Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

New England Window & Door, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (978) 373-2500 View Additional Phone Numbers 45 Fondi Road, Haverhill, MA 01832 http://www.pellanewengland.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pella Window & Doors is a distributor, sales and service to builders, contractors and general public.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New England Window & Door, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for New England Window & Door, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on New England Window & Door, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 31, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1990 in MA Business incorporated 04/05/2007 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Karatjas, GM of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Dawn Karatjas, GM of Operations
Number of Employees

97

Business Category

WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES DOORS WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

New England Window & Door, LLC sells the following brand(s): Pella

New England Window & Door, LLC offers the following product(s): Entry Doors, Patio Doors, Skylights, Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Service Area
New England Window & Door, LLC provides their services in MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS & NEW HAMPSHIRE.
Alternate Business Names
Pella Windows and Doors of Boston, NH & ME
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Read Before You Sign Windows

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

New England Window & Door, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1267 Washington St

    Hanover, MA 02339

  • 170 Worcester St

    Wellesley, MA 02481

  • 333 Clarks POnd Pkwy Unit 600

    S POrtland, ME 04106

  • 409 High Street Unit 1

    Ellsworth, ME 04605

  • 45 Fondi Road

    Haverhill, MA 01832 (978) 420-3120 (978) 373-2500

  • 59 Commerce Way

    Woburn, MA 01801

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our issues with this Pella location are more than just Customer Service related. There have been product quality issues, contract issues, service and sales issues. Back on March 7, 2015, we had several contractors to the house to quote door and window replacement. The salesperson from Pella who came to the house sold us on quality and service. Our brand preference was Pella, and certainly could have gone to ***** for $5,000 less, but **** sold us on the service and quality of their installation. Once we booked, we were looking at approximately 3-4 weeks until installation could begin. **** measured the day he was at the house and then another person came to the house to verify those measurements. The job was booked for the week of April 13th. It was slow. We were told it would be a week, but they could definitely get it done quicker. It took the entire week for the windows and then some for the doors. Despite going over the contract with a fine-tooth comb with **** and the other person who came to measure, 2 of the windows were put in with the openings the wrong way (not your standard double hung windows - these were side opening). When the double doors were finally installed, it was determined that the office ordered the wrong opening doors and because of size, they cannot just be swapped. The had to order new doors. and would not have the screen doors installed until the new main doors went on. That put us at May 9th for the new double doors to be installed. These doors were the correct opening, but they were warped and would not shut properly or tightly. They left a gap at the bottom and the kids couldn't open them. Two more people came out to the house to figure out what was wrong with these doors and to attempt to correct the issue. No one could fix it. So after some back and forth, they ordered yet another set of double front doors. Meanwhile, the screen doors were scheduled to finally be installed on May 18th. Pella will not let their installers install a double storm door but instead contract out to a 3rd party who told me he could teach our dog to do it in 30 minutes. When he started working on the storm doors, he realized the office ordered the wrong size doors. New ones would have to be ordered. The final set of main doors were installed on June 22nd. They STILL were not closing and opening properly while the installer was there. He discovered that the door was not properly installed. The nails/screws were not actually attached to any of the supporting wood within the frame because there wasn't enough wood. He had to take the entire door frame apart to correct it. The storm doors were finally installed on June 26th. This time the problem was with the hardware. We ordered and paid for brushed nickel hardware on the doors. The office ordered gold. It sticks out like a sore thumb on the front of the house. We have been in touch with the office, the office manager, and our salesman and the communications with all of them have been far below anything we would have expected from Pella. They did try to find the correct hardware that would fit the door. They gave us one option for the handle that we did not like, but we were told it is that or the money back as they will not order new storm doors despite the fact that it is their 2nd error with the storm doors alone. Despite knowing and having had a bad experience with ***** for something else, we quite honestly feel as though we would have been better off booking with them for $5,000 less. Over 2 weeks ago, we finally told **** and his manager that we would accept a monetary figure (not nearly enough to cover replacing these doors) and we were told that a check would be in the mail that week. We have yet to receive the check. We did call to verify where the check was and to complain about the bottom gaskets on most of the windows and have someone come out to take a look/correct them. We were told the check runs are on a schedule and we must have missed it. We were also told that they would put in a ticket to have the windows looked at....nothing, still. Overall, we would highly recommend never using this Pella branch.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, we'd like the storm doors replaced with what we ordered per the contract. We know we have already agreed to the refund, but we still have not received that. We would also like the leaders/managers at the higher level know and understand that this not acceptable. We are now over 6 months since booking the job and it's still not complete as far as we, the customers, are concerned.

Business Response: We will be having our service department check on the issues with the window weatherstripping and *** ***** is going to be ensuring that the customer is refunded for the storm door.

Consumer Response: We are not accepting this response because this is the same thing we were told weeks ago, and we STILL have not heard a word from our salesperson, the manager we spoke too, or this ***.  This is such poor business practice. Regards, ***** *******    

Business Response: Here is the email sent this morning at 10:04 AM to the customer regarding his claim. We are awaiting a response to the date of 9/22 for service.Mr. *******, I am extremely sorry that your experience withPella has been less than what was expected. We are having a check cutimmediately for the refund of the storm door as well as have a servicetechnician set up to evaluate the issues you are having with your gaskets onthe windows that were installed. We can have him out there on Tuesday 9/22towards the end of the day if that will work. Please let me know so we canconfirm this with the tech.

Consumer Response: [I'm not sure what Pella means by "immediately," but it's now been well over a month since we originally agreed to accept a refund, and we have received nothing. The service technician did come out to the house, but the issues are still unresolved since he needed to order some parts.  Beyond disappointed and frustrated with Pella.] Regards, ***** *******    

6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our door was purchased in Sept and installed in November. That evening when I finished up work and my wife arrived home, we took a closer look at the installation and noticed some troubling issues. First, the threshold has a shim piece installed inside to the side of the threshold to apparently cover a gap where the threshold piece failed to come inside far enough. I compared this work to the other door thresholds in the house and the threshold for these doors filled the correct opening without a need for a shim. I have to conclude that the installers measured the cut incorrectly and needed to correct this gap. Further proof of this being an error is the fact that the shim appears unstained and a different color than the threshold. It is shoddy and unprofessional. This has to be redone and installed properly. Second, the interior trim does not lie flush on the right side.The left side installed properly flush with the back. The right side has the gap. Third, on the left side of the door (handle side) there is chipping along the edge and the gap is wider than on the right side. There is no chipping on the right side. When I met the project manager at his initial (pre-installation) visit, he indicated he would be onsite at the time of the job to supervise or at least to do a check and that was not the case. I sent the project manager and sales rep photos of these problem areas.

Desired Settlement: I want the installation to be redone so that the issues are fully addressed and the product quality and installation quality I was promised and which anyone would reasonably expect is delivered. I want this treated as a high priority and with a different installation team than the two people who did the original work. I also want the project manager to review the final work with me.

Business Response: The installer is going back this afternoon to address the issues that the customer described in the complaint. Our project manager ***** **** paid a visit to this customer this afternoon as well.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. In fact the installation team arrived here this afternoon and remedied all issues (there is one small final step that the project manager will complete later this week).The response by the Pella team was extremely fast and professional.  And I feel the installation now reflects the expected and promised quality.Based on the rapid and professional resolution of this issue, I would not hesitate to do business again with Pella and would be able to recommend them without reservation.I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ****** ********

5/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before my meeting with the ***** sales consultant I had met with other companies and contractors to discuss how to get windows with the most glass possible. By the time I met with the ***** sales consultant I had decided that I wanted all my new windows to be made out of fiberglass and all of them to be installed “tear out” in order to get the most glass possible. Two other companies independently advised me that they did not charge more for a tear out installation as compared to a “replacement” installation. At the first visit with the ***** sales consultant I asked for a quote on 12 windows. I was looking for a product and installation that would provide the most glass possible. I mentioned that I had learned that fiberglass construction windows installed as a “tear out” would allow for this, and that is what I wanted a quote on. I had already received a quote for this from another company and was meeting with the ***** representative for a comparison quote, and also because ***** could provide a 74 inch tall window for my living room, whereas the other company selling fiberglass windows could only make a 72 inch tall window. I did not want to lose 2 inches of glass. I certainly did not want to lose up to 2 inches total on the height and width of the much smaller sunroom windows either. I was under the assumption that all the quotes on the windows were based on a tear out installation because that is what would provide the most glass. I had asked my quotes to be for that so I could compare “apples to apples” with the other company. We never discussed different installation option costs on any of the windows, and I assumed this was because everything was going to be tear out. At the second visit the ***** sales consultant came to review the contract with me for me to sign. At this meeting it became clear to me that the 6 sunroom windows were not ordered for a tear out installation. It sounded as if the windows were going to be fitted in a replacement style. I clearly told the consultant that what he was describing was not what I wanted. I wanted the product and installation that would provide “the most glass possible” just like all the other windows. I wanted “tear out” (the word I had heard used by the other company) just like all the other windows. After I expressed this several times, the ***** consultant assured me that he understood I wanted “the most glass possible” and “tear out”. The sales consultant then made some written changes to the contract. I told him I did not understand construction terminology and asked him explicitly if what he had changed the contract to was going to provide me the most glass possible and tear out- just like all the other windows were going to be. He assured me that he did make the appropriate changes to the contract. The ***** consultant did not say at that meeting (as he would later say) that what I wanted, to have the most glass possible and tear out, would cost thousands of dollars (about $3000) more. Neither at the second meeting (nor at the first meeting) did he work up a quote on his computer to show me a cost comparison for different installation styles. At the second meeting he also did not bring up the subject (as he later would) that at the first meeting he thought I wanted a quote based on a “cost effective budget” and that what I was now asking for (the most glass possible and tear out) would not be in keeping with that but rather would cost thousands of dollars more. In retrospect I now realize at the second meeting I was in a vulnerable position for several reasons. 1) It did not occur to me that the price would be any different between a tear out installation and a replacement installation because two other very reputable high end companies, similar to *****, did not charge more for one installation over the other, and the ***** consultant did not mention at the first or the second meeting that ***** charges a lot more for tear out installation. 2) The sunroom windows that were there during the two meetings with the ***** salesman were storm windows, and so it did not seem odd to me that the language on the contract was different to describe them as compared to the language used to describe all the other windows, which all had metal frames that the ***** salesman said would be sawed out of the concrete holding them; 3) the terminology used in construction is a whole new vocabulary, which I was constantly in the process of picking up and learning; 4) in “window speak” there are multiple terms to describe the same thing; 5) an increase of several thousand dollars in price might have interfered with closing on the deal for the sunroom windows (I would definitely have bought the living room and other windows though). 6) ***** is a very reputable company, and I trusted the sales representative when he said he made the changes on the contract to what I said I wanted- i.e., most glass possible and tear out- just like all the other windows. 7) The quote I received from a comparable company for fiberglass windows with tear out installation for the sunroom was essentially the same amount that ***** was charging for fiberglass windows with replacement installation for the sunroom, i.e., about $1400 per window, or about $8600 total, so it did not occur to me that ***** would increase the price to provide a tear out installation. On the installation day it became evident that the ***** sales consultant had not actually handwritten in a change for a tear out construction and the most glass possible. Rather it turned out that the handwritten change the salesman made was only a cosmetic change to the trim around the window, which would make the finished trim look more like a tear out installation's finished trim, but it would not actually result in an increase to the glass area- which was my objective all along, as a real tear out construction would have. I was led to believe that what the salesman had handwritten in the contract was going to change the installation- not just the trim- from a replacement style (with less glass area) into a tear out style- which would allow for the most glass possible. To be forced to pay thousands of dollars ($8600+) for expensive windows from a high end company, and every time you pass them see they are not even what you wanted- when you could have gotten exactly what you wanted for essentially the same price- feels discouraging and irksome. The above is the major complaint. A secondary complaint is that for one of the basement windows I was quoted and charged for a tear out installation but only received a replacement installation. There are also some smaller items that have been discussed with ***** that they seem willing to accommodate. These details are mentioned in the "Desired Outcome" section below.

Desired Settlement: 1. Finish the job on the back basement window, as agreed by the project manager, to prevent air leakage and to use all full length boards. 2. On the back basement window, refund the difference between having been charged for a tear out installation and having only received a replacement installation, as agreed by the salesman. 3. Finish the exterior trim using full board lengths instead of odd sized board lengths, as discussed with the manager. Install at flush angles with each other, etc. 4. My first choice would be: without charging me additionally, remeasure sunroom for tear out installation- sized windows; remove existing windows and install the resultant larger windows with a tear out installation. My far, far, far second choice would be to receive an additional 60% discount and complete the work on the existing windows.

Business Response: Please see communication with customer. We have not been able to get a date and time that will work with her schedule Response from **** sent 4/17/2014 at 4:10 PM Hi. Unfortunately that doesn't work either. We are away for the kids April vacation. Sent from my iPhone On Apr 16, 2014, at 4:51 PM, "*****, *** *." <*******@***********.com> wrote: Hi ****, I can’t do 5:30 on Friday, I could do 5:30 on Monday. Would that work for you? From: **** * [mailto:*******@gmail.com] Sent: Wednesday, April 16, 2014 3:33 PM To: *****, *** *. Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit 5:30 to be safe Sent from my iPhone On Apr 16, 2014, at 3:30 PM, **** * <*******@gmail.com> wrote: Hi. **** 5:15 work? Sent from my iPhone On Apr 16, 2014, at 10:07 AM, "*****, *** *." <*******@*********** .com> wrote: What time will you be home from work? From: ******* ****** ******** [mailto:*******@gmail.com] Sent: Wednesday, April 16, 2014 10:04 AM To: *****, *** *. Cc: ********, ****; ****, *****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit I will still be at work. How late in the day can you meet? On Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 9:15 AM, *****, *** *. <*******@***********.com> wrote: We can do 1:00. Will that work for you? From: **** * [mailto:*******@gmail.com] Sent: Wednesday, April 16, 2014 8:47 AM To: ********, **** Cc: *****, *** *.; ****, *****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit Do you all have availability on Friday? Sent from my iPhone On Apr 15, 2014, at 3:33 PM, **** * <*******@gmail.com> wrote: My apologies. Passover has been keeping me busy. Sent from my iPhone On Apr 15, 2014, at 2:33 PM, "********, ****" <*********@***********.com> wrote: Has an appointment been made for this visit? We need to resolve this week. **** * ******** __ General Manager | ***** Windows & Doors, Inc. Serving Eastern Massachusetts, Maine and New Hampshire ?????????????? : ************ Ext *** | <image003.jpg>: ************ Cell |<image004.jpg>: *********@***********.com From: *****, *** *. Sent: Monday, April 14, 2014 11:56 AM To: **** * Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: RE: ***** Windows - site visit Hi ****, I left you a voicemail this morning. I would like to schedule a time when I can visit with ***** and we could try and resolve all outstanding installation items and discuss final payment. Could you suggest some days and times that work for you and ***** and I could try and make one of them fit our schedules? Thank you,   ******** Retail General Sales Manager ***** Windows & Doors, Inc. Serving Eastern Massachusetts, Maine and New Hampshire c ************ <image005.***>

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The company's response did not address any of the issues I brought up in my complaint.  

Business Response: Our last email (see below) sent 4/28 remains unanswered as well as the one sent on 4/17, and we are unclear as to why she will not allow us to meet with her to address the issues that are in her claim.    From: *****, *** *. Sent: Monday, April 28, 2014 1:01 PM To: '**** *' Subject: RE: ***** Windows - site visit   ****,   Do you have any time this week to meet? We have a full company meeting on Wednesday for most of the day, but I can make almost any other time work.   ***   From: **** * [mailto:*******@gmail.com] Sent: Thursday, April 17, 2014 4:10 PM To: *****, *** *. Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit   Hi. Unfortunately that doesn't work either. We are away for the kids April vacation.  Sent from my iPhone On Apr 16, 2014, at 4:51 PM, "*****, *** *." <*******@***********.com> wrote: NEW EMAIL CHAIN:   From: *****, *** *. Sent: Thursday, April 17, 2014 4:31 PM To: **** * Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: RE: ***** Windows - site visit   So that would push us to Monday the 28th, would that work?   From: **** * [mailto:*******@gmail .com] Sent: Thursday, April 17, 2014 4:10 PM To: *****, *** *. Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit   Hi. Unfortunately that doesn't work either. We are away for the kids April vacation.  Sent from my iPhone

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

In all the other complaints against ***** that I was able to view on the BBB website, ***** responded to the clients' actual concerns and offered real resolutions through the BBB forum. I was hoping ***** would respond in a similar fashion to my complaint, instead of copying and pasting emails with which I am already familiar and which don't address my actual concerns. Up to this point the ***** team members I have spoken to have brought back the discussions we have had to **** ******** to make decisions; they have acted as spokespersons and messengers for her.  **** has the final say.   In addition the most recent discussion with one  of the team members involved a threat to ruin my excellent credit rating even though final payment is not due until job completion- and the job is still not complete. The discussion also involved a threat to go to small claims court rather than work this out with me. They said the signed contract would support their case- even though I initially refused to sign it and only did after believing the handwritten changes reflected the clear verbal understanding at which we had arrived, which it did not. As I have said again and again I would love to come to a fair resolution and as soon as possible. At this point I am hopeful that meeting with **** and a mediator **** achieve this. I hope this can be done as soon as possible.  This has been a very stressful, unpleasant experience.

3/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** ******** Road ********, MA ***** January 31, 2014 Re: Consumer complaint against Pella Windows and Doors LLC ** ***** Road, *********, MA ********** ********* replacement windows and sliding patio door Dear Madam Attorney General: Please note above referenced complaint against Pella Windows and Doors regarding the purchase (and installation) of fourteen (14) ********* double hung equal split replacement Windows and one (1) sliding patio door. Five (5) Windows were replaced on November 23, 2011 (#*********) and nine (9) Windows, plus one patio door, were installed on April 17, 2013 (#*********.) The total cost $9,814.92 -- plus permits. The following complaints would only become obvious after a full, cold and snowy winter and not before that time. It is incumbent upon Pella Company, and its warranty, to refer and respond to several phone calls/messages to Project Manager ***** **** and a letter of complaint to Pella's president, *** *****, on January 10, 2014. Complaints include the defective design and construction of Pella’s ********* double hung split replacement Windows that leak air and cause cold drafts severe enough to avoid being seated close to a window in cold Weather. As a temporary expediency, I purchased and applied eight rolls of weather stripping to seven of the fourteen Windows some needing five rows of stripping to alleviate just part of the drafts, unfortunately with limited success. As a point of reference, the replacements are not much more efficient than the 55 year—old original windows and, in View of all the drafts, my heating bills over the past two years have not improved as significantly as was promised. Additionally, the half screens on these double hung Windows have What appear to be flimsy “stick pins” -- one pin on each side, as an only means to raise the screen and are not durable enough to remain in place for very long. The vinyl grip to open the sliding door was replaced with an open handle because it was too difficult to grasp without slipping off. The glass on the sliding patio door fogs completely every time it rains or snows and, worse, the tracks at the bottom of the door have no opening/ split to allow leaves, rain and debris to properly drain, unlike the previous ******** door that Pella replaced. Freezing snow and rain accumulate in the sides and bottom of the tracks causing the door to freeeze shut. Only. recourse is use of a hair dryer (Which can be dangerous) or pouring hot water on the frame and tracks. The entire track I has to be swept clean after rain or snow to prevent freezing the door lock shut, and debris that collects on each corner of the tracks has to be cleaned by hand With a special instrument. This door is used as a rear emergency exit. It should be obvious to anyone that these issues will cause warping, mold and rot, among other serious problems in the future. At the time contracts were signed and agreed upon, I believed that Pella Windows and Doors produced superior products and would employ every effort to satisfy customers‘ concerns if and when occasions arose. If I had researched their company and product before agreeing to these expensive transactions I would have been aware of their numerous and horrendous consumer complaints extending over many years, including a Class Action lawsuit. As noted, I have expressed my dissatisfaction to the project manager and the corporate office about the inferior design/construction/installation of the windows and patio sliding door to no effect. I did, however, receive a mass produced e—mail from Correspondence Specialist "****** on January 10, 2014, advising me that "President Meyer received my message" and "a Pella customer service specialist would follow-up." To date, I have not had a "follow-up" from anyone and it has become extremely difficult to cope with these ongoing problems. Sincerely yours, **** *******

Business Response: I talked to her on 2/14 in the afternoon and made an appointment to see her 2/18 at 2pm. 2/18, in the morning, I tried to reschedule for 2/19 due to the storm coming and she asked if I could come before the storm.  I rearranged and saw her at 12:30. We walked through all the units. She has peel and stick weather stripping all over the bottom rail of the bottom sash and on top of the molded sash lift. I explained that there’s no seam above the sash lift and she insisted that’s where the draft was coming from. There was a slight draft coming from the corners of the bottom sash in some windows and I told her we would replace all the pads in the jambs that the bottom sash rests on. All the other weather stripping looked to be in good condition. The ******** sliding windows in the basement are typical ****** application in concrete. She claimed the basement was 5° cooler than ever before and blamed it on the windows. I mentioned this is the coldest winter in recent years which might lead to colder conditions in the basement. Sliding door is in a porch off the kitchen and is not a heated area. She claims the ice has built up and she can’t open the door. The track that the active panel runs on is slid all the way to the lock side and water can’t get to the weep holes below. I told her we would move it over so it drains properly. I also told her to keep the screen closed to keep as much snow away from the door panel as possible. I chipped out the remaining ice and got the door and screen to close properly. She complained of debris in the track and I told her it needs to be cleaned routinely. She said the door is drafty but it’s impossible to determine as the temperature inside the room is just as cold as outside making it impossible to feel a cold draft. I did not feel air moving through the door when locked properly. I told her we would order weather stripping and schedule a tech to replace all the sill pads and to move the track over on the sliding door and said I would call her by Wednesday with a date. I called her on Wednesday 2/20 and offered to have ** *********** come over to replace a few of the pads (what he had on his van) in  a few windows to prove this will take care of the draft. She could not accommodate a visit that day. I called her 2/24, again to have ** stop by. ** did visit and found the following Changed the pads in 2 DH units. Seemed to eliminate the draft. Removed interior stop from 1 basement windows. they are installed tight in the opening with no room for spray foam. ** suggests we remove stops and recaulk all 4 windows. Agreed the SD track is in the wrong place but did not have time to remove the panel and move it today. Work to be done: We have ordered the weather strip kits for the vinyl DH’s (*******) , replace in 10 DH windows New track for the sliding door in case it breaks when removing. Remove active panel and move track away from lock side to promote proper draining. Remove stops from Basement windows and recaulk between new window and frame and between frame and concrete as needed. Customer wants to wait until April when the weather is milder to do this work.

11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted the main Pella customer service number three times, on 9/2,9/12, and 9/16. Each time I was told that an email for service request was sent to the Haverhill service center and that they would respond within 24-48 hours. I have yet to receive a call from this service center and my storm door is leaking water.

Desired Settlement: I expect the company to examine the door and either fix the problem or replace the door - before it starts getting too cold to have the door off.

Business Response: Service is scheduled for 10/9. We will contact the customer and let them know. Thank you

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. Please add your rejection comments below.  Two Days after receiving this message, I still have not been directly contacted by the company to confirm the appointment or discuss the problem.  I also do not find it acceptable that their proposed appointment is 5 weeks out from when I originally called for service.  Will they be responsible for water damage that occurs because of the delay in service?   

Business Response: We have completed all work for *** ********** by replacing one of the active panels on her door and making repairs to the fixed panel. This work is complete and the case closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on New England Window & Door, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart