Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Hi-Tech Window & Siding Installations, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hi-Tech Window & Siding Installations, Inc.

Phone: (800) 851-0900 29 Arrowwood Street, Methuen, MA 01844 http://hitechcorp.biz

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hi-Tech Window & Siding Installation, Inc. is a residential and commercial contractor.  Some of the many services they provide are window sales and installation(new and replacement), doors, gutters, downspouts, vinyl siding, cedar siding and more.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hi-Tech Window & Siding Installations, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hi-Tech Window & Siding Installations, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hi-Tech Window & Siding Installations, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 09, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1995 in MA Business incorporated: 08/21/2009 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The number is 118836.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is 106508.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Chase, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Chase, President
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES SIDING CONTRACTORS PATIO, PORCH & DECK ENCLOSURES DOORS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS SIDING MATERIALS STORM WINDOWS & DOORS DOORS - REPAIRING VINYL SIDING WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT DOORS - INSTALLATION WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE WINDOWS - WOOD WINDOWS - VINYL CONTRACTORS - GUTTERS WINDOWS - EGRESS DOORS - FRENCH Finish Carpentry Contractors (NAICS: 238350)

Products & Services

Hi-Tech Window & Siding Installations, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Certainteed, Harvey, James Hardy, Pella, Sunrise, Thermal Industries, Trim Saver

Method(s) of Payment
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Debit Card
Financing
Service Area
Hi-Tech Window & Siding Installations, Inc. provides their services in ABINGTON, ACCORD, ACTON, ALLSTON, ANDOVER, ARLINGTON, AUBURNDALE, AVON, BEDFORD, BELLINGHAM, BILLERICA, BOSTON, BOSTON CLG, BOSTON COLLEGE, BOXBORO, BOXBOROUGH, BRADFORD, BRAINTREE, BRANT ROCK, BRIGHTON, BROCKTON, BROOKLINE, BRYANTVILLE, BURLINGTON, CAMBRIDGE, CANTON, CARLISLE, CHARLESTOWN, CHELMSFORD, CHELSEA, CHESTNUT HILL, DEDHAM, DORCHESTER, DORCHESTER CENTER, DORCHESTR CTR, E ARLINGTON, E CAMBRIDGE, E WATERTOWN, EAST ARLINGTON, EAST BOSTON, EAST CAMBRIDGE, EAST WATERTOWN, EVERETT, FOXBORO, FOXBOROUGH, FRAMINGHAM, FRANKLIN, GEORGETOWN, GROVE HALL, HAMILTON, HANSCOM AFB, HARVARD SQ, HARVARD SQUARE, HAVERHILL, HINGHAM, HOLLISTON, HOPKINTON, HUDSON, HYDE PARK, JAMAICA PLAIN, KATES CORNER, LAKEVILLE, LAWRENCE, LOWELL, LYNNFIELD, MALDEN, MARLBOROUGH, MATTAPAN, MEDFIELD, MEDFORD, MEDWAY, MELROSE, MIDDLEBORO, MIDDLEBOROUGH, MIDDLETON, MISSION HILL, N CAMBRIDGE, NATICK, NEEDHAM, NEEDHAM HEIGHTS, NEEDHAM HGTS, NEWBURY, NEWBURYPORT, NEWTON, NEWTON CENTER, NEWTON CENTRE, NEWTON HIGHLANDS, NEWTON HLDS, NEWTON L F, NEWTON LOWER FALLS, NEWTON U F, NEWTON UPPER FALLS, NEWTONVILLE, NONANTUM, NORTH CAMBRIDGE, NORTH QUINCY, NORTH WALTHAM, QUINCY, READING, READVILLE, ROSLINDALE, ROXBURY, ROXBURY CROSSING, ROXBURY XING, S CHELMSFORD, SOMERVILLE, SOUTH BOSTON, SOUTH WALTHAM, SQUANTUM, STONEHAM, SUDBURY, TEWKSBURY, TOPSFIELD, TUFTS UNIV, TUFTS UNIVERSITY, UPHAMS CORNER, VILLAGE OF NAGOG WOODS, VLG NAGOG WDS, W SOMERVILLE, WALTHAM, WARD HILL, WATERTOWN, WAVERLEY, WAYLAND, WENDELL, WEST NEWTON, WEST ROXBURY, WEST SOMERVILLE, WINCHESTER, WINTER HILL, WOBURN & WOLLASTON, MA.
Alternate Business Names
Hi - Tech Window & Siding Installations
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Windows

Additional Locations

  • 29 Arrowwood Street

    Methuen, MA 01844 (800) 851-0900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company showed up at our house on Friday, May 16th without any scheduled appointment and proceeded to hand us a bill for an estimate of $75.00. We have not agreed or requested for them to come to our house for an estimate. I am actually looking to replace 2 storm doors, not windows or sidings. We were looking online at HomeAdvisors.com for suitable contractors. We entered phone and address for contact. We expected the company to make contact with us first to schedule appointment. We would never be contracting windows and siding contractors when we actually only need to replace storm doors. In addition, the contractor consultant was extremely rude and unprofessional!

Desired Settlement: We do not want to and should not have to pay for the $75.00 of estimate because we have not authorized for them to come.

Business Response: Mr *** absolutely scheduled an appointment with us for a door estimate on May  16th at 11am. He did not cancel this appointment as he claims. When the Hi Tech representative showed up at the agreed time there was no one home at Mr ***'s residence Hi Tech called Mr *** around 11:20 to ask if he remembered about the appointment.  He said he was all set and wasn't going to be there.  Hi Tech's rep traveled over 1 hour to be at Mr ***'s residence for this estimate Mr ***'s lack of respect and disregard for the estimator's time is the real issue here. In the future, Mr *** should be more considerate of contractor's efforts to accommodate estimating projects at his house Hi Tech does not have time or energy to waste on this issue. Hi Tech does not wish to bid any future work at Mr ***'s home. Please tell Mr *** not to call us again going forward.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March, 2006, my husband(who is now deceased) Hi-Tech windows & siding to side the house & install new windows. At the time, my husband & I were working, so we didn't see the work actually done. I did go out 1 morning & they had an underage person putting some siding on. I called the owner & told him we didn't hire teenagers to do this work & if they didn't have qualified professional staff, we would stop construction. We paid about $60.000.00 for this renovation & now the side of the porch completely fall down, damaging railings on 1st floor porch and stairs. They were suppose to take down wood that was rotten before putting up siding. When we return from work the new siding was done, question them if they did remove wood, which they said they did. I have been fighting with this company since this happen (2010) & they refuse to fix it. The son **** ***** *** said he was the 1 who came down to view the damage when it was actually his father. They know that I'm suing **** ** *******, where they think I'm going to lose my home, but I have an attorney working with me on this issue. I think this is why HI Tech won't fix their inferior work. in their booklet it states Installation workmanship guarantee for 5 years & manufacturer's guarantee for life. Also on the front of their catalog say Hi Tech install windows & siding on Mt. Washington, (worst weather in the world). **** ***** *** has done nothing but lie & continues to do so. If my husband was alive, I'm sure the problem would have been fixed. Mr.. ***** also lied to Office of the Attorney General stating that I had a new roof put on after their work was done. I had a roof put on my home over 15 years ago. He is also saying ice storms did the damage! What do they have on Mt. Washington. This has cause me a lot of stress, I'm disabled & live alone. I've also fallen many times because of this. I have tenants on the 1st floor they can't use the back stairs. I'm tired of being intimidated by this man. I want this company to live up to their guarantee & promise. I've never seen the salesman, ****, who convinced my husband into this sale. I remember him saying we could not cancel because the company could sue us if we cancelled! I thought we had 3 business days to cancelled anything if we changed our minds or found a better product. This company took advantage of my sick husband, he was a liver transplant patient, was not clearly thinking.

Desired Settlement: I want this to be repaired as soon as possible or money to have another contractor do the work. I haven't got any estimates as yet.

Business Response: Unfortunately, this is the 2nd time Ms ******** has filed a complaint with the BBB
My stance on this has not changed on this issue from when I responded the last time.

Hi Tech is not responsible for the gutter falling down from her porch.
The historic ice storm we had a couple years back has caused a gutter and fascia board Hi Tech installed over 8 years ago to fall down.
I personally responded promptly to Ms *********'s complaint when she first called in a couple years ago. 
This was/is an insurance claim and I told Ms ******** she should call her insurance co. to cover her loss.

It should also be noted, over the last couple years, Ms ******** and her son have left threatening and vulgar messages on the companies voicemail which have been saved.

Hi Tech is willing to fix this issue but it is a charge item. Even if this was a workmanship issue,which Ms ******** says it is, Hi Tech provides a 5 year workmanship guarantee which expired long before her original complaint.

Consumer Response:

Att. **** ***** has never been to my home it was his father. He is being very untruthful because I have been dealing with this before for more than 3 years. First he says it was because I had a roof put on after having the siding. I haven't had a new roof for over 15 yrs. It states in their catalog all products are fully guaranteed 100% so I was within the time limit. My husband passed away a little over 6yrs and we had the job done 1 yr. before he passed. He is taking advantage of me because 1st. I'm a women & 2nd because I'm a widow. These workers didn't take down the rotten wood as they were suppose to & my husband & I were working while this part of the house was down. His worker were terrible leaving debris & nails all over the property. He even had kids under the age of 16 working there so I called the office & told them I didn't hire children! There are 2 different companies ** **** *** ****** ****** which is own by both father & son. The first tie I met Att. ***** is when his father sent me to talk to him about the case I'm having with Countywide forging my name on documents. I have an attorney for this. Att. ***** is not doing the work because he thinks I'm losing my home! We spent over $60.000. for this & he thinks I should pay for their inferior work! These people are scam artist & are taking advange of

 

 

9/15/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The cellar window has unsealed particle board in the window. Rain water has saturated the particle board and caused it to swell and is covered in black mold. It is extremely difficult to close the window. I have called the company on July 31st , Aug 1st , Aug 2nd and Aug 5 2013. I have never received a call back but Mr.***** on the recording each time has said "I will get right back to you." As of today , August 13 , 2013 I have yet to hear from mr. ***** regarding these four calls.

Desired Settlement: Repair window or replace present one.

Business Response: Not sure where this is coming from We did a service call at Ms ******'s house earlier this Summer on a screen issue she was having Even though her job was done many years past the warranty life, we did not charge her the fee due I spoke with Ms ****** last week and quoted her $325 to replace the window she is having trouble with She says this is too much Quoted her 1/2 the amount to repair Still waiting for her response We are not interested in working with Ms ****** anymore. This is very frustrating for her to complain to the BBB about this. Her warranty is expired and Hi Tech has no obligation to service her Please have Ms ****** work with another contractor

7/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 21, 2004 I purchased & installed dark green vinyl siding, white soffits, white downspouts & white gutters from Hi-tech Windows & Siding. They have an "8-point Guarantee" which included LIFETIME manufacturers guarantee of the shingles. I purchased this thinking it would not only eliminate the need for painting (at my age) but essentally be an advantage when it came time to sell the house. In the last few years the siding is fading significantly leaving sections that are almost white - it used to look beautiful now it looks awful and cannot even be painted. I have reached out to Hi-Tech and was told I had to contact the manufacturer for replacement and they would reinstall (since they guaranteed shouldn't they be chasing this??) I contacted Alside, the manufacturer of the Pelican Bay product I ORDERED (also listed on the receipt) - they required that I send them a section of the siding ( I had to cut off a piece in a hidden area and send to them= damaging the siding) They claimed it is not their product. My son has been trying to contact Hi-Tech's presidednt (**** *****) unsuccessfully - he has not returned his calls. I am 90 years old and am hoping to sell and downsize as it is hard for me to mainain or afford the large house on a limited income. I am on a waiting list for senior housing. Having my house look this bad is going to make it difficult for me to sell. From their website: All of Hi-Tech's products are virtually maintenance-free because the color is formulated right into the vinyl. That means they won't ever scratch, dent, chip, peel and they'll never need painting. Our vinyl siding is durable, and never dents, rots, or rusts. It is virtually maintenance-free. We guarantee it! Built-in UV protectors prevent uneven color fading, and the colors are built into the siding, so they will never chip, peel, flake, or show scratches. Hi-Tech Vinyl Siding forms the ultimate interlocking barrier against rain, salt, snow, and sun.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stand behind their guarantee (on the back of my receipt ) and replace the siding without any cost to me. NOTE: My daughter has also contacted the attorney generals office on my behalf.

Business Response: I have been out personally to see Mr ******* to look at his issue when he first called. I have also spoken to his son on many occasions about this. I assure you Mr ******* has not been ignored in this situation. He may not be happy with the answer Hi Tech has given him but he has not been ignored. I have contacted Alside and have tried to get them to cover their warranty for Mr ******* with no prevail. This was communicated to Mr *******'s son as well.

As Mr ******* mentioned, It is a Life Time warranty supplied by the manufacturer "Alside" not Hi Tech. Although it is unfortunate Alside will not cover it's product warranty, it is not Hi Tech's fault. Hi Tech is not the manufacturer!

I do not appreciate the fact Mr. ******* and his children are complaining to the BBB and The Norfolk Attorney General about this issue when all parties know Hi Tech has not ignored them and has done everything possible to get a favorable resolution to solve this issue. I consider this slander and will be contacting my attorney.Their problem is not a workmanship issue it is a Manufacturer's issue. The *******'s problem should be with Alside not Hi Tech.

The research I have done is the following. The product on Mr. *******'s house is a product called "Pelican Bay". Alside sold this product under their name at the time it was installed. My findings show Alside subcontracted the production of this product to Atlantis Plastics. Even though Alside marketed "Pelican Bay" as their own branded product, they now claim they did not make it and as a result will not stand behind this warranty claim.

Please see the attached letter, Mr. ******* wrote to Hi Tech dated June 16, 2012 stating his frustration with Alside and the fact we did a "superb" job.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have attached HiTech's response to my BBB complaint  (see below).   

To our knowledge HiTech did not come to look at the house (unless this was done when my Dad was not there and they never notified him.) My father was originally told by HiTech that the manufacturer  of his siding was Certainteed  and he would have to go after the manufacturer himself regarding the warranty.   HiTech told my Dad that HiTech would provide the labor but he had to get the replacement siding from the manufacturer(who they initially told him was Certainteed). When certainteed had not idea what he was taling about I told my Dad to doublecheck his HiTech order/receipts (attached) where it clearly states Alside Pelican Bay was what he ordered from HiTech.   So my father then contacted Alside.   

BTW- HiTech also spoke to my brother once and did not return my brother’s  follow up calls/messages on 10/22 & 11/8.  My brother also attempted to send a certified letter but it was returned because the address on the order form is no longer a valid address (moved?)  THAT is why it took placing a BBB  complaint to attempt to get a response.  If Alside did a “bait & switch” or "subcontracted" and provided something that was not what was ordered by HiTech nor warranteed - why is HiTech not chasing after them ? Why is HiTech telling my 90 year old father he has to do it ?   My father did not place the order with Alside - my father placed his order with HiTech.   If you look at what Alside was requesting for warranty proof my 90 yr old father could not possibly provide what they were asking  (no layman could) Instead he was told he had to cut a chunk out of the siding on the back of the house and send to them.   We cannot get/provide the full 2 story house measurements nor the original HiTech order proof/ info they requested on the warranty . That information resides with HiTech - HiTech placed the order with Alside - not us.  

How are WE to prove that what was ordered by  HiTech was not what was provided?   How are WE  to fight that manufacturers warranty battle ? My father purchased this siding from HiTech in good faith, because of HiTech's highly touted company "8 Point Guarantee" (see attached guarantee),  their A+ BBB rating  &  Pelican Bay siding's supposed lifetime warranty (see atttached warranty).   It was expensive but he thought of it as an investment.  Per the salesman, in addition to being maintenance free ,  if/when he wanted to sell the house,  the siding would be a "value add".  At first the siding was gorgeous - now it looks just horrible.  Yes,  HiTech did an excellent job of INSTALLING the siding , however, the product itself is obviously defective.  

Now what was once beautiful dark green siding is VERY faded/bleached out looking  siding and has large random sections of white (obviously defective- see attached picture).  Now at 90 years old this very kind man, when he needs the money from selling the house (on a list to get into senior housing) - gets  the runaround and everyone passing the buck.   HiTech does not want to stand behind their "guarantee"  and Alside does not want to stand behind their product "warranty"... and nobody but the Attorney General's office seems to care .... very  disappointing.  So no, the response does not "satisy the complaint"  or "resolve the issue/ or concerns"  but looks like nobody cares...so it appears  we are at an impasse  .. Again very sad & disappointing....We will attempt to go after Alside but without the proper paperwork & information that resides with  HiTech  it is doubtful we will be able to get any resolution.

I have been out personally to see Mr ******* to look at his issue when he first called. I have also spoken to his son on many occasions about this. I assure you Mr ******* has not been ignored in this situation. He may not be happy with the answer Hi Tech has given him but he has not been ignored. I have contacted Alside and have tried to get them to cover their warranty for Mr ******* with no prevail. This was communicated to Mr *******'s son as well. As Mr ******* mentioned, It is a Life Time warranty supplied by the manufacturer "Alside" not Hi Tech. Although it is unfortunate Alside will not cover it's product warranty, it is not Hi Tech's fault. Hi Tech is not the manufacturer! I do not appreciate the fact Mr. ******* and his children are complaining to the BBB and The Norfolk Attorney General about this issue when all parties know Hi Tech has not ignored them and has done everything possible to get a favorable resolution to solve this issue. I consider this slander and will be contacting my attorney. Their problem is not a workmanship issue it is a Manufacturer's issue. The *******'s problem should be with Alside not Hi Tech. The research I have done is the following. The product on Mr. *******'s house is a product called "Pelican Bay". Alside sold this product under their name at the time it was installed. My findings show Alside subcontracted the production of this product to Atlantis Plastics. Even though Alside marketed "Pelican Bay" as their own branded product, they now claim they did not make it and as a result will not stand behind this warranty claim.

Please see the attached letter, Mr. ******* wrote to Hi Tech dated June 16, 2012 stating his frustration with Alside and the fact we did a "superb" job.    

Business Response: Hi Tech's response remains the same as rebutted in it's response to complaint.  The only thing I would like to add is I personally visited Mr ******* at his home to view this problem. Mr ******* was home and I spoke to him about this issue. His daughter says I did not go out but this is untrue.

6/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have installed a new *** Roof System on my home, after 5 years the roof started leaking. I tried calling many times to get help no one ever picked up the phone I have left messages after messages nobody returned my call. After 6 years somebody finally called me back and sent a tech to look at It, and the tech has said in order to fix the problem I would have to pay $2200. According to them I have a 25-year shingle warranty. The roof is still leaking it's now 9 years I still can't get no one to talk to. the roof leaks in the kitchen, living room, and a small room every time it rains, snows.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix the problem, or give me some type of refund to pay for it.

Business Response: I went to look at this issue personally on September 2nd 2011At that time, the customer and I agreed the problem was not due to the roof Hi Tech installed but it was either due to the siding or other roof over the kitchen that Hi Tech did not touch. I had my estimator figure out what it would cost to fix her problem that Hi Tech had nothing to do with from the start. The customer decided to do nothing at the time. I haven't received a call or any contact from this customer since.The fact this customer is claiming she has tried to reach us for 6 years is ludicrous!Perhaps what I am saying was not made clear the first time, but we can certainly come out again and go over our explanation.

In closing, I have to say I am disappointed this was reported to the BBB when the customer was not ignored and a solution was put forward. 

1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a vinyl siding job of house with hi-tech windows and siding a few years ago. I did not realize how poor the job was done recently because I am not well-educated on this kind of job and I did not watch the whole day while the job was done. 1st, they did not put ***** insulation sheets on the walls before starting but just put the sidings on. 2nd, they insisted that I need to change the electric line on my house so it will not cause risk to the installer, so I paid extra $700 to do that. However, the installers did the siding before the electric line was even put up. 3rd, when they finished the job, they told me that they will leave some of the extra panels just in case for future accidental damage, however, when I came back from work, all the extra panels were gone, not even one panel left. 4th, there were two panels on the backwall that have small holes/cracks on it. A defect of the panels. 5th, when they install the siding panels on the side of my house, they did not first take off the cable line, put the sidings on, then put back the cable line. But instead, they put the panels on top of the cable line. During storm Sandy, my neighbor's tree fell onto the cable line, the tension on the cable line pull off the sidings on the wall and damaged the sidings with several of the panels. That is absolutely poor craftsmanship, if they install the panels correctly, this accidently will not damage the siding. 6th, I have been trying to contact Hi-Tech Windows and Sidings for over 1.5 months with numerous phone calls, they barely respond until I left them a message stating I am going to file complaints to BBB. They responded to this message and sent someone to inspect and estimate the damage. They said to me it is all my responsibility to cover all the cost, from material to installation. I agreed to pay the material (which I think they should pay) even with the defect panels on the back wall, but request they to repair the panels for free (which I think they should do). However, they refuse and insist that I will have to pay all the cost. Even with that, their response to repair was tepid and no longer respond to my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: they should repair for free or minimal charge on the repair. I will agree to pay the material cost.

Business Response: My service tech **** ***** went to Mr ***'s home shortly after Super Storm Sandy.  After examining Mr. ***'s house, he concluded the damage caused to the siding work we did almost 5 years ago was caused by Super Storm Sandy. I told Mr *** there would be a material and labor charge to do the repair. He thought this was unfair and thought we should cover all costs.

It is my opinion, Hi Tech is not responsible in any way and therefore should not have to cover associated costs to the damage to Mr. ***'s house.  We offered to do the work at a deep discounted rate but Mr. *** still thought he should not have to cover labor costs.

Hi Tech is no longer interested in performing service work for Mr *** and wish him the best of luck.

9/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had all the windows in my house replaced with energy efficient window by Hi-Tech because they advertised longevity - second generation family owned company, lifetime warranty, company backed commitment and BBB member. Around Martin Luther King day in January, one of the Hi-Tech windows exploded during the night from inside the house. Shards of glass were sent all over the bathroom which the window was in. It was only the inside portion of the double paned window which broke. I called Hi-Tech to report the problem and was told by **** ***** that someone would be out to take a look at it. No one showed so I called again and was told that someone would be out on Friday March 8th. On that day I called again around 3 o'clock in the afternoon to find out where the person was. Around 5-5:30 someone finally showed to look at and measure the window. The representative told me the company which produces the window went out of business and that it would take a while to get it ordered and there would be an installation fee which I said would be fine. As of June of this year I haven't heard a word from the company so I called all the phone numbers listed on there forms of which there are at least 5 only to find they have been disconnected. I tried calling the numbers a second time and got an answering machine which I left a message on to no avail. I have since taken this BBB credited companies life time warrantied window to a repair shop nearby and had it fixed for $85.00. Can you tell me for what purpose is the BBB symbol with regards to any business when I cannot get a response from the company which you are associated with.

Desired Settlement: Payment for the broken window repair. $85.00

5/26/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2003, Hi-Tech replaced all the windows in our house with the ********* ****** windows. Recently, one of the windows' sash started to show signs of the hermetic seal failure. This type of failure is covered by the lifetime warranty and the sash is supposed to be replace free of charge. We contacted Hi-Tech via email on April 23, 2012 explaining the problem and requesting service. Hi-Tech replied and confirmed receipt of the request, but failed
to follow-up on it in spite of a number of subsequent requests from us. Clearly, Hi-Tech seems to be reluctant to honor its guarantees they advirtised at the time of signing the contract. We have also contacted ******, the manufacturer of the windows, but they have not expressed any interest either. The sash has numerous dark spots of mold inside between the panes and the views are not clear through the window. The specs of the sash was provided to Hi-Tech at the time of the original request.

Desired Settlement: We need a replacement sash from Hi-Tech

Business Response: Thank you for this feedback.  I am curious who Mr ******* spoke with at Hi Tech. We have no record of phone call or email for his service request but would be glad to assist.

As Mr ******* stated Hi Tech is not the manufacturer of the product. ****** (the manufacturer) is very slow in responding to service requests. They are very inconsistent with delivery of parts. Delivery times range from 1 month to 1 year.
This is the reason we no longer use them as a preferred vendor and haven't since 2007. However, Hi Tech is committed to assisting customers who have ****** windows installed in their home. Please feel free to contact me direct through
email or cell phone to help start the service process. My cell # is ************ and email is ********@hitechcorp.biz.  Please also be aware the 5 year workmanship guarantee that is described on your contract has expired and there will
be a $85.00 service fee associated with your request.

Best
****