Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

1st Call Appliance, Inc.

Phone: (781) 447-9590 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.firstcallappliance.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

1st Call Appliance, Inc. repairs household appliances including washers, dryers, refrigerators, dishwashers, ovens/ranges, freezers, trash compactors and microwaves. Our factory trained technicians have been providing expert appliance repair services for over 30 years. Give us a call at the first sign of trouble and we will have your appliances back in working order in no time! Same day appointments are available for your convenience. Call our friendly staff now for more information!


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1st Call Appliance, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1st Call Appliance, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on 1st Call Appliance, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1987 in MA Business incorporated 01/02/2003 in MA
Type of Entity

S Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Collins, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Collins, President
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

APPLIANCES-HOUSEHOLD-MAJOR-SERVICE & REPAIR APPLIANCES-SMALL-SUPPLIES & PARTS APPLIANCES-SMALL-SERVICE & REPAIR APPLIANCES-HOUSEHOLD-SMALL-SERVICE & REPAIR APPLIANCES-HOUSEHOLD-MAJOR-SUPPLIES & PARTS Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Checks
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Service Area
1st Call Appliance, Inc. provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Industry Tips
Choosing an Appliance

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

1st Call Appliance, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 590 Bedford Street

    Abington, MA 02351

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had called 1st Call Appliance to service the stove. The technician came out and indicated that the igniter needed to be replaced... a few hundred dollars later it was replaced and we thought the problem was resolved. A couple of weeks after that we called again same problem... stove kept making a popping noise when the oven was on... at that time the supervisor came out and after inspection he said it was fine nothing was wrong. The popping noise was always there and not fixed. When my daughter was home and noticed the noise she insisted I call them to come out and see what is wrong with the stove. She called and set up an appt....after speaking with the representative she asked her what the fee was.. and we were told it was a $79 service call.. (again charged for an ongoing issue that they haven't fixed since day one) she said fine send them out then we were told well there will be a labor charge if the part is replaced... how something is under warranty and you have to pay a service call and a labor charge..fine..she asked for someone to call and let us know what all the fees will be prior to sending someone out...we never got a call ..the tech showed up at 8am the morning of our first snow storm....she felt bad and said well if you are here obviously you didn't get the message and no one called us.. so he went ahead and inspected the stove... he then told us after going online that the stove is known to making that popping noise....and he didn't think it was a safety issue.. my daughter asked for piece of mind if we can just go ahead and change the igniter since its still under warranty and maybe there was something wrong with that.. he said he couldn't do it then because the stove had been on and it was hot..he would try to come back later and in the meantime he was going to run it by his manager.. well after waiting around the house most of the day in case he called and wanted to come back...we didn't hear anything..we finally get a call late Tuesday night I want to say around 7:30-8ish and we were informed that it was a safety issue and that all these repairs needed to be made and we were looking at around $500...my daughter called that night and got the answering machine and asked that someone call us asap.. as we are having a family gathering this weekend and cant be left without a stove.....we did not hear back from anyone..she called them Wednesday afternoon and asked what was going on..no answer why we never heard back..just that the manager who answered the phone indicated that she will talk to the service manager and get back to me as to why the change in price when we were told nothing was wrong and its been an ongoing issue and why didn't they fix it last time they came out if it was that much of a safety issue...if my daughter didn't insist on them coming out and changing it then we would of never known...finally ***** (spelling?) called us back Wednesday night to tell us that she spoke with the manager and he was coming out this time and would someone be available at 7:30am ...we asked her if it was going to be the same tech because we too can ****** the problem...we wanted to make sure that it was the manager coming out and she indicated that it was. After speaking with my daughter I was not happy with the way things have been done and the run around I was getting I asked her to call back.. it wasn't even 2 minutes after we hung up with ***** ..we got the voicemail and we indicated that they should cancel the appointment that we will contact another company to come out and see what is going on. Well at 7:40am on Thursday, New Years Eve the same service technician showed up at our door. We told him that we had called and cancelled the request and that I wanted the service fee from the previous day refunded. He came in and started to inspect the stove and we asked him to just leave it and that we would call the office. My daughter then called the office and once again spoke with the supposed manager ***** and lets just say she was rude from the get go.. she didn't have time to argue and that she would have the manager call us back. We weren't calling to argue but were confused.. how once again the tech said it was normal and they are telling us something different. My daughter was concerned and upset because not only did we pay to have an igniter replaced less than a year ago but the problem was never fixed and now they are trying to charge $500 to fix something that should of been fixed over a year ago. She told ***** that she wanted it resolved and that we cant wait for a call back because ***** wasn't sure when they would be calling back..since they were closing early today ....and reopening on Monday.... we told her that we cant be left without a stove until Monday (big family dinner this weekend) and that we will stay on hold... well 31.30 minutes of sitting on hold she finally hung up and tried calling back to only keep getting the voicemail...obviously they have caller ID... we want to be reimbursed for the service calls and the repairs that were done prior.. obviously they never fixed the problem.....if my daughter didn't insist that they change the part again while under warranty...we were told the stove was fine...this has been nothing but a headache ..and for the rudeness and not taking care of the problem....This is not a way to run a business...and if *****, ***** (sp) really is the manager.. I wouldn't employ her forget have her manage my business she has no customer service skills. Unfortunately we were not able to read the other negative reviews on the company on the BBB. If I had only known to check them out...before I called them the first time.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to either repair the problem and not send the same technician or give me a complete refund for all the visits they have had for the same problem and the replacement fee we paid originally dating back to last December. Also, they should refund completely the service fee we were charged on Tuesday of $79 ...my daughter was going to put a stop payment on the check and she said let the BBB direct us as to what needs to be done. Its not for the money its the principal that they keep charging for repairs and visits and the original problem was never fixed. When she told the technician I don't care about the cost I just want to make sure its safe for my mother to use the stove...she didn't think we would get hit with a $500 fee including the service call fee paid. Thank you for any assistance you may provide... we tried to avoid this but being on hold for 30plus minutes made me realize they are not willing to work with us and cant be bothered.

Business Response: I spoke to the ***** family and I believe the issues have been taken care of.  I am still looking for a part for them, I went to the home this week to recheck the appliance.  The problem employee on the phone is no longer with us. Thank you**** *******1st Call Appliance

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired First Call Appliance to fix an ice marker. First Call estimated that the ice maker could be fixed for $900 which was a lot considering new ice makers start at $800. We decided it would be easier to get this ice maker fixed despite the high cost relative to the price of a new ice maker. First Call ordered the parts needed and installed. First Call was paid and said you are "all set". Ice maker never made any ice and now First Call says more parts are needed and we need to pay another $250. We sent a demand letter to First Call indicating they could either take the parts back that they put in and refund the $900 or fix the ice maker as they indicated they would with no further charges. First Call did not respond to our letter.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $900 or actually fix what they said they would do with no further charges.

Business Response: In regards to the complaint against 1st CallAppliance Inc. Mr ******** called us to his home on Aug 19, 2014. Thecomplaint was that his ** monogram ice maker was not making ice. I as acertified ** technician diagnosed that the ice maker had a couple of issues. Toconfirm my diagnosis I called ** technical department while in the home. Mr******** was not home, his wife called him and I explained what was going on.They said they would like to think about weather to repair or replace the unitwere it was old.Weeks later the ********s called to say they wanted toproceed with the repair. I ordered the parts and returned on Sept 16, 2014. Iinstalled the part and ran the required diagnostics. I then called ** technicalto confirm the unit was running properly and making ice sheets. Which it didproduce ice.On Sept,  17 2014 Ireturned at their request. The unit had produced some ice but it was notfilling the bin.  I called ** techsupport again and said the unit was producing ice but hanging up at harvestmode. During the visit I found the molex connector working intermittently so Irepaired the issue at no charge.On Sept 18, 2014 I was called back again. The ice was notdropping to the bin. Conferring with ** tech again we determined that the icecutter should be replaced. This was the fourth separate issue with the unit.When this repair was ordered we were told the complaint was no ice being made.We took all steps to make sure ice could be made. All labor after initial repairwas free. Mr ******** was not charge for my time in fixing not one but fourdifferent issues. I asked Mr ******** to pay for the ice cutter replacementpart only and at my cost. He refused to discuss the matter. 1st CallAppliance Inc has put a lot of free labor into this unit. In fixing one issuewe came across the other issues. We feel that Mr ******** should be responsibleminimally for the the parts needed  to dothe agreed upon repair.  He had agreedthat we should continue to repair the unit and ** tech support was called everystep of repair process. We are willing to return if Mr ******** pays for all partsrequired.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  1st Call has refused to accept responsibility that they agreed to fix the ice maker and did not do it.  The machine does not produce ice - plain and simple.  While I agree that they have spent considerable time trying to fix the appliance, the fact of the matter is they didn't fix the ice maker and now we have paid $900 for an ice maker which does not work - in fact the same issues are occurring as before they agreed to fix it.  1st Call indicated "I asked Mr ******** to pay for the ice cutter replacement  part only and at my cost. He refused to discuss the matter." This is not true - I called 1st call and they hung up on me.  I then sent them a letter outlining my issues and how they could be resolved and they never responded.  1st Call also indicated "He had agreed  that we should continue to repair the unit and ** tech support was called every step of repair process." Again this is delusional - we asked them to diagnose the problem with the ice maker - they did and said it would cost $900 to fix.  We ultimately agreed to pay this and expected the ice maker to work.  We were taken for a ride. Without any resolution we will be forced to pursue litigation. Regards, **** ********  

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Comment from DF ******:I really like how First Call said called customer as courtesy when running late. Common sense should tell you, you need to call your customer because it is good practice for those companies that are professional and want to keep your customers in good standing. But First Call is not one of those companies.First call didnt write anything down when I called and probably needed to speak to the technician that came to my home. The dryer vent tape came off and the washer timer needed to be replaced. There was no talk about paying a deposit. If 35.00 dollars was for a deposit why was I charged 104.00 dollars when the Tech came to my home?104.00 dollars less 79.00 dollars equals 25.00 dollars. The talk of the 35.00 dollars came after I said the technician ran out of the tape for the dryers vent and didnt finish the job. Also First call never called me about the total price of the job, I had to call them. What is customer wanted all money off repair ?I was told that I needed to pay first the 104.00 dollars and once First Call had the total cost of the job the 104.00 was going to be subtracted from the total cost. You Scam me.

Desired Settlement: Please note the first complaint is posted at your BBB Website already. I paid the Tech $104.00 in good faith, I trusted what they told me. Since they didn't finish fixing the dryer vent issue with the tape and didn't fix the timer I want $100.00 refunded back to me. They can keep the $4.00 for the little tape the Tech placed on the dryer vent. The Tech said he had a small truck and didn't carry anything extra. I learned later they said and did the same thing to others. Thank youDF

Business Response: 1st Call works in four hour windows. Called customer to let her know we might be a few minutes late as a courtesy. Appointment was for a washer and dryer. Washer needed a timer special order $35 deposit. Dryer has a vent issue from being installed wrong. Repaired dryer and taped all seams. Called back with a price on washer minus $35.00 Customer wanted all money off repair.

Consumer Response: First Call is not being trustful about the issue and from their history it looks like they just don’t know how to be.  No one is questing about First Call four hours windows, other companies do the same thing. And I never said I wanted all money off repair (I don’t know what is all money off repair).  I was told by First Call that I would be charged $79.00 by the Tech and once they had the total cost of the repairs of the vent and the new timer the $79.00 would be subtracted from the total cost. Also the technician said I needed to pay $104.00 but the $104.00 would be subtracted from the total cost. The Tech knows what he said to me, or is he going to lose his job for telling the truth.    BBB: First Call needs to be stopped from scamming people.  Next time I have to make an appointment with someone I will record everything.  I am unable to attached anything so please see below for other notes. OTHER NOTES: Phone calls to: First Call Appliance, Inc. 6/20/14           a woman that I spoke with said that the $104.00 was for fixing the tape on the dryer. If I wanted the job done for the timer it would be $320.00 and she would give me a discount of $35.00 because the technician ran out of tape. I asked to speak with the manager and she said she was the manager. So I said $320.00 less $104.00 (that I paid) and I only have to pay $185.00 with a discount of $35.00. But the manager said do you want the work done ($320.00) yes or no! She wanted an answer that minute. When I said I was given the wrong information she just said again yes or no $320.00. Because I would not say yes fix my washer, she said she was wasting time talking with me and hung up the phone. She was very unprofessional and very rude. 6/24/14           Tuesday, I called 1st Call Appliance to talk with the manager to get some of my money back, but I was told the manager was out and to call back on Wednesday 6/25. 6/25/14           Wednesday, I called again, I asked for the manager and she said she was the manager (*****).  I said since the job was not done. The tech didn’t finished fixing the dryer vent and the timer.  I should get my money back (the $104.00). She said she was only the office manager and she was going to have the service manager call me back. 6/26/14           Thursday, I called back and spoke with a man, he said he was the only one in the office. He took my name and address (didn’t want my phone #) he was going to have the manager call me back. Thank you Regards,  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on 1st Call Appliance, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart