BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of New England Window & Door, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

New England Window & Door, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (978) 373-2500 View Additional Phone Numbers 45 Fondi Road, Haverhill, MA 01832 http://www.pellanewengland.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pella Window & Doors is a distributor, sales and service to builders, contractors and general public.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New England Window & Door, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for New England Window & Door, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on New England Window & Door, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 31, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1990 in MA Business incorporated: 04/05/2007 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The license number is 129774.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Karatjas, GM of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Dawn Karatjas, GM of Operations
Number of Employees

97

Business Category

WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES DOORS WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

New England Window & Door, LLC sells the following brand(s): Pella

New England Window & Door, LLC offers the following product(s): Entry Doors, Patio Doors, Skylights, Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Service Area
New England Window & Door, LLC provides their services in MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS & NEW HAMPSHIRE.
Alternate Business Names
Pella Windows and Doors of Boston, NH & ME
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Read Before You Sign Windows

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

New England Window & Door, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1267 Washington St

    Hanover, MA 02339

  • 170 Worcester St

    Wellesley, MA 02481

  • 333 Clarks POnd Pkwy Unit 600

    S POrtland, ME 04106

  • 409 High Street Unit 1

    Ellsworth, ME 04605

  • 45 Fondi Road

    Haverhill, MA 01832 (978) 373-2500 (978) 420-3120

  • 59 Commerce Way

    Woburn, MA 01801

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (978) 420-3120(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before my meeting with the ***** sales consultant I had met with other companies and contractors to discuss how to get windows with the most glass possible. By the time I met with the ***** sales consultant I had decided that I wanted all my new windows to be made out of fiberglass and all of them to be installed “tear out” in order to get the most glass possible. Two other companies independently advised me that they did not charge more for a tear out installation as compared to a “replacement” installation. At the first visit with the ***** sales consultant I asked for a quote on 12 windows. I was looking for a product and installation that would provide the most glass possible. I mentioned that I had learned that fiberglass construction windows installed as a “tear out” would allow for this, and that is what I wanted a quote on. I had already received a quote for this from another company and was meeting with the ***** representative for a comparison quote, and also because ***** could provide a 74 inch tall window for my living room, whereas the other company selling fiberglass windows could only make a 72 inch tall window. I did not want to lose 2 inches of glass. I certainly did not want to lose up to 2 inches total on the height and width of the much smaller sunroom windows either. I was under the assumption that all the quotes on the windows were based on a tear out installation because that is what would provide the most glass. I had asked my quotes to be for that so I could compare “apples to apples” with the other company. We never discussed different installation option costs on any of the windows, and I assumed this was because everything was going to be tear out. At the second visit the ***** sales consultant came to review the contract with me for me to sign. At this meeting it became clear to me that the 6 sunroom windows were not ordered for a tear out installation. It sounded as if the windows were going to be fitted in a replacement style. I clearly told the consultant that what he was describing was not what I wanted. I wanted the product and installation that would provide “the most glass possible” just like all the other windows. I wanted “tear out” (the word I had heard used by the other company) just like all the other windows. After I expressed this several times, the ***** consultant assured me that he understood I wanted “the most glass possible” and “tear out”. The sales consultant then made some written changes to the contract. I told him I did not understand construction terminology and asked him explicitly if what he had changed the contract to was going to provide me the most glass possible and tear out- just like all the other windows were going to be. He assured me that he did make the appropriate changes to the contract. The ***** consultant did not say at that meeting (as he would later say) that what I wanted, to have the most glass possible and tear out, would cost thousands of dollars (about $3000) more. Neither at the second meeting (nor at the first meeting) did he work up a quote on his computer to show me a cost comparison for different installation styles. At the second meeting he also did not bring up the subject (as he later would) that at the first meeting he thought I wanted a quote based on a “cost effective budget” and that what I was now asking for (the most glass possible and tear out) would not be in keeping with that but rather would cost thousands of dollars more. In retrospect I now realize at the second meeting I was in a vulnerable position for several reasons. 1) It did not occur to me that the price would be any different between a tear out installation and a replacement installation because two other very reputable high end companies, similar to *****, did not charge more for one installation over the other, and the ***** consultant did not mention at the first or the second meeting that ***** charges a lot more for tear out installation. 2) The sunroom windows that were there during the two meetings with the ***** salesman were storm windows, and so it did not seem odd to me that the language on the contract was different to describe them as compared to the language used to describe all the other windows, which all had metal frames that the ***** salesman said would be sawed out of the concrete holding them; 3) the terminology used in construction is a whole new vocabulary, which I was constantly in the process of picking up and learning; 4) in “window speak” there are multiple terms to describe the same thing; 5) an increase of several thousand dollars in price might have interfered with closing on the deal for the sunroom windows (I would definitely have bought the living room and other windows though). 6) ***** is a very reputable company, and I trusted the sales representative when he said he made the changes on the contract to what I said I wanted- i.e., most glass possible and tear out- just like all the other windows. 7) The quote I received from a comparable company for fiberglass windows with tear out installation for the sunroom was essentially the same amount that ***** was charging for fiberglass windows with replacement installation for the sunroom, i.e., about $1400 per window, or about $8600 total, so it did not occur to me that ***** would increase the price to provide a tear out installation. On the installation day it became evident that the ***** sales consultant had not actually handwritten in a change for a tear out construction and the most glass possible. Rather it turned out that the handwritten change the salesman made was only a cosmetic change to the trim around the window, which would make the finished trim look more like a tear out installation's finished trim, but it would not actually result in an increase to the glass area- which was my objective all along, as a real tear out construction would have. I was led to believe that what the salesman had handwritten in the contract was going to change the installation- not just the trim- from a replacement style (with less glass area) into a tear out style- which would allow for the most glass possible. To be forced to pay thousands of dollars ($8600+) for expensive windows from a high end company, and every time you pass them see they are not even what you wanted- when you could have gotten exactly what you wanted for essentially the same price- feels discouraging and irksome. The above is the major complaint. A secondary complaint is that for one of the basement windows I was quoted and charged for a tear out installation but only received a replacement installation. There are also some smaller items that have been discussed with ***** that they seem willing to accommodate. These details are mentioned in the "Desired Outcome" section below.

Desired Settlement: 1. Finish the job on the back basement window, as agreed by the project manager, to prevent air leakage and to use all full length boards. 2. On the back basement window, refund the difference between having been charged for a tear out installation and having only received a replacement installation, as agreed by the salesman. 3. Finish the exterior trim using full board lengths instead of odd sized board lengths, as discussed with the manager. Install at flush angles with each other, etc. 4. My first choice would be: without charging me additionally, remeasure sunroom for tear out installation- sized windows; remove existing windows and install the resultant larger windows with a tear out installation. My far, far, far second choice would be to receive an additional 60% discount and complete the work on the existing windows.

Business Response: Please see communication with customer. We have not been able to get a date and time that will work with her schedule Response from **** sent 4/17/2014 at 4:10 PM Hi. Unfortunately that doesn't work either. We are away for the kids April vacation. Sent from my iPhone On Apr 16, 2014, at 4:51 PM, "*****, *** *." <*******@***********.com> wrote: Hi ****, I can’t do 5:30 on Friday, I could do 5:30 on Monday. Would that work for you? From: **** * [mailto:*******@gmail.com] Sent: Wednesday, April 16, 2014 3:33 PM To: *****, *** *. Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit 5:30 to be safe Sent from my iPhone On Apr 16, 2014, at 3:30 PM, **** * <*******@gmail.com> wrote: Hi. **** 5:15 work? Sent from my iPhone On Apr 16, 2014, at 10:07 AM, "*****, *** *." <*******@*********** .com> wrote: What time will you be home from work? From: ******* ****** ******** [mailto:*******@gmail.com] Sent: Wednesday, April 16, 2014 10:04 AM To: *****, *** *. Cc: ********, ****; ****, *****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit I will still be at work. How late in the day can you meet? On Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 9:15 AM, *****, *** *. <*******@***********.com> wrote: We can do 1:00. Will that work for you? From: **** * [mailto:*******@gmail.com] Sent: Wednesday, April 16, 2014 8:47 AM To: ********, **** Cc: *****, *** *.; ****, *****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit Do you all have availability on Friday? Sent from my iPhone On Apr 15, 2014, at 3:33 PM, **** * <*******@gmail.com> wrote: My apologies. Passover has been keeping me busy. Sent from my iPhone On Apr 15, 2014, at 2:33 PM, "********, ****" <*********@***********.com> wrote: Has an appointment been made for this visit? We need to resolve this week. **** * ******** __ General Manager | ***** Windows & Doors, Inc. Serving Eastern Massachusetts, Maine and New Hampshire ?????????????? : ************ Ext *** | <image003.jpg>: ************ Cell |<image004.jpg>: *********@***********.com From: *****, *** *. Sent: Monday, April 14, 2014 11:56 AM To: **** * Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: RE: ***** Windows - site visit Hi ****, I left you a voicemail this morning. I would like to schedule a time when I can visit with ***** and we could try and resolve all outstanding installation items and discuss final payment. Could you suggest some days and times that work for you and ***** and I could try and make one of them fit our schedules? Thank you,   ******** Retail General Sales Manager ***** Windows & Doors, Inc. Serving Eastern Massachusetts, Maine and New Hampshire c ************ <image005.***>

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The company's response did not address any of the issues I brought up in my complaint.  

Business Response: Our last email (see below) sent 4/28 remains unanswered as well as the one sent on 4/17, and we are unclear as to why she will not allow us to meet with her to address the issues that are in her claim.    From: *****, *** *. Sent: Monday, April 28, 2014 1:01 PM To: '**** *' Subject: RE: ***** Windows - site visit   ****,   Do you have any time this week to meet? We have a full company meeting on Wednesday for most of the day, but I can make almost any other time work.   ***   From: **** * [mailto:*******@gmail.com] Sent: Thursday, April 17, 2014 4:10 PM To: *****, *** *. Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit   Hi. Unfortunately that doesn't work either. We are away for the kids April vacation.  Sent from my iPhone On Apr 16, 2014, at 4:51 PM, "*****, *** *." <*******@***********.com> wrote: NEW EMAIL CHAIN:   From: *****, *** *. Sent: Thursday, April 17, 2014 4:31 PM To: **** * Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: RE: ***** Windows - site visit   So that would push us to Monday the 28th, would that work?   From: **** * [mailto:*******@gmail .com] Sent: Thursday, April 17, 2014 4:10 PM To: *****, *** *. Cc: ****, *****; ********, ****; *******, ****** Subject: Re: ***** Windows - site visit   Hi. Unfortunately that doesn't work either. We are away for the kids April vacation.  Sent from my iPhone

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

In all the other complaints against ***** that I was able to view on the BBB website, ***** responded to the clients' actual concerns and offered real resolutions through the BBB forum. I was hoping ***** would respond in a similar fashion to my complaint, instead of copying and pasting emails with which I am already familiar and which don't address my actual concerns. Up to this point the ***** team members I have spoken to have brought back the discussions we have had to **** ******** to make decisions; they have acted as spokespersons and messengers for her.  **** has the final say.   In addition the most recent discussion with one  of the team members involved a threat to ruin my excellent credit rating even though final payment is not due until job completion- and the job is still not complete. The discussion also involved a threat to go to small claims court rather than work this out with me. They said the signed contract would support their case- even though I initially refused to sign it and only did after believing the handwritten changes reflected the clear verbal understanding at which we had arrived, which it did not. As I have said again and again I would love to come to a fair resolution and as soon as possible. At this point I am hopeful that meeting with **** and a mediator **** achieve this. I hope this can be done as soon as possible.  This has been a very stressful, unpleasant experience.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** ******** Road ********, MA ***** January 31, 2014 Re: Consumer complaint against Pella Windows and Doors LLC ** ***** Road, *********, MA ********** ********* replacement windows and sliding patio door Dear Madam Attorney General: Please note above referenced complaint against Pella Windows and Doors regarding the purchase (and installation) of fourteen (14) ********* double hung equal split replacement Windows and one (1) sliding patio door. Five (5) Windows were replaced on November 23, 2011 (#*********) and nine (9) Windows, plus one patio door, were installed on April 17, 2013 (#*********.) The total cost $9,814.92 -- plus permits. The following complaints would only become obvious after a full, cold and snowy winter and not before that time. It is incumbent upon Pella Company, and its warranty, to refer and respond to several phone calls/messages to Project Manager ***** **** and a letter of complaint to Pella's president, *** *****, on January 10, 2014. Complaints include the defective design and construction of Pella’s ********* double hung split replacement Windows that leak air and cause cold drafts severe enough to avoid being seated close to a window in cold Weather. As a temporary expediency, I purchased and applied eight rolls of weather stripping to seven of the fourteen Windows some needing five rows of stripping to alleviate just part of the drafts, unfortunately with limited success. As a point of reference, the replacements are not much more efficient than the 55 year—old original windows and, in View of all the drafts, my heating bills over the past two years have not improved as significantly as was promised. Additionally, the half screens on these double hung Windows have What appear to be flimsy “stick pins” -- one pin on each side, as an only means to raise the screen and are not durable enough to remain in place for very long. The vinyl grip to open the sliding door was replaced with an open handle because it was too difficult to grasp without slipping off. The glass on the sliding patio door fogs completely every time it rains or snows and, worse, the tracks at the bottom of the door have no opening/ split to allow leaves, rain and debris to properly drain, unlike the previous ******** door that Pella replaced. Freezing snow and rain accumulate in the sides and bottom of the tracks causing the door to freeeze shut. Only. recourse is use of a hair dryer (Which can be dangerous) or pouring hot water on the frame and tracks. The entire track I has to be swept clean after rain or snow to prevent freezing the door lock shut, and debris that collects on each corner of the tracks has to be cleaned by hand With a special instrument. This door is used as a rear emergency exit. It should be obvious to anyone that these issues will cause warping, mold and rot, among other serious problems in the future. At the time contracts were signed and agreed upon, I believed that Pella Windows and Doors produced superior products and would employ every effort to satisfy customers‘ concerns if and when occasions arose. If I had researched their company and product before agreeing to these expensive transactions I would have been aware of their numerous and horrendous consumer complaints extending over many years, including a Class Action lawsuit. As noted, I have expressed my dissatisfaction to the project manager and the corporate office about the inferior design/construction/installation of the windows and patio sliding door to no effect. I did, however, receive a mass produced e—mail from Correspondence Specialist "****** on January 10, 2014, advising me that "President Meyer received my message" and "a Pella customer service specialist would follow-up." To date, I have not had a "follow-up" from anyone and it has become extremely difficult to cope with these ongoing problems. Sincerely yours, **** *******

Business Response: I talked to her on 2/14 in the afternoon and made an appointment to see her 2/18 at 2pm. 2/18, in the morning, I tried to reschedule for 2/19 due to the storm coming and she asked if I could come before the storm.  I rearranged and saw her at 12:30. We walked through all the units. She has peel and stick weather stripping all over the bottom rail of the bottom sash and on top of the molded sash lift. I explained that there’s no seam above the sash lift and she insisted that’s where the draft was coming from. There was a slight draft coming from the corners of the bottom sash in some windows and I told her we would replace all the pads in the jambs that the bottom sash rests on. All the other weather stripping looked to be in good condition. The ******** sliding windows in the basement are typical ****** application in concrete. She claimed the basement was 5° cooler than ever before and blamed it on the windows. I mentioned this is the coldest winter in recent years which might lead to colder conditions in the basement. Sliding door is in a porch off the kitchen and is not a heated area. She claims the ice has built up and she can’t open the door. The track that the active panel runs on is slid all the way to the lock side and water can’t get to the weep holes below. I told her we would move it over so it drains properly. I also told her to keep the screen closed to keep as much snow away from the door panel as possible. I chipped out the remaining ice and got the door and screen to close properly. She complained of debris in the track and I told her it needs to be cleaned routinely. She said the door is drafty but it’s impossible to determine as the temperature inside the room is just as cold as outside making it impossible to feel a cold draft. I did not feel air moving through the door when locked properly. I told her we would order weather stripping and schedule a tech to replace all the sill pads and to move the track over on the sliding door and said I would call her by Wednesday with a date. I called her on Wednesday 2/20 and offered to have ** *********** come over to replace a few of the pads (what he had on his van) in  a few windows to prove this will take care of the draft. She could not accommodate a visit that day. I called her 2/24, again to have ** stop by. ** did visit and found the following Changed the pads in 2 DH units. Seemed to eliminate the draft. Removed interior stop from 1 basement windows. they are installed tight in the opening with no room for spray foam. ** suggests we remove stops and recaulk all 4 windows. Agreed the SD track is in the wrong place but did not have time to remove the panel and move it today. Work to be done: We have ordered the weather strip kits for the vinyl DH’s (*******) , replace in 10 DH windows New track for the sliding door in case it breaks when removing. Remove active panel and move track away from lock side to promote proper draining. Remove stops from Basement windows and recaulk between new window and frame and between frame and concrete as needed. Customer wants to wait until April when the weather is milder to do this work.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted the main Pella customer service number three times, on 9/2,9/12, and 9/16. Each time I was told that an email for service request was sent to the Haverhill service center and that they would respond within 24-48 hours. I have yet to receive a call from this service center and my storm door is leaking water.

Desired Settlement: I expect the company to examine the door and either fix the problem or replace the door - before it starts getting too cold to have the door off.

Business Response: Service is scheduled for 10/9. We will contact the customer and let them know. Thank you

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. Please add your rejection comments below.  Two Days after receiving this message, I still have not been directly contacted by the company to confirm the appointment or discuss the problem.  I also do not find it acceptable that their proposed appointment is 5 weeks out from when I originally called for service.  Will they be responsible for water damage that occurs because of the delay in service?   

Business Response: We have completed all work for *** ********** by replacing one of the active panels on her door and making repairs to the fixed panel. This work is complete and the case closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a contractor and a pella rep come to my residence and measure my entry door to be replaced. After measuring they ordered a new door. The door panel being replaced measured 36 x 80 but the special order door they shipped measures 34 x 78, which the sales person at Pella tells me is their 36 x 80 and then I spoke to his boss who tells me that they do make a 36 x 80 panel but he was not going to exchange it because it was not their fault but that it is the contractors responsibilty. Which I would almost agree with except for the fact that the Pella rep came to my home before he would place the order to make sure we got the right door. No One ever takes the word of the home owner when placing orders like these. They want to take it themselves so that it is measured correctly! The door in question costs 4841.50 that I paid to pella. My 2 biggest Questions are that if Pella is going to send a rep out why is it that he is not responsible to tell people that 36 x 80 pella doors are really 34 x 78 by industry standerds and why is the rep not held accuntable for the measurments he came to take before ordering.

Desired Settlement: Replace the door with the proper size door.

Business Response: Mr. ********** called our office last week and we explained that the contract is between Pella Windows and his contractor (****** ****** ********) and we provided exactly what he ordered.  There was also an architectural drawing showing the wide wide door configuration with equal sized panels.  The doors was measured correctly by the contractor to keep the look consistent.  Pella works directly with the contractor who is installing the product to insure that the product size is aligned with the installation technique the contractor plans on using.  In this case, the contractor got exactly what he requested, so the claim that a mistake was made is not correct.  I have attached a copy of the contract and drawing for your review.  We have told the contractor we would be willing to work with him on ordering another door, but it is not possible to return this door.

Thanks!
**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June 2011, four basement windows were replaced by Pella. During the sales process, we expressed that the we wanted the windows flush on the outside of the frame. However the windows were installed on the inside of the frame thus creating a substantial space between the window and the outside frame. In other words the windows look recessed and are not even wit the exterior. We mention our dissatisfaction to the Project Manager and he advised us that since they were replacement and not new construction windows it was really the only way they could be installed. We again expressed our dissatisfaction with the appearance of the recessed windows. In addition, there is a small tear in the patio door screen. On September 2, 2011 we again contacted the project manager to try to bring this to resolution. We agreed that, instead of replacing the windows, exterior screens would be made so as to make the windows look more flush with the frames and a new screen door would be ordered. After leaving two phone messages and an email, we received a reply from the project manager that we should have been contacted with an appointment date already. I replied that we have not and and he replied that he sent them an email and was waiting for a reply. Despite sending more messages and leaving a voice mail, we have not received any further communication regarding the promised resolution.

Desired Settlement: Screen in basement windows and replace patio screen door as promised.

Business Response:

We contacted the customer today (9/23/11) and are scheduled to return on 10/20/11 to replace his sliding door screen (which was torn) and to build 4 custom screens for his basement windows.  We are building the screens to accommodate his request for a desired exterior look which is not the typical design for this window.  We are providing this as a good will gesture.  Our coordinator had problems ordering this material, as it is not part of the normal unit.  We apologize for the delay in getting a response to the customer, but we should be on track at this point.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

However, our initial contact with ****, the Project Manager, was on September 2, 2011. This is approximately seven week from our conversation with him to the date of the appointment. I don't understand what the hold up with ordering the products to be installed - the screen door is one that is manufactured by Pella and the remaining 4 screens are simply frames and screen material.

 

Regards,

 

**** **********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.