Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CGW, Inc.

Phone: (207) 443-2156 Fax: (207) 443-1428 View Additional Phone Numbers 12 State Rd  6 Coastal Plaza, Bath, ME 04530 http://www.coastalglasswindow.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

CGW, Inc., doing business as Coastal Glass & Window, provides glass services for residential and commercial customers. The company offers mobile service, auto glass, pickup and delivery service and handles insurance claims. The company installs Harvey Ind. products including vinyl and wood windows for replacement or new construction, rolling windows, patio doors and awnings. In addition, the company also installs shower/tub enclosures, mirrors, storm and prime doors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CGW, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for CGW, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on CGW, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 08, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1979 in ME Business incorporated 06/18/1996 in ME
Type of Entity

S Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Trudell, President Ms. Jennifer M Trudell , Mananger
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer M Trudell , Mananger
Principal: Mr. Paul Trudell, President
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES SHOWER DOORS & ENCLOSURES GLASS-REPLACEMENT & REPAIR GLASS-AUTOMOBILE WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT WINDOWS-REPAIRING Automotive Glass Replacement Shops (NAICS: 811122)

Products & Services

CGW, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Century Bath Works, Harvey Building Products, Therma Tru Prime Doors

CGW, Inc. offers the following product(s): Auto Glass, Commercial Store Fronts, Mirrors, Residential Prime Entry Doors, Shower & Tub Enclosures, Storm Doors, Storm Windows, Vinyl Windows, Wood Windows

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Alternate Business Names
Coastal Glass & Window
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Read Before You Sign Windows

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

CGW, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12 State Rd
    6 Coastal Plaza

    Bath, ME 04530

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 30, 2015, a representative from Coastal Glass and Window came out to my home to replace a cracked window pane. During this service the representative from Coastal Glass and Window installed the new pane but broke the surrounding sash of the window. Later that day owner **** ******* addressed the broken sash and committed to repairing the sash. After three months, 11 phone calls and multiple emails made by me to Coastal Glass and Window to resolve the broken sash and settle payment for the window replacement, nothing has changed.  In mid December another window in my house broke, and I contacted the manufacturer directly instead of working with Coastal. I had the new window delivered and installed inside of 3 weeks, not to mention at a lower cost. On February 25, 2016, I delivered a letter proposing a cancellation of the repair work of the sash that **** has suggested and a zero balance on the window replacement so that I can use those funds to complete the repair myself. ******** ******* agreed in a February 29 email on to cancel the order, but has not responded to multiple requests since to send me a zero balance invoice.

Desired Settlement: Coastal send me [email preferred] a zero balance invoice, as previously agreed-upon.

Business Response: I have been in contact with Mr. **** several times  , we did  install the insulated unit , had to order moldings , they took much longer than we anticipated also and was out of our control .  We actually had to order 2 sets because the first set was ordered wrong from the vendor.  We have $500.00 invested and Mr **** wanted to cancel so I agreed , he is the customer .  it was via email and he has paid nothing towards the job to begin with so there was no invoice created for him , just a verbal quote .  We corresponded thru emails and canceled the job .  I  am very busy at our business and didn't send a zero balance invoice so Mr. **** contacted you which I think is very unnecessary . The job is done , he canceled . I do not see it necessary to do this .Thank you ******** *******/ MgrCGW, INC.    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  We understand ********'s point of view that she is busy and doesn't think our request is necessary. But in fact Coastal did give us an invoice for an outstanding balance --please see attached. For this reason we would like documentation of a zero-balance due. We do not trust based on our experience that at some point down the road we will not receive a past-due bill for the amount on this invoice unless we have documentation resolving this matter.Once again, we would like a zero-balance due invoice. Regards, ****** ****    

Business Response: I will print off his " invoice " and mark it Zero for his records .   I will say my parents started this business in 1979 , we pride ourselves on our customer service and not by sending customers past due bills down the road . We have never done that under any circumstance .  We have been a member of the BBB for almost 19 years and have excellent accreditation.  We installed a brand new insulated unit , and he refused to pay because we broke a piece of 20 year old molding.  We are out almost $500 with material , time and labor .  That he now wants the job canceled and will not let us finish, we understand the time frame , but the only one losing out on this is Coastal Glass. He has a new insulated unit and we have time , money , labor and 2 sets of brand new moldings we have paid for. Thank you for your time BBB for your help with thisThank you ********/ CGW

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. Thank you to ******** for agreeing to issue a zero balance invoice, we will look to receive that invoice within five to ten business days. While ******** is familiar with her family's businesses practices and feels confident of their behaviors she was unaware that an actual invoice was issued. These types of discrepancies lead us to lack confidence in future interactions and reinforce our need to receive documentation of the resolution. We understand ******** is angry about her business loosing money and that she prides herself on her family's good business customer service.  We work for local Maine businesses too and know how important a reputation is in such small communities. We obviously have a sash to repair and money to put towards that repair, there are no winners here. Regards, ****** ****

4/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 11 replacement windows from Coastal Glass and Window in October 2011. The windows are under warranty. In sub zero weather, the windows frost and there is ice build up on the window pane inside the house, and ice and frost build up between the frame of the window and the casement. Since mid December 2013, I have personally been to Coastal Glass and window three or four times asking for and evaluation of the windows for defect in the manufacture of the windows or in the installation to explain the problem. I have emailed written description of the problem as well as multiple pictures of the frost build up on the panes and on the sides where the window attaches to the casements to Coastal Glass and Window. I was told in early January by Coastal Glass and Window that a representative of ****** ******* would be contacting me to make an appointment to inspect the windows. I have not received any contact from Harvey or any follow up from Coastal Glass and Window despite yet another email asking for resolution 3 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement: Since I am receiving no response from Harvey or Coastal Glass to resolve the issue, I would like to have a refund for the cost of the windows which clearly are not functioning as they should. The aim of replacing the windows was to conserve energy and cold air from the outside is leaking inside and causing frost build up on the panes and window frames inside the house.

Business Response:







We did install the windows for ***** ****.. she called and then came


to our shop and made us aware of an issue with the windows . I wrote up a


work order and sent one of our techs over to access the problem. She was


having condensation which in these frigid temperatures was forming frost.


With a new window they are so energy efficient that when there is too much


moisture in the home that goes to the coldest place in your home , which is the


glass… the old drafty windows would allow that moisture to escape as with a


lot of your heat.


My tech came back and said that too much moisture in the house could


be a problem but we wanted ****** Building Products to send their Field


Service Tech out to also access the problem.. in case there was an issue with


the window itself ( sashes too small , and allowing air to filtrate in .. etc. ) So I


sent over request to them ..I’m not sure if they didn’t receive it or was just so


busy and didn’t follow up with her in a timely manner.


***** then emailed me pictures and I also forwarded those to my


****** Sales Rep.. I then told him that someone, either himself or Field


Services needed to contact ***** to set something up with her. When it


comes to the Warranty process with ****** , we as Authorized dealers have


to put it into ******’s Field Services hands and have them take care of it from


there. Unfortunately , someone either dropped the ball or they are extremely


busy and she was put in the works but no one had let her know that .


Then I received this complaint. I am very comfortable that ****** and Coastal


Glass together can fix her issue, whether its educating her on the condensation


causes and cures that she may be experiencing or maybe her sashes are a little too small for the master frames . Mistakes can be made but they can be fixed


without tearing out these brand new , energy efficient windows and refund


her money back to her. I think that is kind of harsh and other things can be


done to make her completely satisfied.


I believe at this point ****** has either attempted or has contacted her to


access this problem and make her a happy customer.


We are a family owned and operated full service glass company and have been


in business since 1979 and pride ourselves on Customer Service.


Thank You and if you have any questions or need further information please


feel free to contact me .,











Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on CGW, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart