BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of North Solar Screen LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

North Solar Screen LLC

Phone: (978) 470-8082 Fax: (978) 475-6496 9 Bartlet Street, Suite 231, Andover, MA 01810 http://www.northsolarscreen.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

North Solar Screen.com is the internet connection for Solar Screen Corporation, a manufacturer of custom transparent solar shades that prevent heat, glare and fade. The company offers a line of interior and exterior retractable solar control shades. The company provides Kool Vue Transparent Mylar, Phifer and 3G Screenglass Sun Control Sheer Weaves, Black Out Shades, Skylight Shades and Display Window Shades, Motorized Shades, Flourescent Bulb Jackets, and Window Film. The company was established in Massachusetts in 1992. The company employs 1 person. Ms. Deborah Miller is the Owner of the company. Any questions or problems may be directed to the attention of Ms. Miller.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that North Solar Screen LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for North Solar Screen LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on North Solar Screen LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1992 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/2007 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Deborah B. Miller, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deborah B. Miller, Manager
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

WINDOWS-TREATMENTS WINDOWS-TINTING WINDOWS-SHADES Glass and Glazing Contractors (NAICS: 238150)

Method(s) of Payment
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Debit Card
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states that their refund policy is as follows: Custom manufactured shades can be remade at a discount. No refund or exchange for custom jobs. If factory made a mistake remade for free and shipped for free.
Service Area
North Solar Screen LLC provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARSHALL ISLANDS , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PALAU , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.

Additional Locations

  • 9 Bartlet Street, Suite 231

    Andover, MA 01810

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 3 shades from North Solar Screen There web site advertises measuring and installation available from NBI (national blind installers) I went to NBI web site and typed in my zip code and was unable to get an installer that did outside shades. I called North Solar Screen and they gave me a number for **** ******** NBI installer. He measured my shades charging $80.00. We were unable to set up an installation date, so we installed the outside shade ourselves. At time of measuring I was quoted a price by **** ******** of $800.00 to install 3 shades the break down being $700. for the outside shade and $50.00 each for the inside shades. I contacted **** ******** to install the inside shades and his price was now $500. for both. So I contact another NBI installer and his price was $125.00 each when he came he said the shades were measured wrong they are too small.I contacted North Solar Screen and was told I had to take it up with **** ********, I contacted NBI and was told because I received **** ********'s # from North Solar the guarantee didn't apply. I had no idea that by getting the number from North Solar I would have no guarantee. I have made several attempts to contact **** ******** with no response.

Desired Settlement: I want North Solar Screen to contact **** ******** and have him replace the shades I was told he does a lot of work for them. It shouldn't be difficult for them to contact him. I believed the web sites guarantee of measuring and was not told any different.

Business Response:

As was initially explained to Ms. ******** and is stated on our website, we provide the names of bonded and insured installers purely as a courtesy. Notwithstanding, we care VERY much about what happens with our customers.  In the event of problems we always try our best to help rectify situations. For instance, when Ms. ******** complained that the skylight shades she ordered were not white enough, we replaced them immediately, free of charge without question, even though we had recommended that she see samples first.

Regarding the installer, Ms. ******** was unable to set up an installation date with **** ******** because she fired him before he had a chance to install. He was supposed to install a huge, motorized outdoor shade for her.   The evening before the installation, Mr. ******** emailed Ms. ******** expressing his fears about the impending inclement weather predicted for the next day. This was a very difficult job requiring electrical work high up on a high ladder. He told her he would call the next afternoon upon completion of a museum job in NYC, which was only 6 miles from her house in Flushing, to access if the weather was safe. (Coincidentally, this was also for one of our customers.) Mr. ******** said when he got outside after the job it was pouring rain. He called her and tried to explain that his ladders were already soaking wet, it was just too dangerous to do the job and asked to postpone the date but she became enraged, saying it hadn’t yet started to rain at her house, and fired him on the spot.  She then called us and demanded that we find her another installer. 

In trying to be helpful, we worked hard to find her the name of someone else who knew how to install these shades.  Twice we gave her the name, Steve Linera, and his phone number.   She never called him.  Ms. ******** states that she had another installer from NBI come who claimed the skylight shades were measured wrong by **** ********. According to NBI records, Ms. ******** made three requests for an installer:  01/08 12, 01/31/11 and 09/14/11.  She cancelled all three requests. We have never received any measuring forms from the NBI network for her skylight shades which happens immediately when a customer hires an installer from that service.

We did contact **** ******** for Ms. ********. It seems because of very harsh words spoken by her, he feels too uncomfortable to return. However, Mr. ******** stated that he recently spoke to her husband by phone on two occasions and explained how to install the shades using shims because of frame variances. We also told Ms. ******** that we would be happy to remake the shades at a discount if they were measured wrong.

Unfortunately, we cannot control the relationships between customers and installers. As you know from our impeccable record we have always tried to help resolve any issues and provide the most dedicated service that we can.   We remain committed to this endeavor.

Sincerely yours,
Debby Miller

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns.


 

Business Response:

Unfortunately, we have tried so very hard to please this customer but without success.  We are sorry she had problems with the installer but he is not our employee and therefore we have no legal grounds to force him to do as she asks.  As was initially explained to her, we offer the names of bonded and insured installers purely as a courtesy.   We do not employ them and have no contractual agreement with them.  On our sales contract that she signed it states, “North Solar Screen is not responsible for any measuring or installation problems arising from an installer you employ.”   On the Measure and Install Service page of our website it says: “Installers and NBI contractors are not employees or agents of North Solar Screen, LLC. We provide this as a courtesy service only. Any work provided by the professional is on a contract basis between you and the installer.”  On the warranty page of our website it says: “North Solar Screen will not assume responsibility for any labor installation problems whether measuring or installing.”

In keeping with our high standards of service, we feel we have done everything in our power to remedy her situations.  We started by remaking her shades for free without question when she was dissatisfied with the color. When the installer asked to postpone the motorized outdoor shade installation due to inclement weather and she fired him, we tried to explain why it was too dangerous. When she demanded we find her another, even though it was not our obligation as we did not sell this as an installed job, we obliged her and worked hard to find her someone else although she didn’t use him.  When we tried to mediate with the installer on her behalf he said he felt too uncomfortable to return which is why he raised his rate.  We have told the customer that we will gladly remake the shades at a discount if they are measured wrong as is our policy. She claims an NBI  installer came and said the shades were measured wrong but NBI records indicate she cancelled all requests for an installer so we have received no dimensions.

As we explained, this is a situation the customer needs to resolve with the installer herself. Perhaps she needs to do so through legal means.  We have no legal standing in this issue.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns.

I can address all of the issues presented by North Solar Screen As for the shade replacement it was NSS error I have an e-mail from ***** of NSS. I didn't even bring that up in my original complaint because it was there error and they corrected it. I never cancelled any of my requests for installions the 3 dates Ms. ****** mentioned 1-31-11 I didn't even order shades yet the second date 9-4-11 thet is when I called NSS to say none of the installers did outside shades. and the third date is when I got the installer ***** who came to my home and stated the shades were too small.  I did not fire Mr. ********. I called him after waiting 2 hours for him. H etold me he e-mailed me the night before to say if it was raining he couldn't do shade, I told him if he had anything important to tell me to call me as I don't have e-mail on my phone. I left work early for my appointment with him, I lost pay. I asked him to do the sky light shades he said no. I believe he was stuck on another job and used the weather as an excuse because he cancelled or put me off so many times. I never would have spent so much money on shades if I couldn't get they hung. NSS doesn't explain this process clearly. Mr. ******** may not be there employee but he does a lot of work for them as they indicated. So I don't see it as a problem for them to have him fix this mistake.

I can forward my emails from NSS and Rick ******** if needed, I just don't know how to add them to this file.


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: North Solar Screen has customers agree to the following policy, stating deep discounts for customer error: "RESPONDING TO THIS MEANS THAT YOU HAVE READ AND AGREE WITH THE FOLLOWING COMPANY POLICY: Changes/ Cancellations All North Solar Screen products are custom manufactured by to fit your specifications. THEREFORE THEY ARE NOT RETURNABLE OR REFUNDABLE. However, for customer measurement errors we will remake shades at a deep discount." North Solar Screen said this was an old policy, they were sorry it was misleading and would not honor their own company policy.

Desired Settlement: Honor the "deep discount" they have the customer agree to, but are unwilling to agree to themselves.

Business Response: We are so sorry this customer is upset. We had offered to remake the shades at a discount of $51.40 which is a 25% discount.  With the sale price these ***** shades were purchased at 65% below suggested retail price so we considered that fair and well within industry standards for remakes because there  isn't a lot of money to work with.    Measuring mistakes are a rarity with North Solar Screen.  We work so closely with our customers to get the dimensions right.  We do not want our customers
 to be unhappy. We pride ourselves on our great customer service.  We will grant the customer the extra discount that she is requesting for this transaction.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  Thank you for complying with your own company policy, it's very much appreciated, however I am sorry North Solar Screen needed the BBB involved to do that.


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1