BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Chocolate.org?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chocolate.org

Phone: (888) 359-4005 303 Wyman St., North Waltham, MA 02451 http://www.chocolate.org

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Chocolate.org is an online retailer of various types of chocolate. The company sells the confections of many chocolate makers in the United States.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chocolate.org meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chocolate.org include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Reviews  are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Chocolate.org
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 12, 2008 Business started: 03/01/2004 in MA Business incorporated: 12/15/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark McInnis, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark McInnis, CEO
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

CHOCOLATE & COCOA ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chocolate.org has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 303 Wyman St.

    North Waltham, MA 02451 (888) 359-4005

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an emailable gift certificate for the amount of $10.00 from chocolate.com on 10/16/13 to be delivered as a gift for someone. The website stated that a receipt would be emailed to me. The order went through and the funds were debited from my checking account. However, I did not receive a receipt emailed to me, as promised. Also, the recipient did not receive the emailed gift certificate. I emailed customer service twice and called and left a message. None of the contact attempts were acknowledged or answered, even though the website says that the average response time for online contact to customer service was 19 minutes.

Desired Settlement: I would like the purchased emailable gift certificate to be sent to the recipient and a receipt sent to me OR for my money to be refunded. Thank you. ****** ******

Business Response: Dear ******,  I am so disappointed to hear that you did not receive what you ordered. I think there may be a problem with your server rejecting emails from ours. I sent a response to your initial inquiry on Wednesday (Wed, 16 Oct 2013 16:00:32 -0700 (PDT)) and then another one on the following day to see if you received my response. 

You and your gift certificate recipient have email addresses with the same domain (ppdi.com). Our system sends notification to the recipient and confirmation to the buyer. The fact that you did not receive these emails from your purchase and did not receive my responses indicates that there is a technical issue with our email communication. It is most likely a spam filter.

I will be happy to provide you with a refund and you may still use the gift certificate. When placing an order, I recommend using a different email address (not a ppdi.com email). I will process the refund now. Here are the details of your gift certificate:

AMOUNT: $10.00
CODE: ********
EXPIRES: 10/16/2014

Thank you for being a Chocolate.com customer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

4/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2013/03/21 I paid $243.46 for a box of chocolates to be delivered as a birthday present on 2013/04/16. On 2013/04/16 at nearly 3 PM I noticed that the package was scheduled to be delivered on 2013/04/17, so I wrote immediately a direct complaint that was answered almost 20 hours later (2013/04/17 at 11:22 AM), with the following message: "We are not sure why this shipment was held up in customs. We provide all the necessary information electronically and UPS customs is looking for more information. I will make sure that the shipment gets clearance. I am so sorry that your shipment will not arrive on the special date. Would you like to receive a $100 refund? Please let me know". On 2013/04/17 at 9:01 AM, before I received the last answer, I insisted on my complaint with the following message: "I am very disappointed, I understand the gift has not arrived, it was a birthday present for a close friend of mine, her birthday was yesterday (2013/04/16). // I bought the present with enough time to be delivered on April 16th."

On the same date, at 1:17 PM, I got the following message: "Please see my prior message regarding a refund. So sorry that the package did not arrive for the special day.". On 2013/04/17 at 12:34 PM I wrote: "Thank you for your answer, it reliefs me a little. // I don't understand what happened, if it was a UPS's fault they should refund the shipping fee, could you please talk with them? If nothing can be done with them I would accept the refund you kindly offer. // But please, have in mind this, I contracted with your company because I wanted to be sure the gift would be received on time, it was very, very important for me. // Now nothing can be done to get past back. // I had several options I found yours the most trustworthy.". I received no more answers from chocolate.com. So, on 2013/04/18 at 3:53 PM I wrote: "Do you know what happened with the gift? It appears an non delivered. // Do you have more information from UPS?". At almost 16:30 PM I decided to talk through a live chat with UPS and they told me they were waiting for some data from the recipient. At this exact time (2013/04/18 18:09 PM) I don't know if chocolate.com is doing what was promised: "I will make sure that the shipment gets clearance", or if I have to tell the recipient that I had a surprise for her that didn't arrive on time and that -as UPS says- she has to phone them and give some data.

I fell chocolate.com is not doing the best effort to solve the problem, they could have advised me on time to ask the recipient to fulfill some customs requirements but didn't. The package has not arrived yet. It seems to me they are doing nothing. They just sent the package but offered to give it on time, which requires attention and care.

Desired Settlement: Chocolate.com offered to deliver the birthday gift on time, offered to work to get the shipment clearance, has the duty to pay close attention to the delivery process and advice me and the recipient what to do, but nothing has been accomplished. So I think chocolate.com owes me a full refund, not just $100.

Business Response: Dear ******,
I am sorry that you did not receive a response from us on Friday. Our office was closed due to the Terrorist activity here in the Boston area. I have not been able to determine why UPS is holding this package in customs. We have contacted them again and expect a response today. I will make sure that the package is released. We know that the delay is not acceptable to you. I have refunded your shipping charge in full. If you would like to receive a refund of the product total, please contact me at help@chocolate.com. Thank you.

**** *******
Chocolate.com

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

12/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a BuyWithMe coupon thats' promotional value expired in April; however the coupon states clearly that the paid value does not expire. I attempted to place an order online (because no one ever answers the listed telephone #; the number instructs one to go to the website) and the coupon was denied. I sent an email explaining the situation and it took several days to receive a reply (even though it states on their website that the average time for a reply is 17 minutes). I was asked to submit my voucher/coupon # and told that a new voucher would be sent. I complied and sent the voucher #; that was 10 days ago with no reply. Yesterday I left a voicemail again providing the voucher # and my email contact information -- still no reply. This is no way to run a business and no way to treat a potential customer. As the rules of marketing state -- if one has a positive experience, you share it with 3 others and if one has a negative experience, one shares it with 10 others.

Desired Settlement: Either refund my paid value or immediately send a new voucher, let me place my order and hopefully obtain my merchandise quickly so this issue may be resolved

Business Response: Dear Customer,
I am sorry that we failed to respond to your follow up question on this problem.  As you know, your purchase of the voucher was not made with Chocolate.com. So, we don't have your funds to be refunded/credited.

However, we want our customers to be happy with their experience in promotions that we are connected to, so I will be happy to send you a full value gift certificate. As you stated, you are entitled to a $15 voucher, but we will honor the promotional value for your trouble. I will send you a $30 voucher now. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 18th, I contacted the business via their service request submission form on their website in regards to an order I had placed that had not been delivered on my specified date (something their website advertises as being a guarantee). Despite the notice that the average response time for a request placed within business hours was 17 minutes, it wasn't until the next day, October 19th, that I received a response. Their reply was unsatisfactory and unhelpful, but requested more information, so I emailed back immediately with further information and a more specific request for assistance. I had still not received a response to my reply as of October 23rd, which is when I took the opportunity, via their website, of flagging my ticket number as "High Priority" and also sent an additional email expressing my displeasure both at the issue regarding delivery of my purchase and at their non-responsiveness to a customer service complaint, despite claims on their website to the contrary. As of today, October 30th, I have yet to receive any more communication from them; the matter has yet to be resolved, and my purchase still has not been delivered. I have chosen to submit this claim as a customer service claim rather than a delivery claim, however, as I believe the fault to be shared equally between chocolate.com and the supplier who was meant to ship the product.

Desired Settlement: Chocolate.com states on their website that they "guarantee the quality and timely shipment of our products. If your product ships late and arrives after the expected arrival day, we will provide a full refund of charges incurred for the shipment." At the very least, I would like them held to this guarantee and to have the amount I paid in shipping and handling fees refunded to me--and certainly not as a store credit or gift card, as I don't intend to ever use their service again. However, due to the negligence and non-responsiveness of their customer service department in general and their utter failure to demonstrate any remorse or committment to customer satisfaction in this matter, I would appreciate the full cost of my order refunded.

Business Response: Hello ****,
I am sorry that I did not receive your October 23rd email. I overlooked it because it went to a different folder of my account.  We want you to be happy with your order.  I have provided you with a full refund.  Thank you for shopping at Chocolate.com.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

12/20/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a deal of $20 for $40 advertised in the LA Times LA Deals for chocolate.com because the details read "Valid toward gift certificate purchases". I intended to apply the deal amount toward a gift certificate for a larger amount to give as a gift. chocolate.com has refused to honor the deal under the terms printed on my voucher when I purchased it. They have told me the inclusion of "Valid toward gift certificate purchases" was an error.

Business Response: Hello, The offer that displayed the message "valid toward gift certificate purchases" was an error and was not displayed on our website. This was a mistake made by LA Deals, displayed on their website.  We do not allow promotional vouchers to apply to gift certificate purchases. However, we would like to make this customer happy. If the customer provides us with his/her voucher code, we will ADD THIS DOLLAR AMOUNT to any gift certificate purchase on our site. This will require two steps by the customer: 1) To purchase a gift certificate of any value 2) email us at ******************, attn: **** *******. Provide BOTH voucher codes.  We will combine these into one voucher with the sum of the values. Thank you **** ******* Chocolate.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******. Regards, ****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.