BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of New England Window & Door, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

New England Window & Door, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (978) 373-2500 View Additional Phone Numbers 45 Fondi Road, Haverhill, MA 01832 http://www.pellanewengland.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pella Window & Doors is a distributor, sales and service to builders, contractors and general public.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New England Window & Door, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for New England Window & Door, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on New England Window & Door, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 31, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1990 in MA Business incorporated: 04/05/2007 in MA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8700
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The license number is 129774.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Karatjas, GM of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Dawn Karatjas, GM of Operations
Number of Employees

97

Business Category

WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES DOORS WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

New England Window & Door, LLC sells the following brand(s): Pella

New England Window & Door, LLC offers the following product(s): Entry Doors, Patio Doors, Skylights, Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Service Area
New England Window & Door, LLC provides their services in MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS & NEW HAMPSHIRE.
Alternate Business Names
Pella Windows and Doors of Boston, NH & ME
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Read Before You Sign Windows

Additional Locations

  • 1267 Washington St

    Hanover, MA 02339

  • 170 Worcester St

    Wellesley, MA 02481

  • 333 Clarks POnd Pkwy Unit 600

    S POrtland, ME 04106

  • 409 High Street Unit 1

    Ellsworth, ME 04605

  • 45 Fondi Road

    Haverhill, MA 01832 (978) 373-2500 (978) 420-3120

  • 59 Commerce Way

    Woburn, MA 01801

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (978) 420-3120(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** ******** Road ********, MA ***** January 31, 2014 Re: Consumer complaint against Pella Windows and Doors LLC ** ***** Road, *********, MA ********** ********* replacement windows and sliding patio door Dear Madam Attorney General: Please note above referenced complaint against Pella Windows and Doors regarding the purchase (and installation) of fourteen (14) ********* double hung equal split replacement Windows and one (1) sliding patio door. Five (5) Windows were replaced on November 23, 2011 (#*********) and nine (9) Windows, plus one patio door, were installed on April 17, 2013 (#*********.) The total cost $9,814.92 -- plus permits. The following complaints would only become obvious after a full, cold and snowy winter and not before that time. It is incumbent upon Pella Company, and its warranty, to refer and respond to several phone calls/messages to Project Manager ***** **** and a letter of complaint to Pella's president, *** *****, on January 10, 2014. Complaints include the defective design and construction of Pella’s ********* double hung split replacement Windows that leak air and cause cold drafts severe enough to avoid being seated close to a window in cold Weather. As a temporary expediency, I purchased and applied eight rolls of weather stripping to seven of the fourteen Windows some needing five rows of stripping to alleviate just part of the drafts, unfortunately with limited success. As a point of reference, the replacements are not much more efficient than the 55 year—old original windows and, in View of all the drafts, my heating bills over the past two years have not improved as significantly as was promised. Additionally, the half screens on these double hung Windows have What appear to be flimsy “stick pins” -- one pin on each side, as an only means to raise the screen and are not durable enough to remain in place for very long. The vinyl grip to open the sliding door was replaced with an open handle because it was too difficult to grasp without slipping off. The glass on the sliding patio door fogs completely every time it rains or snows and, worse, the tracks at the bottom of the door have no opening/ split to allow leaves, rain and debris to properly drain, unlike the previous ******** door that Pella replaced. Freezing snow and rain accumulate in the sides and bottom of the tracks causing the door to freeeze shut. Only. recourse is use of a hair dryer (Which can be dangerous) or pouring hot water on the frame and tracks. The entire track I has to be swept clean after rain or snow to prevent freezing the door lock shut, and debris that collects on each corner of the tracks has to be cleaned by hand With a special instrument. This door is used as a rear emergency exit. It should be obvious to anyone that these issues will cause warping, mold and rot, among other serious problems in the future. At the time contracts were signed and agreed upon, I believed that Pella Windows and Doors produced superior products and would employ every effort to satisfy customers‘ concerns if and when occasions arose. If I had researched their company and product before agreeing to these expensive transactions I would have been aware of their numerous and horrendous consumer complaints extending over many years, including a Class Action lawsuit. As noted, I have expressed my dissatisfaction to the project manager and the corporate office about the inferior design/construction/installation of the windows and patio sliding door to no effect. I did, however, receive a mass produced e—mail from Correspondence Specialist "****** on January 10, 2014, advising me that "President Meyer received my message" and "a Pella customer service specialist would follow-up." To date, I have not had a "follow-up" from anyone and it has become extremely difficult to cope with these ongoing problems. Sincerely yours, **** *******

Business Response: I talked to her on 2/14 in the afternoon and made an appointment to see her 2/18 at 2pm. 2/18, in the morning, I tried to reschedule for 2/19 due to the storm coming and she asked if I could come before the storm.  I rearranged and saw her at 12:30. We walked through all the units. She has peel and stick weather stripping all over the bottom rail of the bottom sash and on top of the molded sash lift. I explained that there’s no seam above the sash lift and she insisted that’s where the draft was coming from. There was a slight draft coming from the corners of the bottom sash in some windows and I told her we would replace all the pads in the jambs that the bottom sash rests on. All the other weather stripping looked to be in good condition. The ******** sliding windows in the basement are typical ****** application in concrete. She claimed the basement was 5° cooler than ever before and blamed it on the windows. I mentioned this is the coldest winter in recent years which might lead to colder conditions in the basement. Sliding door is in a porch off the kitchen and is not a heated area. She claims the ice has built up and she can’t open the door. The track that the active panel runs on is slid all the way to the lock side and water can’t get to the weep holes below. I told her we would move it over so it drains properly. I also told her to keep the screen closed to keep as much snow away from the door panel as possible. I chipped out the remaining ice and got the door and screen to close properly. She complained of debris in the track and I told her it needs to be cleaned routinely. She said the door is drafty but it’s impossible to determine as the temperature inside the room is just as cold as outside making it impossible to feel a cold draft. I did not feel air moving through the door when locked properly. I told her we would order weather stripping and schedule a tech to replace all the sill pads and to move the track over on the sliding door and said I would call her by Wednesday with a date. I called her on Wednesday 2/20 and offered to have ** *********** come over to replace a few of the pads (what he had on his van) in  a few windows to prove this will take care of the draft. She could not accommodate a visit that day. I called her 2/24, again to have ** stop by. ** did visit and found the following Changed the pads in 2 DH units. Seemed to eliminate the draft. Removed interior stop from 1 basement windows. they are installed tight in the opening with no room for spray foam. ** suggests we remove stops and recaulk all 4 windows. Agreed the SD track is in the wrong place but did not have time to remove the panel and move it today. Work to be done: We have ordered the weather strip kits for the vinyl DH’s (*******) , replace in 10 DH windows New track for the sliding door in case it breaks when removing. Remove active panel and move track away from lock side to promote proper draining. Remove stops from Basement windows and recaulk between new window and frame and between frame and concrete as needed. Customer wants to wait until April when the weather is milder to do this work.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted the main Pella customer service number three times, on 9/2,9/12, and 9/16. Each time I was told that an email for service request was sent to the Haverhill service center and that they would respond within 24-48 hours. I have yet to receive a call from this service center and my storm door is leaking water.

Desired Settlement: I expect the company to examine the door and either fix the problem or replace the door - before it starts getting too cold to have the door off.

Business Response: Service is scheduled for 10/9. We will contact the customer and let them know. Thank you

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. Please add your rejection comments below.  Two Days after receiving this message, I still have not been directly contacted by the company to confirm the appointment or discuss the problem.  I also do not find it acceptable that their proposed appointment is 5 weeks out from when I originally called for service.  Will they be responsible for water damage that occurs because of the delay in service?   

Business Response: We have completed all work for *** ********** by replacing one of the active panels on her door and making repairs to the fixed panel. This work is complete and the case closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a contractor and a pella rep come to my residence and measure my entry door to be replaced. After measuring they ordered a new door. The door panel being replaced measured 36 x 80 but the special order door they shipped measures 34 x 78, which the sales person at Pella tells me is their 36 x 80 and then I spoke to his boss who tells me that they do make a 36 x 80 panel but he was not going to exchange it because it was not their fault but that it is the contractors responsibilty. Which I would almost agree with except for the fact that the Pella rep came to my home before he would place the order to make sure we got the right door. No One ever takes the word of the home owner when placing orders like these. They want to take it themselves so that it is measured correctly! The door in question costs 4841.50 that I paid to pella. My 2 biggest Questions are that if Pella is going to send a rep out why is it that he is not responsible to tell people that 36 x 80 pella doors are really 34 x 78 by industry standerds and why is the rep not held accuntable for the measurments he came to take before ordering.

Desired Settlement: Replace the door with the proper size door.

Business Response: Mr. ********** called our office last week and we explained that the contract is between Pella Windows and his contractor (****** ****** ********) and we provided exactly what he ordered.  There was also an architectural drawing showing the wide wide door configuration with equal sized panels.  The doors was measured correctly by the contractor to keep the look consistent.  Pella works directly with the contractor who is installing the product to insure that the product size is aligned with the installation technique the contractor plans on using.  In this case, the contractor got exactly what he requested, so the claim that a mistake was made is not correct.  I have attached a copy of the contract and drawing for your review.  We have told the contractor we would be willing to work with him on ordering another door, but it is not possible to return this door.

Thanks!
**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2011, four basement windows were replaced by Pella. During the sales process, we expressed that the we wanted the windows flush on the outside of the frame. However the windows were installed on the inside of the frame thus creating a substantial space between the window and the outside frame. In other words the windows look recessed and are not even wit the exterior. We mention our dissatisfaction to the Project Manager and he advised us that since they were replacement and not new construction windows it was really the only way they could be installed. We again expressed our dissatisfaction with the appearance of the recessed windows. In addition, there is a small tear in the patio door screen. On September 2, 2011 we again contacted the project manager to try to bring this to resolution. We agreed that, instead of replacing the windows, exterior screens would be made so as to make the windows look more flush with the frames and a new screen door would be ordered. After leaving two phone messages and an email, we received a reply from the project manager that we should have been contacted with an appointment date already. I replied that we have not and and he replied that he sent them an email and was waiting for a reply. Despite sending more messages and leaving a voice mail, we have not received any further communication regarding the promised resolution.

Desired Settlement: Screen in basement windows and replace patio screen door as promised.

Business Response:

We contacted the customer today (9/23/11) and are scheduled to return on 10/20/11 to replace his sliding door screen (which was torn) and to build 4 custom screens for his basement windows.  We are building the screens to accommodate his request for a desired exterior look which is not the typical design for this window.  We are providing this as a good will gesture.  Our coordinator had problems ordering this material, as it is not part of the normal unit.  We apologize for the delay in getting a response to the customer, but we should be on track at this point.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

However, our initial contact with ****, the Project Manager, was on September 2, 2011. This is approximately seven week from our conversation with him to the date of the appointment. I don't understand what the hold up with ordering the products to be installed - the screen door is one that is manufactured by Pella and the remaining 4 screens are simply frames and screen material.

 

Regards,

 

**** **********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1