BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Venture Window, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Venture Window, LLC

Phone: (401) 273-3600 859 North Main Street, Providence, RI 02904 http://www.venturewindow.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Venture Window, LLC specializes in home improvement and various aspects of remodeling. Retail consumers and contractors welcome. Installation by their own crews. Lead safe certified. Very large selection of windows for homes, offices, historic and commercial applications.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Venture Window, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Venture Window, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Venture Window, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 24, 1989 Business started: 03/01/1986 in RI Business started locally: 03/01/1986 Business incorporated: 02/24/1998 in RI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.ri.us
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The license number is 15980.

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The license number is 127926.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John W Milld III, Co-owner Mr. Bruce Schulbaum, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John W Milld III, Co-owner
Principal: Mr. Bruce Schulbaum, Owner
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES SIDING CONTRACTORS SKYLIGHTS STORM WINDOWS & DOORS WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS DOORS HANDYMAN SERVICES HOME IMPROVEMENTS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Venture Window, LLC sells the following brand(s): Alside, Andersen, Certainteed, Harvey, Plygem, Thermal Industries

Venture Window, LLC offers the following product(s): Doors, Roofing , Siding, Sunrooms, Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states custom made products are not refundable. Most products have lifetime manufacturer's warranty on parts. Labor is generally covered by Venture for 5 years.
Alternate Business Names
Venture Homeworks
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Handyman Services Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Siding Contractor Home Improvement Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Windows

Additional Locations

  • 859 North Main Street

    Providence, RI 02904 (401) 273-3600

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Venture Window, LLC

Venture Window LLC
859 N Main Street
Providence, RI 02904
401-273-3600

Free NO FAULT glass breakage warranty with any vinyl window purchase. Please request at the time of purchase.

Expires 12/31/2014.
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in 2004 I owned one building in RI, Venture windows never worked at this building, I never had a contract with venture windows and never incurred any debt with venture windows, yet they put a lien on my property without my knowledge. When I contacted them to have my name removed their response was sue our lawyer for errors and omissions. They have bad faith business practices and I should not have to spend money suing for their fraudulent claim.

Desired Settlement: lien release and recording fees

Business Response: *** ******* and his partner purchased windows from Venture in 2003. They never paid them. We turned the matter over to our attorney for collection. They were both served with court documents requiring their appearance. An settlement was reached in court for a partial payment. They never completed the payments. They were again summoned to court and did not appear. The judge ruled in our favor and a lien was placed on their property to secure the judgement. If they had followed through with the settlement there would have been no lien on their property. If Ron felt that he had no responsibility for this debt he should have come to court to state so. The court issued a lawful judgement under the circumstances. Upon payment, the lien will be released.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Business Response: The judgement against Mr. ******* and the subsequent lien on his property are the result of his failure to pay for his services and subsequent failure to pay the agreed upon court settlement. If he wishes to dispute this matter further he must do so through the court system. The BBB website is not the proper venue for this discussion as it has already been settled in a court of law. Since this is an ongoing legal matter, we cannot comment on the facts of the case.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We asked Venture if they could replace the fabric on our screens for all our windows. They accepted and they got the screens and put on new fabric in November-December 2011. December 5th we received an invoice from Venture for $ 320 - the agreed price. We paid them at that time. I may we got the screens put on the windows and immediately noticed that the fabric was not put on properly. The texture of the fabric is not proper horizontal/vertical. The fabric is not put on tight so it has clearly visible bulges. The screens looks very bad. My wife has called Venture multiple times - both **** ***** and ***** *********. We have emailed them 3 times. After 1 months Venture has neither started fixing the problem nor given us a timeline for when it will be fixed.

Desired Settlement: Business fix the problems.

Business Response: We were asked to replace the screen fabric on the full screens for their exisitng windows. We performed the re-screening and delivered the screens to the customer. They had another individual install them on their windows. It is very possible that they became a little distorted during the installation, as these are full screens (very large) and are not easy to install.  In addition, the screen frames were very flimsy, so it was not possible to get the fabric tight without "hour-glassing" the frames (bowing them in). Most full screens have a center bar to help keep them square, but these did not.

When a screen frame is re-screened (by hand) it is not possible to make them look the same as the automated factory machinery can accomplish.  It is our opinion that the workmanship is as good as the industry standards require in as much as the screens perform the purpose of keeping out insects. It is not possible to make them look perfect.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The bulges in the fabric is more than seems reasonable. The arguments about the frames  does not seem plausible as it is actually at the top of the screens where the frames are most solid that the problem is worst.Furthermore we were not informed at time of sale that the type of frames could be a problem.The business did not even comment on the fact that the fabric is not properly aligned with the frame.The business did not explain why they did not reply to our complaints before
we went to BBB.  

Business Response: We seem to have difference of opinion on the cosmetic screen issues related by Mr. *******. We re-screen window screens frequently and have rarely had anyone complain about the workmanship. It is not possible to get the screen mesh perfectly aligned with the frame, nor is it possible to get the springy screen fabric perfectly tight without distorting the frame.

We appreciate his opinion of the workmanship, but in our opinion it is within customary industry standards and is suitable for the intended purpose of keeping out insects.

Business Response: We seem to have difference of opinion on the cosmetic screen issues related by Mr. *******. We re-screen window screens frequently and have rarely had anyone complain about the workmanship. It is not possible to get the screen mesh perfectly aligned with the frame, nor is it possible to get the springy screen fabric perfectly tight without distorting the frame.

We appreciate his opinion of the workmanship, but in our opinion it is within customary industry standards and is suitable for the intended purpose of keeping out insects.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The screens do keep insects out, but in our opinion that is not sufficient to be good work.The screens do not look professional redone.See attached document for 8 pictures illustrating the problem.We are definitely not satisfied with the work done.    

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company does not call or follow up at all. We purchased our door and were told we would be contacted to set up installation - months later we call to see what was going on and why we hadn't been contacted to find that our door was sitting in the warehouse for 3 weeks - they hjust never called to set up an appointment. Then the door gets installed and the installers scratched and chiped the finish which was done in the factory. we called to have it repaired and it took over a month and i called again and they finally had a crayon and furniture marker sent to me - which did nothing and was insulting. then we had to call several times to get someone out to repair the finish - finally they sent someone who made it look 50% better (so we never have had a nice looking door and for $3500 we should have at least been able to be the ones to scratch it ourselves). then about 4 mos after we have the door the whole locking mechanism breaks and we cannot get into our house. it took 2 weeks for them to get back to us on that and they replaced it with a part that does not match. we were told that it would have to be ordered and they didn't have any silver lockes only brass - so i called twice and left messages with both managers to which they have never responded and now it has been months. this company installs poor quality items and promises high quality, and they do not respond to issues. it took 2 weeks to repair the lock and every day i had to haul my 1 year old and all my bags thru the gate and around to the rear of the house in the rain just to get in, and this was advised to them in the message and they still took their sweet time getting back to us. and i am so upset that we paid 3500 for a piece of garbage door that breaks and scratched even tho we were promised this was one of their highest quality doors. broken promises and bad service - this compnay is the pits. and people should know before they are also taken advantage of and out 3500. I do wish i would have never went thru this company. i don't have anything good to say about my experience at all.

Desired Settlement: i would like them to come back out as soon as possible and put in the lock that they should have in the first place and i would like them to consider a refund for my trouble and the fact that this door scratches when the ups guy puts a package on the steps - that should happen. the door is terrible quality. i mostly just want people to know NOT to use this company EVER.

Business Response: Our records show the hardware issue was resolved earlier.We have left messages for ******* to confirm this, but she has not returned our calls.
The door she purchased was pre-finished by the manufacturer, **** ***. **** *** is a prominent supplier in our industry and we have had very good response from our customers regarding product quality & value.
Sometimes there is minor damage from handling during shipping and installation. Just like with furniture, there are factory supplied touch up kits for these minor issues. ******* was not happy with this solution, so we hired a professional furniture repair company to make the repair. This was done and the technician reported she was satisfied with the result. She did not indicate anything to the contrary.
Like any painted surface, it is possible to damage the finish if exposed to abrasion. This appears to be the case. If ******* feels this is still unsatisfactory, we can refer the issue to the **** ***, who manufactured & warranties the product. We await her feedback regarding this issue.

-- 
***** *********
Venture Window LLC
*** * **** **
********** ** *****
###-###-####http://venturewindow.com

Consumer Response:

I am furious with this idiotic response but I am not surprised. I never EVER received a return call from the last two that I left with both **** ***** and *****. NEITHER EVER called me back. Not once.
I do admit, they came out to replace the locking mechanism in my SILVER hardware (after it broke not more than 2 mos of having the door and it took them an unreasonable time to respond initially), but replaced it was replaced with BRASS so now my door hardware is mismatched which is the REASON I ended up having to go thru the BBB in the first place. I left messages for them stating this was unacceptable and they do not respond.

The door itself is garbage which I would have mentioned to them if they ever bothered to call me back. The post man dropped off a package and there are scratches all over the door from cardboard. It is unacceptable and maybe I have not voiced this directly to them but that is because they DO NOT CALL ME BACK.

They are liars if they say that this problem has been resolved and that I am satisfied. I can make an appointment with the BBB to show them in person at my house that the door harware is still mismatched and that it scratches when you merely look at it. Please feel free to contact me to visit my home and see for yourself. I am not fabricating any of this. This is the truth which is not what you get from Venture Window.

Regards,

******* ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Chimney vent cover not replaced after the cover first put on had to be removed due to not being up to code. 2) Window damaged during work not repaired. 3) New garage door frame not replaced even though damaged during installation.

Desired Settlement: We want all 3 outstanding issues listed above fixed.

Business Response: We differ with the timeline presented here. These items were not brought to our attention until recently and our responsibility for rectifying these items has been in question.  These 3 items are scheduled to be completed within the next 3 weeks, weather permitting. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1