BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Champion Window Company of Rhode Island., LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Champion Window Company of Rhode Island., LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (401) 826-6200 Fax: (401) 822-9355 15 Centre of New England Blvd, Coventry, RI 02816 http://www.championfactorydirect.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Champion Window Company of Rhode Island, LLC manufacturers and installs replacement windows and patio rooms. The company also installs vinyl siding, roofs, entry doors, storm windows and storm doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Champion Window Company of Rhode Island., LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Champion Window Company of Rhode Island., LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Champion Window Company of Rhode Island., LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 07, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1953 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated: 04/27/2007 in RI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.ri.us
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The license number is 18154.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Liz Kramer, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Liz Kramer, Office Manager
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT ROOFING CONTRACTORS SUN ROOMS SIDING CONTRACTORS PATIO, PORCH & DECK ENCLOSURES VINYL SIDING Finish Carpentry Contractors (NAICS: 238350)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Hiring a Roofer Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Read Before You Sign Windows

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12121 Champion Way

    Cincinnati, OH 45241

  • 15 Centre of New England Blvd

    Coventry, RI 02816 (401) 826-6200

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2012 I began the process of contracting Champion to side my home as well as refinish my enclosed porch. After multiple visits and much discussion the contract was signed and the work was completed by December 2012. For the most part the work was satisfactory. There were a few minor issues that Champion was made aware of. If February 2013 the screens they had installed were blown out by the incliment weather. Champion and I reached an agreement they would repair the issue once the weather warmed up and was conducive to outside work. They sent someone in February to retrieve the screens and assess the damage. The next time anyone was out to do anything was a few months later on 9/18. The work was not completed properly at that time and the worker was called away "mid job" to go do something else. Between July 7 & October 30 I got the run around. Make an appointment, cancel the appointment, make a new appointment....cancel that. In October I reached my boiling point and let Champion know that I would file a formal complaint as of November 1, 2013 if the work they promised to complete was NOT finished. I was guarateed that "the boss" and 1 worker would be here to complete the work on 10/30. And no one would leave until the work was complete. It is now November 20, 2013 and the work is STILL NOT compete.

Desired Settlement: It is a shame that hard working people pay for a service that is not completed. I would like the job completed as promised aas soon as possible.

Business Response:

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a co-owner of ***** ** ******** Inc, and wish to file a formal complaint against Champion Window CO of RI, LLC (HIC 0565470). We are a small septic tank pumping company, ***** ** *******, Inc., doing business under the name Certified Sewer Service. We service the northwest corner of *********** *** ************ ************** We have been incorporated since 1974, but the company has been providing this service in the region since the ******* Our corporation and business operations function out of a 3-bay commercial garage/office building on ***** ** ** ********** *** The building we are located in was in desperate need of siding replacement, and after some online research, we sought the assistance of ******** ******* ****** Windows and Doors. A representative of ********* ****** ********* came out to the property, took measurements, and discussed the issues that we had with the existing Texture 111 wood siding. He explained the modifications necessary to prepare the building for re-siding, as well as what would be involved in siding the building itself. We were satisfied with the plan as presented by *** ********, and hired Champion to perform the work. The corporation sought, and received a Small Business Express Loan from the State of *********** to cover the cost of the building repair. The contract was signed with ******** for the siding work on December 9, 2012 valued at ******** At that time, ******** requested a down payment of ******.As part of the contract, and discussed with Mr. Rowlands in detail, ******** was to cut out and replace any rotten or rotting siding and trim, in order to provide a sound reliable base on which to mount the new siding. In addition, one side of the building had significant rippling of the existing siding, and *** ******** indicated that some of the portions would need to be completely removed and replaced with other material, again in order to provide a sound base on which to attach the new siding. Champion indicated that they would be out to start the install within the next two weeks and that it would take a week to ten days to complete the work. It was approximately a week later that a two man crew showed up to begin the installation. Due to a family medical emergency, neither I nor my partner could be there after the first day that installation began. Within a week, the installers were "done". At the time that the work was supposedly completed, we had not been able to inspect the installation due to our ongoing family emergency. The very next day, January 9, 2013, a representative of Champion called demanding the rest of their payment, at which time we paid the remaining $8,000 as outlined by our contract. The installers had left a significant pile of debris, as well as other trash and packing materials. In addition, exterior lighting was not reinstalled. Upon inspection of the building, we discovered that none of the rotten or rotting wood siding had been cut out either. A majority of the flashing along the roof edge, surrounding the three office doors, and the three garage doors was not properly installed. There were large gaps at all of the corners, there were ripples in the trim along the roof edge, and some of the siding had already buckled and fallen off. As a result of this poor installation, there was a significant amount of water/ice infiltration around the large windows in the front of the building. I believe this could be a result of a lack of caulking around any of the windows and doors. There was no leakage prior to the siding replacement. It should be noted that these had been recently replaced with more energy efficient double pane windows. We contacted the original factory representative, *** ********* about our concerns, and he indicated that he would get someone from "service" out to address the problems. It was approximately two weeks later that we were contacted by someone in their office, who indicated that a service representative would be out to inspect and correct the problems. We made it clear to the office representative that the repairs were very significant, and that we did not believe they could be addressed in one day. Champions service representative, *****, arrived several hours late one afternoon. He claimed he had been so late because he had driven from Rhode Island. We walked around the exterior of the building and he agreed that significant installation errors had been made. He indicated that he would be back to make the necessary repairs. We talked to him specifically about the removal and replacement of the rotten or rotting siding in certain areas, and the large area on one side of the building that was supposed to be repaired prior to installation of the new siding. ***** actually explained that he himself had delivered the plywood type material to the site to replace the buckled siding. Since those materials clearly hadnt been used in the building repair, he wondered what happened to them. We were able to show him the new siding was already *********** ******* in that area. He believed the old siding had been nailed down, but not replaced as it was supposed to be. ***** agreed that it was obvious that the installation crew had neglected to repair or replace the old siding. We made it clear that we believed that the entire side of the building would have to be completely re-sided. He did not object, and admitted that it would take much more than one day to fix the botched installation. ***** also complained about the distance from his office in ***** ****** to our place of business. He specifically told us that it did not make any sense that the job was taken in the first place, simply because of the driving distance. We asked him why they would take the job if it the distance was such a problem. Champion claimed that they regularly serviced *********** properties.Approximately two weeks following, we were informed that *****, their service representative would be coming out l

Desired Settlement: Poor Siding Installation, would like my money back so I can find a company to perform the work correctly, and repair any unforeseen damages caused by ******** ******* poor quality of work.

Business Response: ***** ******* ***** *********************************** ***** **** *** *** **** ** **** ** ******** ********* ******** *** ****** ********* *******************************


Good afternoon Helene,

 
I attempted to make a response on this previously and apparently it didn't take.  I did foward it to our local office, but as you'll notice in the complaint they are filing a complaint against ******* ** ***** *********.....which is our ********** location.  This was forwarded to them to address immediately and we also involved our Insurace company to address the customers.  
 
Can this be directed to the correct BBB serving ******** ** ***** *******  The Champion location is located at ** ****** ** *** ******* ****** ********* **  ***** and the current manager is ****** *******
 
Thank you,
 
*****
***** ******
National Customer Care Manager
 
******** ****** **** * ****** **** ****** ***** ******** *** *********** ** *****
 
************ * ****

Business Response: As of 7/5/13, the siding project at the ***** ******* ******** has been repaired to meet *** ********* ************* We have been able to resolve all issues addressed in the complaint and *** ******* is satisfied with the outcome of the installation.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint *********

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sun room 8 weeks ago, the salesman told me it could be installed in 5-6 weeks, before our June softball party. I have tried calling several times to get info on a date, and keep getting run around. I have yet to have anyone call me back! The first time I called , they told me to call back in a few weeks. Last week I made several attempts to reach the salesperson or a manager with no luck. The receptionist told me she would call me back personally because no one ever called back, she did not. She did send me an email that said parts are still on order and to try again in a few weeks. This is shady and un-professional, a company is as only good as its reputation.

Desired Settlement: I would like a date of install, we are passed the date promised ( which I do understand that stuff happens ) but there is no explanation for non-communication. I would like a call from the owner or sales manager, to get this resolved. I had several oppertunities to choose others to do the work, but because I have other projects in the works I chose Champion, as I thought i would get one stop shopping .

Business Response: I, ****** *******, am the current store manager.  I spoke to ***** ****** on Thurs 6/27 and we were able to resolve the issue. 

Mr ****** stated his contract date was 4/3, however, his contract is dated 5/3.  He acknowledged this and said his real complaint was the lack of return calls.  Mr ****** was having a difficult time getting his phone messages returned.  I apologized to *****, I gave him my name and contact info in case he has any future questions he can call for me directly.  We also set an install date for 7/30 for his room to be installed.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Champion contractors installed a bow window in the front of the house and multiple sections of gutters on the back on the house. The bow window has leaked multiple times, pooling up water on the sill and on ceiling of the window. The gutters leak between the gutter and fascia, as well as causing water to drip behind the fascia, and at a 90 degree joint. After calling Champion to request additional service/repair an installation manager came to review and discuss the problems. He said someone would fix the problems immediately due to the major damage that water leaks can cause. After weeks passed and no repairs were made, and no representative phoned us, we called to complain again. They kept no record of the needed repairs documented by the installation manager. We have a follow-up repair assessment scheduled for March 4th (over 2 months after initially reporting the problems.

Desired Settlement: 1. Repair of leaking bow window, to solve leaks above window and on sill. 2. Repair of leaking gutters (at joint, between gutter and fascia and behind fascia) 3. Replacement of now damaged fascia boards behind all newly installed gutters.

Business Response: On March 4, 2013, our Installation Manager will return to the customer's home to install glass that was on order. He will also address the leaking window, gutters, and fascia at the time of the appointment.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought windows from Champiom Windows , according to their warranty their windows for life. over a month ago we brought the screens down to be replaced. when we got the screens back the frames were bent and now they do not fit properly into the windows. It seems they are unable to repair them. Also the covers over the cranks are cracked, the techinician has been to the house a few times. But nothing is working with these people. I have been talking on the phone with them with no satisfaction

Business Response: I have contacted the customer, Mr. ******, and we have set up a time for the screens to be repaired. After repairing the screens, I have also agreed to bring the screens to his home to be sure they fit when installed. Mr. ****** will drop off the screens on 7/21/12 and we will return and install them on 7/30/12.

The cranks are a product that we have ordered from our factory, and when they arrive I will contact Mr. ****** to set up another service appointment to make the repair. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently had a Champion all season room built (May 2011). The room leaks every time it rains. At first, our phone call was not returned. Later, they gave us an appointment for which we are waiting an entire month! My floor, window treatments and furniture are getting ruined, not to mention that we can not enjoy the room that we paid good money for.

Desired Settlement: We would like the problem resolved immediately!!!!

Business Response: We have a service schedule for December 1st to repair any leaks in the Patio Room.

Consumer Response:

The room continues to leak. When we call them, we are given an appointment 4-6 weeks into the future. They show up but the problem is never fixed. Their workmanship is defective and they will not correct the problem. They continue to place a "bandaid" on the situation which is useless!!!

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1