Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Veterinary Emergency & Specialty Center of NE

Phone: (781) 684-8387 Fax: (781) 890-2871 180 Bear Hill Rd Ste A, Waltham, MA 02451 http://www.vescone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Veterinary Emergency & Specialty Center of New England is a 24 hour, 7 day a week, referral and specialty veterinary medical hospital. VESCONE treats secondary and tertiary patients only and has specialists in a variety of fields including, radiology, internal medicine, surgery, ophthalmology, and emergency/critical care.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Veterinary Emergency & Specialty Center of NE include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Veterinary Emergency & Specialty Center of NE
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 10, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1998 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1998 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kelly Parkinson, Practice Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kelly Parkinson, Practice Manager
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

VETERINARIANS Veterinary Services (NAICS: 541940)

Alternate Business Names
VESCONE
Industry Tips
Finding a Reliable Veterinarian

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    180 Bear Hill Rd Ste A

    Waltham, MA 02451

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At first I was impressed with the care my dog was given by Dr ******, until I got the bill. I was very emotional when I picked up my dog after having a biopsy done, that I didn't pay attention carefully to the charges. I had signed a quote given from Dr.******, and was charged over $200 more. The next morning I was reviewing my bank statement and realized I had been overcharged by A LOT, so I called to question it. The receptionist that I spoke to was so unprofessional that I was taken by surprise. I'm used to my primary vet, where the staff goes about and beyond to help you, clearly that ins't the case at VESCONE. Instead of hearing me out, and listening to the clearly stated facts, she kept insisting that I was wrong. After over 15 minutes on the phone, with us going back and forth, being put on two long holds and asking to speak to a manger twice, she finally transferred me to the managers voice mail. I waited 5 hours, and I still hadn't heard back from anyone. I called again and unfortunately the same rude unprofessional receptionist answered again, she gave me another big attitude once she realized it was me calling. She claimed she was transferring me to the managers voice mail again, which I was then conveniently disconnected. I had to call back a third time just to leave another message. I heard back from the manager who was less than helpful. After days of agonizing and waiting for my dogs test results to come back they called me and informed me his results came back CANCEROUS, well not just Cancer a VERY RARE kind of cancer, they wanted me to give him radiation asap before having the tumor removed, almost $10,000 worth of radiation. Which was VERY DANGEROUS. After numerous attempts to talk to the doctor about his results, and not receiving any return phone calls, I decided to go to ****** ******** instead. They told me at ****** it's not common to do radiation BEFORE having a tumor removed. He had the tumor removed at ******. $4,000 later for having the tumor removed, and 2 days in ICU the test results came back from the tumor NON CANCEROUS!!!!!! They checked the Tumor 3 times to be sure, and each time the results came back as NON CANCEROUS. VESCONE LIED ABOUT MY DOG HAVING CANCER!!! When I called VESCONE to discuss how this could of happened, none of the doctors or staff would talk to me besides one Vet Tech. Her response was "It happens all the time". I left a message for the manager, and of course I didn't hear back.

Desired Settlement: I deserve to be refunded and compensated all the costs related to this issue.

Business Response: Hello ********, I hope that you and **** are doing well so far in 2014! I wanted to follow up on your complaint--we appreciate hearing all our clients' feedback, regardless of it being favorable or not. It helps us make changes to be better for everyone. We are truly sorry that you had this experience. It is not the experience we wanted you (or anyone) to have. As medical professionals, we do everything we can to be thorough and accurate. And as a business, we strive to give exceptional customer service and be truly supportive of our clients. I can see that we were unsuccessful in providing a stellar experience for you. Ultimately, though, the most important thing is that your dog got good care and is healthy. That's the thing that we all take to heart, so I'm glad he got what he needed. Since you have just recently filed this complaint from the initial incident in July, I would like to know if anything has happened recently, and if so, what can I do to help the situation in the immediate future? As far as your initial comments, I would love the opportunity for us to talk to you directly and answer any questions that you may have. Also, we'd like to know what we can do to rectify the situation. I know we have tried several times to contact you via phone and email (and other responses to publicly posted comments) and been unsuccessful. I also know that we did refund some of your money back in August, and that you had spoken with ***** ********* and mentioned that you appreciated her call and were feeling very emotional but better about the situation. If you would like to let me know when a good time to talk would be, that would be fantastic. Or if you'd like me to email you directly, I'd be happy to do that, as well. Please also feel free to give me a call at ************. Again, I hope 2014 is a great year for you and all those you hold close. Hoping to speak to you soon! Thanks, ******* **** Marketing Director, Massachusetts

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Hi *******, Thank you for responding to my message. I wish I didn’t have to go to such extremes to hear back from someone from your company. I have left numerous messages for *****, as well as requested copies of my invoices and receipts from the receptionist on 4 different occasions and haven’t had any responses.  I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but nobody has returned my calls let alone reached out to me via phone or email. The one and only time ***** responded to me was after my yelp review, and that is the only time I’ve spoken to her. Last month, I tried calling one last time to request copies of my invoices, I gave the receptionist my email address and of course she never sent them. This is what prompted me to finally take action with the BBB. I feel like other consumers should know of the experience I’ve had with Vescone. After my yelp review (which was also prompted by not being called back from the staff), **** and I were not treated with the care and respect that you would think you would receive from a company like VESCONE. When Dr.****** called to inform me that “**** had spindle cell sarcoma”, she was very cold. I was devastated, thinking my 3 year old *******, who is like a son to me, was sick with a very rare form of cancer. I tried calling back the following day for some more information, and never heard back from Dr.******. I find that to be very unethical. That misdiagnosis took an emotional toll on me and my family. **** had surgery to remove the tumor that we were told was a very rare form of cancer by your doctor, and it wasn’t. He spent 2 grueling days in ICU. I had to take time off from work, I couldn’t eat or sleep I was so emotionally sick over his wellbeing. Due to the surgery he now walks with a limp and his leg stiffens up on him often. I’m still paying off his medical bill, which are very expensive.  All of this is directly related to his cancer misdiagnoses. The staff at ****** checked the tumor 3 times in different sections to verify it wasn’t cancerous. When I found out if you can imagine, I was very upset. I called VESCONE hoping to be able to talk to Dr.****** or *****, and never heard back from either of them. This situation has been very frustrating, and I honestly feel like I wasn’t treated with any respect. **** isn’t just a dog, he’s my family. I’ll go to any lengths I need to to make sure he is given the proper care by professionals that understand his worth. I’d love a chance to talk further with you, you can reach me on my cell ************.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Veterinary Emergency & Specialty Center of NE
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)