Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Diamond Windows and Doors Manufacturing

Phone: (617) 282-1688 Fax: (617) 282-2208 99 E Cottage St, Boston, MA 02125 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.diamondwindows.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Diamond Windows and Doors Manufacturing, Inc. is a manufacturer of windows and doors. The company distributes through dealers and general contractors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Diamond Windows and Doors Manufacturing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Diamond Windows and Doors Manufacturing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Diamond Windows and Doors Manufacturing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 02, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1992 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1992 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Yu-Liang Tseng, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Patrick Tsang, Inside Sales Mgr. / Complaint Handler
Principal: Mr. Yu-Liang Tseng, President
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS Flat Glass Manufacturing (NAICS: 327211)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Diamond Windows and Doors Manufacturing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased many windows 13 years ago through a contractor. One of the double pane windows is now leaking. I also have 2 screens that have also unattached at the bottom of the screen. I was told that the company has one person that does repairs, and they were booking out a month to inspect the window (not repair it). I was also told that they would need to find my information from 13 yrs ago before scheduling my repair. I was told that I should sit and wait for a call. I was also told: that I was a nobody and nothing special, and I would wait my time in line like everyone else. I asked to speak to the owner, and the person told me I was never going to speak to the owner.

Desired Settlement: For the window & screens to be fixed within 30 days, or refund my money for the window & installation to replace them.

Business Response: COMPLAINT ID : ******* Date of Filed : 6/27/2013 To BBB  First of all, we did not refuse or ignore her call,but she keeps calling many times to us and her contractorfor the windows over 13 years old. She does not understand that she need to give us a reasonable time to do our job. She also does not realize that we will charge her a labor charge and 50%the cost of insulated glass for windows over 10 years. We will call her next week to schedule an appointment. Again, We will follow our normal procedure to handle her case. no exception.Thank you for your mediation *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I did not state that the company refused or ignored my call in my complaint. I called the company twice, and that was because I was told the manager was in a meeting when I asked to speak with one. I did call my contractor as I do feel 30 days is not a reasonable time to wait to have someone to review the window.  The conversation with Diamond never got to a discussion of what they would like to charge me. There is a 20 year warranty on the window, so I don’t understand why they are stating my windows are 13yrs old? What difference does it matter if they are 3 or 13 yrs old? I have one window that is currently leaking and 15 others that all have issues with them as well. That is every window that was installed in my home. I find the product defective.  I am still waiting for a call. I was originally told by Sue on 6/27/13 that someone would call me on Monday to set up an appointment. I was told in the complaint someone would call this week, it is now Friday and there is no call.  There is a known issue with the Swiggle Seal issue in the Insulated Glassunits for that time period, and the company admitted this online.  I have documentation from 2 other claims filed.  How can you want to charge a customer for a known defective issue?  Like the other customers, I just want a returned phone call and the windows fixed free of charge for a known defective product.  These windows should have been recalled and replaced when you knew there was an issue. I am not rejecting the offer to fix the windows, I do not feel I should pay for a defective known issue. I would expect the company to stand behind their product and make things right.

Business Response: Diamond windows has our limited life-time warranty policy.We have 20 years warranty on I.G unit.but pro-rated after 10 yearsIt stated on our warranty. Also, Labor Charge is not included.We do that to all customers, no exception.We need to charge the glasses if they are over 10 years, plusthe Labor charge.Ms. ***** ***** must agree on these terms and conditions.***

Consumer Response: I just spoke with *** on Thursday afternoon who said she was going to see if this could be waived. This was a known issue with the windows and every window in my house needs to be repaired. A recall or a notice should have went out to everyone who bought these windows.  I would have noticed this 3 yrs ago prior to the warranty expiring, if I was informed. I do not intend on paying for every window in my house to be repaired, that is not acceptable. I do not have the money to repair every window.  The company knew there as an issue years ago, and failed to tell consumers. I have spoken to an attorney if you do not wish to settle this out of court please let me know and I will file in a  claim. No one buys windows with the intention of having to fix every window again. I can't honestly believe a company would not stand behind their product, when they admitted themselves on-line that there was an issue. Also for the record I am the one who had to initiate a call since there has been no response since your last email to the BBB saying you would call me.  Why would you have me send all my documentation last night and have me believe you were going to fix the windows free of charge and now send this email? Also too why would anyone agree to a settle without knowing what you want to charge me per window to fix it. You have not once told me how much it would cost. What is the cost per window to have it fixed? $10 a window?

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.