Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

B.W. Hewes & Associates

Phone: (207) 989-8890 Fax: (207) 234-1098 PO Box 54, Dixmont, ME 04932 http://www.bwhewes.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

B.W. Hewes & Associates specializes in the residential sales and servicing of Rainbow Cleaning Systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B.W. Hewes & Associates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for B.W. Hewes & Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on B.W. Hewes & Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2006 in ME Business incorporated 10/15/2007 in ME
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brent Hewes, President Mrs. Jenel M Hewes, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brent Hewes, President
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

VACUUM CLEANERS-SERVICE & REPAIRS VACUUM CLEANERS HOUSEHOLD-DEALERS VACUUM CLEANING SYSTEMS Other Personal and Household Goods Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811490)

Products & Services

B.W. Hewes & Associates sells the following brand(s): Rainbow Cleaning Systems

B.W. Hewes & Associates offers the following product(s): Rainbow Cleaning Systems

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Debit Card
Financing
Service Area
B.W. Hewes & Associates provides their services in MAINE.
Alternate Business Names
B.W. Hewes & Associates,LLC
Industry Tips
Choosing a Vacuum Cleaner

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

B.W. Hewes & Associates has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 54

    Dixmont, ME 04932

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THREE WEEKS AGO, ******* *****, OF THE HEWES CO. CALLED ME WITH AN *** ******* ******. IT WAS MOSTLY DEMOGRAPHICS, AND SHE SAID MY NAME WOULD BE ELIGIBLE FOR AN UPCOMING DRAWING. SHE CALLED ON 2/11/14 AND AGAIN IDENTIFIED HERSELF AS HEWES CO. SHE SAID MY NAME HAD BEEN SELECTED TO RECEIVE A FREE ONE ROOM AIR CLEANER. MY NAME WOULD ALSO BE ENTERED INTO THE GRAND PRIZE DRAWING. A WORKER FROM HER COMPANY WOULD BE IN MY AREA BETWEEN 7 AND 8 P.M. TO DELIVER THE AIR CLEANER IF THAT WAS OK. I SAID IT WAS. SHE THEN SAID THE WORKER WOULD BE THERE 10-15 MINUTES TO TELL ME ABOUT THE COMPANY. WHEN I ASKED WHAT THEY SOLD, SHE SAID ******* VACUUM CLEANERS. I ALREADY OWN ONE AND HAD NO INTENTION OF BUYING ANOTHER. AT 6:40, THE WORKER, HER HUSBAND, ARRIVED WITH THE AIR CLEANER, IDENTIFIED HIMSELF AS ***** *****, SHOWED US HIS *** PIN AND AN AD ON HIS PHONE THAT HE WAS AAA RATED. HE THEN BEGAN TALKING ABOUT OUR HOME (A MODULAR), AND HOW BAD THE AIR QUALITY WAS, THAT HE HAD PREVIOUSLY OWNED ONE AND DIDN'T LIKE IT, ETC. HE SHOWED US THE SCENTS TO USE IN THE AIR CLEANER, AND I SAID I ALREADY HAD SOME. HE ASKED IF I OWNED A ******* VAC, AND I SAID YES. HE LOOKED AT IT, DETERMINED IT WAS 12+ YEARS OLD, DESCRIBED THE NEWER MODELS, AND TRIED HARD TO WORK OUT A TRADE FOR OUR MODEL. HE STARTED AT $800, THEN DROPPED TO $700 WHEN IT WAS DETERMINED IT WAS AN OLDER MODEL. WE DID NOT BUY OR TRADE, BUT HE TOOK THE AIR CLEANER WITH HIM BECAUSE WE WOULD NOT LOOK AT ONE OF HIS VACUUM CLEANERS. I THOUGHT THIS WAS VERY DECEPTIVE, CALLED THE NUMBER HE HAD LEFT ON MY VAC, GOT HIM, AND ASKED FOR HIS HOME NUMBER, WHICH HE GAVE ME. WHEN I TALKED WITH HIS WIFE, SHE SAID SHE HAD TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO LOOK AT HIS PRODUCT (SHE DID NOT) IN ORDER TO GET THE AIR CLEANER. I REALLY DON'T NEED OR WANT THE CLEANER, BUT FIND THEIR TACTICS VERY DECEPTIVE AND CERTAINLY NOT UP TO THE STANDARDS OF THE ***. I THINK THIS IS WORTHY OF YOUR TIME TO CONTACT THEM RE. THEIR TACTICS AS WELL AS HIS CLAIM OF BEING A MEMBER.

Desired Settlement: NO SETTLEMENT REQUESTED, JUST A REQUEST FOR HONESTY IN SALES.

Business Response: In response to the complaint, the customer is indeed in the drawing for the **** gift card.  Everyone who answers our survey is entered into the drawing.  However, the gift of the one room air cleaner is an advertising promotion.  It is a gift to our customers for the opportunity to introduce our company to them and show them our product.  It is a gift for their time.  The words "free" and "won" are NOT used.  Our customers are "selected to receive" the gift based upon the above mentioned opportunity.  Yes, this customer did tell me she already owned a *******.  I did tell her that the gift was based upon showing her the changes and new features to the product.  She still agreed to having us come by her home.  It is made clear to customers why we are coming and what the advertising promotion entails.