU Chrome picked up received & confirmed and requested deposit. Time to time receive excuse after excuse why job not completed. In October 2013 I had my Cousin **** ********* pay a visit. **** from Nu Chrome and **** called me. **** told me at that time it would be 2 more weeks. I received confirmation job was complete on Monday November 18th.They requested final payment of approx. $800. On receipt they said they would ship immediately. They received and deposited the check November 29th. I have called them and left messages over 100 times along with multiple e-mails As well. no response at all. After investigating further I understand, from the info on the ******** forum website some customers have still not received their parts after 2 years. These parts are no longer available new or aftermarket. The value of the parts exceeds $3500.00. Plus my $1600.00 for job.

Desired Settlement: I simply wish to have my completed Job # **** which is paid in full returned. Money cannot solve the issue really. Only the original parts will. To find them all would exceed 4K. This is a 3 year restoration of a 1972 ********. It cannot be finished without these crucial chrome parts. Please help!! Thanks **** ******* ************

1/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I shipped four bumpers to NuChrome to have them rechromed on September 24, 2013. They were sent US Postal Service Insured Mail Receipt Requested. I was told they did not receive the bumbers, and after providing them the delivery confirmation, I received a call back that the bumpers had been misplaced but were now found and they could expedite the order if they received payment in full. I issued payment to Nu-Chrome in the amount of $385 on November 6, 2013. I attempted to contact NuChrome for a status several times via email and phone and have not received a response. They have not returned my calls or emails and the contact number they gave me is now disconnected. I am out four front tubular bumpers and $385.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see this company shut down and criminal charges brought against them.

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Nu-Chrome to get cost estimate to chrome my motorcycle exhausted pipe. I was quoted a price of four hundred dollars and a six week completion date. I sent four hundred dollars and my pipe, September 15, 2012. I have called each month for over a year and my calls were returned only twice. Each time they said I would have my pipe in two weeks. As of this date December 3, 2013, I still do not have my pipe. I have called asking, Nu-Chrome to return my pipe and money with no response. The exhausted pipe is valued at over twenty-five hundred dollars. I am asking the Better Business Bureau to help me get my exhausted pipe and four hundred dollars back from Nu-Chrome. Thank you ******* ******

Desired Settlement: I just want my exhausted pipe and four hundred dollars returned.

12/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I shipped parts for a Round Oak **** wood stove to nu-chrome back in July of 2013 and they said job would be completed on the 13th of August 2013 and would be shipped to me and I would receive it on August 16th 2013 I sent full payment and the check cleared my bank on the 13th of August 2013 it is now November 5th 2013 and after hundreds of phone calls and e-mails I can't get any where they have given many unacceptable excuses. (lies) and now will not answer the phone or respond to e-mails they said it shipped on the 15th of October but will not provide a tracking number or even a carrier. All I want is my parts so I can finish this stove. I hired them to do a job they were paid in full and are not providing the service they promised.

Desired Settlement: receive my parts to finish stove

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept 28, 2012, I gave my bumper to be rechromed by Nu-Chrome. I paid my deposit of $200.00 against a balance of $385.00 leaving a balance of $185.00 due upon completion of said job. After numerous, numerous calls, Nu-Chrome states they will have my bumper done next month, but it never comes. Every time we call it is next month. Next month never comes. My bumper never comes. Every time I call I get a bunch of talk and no action. I am restoring my car and need my bumper. It is putting my car on hold for one year. I would like to finish my car and drive it before I die. At seventy it may not be much longer. Interstate commerce and their by deception seems like a possibility. I want my bumper.

Desired Settlement: Want my bumper back and chromed as promised and agreed upon by contract.

9/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent a small ******* Outboard motor control handle to them to be rechromed. After recieving a verbal price on the phone, Full payment was made in March. I was told production was backed up and it would be finished in May. It is now Aug and no part! I have called on several occassions starting in late May. I have been told things like "it will be done by the end of the week". "It is almost done and will be shipped by the end of the week" to " we have not started it yet, but will get to it this week". Recently, they just do not answer the phone.

Desired Settlement: I expect my part returned to me and the money in full which I paid to them ASAP!

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought antique auto parts to be polished on March 18, 2013. Suppose to be done and shipped back to us in 6 weeks. Paid for work to be done in full 180.00. I have called many times left message. No reply.

Desired Settlement: 180.00

8/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: http://www.imperialclub.com/Part/Vendors/NuChrome.htm#form The above link is what I found AFTER I became worried about "NO RESPONSE" to my phone calls and e mails looking for promised services... And the date PROMISED TO ME FOR DELIVERY I do not have my irreplaceable parts (1972 fittings for a boat) And I am out $475 with no replys from the company. YET!! *** **** "pocket dialed" me from his cell phone , then just hung up and when I called the very next minute, he refused to answer. the phone or emails after the money is paid "Up Front"

Desired Settlement: At the very least I want my parts back . I told *** **** I DONT CARE IF THE WORK IS DONE !!! I need the parts in order to find another plater........... This company needs to be shut down.

8/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped 2 rare auto parts off to Nu Chrome in late March 2013 to be chrome plated. Received a phone call on April 17th stating a price and that the parts would be ready in a few weeks. Never heard back from them. Called numerous times without reaching anyone. An email sent to them on 6/23 was answered and the owner *** called me on 6/24 promising me the parts would be finished that week and I could pick it up on Saturday 6/29. I sent an email to them on Wed 6/26 asking if I could pick up the parts on Friday 6/28. Received an email back saying the parts would be scheduled for plating the following week. I sent an email asking for my parts back plated or not. At this point they won't respond to phone calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I want my parts returned to me finished ( I will pay for the service) or not.

8/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 4, 2012 I met **** ***** from Nu-Chrome Restoration in Carlisle, PA during a flea market event. I gave him parts for my car that I'm working on to be re-chromed along with $1,000 as a deposit. I was told that the parts would be finished in two months time and shipped to me. The remaining balance was to be $1,135. After January 1, 2013 I called Nu-Chrome Restoration wondering if my parts were finished, if they had been shipped and what I needed to do to get the job done. I was told that **** ***** was no longer with the company and I spoke with ****** ****. Around April 13, 2013 I was contacted by ****** **** who told me that all of the parts were finished and he needed the remaining balance in order to ship them. On April 16, 2013 I mailed a check to Nu-Chrome Restoration for the remaining balance in hopes that my parts would be shipped to me. The check was deposited on April 27, 2013 into the Nu-Chrome Restoration account. I have not received my parts as promised. After I was told that all of my parts were finished and paid the balance, I was then told all of the pieces except one needed finished. When asked if they could ship the finished parts, they tell me they could and I never receive anything. When I next spoke to Mr. ****, he told me that now two pieces needed redone. When I speak to Mr. ****, I never get an exact date for shipping and can barely get a word in. I paid the balance three months ago and still haven't received anything from Nu-Chrome Restoration. I was promised that I would receive six of the seven pieces before the fourth of July and never did.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be to have all seven of the pieces re-chromed the way they were supposed to be or to have them returned to me as is along with the money that I paid to have them re-chromed.

8/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my antique boat parts to Nu-Chrome in March 2013 waiting for an estimate. They called me to tell me that if I paid them in full ($15000) I would get my parts back in one week. I sent them a check for $1500 on 3/26. I never got my parts a week later. I called them several times after the week was up. They did not answer the phone. I e-mailed them on 4/11/13 to find out the status of my boat parts. They replied "****" can check on your parts if you call him at ************. He did not answer my calls. I have record of numerous e-mails after that point asking where are my parts. They rarely responded , but when they did it was always the same thing -" your parts are ready and will be there next week". At one point I asked for the tracking # and they said they can no longer use *** ** because *** ** dropped their account. They said they would use the US ****** ******* on 6/18/13 . It is now 7/9/13. They have my boat parts for a 1962 ******* ******* which cannot be replaced and my $1500. Please advise me as to what I can do to make myself whole. You have my e-mail. My phone # is ************. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would be relieved if I got my parts and the $1500 that I sent for services unrendered. I would be willing to travel to Nu Chrome in ** from ** to pick up my parts and my $1500.

7/31/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 15, 2012 I gave to Nu-Chrome Restoration a Hood molding for a 1968 **** ******. I put down a deposit of $80.00. I was told that I would be contacted when the part was complete and I would remit the remaining balance of $70.00. I contacted the company in January of 2013 and was informed that the part was ready to be shipped. I proceeded to send them a check for the remaining balance. I waited for my part and it never arrived. I contacted them via e-mail sometime in February and was told that the part would be shipped. On an e-mail from the company on March 1, 2013 they stated that the part would be finished and shipped by the end of that week. Still no part arrived. I contacted them again on April 10, 2013 and was informed that due to relocation issues that we should contact a person named **** and he would assist us into seeing what the status of the job was. We tried numerous times to contact the company via the telephone. No one returned out calls, they gave a wrong number. We have received no further information concerning our part. The invoice number is *****.

Desired Settlement: I would like my part back and my money fully refunded.

7/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2012 at the AACA car meet in Hershey, Pennsylvania, I contracted with NuChrome to re=chrome a part and gave a $150 cash deposit. Beginning in mid-May of 2013, I began calling both the sales and customer phone numbers, e-mails were also sent. Once in late May, an employee answered the phone, told that I would have the part by "the end of the month." Again in June I began calling. I have left phone messages 12 times and have sent 5 e-mails asking for an update or response. Nothing has happened. They currently have my part and cash.

Desired Settlement: Return of part (number on their order - No. **** - ********** trunk trim, refund of the $150.

7/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to get some parts chrome plated by a chrome plating shop. There are no shops around my area in South Carolina. So I searched the internet and found www.nu-chrome.com which is Nu Chrome in Massachusetts. They answered all my questions about the work and such. I was finally ready for my parts to get done. They asked me for an approximate weight and dimensions of the box that the parts would be packaged in and then they initiated a call tag with ups to pick them up. They require 50% deposit to start on a job. Knowing they would want the other 50% when done before shipping the parts back I told them I would be sending a check for 100% of the cost as I didn't want to have to wait yet another week for them to get the check and it clear. So at that point I was told they have a back log of 6-8 weeks but that he would be putting me to the front of the line and skipping that que. (This Is coming from the owner, ***) He let me know that he got my check and the work would be started on immediately. This was on 5/08/2013 and since then he has ignored me completely for over a month now.. I then got worried and searched for complaints online and found so many scattered around and this one list full of complaints http://www.imperialclub.com/Part/Vendors/NuChrome.htm Seems as though many people have been ignored in the past, parts were lost, they were lied too, they were told 5 weeks and it took months and months..if not a year. So many different things. Cops and detectives have had to be sent out there before from what i've read also. Also turns out this company had over $600,000 in property tax owed and 1.06 million in interest owed and their building got foreclosed and this is why they have moved to Seekonk in Massachusetts. They have my parts to my ******. (Front bumper, rear bumper and skid plate). They also got my money that I paid with a check from my bank for $1135. Ultimately since I am nowhere near Massachusetts, it would be great if an officer/detective could stop in over there to see what is going on with my parts. my job number with Nu Chrome is *****.

Desired Settlement: If my parts have not been worked on yet, then I want them returned to me immediately and want a refund. If they have been started then please finish them right away and with great quality. and ship back asap. I have been in contact with the Seekonk police department and the Attorney Generals office as well.

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom it May Concern,
We dropped bumper from a 66 **** off to company on December 21, 2012. We were told at the time that we would have it back before April 2013. We heard nothing after that so we started calling the end of March on two different phone numbers and kept getting voice mail full and could not leave messages. I emailed company on 4-14-13, they responded with they were having problems and just getting up to 100% capacity and was given a third number being a cell phone of ************ contact name ****. We called that number and again we kept getting voice mail full, on other occasions we left voice mails and never received an answer. Emailed again on 5-2-2013 and responce was that it was scheduled to be processed next week. Heard nothing, called numerous times with no responce. I finally spoke to **** on 5-28-13 and was told he would call back, still no responce.

Desired Settlement: At this point we would like a call from them with a specific date.

6/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This "business" has had the bumpers to my antique auto since October of 2012, and the rest of the chrome trim since January of 2013, I have called numerous times and spoke to *** twice, he assured me that my two jobs would be completed by the end of May in 2013, that was three weeks ago, no response when I call, just voice mail no response to my e-mails either, I cannot drive my antique without some of these parts and they are not available anywhere as it is a 1948 vintage **********. I have already paid for the work to be done and now I feel abused by a corrupt con man who has stolen my money and who knows what has happened to my parts.

Desired Settlement: I want my parts back completed or not and a full refund with compensation for stress.

6/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent Nu Chrome a set of Headlight Bezels to be rechromed for my 1969 ******* *** in May of 2012. At that time they required 50% down which was $210 and I paid. I then contacted them in August of 2012 and at that time I spoke with **** ***** and he stated that they were completed and that they needed the final payment of $210 which was sent and he stated that they would ship my bezels upon receiving payment. I made contact with **** ***** approx. a month later after several attempts. he stated that their was a mix up and that the job hadn't been started. He assurred me that they would get right on it. After several months and several attempts I was finally able to talk to a **** and he said that they had moved which caused a delay in production. This was March 2013. He said that they would be done in the next 30 days. i have not heard from them since then and have left several messages with no return calls. At this point I am out over $400 and don't have any information what so ever. As you can imagine I am extremely frustrated and feel that they are completely ignoring me. I don't know what else to do. If this cannot be remedied with your assistance I will file a civil lawsuit against Nu Chrome. I look forward to hearing from you. ***** **** ************

Desired Settlement: I feel they should send me finished product Immediately or full refund and return item Immediately. This has been a terrible experience and they should not be able to do this to customers. My hope is that we can prevent this from continuing to happen to others in the future and I am really hoping that you can help me with this situation. Businsses like this should not be allowed to igsist.

5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I mailed the radiator cover of my 1923 **** to Nu chrome in February, after receiving instructions from the owner, along with a check for $225.00. To date, the check has been cashed, but the owner will not return phone calls. My automobile is unable to be driven without the cover. I would like my radiator cover returned, and money refunded.

Desired Settlement: I need the part returned, even if unfinished. The part is irreplaceable.

5/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nu Chrome has had my parts since september 19th. They called in December and said the parts were done and needed final payment. Final payment was sent right away. Four months later I still don't have the parts! I have called them every week asking where my parts are. Evereytime I get excuses or they say the parts will be done next week They have been lieing to me for months and I still have no answer or parts!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I need these parts finished NOW!!!!!

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SHIPPED THEM MY PARTS 9 MONTHS AGO FOR A JOB THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO TAKE 8 WEEKS,NEVER WAS ABLE TO GET A RESPONSE IN THAT 9 MONTHS AFTER NUMEROUS EMAILS AND CALLS. RECIEVED AN EMAIL SAYING PARTS ARE READY TO SHIP, PLEASE SEND BALANCE, I SENT THE BALANCE 3 MONTHS AGO,WAITED TWO WEEKS, SINCE THEN I HAVE CALLED AND EMAILED EVERYDAY AND NO RESPONSE AND NO CALL BACKS. THE PRICE I PAID THEM WAS 660 DOLLARS AND THE PARTS THEY HAVE ARE NON EXISTENT

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY PARTS AND MY MONEY BACK

4/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i went to a car show in pa, where nu chorme had a booth.i had brought some of my parts to be rechromed. they took the parts and 450.00 of my money,and said it would be about 4 mos. that was in july of 2012,i called in november and they weren't ready. in december they called and said that the parts were ready,so i sent the balance of 450.00 to them.to this point all i've gotten is a runaround

Desired Settlement: i want my parts or my money back

4/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1 Oct 2012 I took seven parts for my antique truck (1928 ****** ****) to Nu-Chrome for re-plating. I was told it would be completed in two months, and paid half the bill of $1122 up front. Several phone inquiries starting on 6 Dec 2012, at one month to two week intervals have yielded increasingly evasive predictions for completion. On one call I was told that the two headlanp rings and four hood latches are done, but the largest item, a radiator shell is not. Their employee, ****, now says he cannot give even a prediction of completion date.

Desired Settlement: Nu-Chrome call me and inform me all work will be completed and be ready for pick-up by Friday 29 March 2013.

4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i sent some headlight bezels for my 1960 ***** **** to the company in August 2012 for them to re-chrome. Quoted me 480$. Sent them half the money which was required to start the job. The last payment was sent in December which paid off the balance. In January i called they kept saying 1 or 3 weeks it would be ready. I called again the company said don't call us we will call you. It is March 1st and have called three times this week left voice message and has not returned calls. I still do not have the product even though 3 weeks ago they said one more week. They are not responding to calls anymore

Desired Settlement: I just want my finished product ASAP they have had ample time

3/30/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sent trim to them September 2012. I've been waiting 6 months. I call every 2 weeks and for three months, they tell me "next week"! I was dumb and paid in advance because they called and said it was ready in December. Nice on the phone, but they are apparently stretched too thin. Currently out $1265.00 I paid and $1000 worth of virtually impossible to replace trim from a classic car.

Desired Settlement: Correctly finish the job with good quality and ship it back to me.

3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent Nu Chrome a 1973 ******* **** Gas Cap Assembly to be Chromed with $150 Check July 2012, they said the Part would be completed September 2012. The Part has not been returned, Nu Chrome cashed my check and have been lying to me about sending me completed part since October. Always promising it will be in the mail Next Week. Next Week has turned into 5 months Later, NO PART.

Desired Settlement: I would either like the completed part back immediately or the unfinished part back with my $150 immediately. The Part is for a ******* **** car owned by my Father a **** and ****** WAR Veteran who has ****** of the ********* and *******, HE JUST WANTS TO DRIVE his car and CANNOT WITHOUT THE GAS CAP.He has owned the CAR since the MID 1980s. I sent the part out to be restored as a PRESENT for my FATHER JULY 2012. If Nu Chrome lost the part, please send me $200 which will cover getting a remanufacted part from England. A Money Order Check will suffice.

2/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2012 I shipped bumpers to Nu-Chrome to be rechromed with guarantee of completion by first part of September 2012. End of August. 2012 bumpers not started and did not anticipate being completed for at least 3-4 weeks. Instructed them to return bumpers as I needed them by second week in Sept. - also told them to return my deposit of $500. First week in Sept. 2012 I received bumpers back but no deposit check. Kept getting lies and excuses for next month and one-half so in October I contacted Seekonk Police Department, Captain **** and he investigated (Report No. **********). '***' from Nu-Chrome then lied to Captain **** and told him that he mailed me a check yesterday! On December 7, 2012 I filed a complaint with the MA Atorney General's Office on Nu-Chrome. I have not heard anything back since then and I have not yet received my deposit back. I have kept all of the emails documenting everything that has transpired over the last five months. Many emails are ***'s response that he will be returning my deposit along with an excuse of why I hadn't gotten it yet. I would really like to get my deposit money back! (In August, Nu-Chrome changed locations from Fall River to: 32 Industrial Ct., Seekonk, MA 02771)

Desired Settlement: Deposit money of $500 returned.

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct. 5, 2012 I visited the Nu-Chrome Restoration vending stand @ Carlisle, PA. I agreed with the sales representative to give him two vent posts from my ***** **** to be chromed. I was promised delivery date for completion would be 8 weeks. As of this date, and 14 weeks later, I am still waiting on my parts. At the time of order I paid half of the cost which was $180.00, on Dec. 7, 2012 I forwarded the remaining $180.00 (balance in full) to expedite my delivery as recommended by Nu Chrome. I have called numerous times to no avail. I would appreciate any help you could give me pertaining to this matter.

Desired Settlement: merchanise completed and delivered as promised.

2/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pre-paid Nu Chrome $360.00 to rechrome a couple of trim pieces for my classic car. I sent them $180 originally with the parts and the another $180 on Dec 12th, 2012 when they called me to say the parts were finished and they needed the balance before they would send me my parts. They cashed my final payment on Dec. 18th. I have yet to receive my parts, I have been emailing and calling them for 2 weeks now, no one returns my calls or emails I don't know what to do. These parts are irreplaceable they are for a classic car. Please help!

Desired Settlement: I want my finished parts. They cannot be replaced with money...I wish I would have did some more reserch before hving Nu-chrome take them.

12/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent some items to the aforemetioned business for new plating, I was told one price and when they inspected the items I was given a much higher quote at which time I rejected. I was informed my items would be returned promply. That was on 14 Sept. 2012, on 25 Sept. 2012 I received a call from **** (Shipping Supervisor) inquiring my full address, I asked him what he had on file and he had the correct address. As today's date I can not get any one from Nu-Chrome to answer any of my e-mails nor phone calls. I have thus far e-mailed them 5 times with no replies. I am under no obligation for return shipping because I only pay that if I get the work done, and since they lied to get my business I decided not to get the items done, but I want my items returned.

10/28/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I never got my package back they were stolen due to the driver leaving it outside my door and I was not home for the two onths of Feb. and March 2012, funeral and business. I gave him a check 1745.00 Ref. ******** check date 1/9/12.

Desired Settlement: My bumper and parts and paperwork and paper to handle my ***** lost case.

10/4/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sent parts to be restored business foreclosed on and under investigation by epa will not return parts or money

Desired Settlement: i want my parts and money returned parts are antique irreplacable

9/1/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent a rare bumper to Nu Chome on 6-25-12. The business stated they would have the bumper done in 4 to 6 weeks. I have contacted the business several times and they told me the bumper was being shipped. I have not received the bumper as yet. Talked with the business and one person stated the bumper has been shipped and then to another person and they stated it has not been shipped. I have already paid for their sevices. I also have 2 push gaurds with the bumper.

Desired Settlement: I want my bumper and 2 push gaurds, If products are not chromed, I want products and refund back.

9/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Below is a copy of the email I sent to Nu-chrome (twice) I also made a phone call, which was never answered, I left a message requesting a return call...a call that never came. On May 30, 2012 I dropped off two original rims off
a 1951 ****** ******** to your representative at the Amherst New Hampshire Antique and Classic Auto Show. I was told the turn around would be the following month, today; July 29, 2012 two months later, I picked them up. When I was starting to tear the wrapping off to inspect, but your representative cautioned against remove all the "protective" wrapping. The bottom line here is what I got back is not what I originally dropped off as the attached photos will attest. I need this matter to be corrected as soon as possible as the individual who owns this bike is anxious to get it back. Please look into this matter and advise Regards ******** ************ PS....the check for payment of balance has been stopped

Desired Settlement: The return of the "Original" rims that were handed to the company's Representative for chrome plating

8/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/2/2011, Auto parts were sent to Nu-Chrome for restoration. Nu-Chrome assigned order # ***** to these parts. I made numersous calls to this company requesting the status of my parts. Many times no one would answer the phone, return messages or I was told that they were not ready. On 7/19/11 I received some of the parts. When I contacted Nu-Chrome they said that they shipped one of my pieces to a wrong address but they would search for another part and complete the job. This never happened. They still had two of my parts and the other part was sent to some other address. I started keeping track of the calls that I made to Nu-Chrome. 11/09/11: Spoke with ****. **** said he will try to look for the misssing part and will call me on 11/11/11. He never returned the call. 11/22/11: Spoke with **** again. He said he is still looking. 01/11/12: No answer. 01/12/12 Spoke with ***. *** stated that **** is over committed and *** will order the missing part that day. *** never ordered the part. 02/02/12: Spoke with ****. **** told me to order the part and he said that I would get reimbursed for the part. The part that Nu-Chrome lost is no longer manufactured. It was a piece of headliner trim for a 1965 Chevelle. I found the part in an magazine ad and purchased the part form ******* ********** * **** out of Wisconsin Rapids WI for $250.00. The part was sent to me and I sent it to Nu-Chrome on 03/06/12. *** recieved and signed for the part on 03/13/12. On 06/08/12 I received a package from Nu-Chrome (Order # ******). It had 2 parts in it. One part was the one that I ordered from WI and one part that they had since 02/02/11. The still failed to send me one part. On the receipt form it said (Customer is due $250.00 for the cost of replacement parts) There was no check or money order in the package. 06/11/12 Spoke with **** and explained that I was still missing one part and I never received the $250.00 refund. He sent he would check into it. 06/20/12: Spoke with ****. **** said he would sent the piece today. 06/21/12: Received the last part which was delivered damaged. On the receipt was hand writing from *** that said "$200.00 check from ***" I immediately called Nu-Chrome and was able to speak to ***. I explained to him that Nu-Chrome agreed to pay me $250. 00 for the part that I purchased not $200.00. He send he would pay the $250.00. I then told him that I received the part damaged. He began to use foul language complaining about some female in his shipping department and how she incorrectly packaged the part. *** said that he would have ***** come to my residence on 06/26/12 to pick up the damaged part and they would repair it. It is 07/03/12: I have not received the $250.00 that is owed to me by Nu-Chrome and the damage part was never picked up by ***** and sent to Nu-Chrome as *** had promised. This company has been extremely difficult to deal with.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund in the form of a US Postal or Official Bank Money Order for the amount of $250.00. This is the exact amount that I paid for the part and it is the amount that Nu-Chorme agreed to pay. I will not be sending the damaged part back to Nu-Chome. I will find another repair shop,

7/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i sent two door plates and a door strike to be chrome plated in february.i spoke with someone that it would cost $125.00 to have these plated. i sent a check for that amount. after waiting for months and numerous attempts to contact nu chrome i finally talked with someone. they informed me that my door pieces were sent to the wrong client.

Desired Settlement: i would like my money refunded and my parts replaced or cash equivalant for my door hardware.

6/21/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/16/12, pursuant to a telephone conversation with **** at Nu Chrome, a parcel containing approximately 16 metal interior truck parts was picked-up at my house by Parcel Post at the directions of Nu Chrome. Also, on 3/9/12, a check was mailed to Nu Chrome in the amount of $360 in full payment for above parts replating service. Noted check, was subsequently cashed by Nu Chrome. The completion of the replating process, plus, the return of the replated parts was promised by **** for late March, 2012. Effective 5/21/12, the stated work has not been completed, i.e. Nu Chrome has my parts, as well as the full payment of $360.00,

Desired Settlement: The return of all parts, plus, the return $360.00. I had to purchase new parts, due to the failure of Nu Chrome to complete the transaction as promised/in a timely manner.

6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to get my 1964 ******* *** ** Bumper completly restored i Found nu-chrome on line I contacted them They assured me they could redo my bumpers for Approx 500 each. They said most bumpers done in around 4 to six weeks They issued a call tag bumpers picked up on Monday febuary 20th I called the next week Talked to **** ***** he looked @ my bumpers said it would 1865.00 to redo my bumpers not 1000.00 I told him that was too much please send them back to me . He said he needed the work and reduced the price to 1585.00 which i agreed to . But that is where all comminutaon problems Began. I have tried Time and time again to get a completion date I payed 1/2 my bill as they asked They never answer their phone they cashed my check that i sent certified mail to make sure they got it The check has cleared my account. They are way past due on dilevery I need my Bumpers Back asap . I have All email communications with these guys and am ready to foward all evidence to you.  Thanks *** ******

Desired Settlement: Get my bumpers back Done Rechromed finished as Promised! asap

6/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nu-chrome accepted parts for restoration and a $750 deposit nearly three months ago and has NOT responded to a single request for clarification on the list of the parts shipped to them nor an update on the status of the service they are to perform. My address and phone numbers changed and they have NOT acknowledged receipt of said change notification. I have repeatedly called their phone numbers and have never received a return phone call. I have repeatedly sent email messages and never received a return message except for the one time they requested the deposit.

Desired Settlement: I want someone to contact me with the information requested or a return of all my parts if the job had not started.

5/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/6/12 I delivered parts to be re-chromed and was told it would be done in 6-8 weeks. this was written on my receipt. Was advised to call in 6 weeks. On 3/22/12 I called and spoke to "***", the owner who advised that all was done except one of the four headlight rings and the 5 letters spelling ***** and that they should be done the next day. I told him I would come and pick up my parts the following week and he said if those articles were not done
he would ship them to me. On 3/26/12 I went to Nu-Chrome and found that my two bumpers,one taillight one headlight ring and two boot connectors were done and that the 3 headlight rings one taillight and the five letters were being REDONE. The aluminum trunk bar had only gone out on 3/23 to be annodized. On 4/2/12 I returned the front bumper as it had a defect in the chrome. "****" said it would be redone right and that he had located (?)my other parts and that they should be done by the end of the week. On 4/12/12 I spoke to "****" and he told me parts are being expedited and should be done by 4/16/12 . On 4/19/12 I called again and spoke with "****** and then ****". Now I'm told the alum bar is not done by the piece and that the headlight rings may be done or not and that the bumper is done and that nothing is laying around and is being worked on and that it should all be done by the end of next week, 4/27/12

Desired Settlement: I would like my parts returned as they are extremely hard to find (1966 ******* *****). *** the owner and **** (believed to be owners son) have said they would ship to me and I do not expect to be charged as I have been there twice to pick up my parts.

5/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 boat step plates 3 1/2" x 36"made of cast aluminum, corrored,needed to be stripped and polished,and then replated...

Desired Settlement: $440. paid in full

2/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business in question here was called the first of november. All details was discussed. I sent them pictures of my grille for my **** truck. They reviewed my email and the pictures attached and said they could rechrome my grille and headlight rings for 650 range according to their return email (which I still have in my records). they sent a ups pick up tag and the grille was picked up on the 7th of November and they recieved it on the 10th of November. They said it would be 4 to 6 weeks. Numerous calls was made to them checking on progress and it was a difference excuse everytime. And price was quoted at 1000.00 dollars once they recieved the grille, After some arguing they guoted a price of 720.00. They wanted half the money up front. So 360.00 was sent certified mail on 12/12/11. And the other 360.00 was sent on 1/17/12. They also said they didn't accept credit cards which I thought was weird so I went back and looked at their website and it said they do accept credit cards. I feel like they said they didn't accept credit so I would send a check so I couldn't get the credit card company involved to cover my purchase price. Last call to them was made on 1/20/12 and they said they hadn't started on the grille and they would call back and they still haven't called back. Also I resaeched them on the internet and found really bad reviews. see..... http://www.imperialclub.com/Part/Vendors/NuChrome.htm. I feel like I will never see my grille or headlight rings again or my 720.00. And this grille is very diffucult to replace as they dont sell these new.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund on my 720.00 and the grille and headlights returned to me in the shape it was in when I sent them. I'm not even intersted in their services now after reading about all the unhappy people on the previsously mentioned website regarding there services.

2/4/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of Sept. 2010 I sent *** at Nu-Chrome Corp the center section grille piece off of my 1939 ******* ***** for repair that he stated in an email would cost around $125. (not a quote because he had only seen pictures) It was determined 5-6 months later that he could not fix the grille and I just wanted him to ship it back to me. He said he would. He emailed me that it was shipped on 2/10/11. I have not received it and he has not answered another email I have sent requesting a tracking number, nor has he contacted me as I have requested. I feel that Nu-Chrome Corp. has either lost my grille or damaged it to the point that they are afraid to send it back to me.

Desired Settlement: All I really want is to get my 1939 ******* Grille center section returned (as promised) or replaced. My car is ready to drive and looks very bad with the grille piece completely missing. I have looked and called all over the United States for a replacement Grille with no success as they are very rare. I firmly believe that *** at Nu-Chrome Corporation is being dishonest with me and is taking advantage of the fact that I live completely on the other side of the country from his location.

Business Response: called the customer and determined that the grill was returned a long time ago.

***

1/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late August I contacted NuChrome about chrome plating a light fixture. Don, their sales rep, quoted me $100 foe the service after I emailed them dimensions and a photograph of the fixture. I agreed to the cost and sent the fixture to them via FedEx. The fixture arrived in their possession 9/12/11. I was told it would take 2 weeks to complete the job. 2 weeks later I was contacted by them with the message that they required $275 to do the work, almost a 300% increase in the quoted price. I agreed and was told it would be completed immediately. I sent the check to them for $275 and it was cashed approximately 2-3 weeks later. It is now late November and I still do not have the fixture. I contacted them by phone 2 weeks ago and the perso (**** I believe) said he would look into it and call me back immediately. I never heard from him again. I called again a few days later and left a voicemail - no return call was received. Last week I emailed *** and he informed me the job was complete and sitting waiting to be shipped. He told me on 11/10 that the fixture would ship after assembly on 11/11. On 11/17 I contacted him again asking where it was as I have still not received it. He replied by saying to his knowledge the item had shipped. I asked for tracking information and have not received any response. They have had my light for 2 months now. If you require exact dates please let me know and I will go through my email history.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the cost of the merchandise ($140 + tax + shipping) and I want the $275 check I send them and which they cashed reimbursed.

Business Response: Checked out this job. 

The customer approved the job on 9/30/2011. A $275 payment was received on 10/17/11.  The job was completed and shipped on 11/21/2011.

That is a 4 week turn around. Customers are advised of a 4-6 week schedule.

I do not know the basis of this complaint.

***

1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent 4 rims off my car to be stripped, (OCT. 1st. 2011,) After not hearing for one month I called. They said they were ALMOST done. Two weeks later I called and another person said they did not start yet and they would be done by the end of that week. One week later I called and someone said they were having problems with the acid in the stripper. He sugested sand blasting them as they were still not done yet. My reply was NO! I asked them to do what I paid for. Finally on Dec. 16th 2011, I called the local police in Fall River and they sain there were numerous complaints aganst this company. But, there was nothing they could do. I called nu-chrome again and they said there shipper was out but the rims were done. I said PLEASE ship them by thet following Monday and give me the tracking number. Monday I received a call, with the track number. FINALLY! The rims came on 12/20/11. I opened the box, they were stuffed with all kinds of junk they had laying around to pack them with. Also, the wheels are DESTROYED ! ! They are full of pits in the metal, SANDBLASTED, after I said SEVERAL times not to do that, they did anyway. They are so bad my local tire shop said they are NOT safe and tires could not be mounted on them. They are worthless!

Desired Settlement: I would like the Wheels replaced with the same ones,(new,) or , reimbursed for the full replacment amount. $1,400.00. I also seek a full refund for the improper work. $240.00

1/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******* *****. I am located in ******* Pa Maybe you can help guide me in dealing with this company called Nu-Chrome. Attached is a history of my dealing with them, After I sent them the money to re chrome my parts I haven't heard back from them. Looking on the Internet it appears that they have a history of un-happy customers. Which puzzles me as in the past they did a great job for me. I guess people come & go etc. Please look at the e-mail trail below for the history. May be you or some one in your organization can be of some help to me. I can be reached on my cell phone ###-###-#### Thank You in advance. ******* ***** In a message dated 4/5/2011 6:52:26 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time, ***************** writes: ***, I'm getting annoyed that you haven't replied to my E-mails, nor you or **** return my phone calls. What's the story, You got my Money were are my parts in the past I didn't get customer service from Nu-Chrome like this! Call me as to status!! ###-###-#### ******* ***** ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- From: ***************** To: ******************* Sent: 4/4/2011 5:36:51 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time Subj: Job # is ***** ***, Its Now April 04, 2011 I haven't heard back from you as to the status of my Parts? Please advise!! Thanks ******* ***** ----- Original Message ----- From: ***************** To: ******************* Sent: Thursday, March 31, 2011 08:30 PM Subject: (no subject) ***, Thanks for the update, lots of shows coming up in April here in PA When Can I expect you to ship the parts to me? Thanks, ******* ***** In a message dated 3/30/2011 1:29:40 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time, ******************* writes: Hi Your hood ornament just came out of plating 1 hour ago. The remaining parts are expected shortly. *** ----- Original Message ----- From: ***************** To: ******************* Sent: Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:44 AM Subject: (no subject) ***, Can you tell me the status of my parts? Job # is ***** Thanks, ******* ***** ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Great, Checks in the mail you should see it Monday or Tuesday the latest ******* In a message dated 3/10/2011 11:02:43 A.M. Eastern Standard Time, ******************* writes: OK Will put your parts at the head of the line instead of the back of the line. Should be done by end of the month. *** ----- Original Message ----- From: MikeDrive@aol.com To: sales@nu-chrome.com Sent: Wednesday, March 09, 2011 5:08 PM Subject: Re: Estimate on my parts? Don, I will send a check for the TOTAL price you quoted me. so we can get this moving! It will be in the mail in the AM. Nu-Chrome *** ****** **** Fall River, MA 02720 Job # is ***** Do you want me to have the check made out to Nu-Chrome? Can you let me known the est completion date. Thank You, ******* ***** In a message dated 3/9/2011 4:53:28 P.M. Eastern Standard Time, ******************* writes: Hi Sorry, we no longer take credit cards. *** ----- Original Message ----- From: ***************** To: ******************* Sent: Wednesday, March 09, 2011 3:11 PM Subject: Re: Estimate on my parts? ***, Do you take credit cards? ******* In a message dated 3/9/2011 11:50:18 A.M. Eastern Standard Time, ******************* writes: Hi **** Just reviewed your parts. The total cost would be $450. This includes the environmental fee and shipping and handling back to you. Your job # is *****. Once you approve, we will release the job into the production cycle. Please send a 50% deposit check. Thanks for the order. *** ----- Original Message ----- From: ***************** To: ******************* Sent: Tuesday, March 08, 2011 3:49 PM Subject: Estimate on my parts? ***/****, Per *** * parts arrived @ your place last WEDNESDAY March 2 , 2011. Today is March 8 th & I still haven't heard from you, business must be great. I would like to know when your going to look over my parts & let me know what is going on? cost delivery etc. ******* ***** ###-###-#### ***, I spoke with **** this Am He is arranging for pick up in am @ my home. Thanks, ******* In a message dated 2/23/2011 11:42:24 A.M. Eastern Standard Time, ******************* writes: Hello **** It is difficult to provide an accurate estimate because the detail and/or dimensions are not shown in every pic. Given this constraint my guesstimate is as follows: $250 - Center hood piece (3 feet) $125 - Nose piece $75 - Vent piece If you sent another set of pics that show the detail, I would feel more confident in a revised estimate. The best option is to send the pieces to our shop for inspection so we can determine the labor content for the restoration. Since you are planning to ship the parts to our shop, we now offer a no-cost ***** pick-up service. If that is of interest, let us know. *** ----- Original Message ----- From: ***************** To: ******************* Sent: Monday, February 21, 2011 11:09 AM Subject: reChroming of my 1940 car parts. Hello, My name is ******* *****. I am a past customer back in 7/97 I had my two headlight bezels & two Tail Light bezels done. I am very please on how they were done. I have the following that I would like to get a quote on as follows 1. 1940 ******** Nose piece 2. Vent Piece 3. Center Hood Piece Total weight of three items is just shy of 2 lbs. Center piece is 36 inches long Pictures attached, but not great! I am going to ups store this am to get a shipping tube for these parts. Thank You , ******* ***** *** **** ***** *** Reading PA 19607 ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: I would like my parts back & of course my money

Business Response: 1.  Job # ***** entered 3/10/2011
2.  Payment received on 3/14/2011
3.  Job completed and shipped on 4/8/2011

We have a backlog in the 4-8 week range.  ******* job was completed in 4 weeks.

Do not know what the problem is.


Nu Chrome

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********

Regards,

******* *****