This business is not BBB accredited.

Adam Travel Services, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (617) 367-7155 Fax: (617) 227-6509 120 Blackstone St, Boston, MA 02109 http://www.adamtravel.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Adam Travel Agency is a full service travel agency dealing in both retail and wholesale travel. They are licensed to issue tickets from all major airlines. They specialize in all aspects of domestic and international travel. This business was established in 1986 in Massachusetts. They employ nine people. Dr. Abdo K. Ibrahim is the Owner of the business and any questions or problems should be directed to his attention.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Adam Travel Services, Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Adam Travel Services, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Adam Travel Services, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1986 in MA Business incorporated 11/27/1996 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Rasha Boura, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rasha Boura, Complaint Handler
Customer Contact: Mr. Amr Hamam, Manager
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

TRAVEL AGENCIES & BUREAUS

Alternate Business Names
Adam Travel Agency Bella Vista Tours C.A. Travel Orient Travel Sunshine Travel
Industry Tips
Finding a Travel Agency - 5 Tips - Video Travel Agencies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Adam Travel Services, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1016 16th St NW Ste 601

    Washington, DC 20036 (202) 737-1115

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10401 W Warren Ave

    Dearborn, MI 48126 (313) 846-9300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1044 Main St

    Paterson, NJ 07503 (973) 782-4700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    110 E Main St

    Richardson, TX 75081 (972) 294-0000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12 Tyler St

    Boston, MA 02111 (617) 695-1989

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    120 Blackstone St

    Boston, MA 02109 (617) 367-7155

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    139 Centre St Ste 815B

    Chinatown, NY 10013 (212) 219-1988

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    139 Centre St Ste 815B

    Chinatown, NY 10013 (212) 925-6601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    142 Adams St

    Newton, MA 02458 (617) 928-0030

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15407 1st Ave S Ste D

    Burien, WA 98148 (206) 246-1988

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1642 S Parker Rd Ste 312

    Denver, CO 80231 (303) 671-6008

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1801 Cottman Ave

    Philadelphia, PA 19111 (215) 238-0515

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1836 N University Dr

    Plantation, FL 33322 (954) 916-1911

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2050 N Alma School Rd Ste 4

    Chandler, AZ 85224 (480) 782-7500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    219 Quincy Ave

    Quincy, MA 02169 (617) 695-3211

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2450 Peralta Blvd Ste 216

    Fremont, CA 94536

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    259 Canal St Ste 201

    Chinatown, NY 10013 (212) 925-6601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2650 Fountain View Dr Ste 215

    Houston, TX 77057 (713) 532-7222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2793 Clairmont Rd NE Ste 204B

    Atlanta, GA 30329 (770) 395-0144

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3005 30th Ave Ste 2

    Long Is City, NY 11102 (718) 204-9299

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3349 Ridgelake Dr Ste 102

    Metairie, LA 70002 (504) 838-7070

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3492 Polynesian Isle Blvd Ste C

    Kissimmee, FL 34746 (407) 397-0061

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    391 Sutter St

    San Francisco, CA 94108 (415) 362-6100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4055 Spencer St Ste 202

    Las Vegas, NV 89119 (702) 734-3400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    42 W 38th St Rm 700

    New York, NY 10018 (212) 888-1910

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    424 S Broadway

    Hicksville, NY 11801 (631) 983-8484

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    431 E Grand Ave Apt D

    El Segundo, CA 90245 (310) 649-1200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4712 W 63rd St

    Chicago, IL 60629 (773) 284-0785

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4801 E Independence Blvd Ste 904

    Charlotte, NC 28212 (704) 567-9668

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5030 Katella Ave Ste 202

    Los Alamitos, CA 90720 (562) 431-4988

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5146 Leesburg Pike

    Alexandria, VA 22302 (703) 379-2428

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5184 Central Ave NE

    Minneapolis, MN 55421 (763) 205-7955

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    62 Jerusalem Ave Unit A

    Hicksville, NY 11801 (516) 513-0242

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6677 N Lincoln Ave Ste 226

    Lincolnwood, IL 60712 (847) 677-1700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7 Marshall St

    Boston, MA 02108 (617) 723-0802

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    770 N La Salle Dr Ste 707

    Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 649-9700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8605 Cameron St Ste 322

    Silver Spring, MD 20910 (301) 588-1212

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9 Washington St

    Dedham, MA 02026 (781) 467-1220

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    42 W 38th St Rm 700

    New York, NY 10018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a premium package "1C" from Adam Travel Agency and we were promised a premium "Hajj=Pilgrimage" services. However, during the trip, we faced a lot of challenges and Adam Travel did't deliver what they promised. On multiple occasions, we reached to the management members of the agency and complained about the poor services but nothing was done.I reported the issue to the "Hajj=pilgrimage" ministry of Saudia Arabia.Below are some of the issues that we faced:1- No Leader/Coordinator was assigned to the group. Adam Travel information sheet clearly states that the Group Leader will be ***** *****.I personally spoke to ***** who informed me that he was not my group leader.He informed that he already has two other groups that he was managing.Occasionally he tried to assist my group but he stated that he was not responsible or leading the group.Therefore no "Communication" between the group members.2- Stay in Azizia:Breakfast was from 08:00am to 10:00amIf you come around 09:00am or so, and no food is available at that time because the first comers ate early, then I won't have a breakfast as promised by the agency. At that time, I had to buy my own food.3- Stay in Mena Tent:50 people were in a tent, sofa beds were provided. the tent was so small and over crowded. there was not any walking space in the tent. to go to bathroom at night while people are sleeping, I had to walk over people to reach the door of the tent.the sofa beds were too close to each other to a point there was not any space between the beds.my legs used to reach the other sofa across.4-Stay in Arafat mountain:Temperature was over 110F. AC were not working in the tents.No cold drinks.No ice.5-Mozdalifa:Lack of direction resulted dropping us off in the wrong area.Bus left early and we had to find our transportation in order to come back.6-Transportation:Bus broke down past midnight.no replacement bus was provided.I paid out pocket to reach my destination. still have more complaints but no more space in web

Desired Settlement: Honestly, the services that was provided was different from the PREMIUM package that i bought.I deserve either a refund or a replacement package.I went with my sister (***** *****) and we paid approximately $17000.00 for the two weeks and half (duration of trip).

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SUMMARY: Disputed amount = $1,000. We were told by an Adam Travel agent that we were required to pay a deposit of 5 TIMES the amount actually required by Adam Travel per their policy. We had to cancel the travel well in in advance of the time window to be subject to any cancellation fees. Business has been unresponsive to all attempts to issue refund, including initial overpaid amount. DETAIL: My husband and I made hotel arrangements for with ***** ****** of Adam Travel. Travel was to begin on June 4, 2013. For our specific travel, their website clearly states at http://www.adamtravel.com/*****-terms-and-conditions that a “Deposit of $100 pp at time of booking to reserve Hotel and start visa process.” We were not aware of this prior to speaking with *****. Yet, ***** told my husband via e-mail and phone conversations (documented e-mails available upon request) that we were required to pay a deposit of $1,000. Trusting his words, we went ahead and paid the $1,000 (copy of cashed check made out to “Adam Travel” available upon request). Please note, our package price was $1,898 ($949 per person), so we were told the deposit required was MORE THAN HALF of our total package price. In fact, only $200 was required. Due to unforeseen medical circumstances, I am no longer able to make the travel. We were made aware of this on Friday, April 12. On the same day, my husband called ***** and informed him of the need to cancel. ***** was very discourteous, stated he could not talk, and hung up on him in the middle of conversation. Shocked, my husband called back and ***** hung up on him again. My husband decided to call the Adam Travel office and spoke to ***** *****. They had an in depth conversation in which he explained the situation and how ***** reacted. ***** assured my husband that he would obtain and send us our refund. ***** requested that we obtain a Dr.’s note stating that I could not travel. The very next day, we obtained the requested Dr. note and sent to both ***** and ***** via e-mail on Monday, April 15. Please keep in mind that at the same website referenced above, it is clearly stated “Cancellations of hotels 14-7 days prior to departure are subject to a $100 pp administration fee.” Since we gave notice of cancellation well in advance of that time, this should be a no brainer and we should receive a full $1,000 refund of our deposit. We are not sure why the Dr. note was even requested. Nevertheless, they have it for their records. Since Monday, April 15, my husband sent several e-mails to both ***** and ***** about the refund. They have been non-responsive to all e-mails. After getting tired of waiting for responses, he picked up the phone and got a hold of ***** on Wednesday, April 24. ***** assured him of good news and he would get back to him the very next day. We did not hear back from him as he promised. My husband called again on Monday, April 29 (after sending e-mails without responses) and ***** acknowledged that he has not been responding to e-mails but he will provide an update in the next day or two. We did not hear from ***** the entire week. My husband called the Adam Travel office on Friday, May 3 only to find out that ***** was due to be out on vacation for over a week. The behavior described above is severely unprofessional for any business. I am extremely upset that we paid 5 TIMES the amount of deposit that was required. At the very least, they should have sent back the $800 overpaid immediately, and we should be waiting for the remaining $200, which is due back as well since we cancelled well in advance of the required time frame as stated above. In fact, my husband suggested this approach to both ***** and *****, as there is no reason we should not receive our overpaid money. ***** assured him that he would do his best. With all due respect, it does not require “his best” to follow Adam Travel policies clearly stated on the website and send back the OVERPAID amount immediately, then send back the $200 shortly after they follow whatever administrative procedures necessary. Regardless, we have not received any of our refund and it has been over a month since we cancelled. They have not made contact since the call on Monday, April 29. There is no explanation for these actions. I have several other complaints, but the ones above are the most relevant at this time. Please note, we have all e-mail communications referenced above and are willing to provide those if necessary. This type of unprofessional behavior is unacceptable from a professional service business. The booking group code and confirmation are as follows: Group Code: **** *** REF: ** ** ** ********

Desired Settlement: The only acceptable outcome is a full refund of our $1,000 deposit, for the reasons listed above. As stated in the complaint detail, this would be in accordance and compliance with Adam Travel’s policies. In fact, we should receive some sort of additional compensation due to all of the hassles listed above. Frankly, I am shocked that we have had to put so much time and effort into this issue. I did not want to file a BBB complaint, but based on the unprofessional behavior exhibited by Adam Travel, I am left with no choice. Being “very busy” as my husband was told by both representatives he spoke with, is no excuse to withhold a client’s money. I have served in the client service industry and I know that being busy is also NEVER an acceptable excuse to being completely non-responsive to client e-mails. The booking group code and confirmation are as follows: Group Code: **** *** REF: ** ** ** ********.

Business Response: At the time the Manager did agree to give $1000 and he had travelled.at this time monies have been received by the complainant and the issue has been resolved.

Adam Travel 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

4/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a huge issue with Adam Travel agency located in Plantation, FL. I went to them to book ticket for my *-year-old daughter. She would fly by her self so she would require unaccompanied minor service. *. was the agent that I was talking to. She booked the ticket, she was making me sure that all is fine and my daughter can take that flight. I paid for the ticket and of course agency fee. Day before the flight I called the airlines just to make sure that they have all necessary information. I have been told that my *-year-old daughter can not travel on that flight, because they do not provide unaccompanied minor service on connected flights. I called Travel Adam immediately. *. said it is not possible, but after double checking with airlines she said it is true. She asked if I would fly with my daughter half way if she gives me a ticket. It was not an option because the same problem would be on the way back. So she called me back with bad news, that a part of the ticket if non-refundable and I would have to go with my daughter to not loose money. Again it was not an option, I'm working too. Then she said that she spoke with airlines and I will get full refund, but It will take about 2-3 weeks. My daughter's school ended on June 7th, she should fly to Poland that day. We organized all summer for her over there with our family so we don't have to pay for daycare here. We can not wait that long time. I called airlines and they said that there is no refund and nobody from travel agency called them about that. I called Adam Travel and spoke with A., office manager. He said that there is nothing they can do and we should get that our money back from airlines up to 2-3 weeks. The airlines still stating that there is no refund pending. We are left with no money and no ticket!!! The Adam Travel agent booked the wrong ticket and now they are not taking any responsibility for that. Who will pay for the days off we had to arrange at work to take our daughter to the airport that day? Who will pay for the transportation for our daughter that was organized for that day? Who will cover the costs of daycare now? Where is our money? We even did not get back the agency fee!!!*********/********(***) 07JUN ***---ADAM TRAVEL INVOICE ************** N UNIVERSITY DR SUITE 1836 DATE 02JUNE12PLANTATION, FL 33322 BOOKING REF ****** AGENT **/**TELEPHONE: 954 916-1911FAX : 954 916-1244 *********/******** $1450 SERVICE DATE FROM TO DEPART ARRIVE ******** ******** 07JUN MIAMI FL NEW YORK NY 130P ****** 1772 THURSDAY MIAMI INTL JOHN F KENNEDYW ECONOMY AIRCRAFT: BOEING 757 LOT POLISH AIRLINES 07JUN NEW YORK NY WARSAW 615P ****** 7 THURSDAY JOHN F KENNEDY ******** 08JUNV ECONOMY AIRCRAFT: BOEING 767-300/300ER LOT POLISH AIRLINES 15AUG WARSAW NEWARK NJ 110P ****** 11 WEDNESDAY ******** NEWARK ******** ECONOMY AIRCRAFT: BOEING 767-300/300ER LOT POLISH AIRLINES 15AUG NEWARK NJ MIAMI FL 825P ******* **** WEDNESDAY NEWARK LIBERTY MIAMI INTLK ECONOMY AIRCRAFT: BOEING 737-800 UA **** FLIGHT OPERATED BY ** ****** ******** --- INVOICE TOTAL 1,450.00---RESERVATION NUMBER(S) ********* *********

Desired Settlement: Full refund plus stress costs.

Business Response: According to our record the ticket in question is already fully refunded through the Airline since 8 June 2012. Attached is proof of the full refund processed through ARC ( The airline reporting corporation) which according to their rule the refund will reach the client card in about 2 to 3 weeks from the processing day, so I assume that Mrs ********* did receive her money already. To go back to the details of the story, our agent ***** ****** did contact Polish Airline to double check with them if they do unaccompanied minor or no because its a unique service not all airline have it. The Polish Airline representative told our agent that it is possible and based on that the agent did issue the ticket. After that they told us that this is not possible because some of the segments of the flight is operated by ******** ******* and they do not offer that service. The airline reviewed the recording of the call between agent ***** and the Polish Airline rep and they find out that it was the mistake of the representative and they agreed to give us a waiver to refund the full ticket back to the client with no penalty. We did respond to this case couple of time in the past 6 months and I hope this will be the last.

Best Regards
***** *******
Branch Manager
Adam Travel Florida
1836 N University Dr
Plantation, FL,33322
Tel: 954-916-1911
Fax: 954-916-1244

*************@adamtravel.net
www.adamtravel.com

4/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted Adam travel back in March regarding an organized trip to Saudi Arabia as part of the umrah offering. I have decided to travel with the group travelling on April 27th out of JFK to Jeddah and return on May 4th back to JFK. The package would include airfare, visa processing, lodging and land transportation. I have mailed Adam travel all the paperwork needed including filled out visa application, passport, vaccination forms and most importantly a check for the amount of $1820 for double occupancy as they advertised. The mail was sent on April 3rd from ******* WA with priority mail. I contacted Adam Travel on April 5th and their customer representative acknowledged receiving the package on that day ( April 5th ). They immediately cashed the check. In my initial contact with Adam Travel inquiring about this trip I have indicated to them that I will be flying from Seattle to JFK
(gate of departure) and I will arrange for that portion of the trip on my own. However, I would still need them to email me confirmation number of the ticket between JFK and JED as well as my passport with the VISA ahead of time to be able to travel. On April 9th I emailed their customer rep asking for an update on my confirmation ticket and passport. I only got a flight departure & arrival but no confirmation. Nothing on the passport or visa. On April 11th, I emailed their agent again asking about the confirmation number of my ticket and the passport. I got a response back on April 12th that the have not issued the ticket yet and that the passport is in the visa process???? I have called the agent ( April 17th ) over the phone and explained that I need a confirmation ticket and date when I get my passport ahead of time to be able to book my other ticket between SEATTLE & JFK. I later sent the agent an email indicating that On Friday April 19th If I do not have a ticket confirmation and time when I get my passport then I would consider the trip is not happening and that I need to get my passport and money back . I called their office on April 20th and another agent spoke to me and promised that I will be contacted on Monday 22nd with an update. On April 22nd I called the office multiple times to final speak to that agent who indicated that his colleague in charge of that process is not working on Monday and I have to wait until she comes in the next day or the one after...etc. I told him that it was unacceptable and I explained to him that I need either a ticket confirmation # & passport or I need to get a tracking number from them mailing me my refund and paperwork. He promised that he would call me within 15 min or so...but that never happened. I called him after two hours multiple times and it was either his answering machine or statement that he has gone to the bank, or went to park or move his car...etc. In those multiple calls, I got hold one of their agent answering the phone and I asked for simple status on my confirmation ticket. I was told that they had a reservation under my name as well for other travelers but those reservation have expired. No confirmation number yet or passport after 17 days of them receiving my paperwork and payment. I asked to speak to the office manager who told that there is no information for me and they need to more time to look into it. I told him my story again and he asked for more time with the promise that they will call me again. I have send their office a fax and an email stating clearly that I need either a ticket confirmation & passport be sent today April 22nd or a simply refund of the money I paid with my passport and other paperwork. to say that it has been a frustrating and aggravating experience is an understatement. I do not buy their excuses for not having a ticket confirmation or my passport back to me so far.

Desired Settlement: I am asking first for an apology . I would like that they mail me back my passport, paperwork and the money I paid.

Business Response: This case has been resolved

Consumer Response: "I was contacted directly by the director of Adam Travel on Tuesday April 23rd 2013. She has resolved the issues and sent me my e-ticket confirmation and tracking number for my passport that I received it on April 24th through FedEX. I am fully satisfied and grateful to the way she has handled my case. She indicated that the special circumstances in the Boston area and the situation with one of the staff being out sick was the reason for this situation or was a key in this delay. I am staisfied with the Ms ***** *******, the director at Adam Travel. The complaint can be closed as "resolved"

8/6/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I contracted with the Adam Travel branch in *******, New York (headquarters is in ******, Massachusetts) for a **** trip in October 2011 for 3 people for 18 days. We chose Group 3A which is a premium package, for just a little under $8,000 a person. **** is a spiritual journey to Saudi Arabia where lots of organization, care, planning, and coordination must take place since it is a strenuous trip in itself. Millions of pilgrims are there at the same time and that is why organization and good management is a priority. We chose Adam Travel because of its great reviews, history, and size of the company. We also chose a premium package because my parents are elderly and need a higher standard of service and care. But we were completely wrong. Our problems with this company began even before we started our trip. I asked our point of contact, ******** ** ****, if I can pay my trip with credit card so that I can get reward points for the trip since the total cost for my family was almost $24,000. He said yes, but then I would have to charge you the credit card fee that the credit card company charges me. I have never heard of any professional travel agency that tells this to their customers. I even called my credit card company to make sure that this does not happen occasionally. The representative said absolutely not. Mr. **** told me that the only thing he can charge to the credit card was the cost of the airline tickets since the airline does not charge him the credit card fee. Then later on, he changed his mind about charging the airline tickets by credit card and made up some story that the airline is having problems and won't take credit cards. I told him that he had promised me that he would do this and he had to solve the problem. And in the end, he charged my credit card for different clients of his that I do not know and performed many shady and unethical transactions. Another problem is that Mr. **** informed us that we would travel on October 28th 2011, when we in actuality were supposed to travel on October 27th 2011. I live in another state and had to pick up the tickets when I arrived in New York immediately prior to the trip. I picked up my tickets on October 26th 2011 only to find out that we were leaving the following day. If I hadn't looked at my tickets, I would have never known and would have missed the flight. And when I told this to Mr. ****, he denied it and said no I told you on the phone it was October 27th. To our misfortune and bad luck, this same person ******** **** became our group leader for the entire trip. He is unorganized, lacks leadership skills, cannot communicate, coordinate or manage any group trips whatsoever, and to makes things worse finds anyway to cut corners to save himself any petty cost after all the money he has received per person. When we arrived at Medina, the first city of the spiritual trip, he was not there to greet us and we had to look around and ask everyone till we found a leader from Adam Travel. They took us and our luggage in an old government bus while the Adam Travel website promises Private Air Conditioned buses for their premium packages. When we arrived at the hotel, they gave out the room cards to us while other people were standing around shouting that they didn't even have any rooms assigned to them. We arrived in ***** by bus five days later and stayed in an apartment style building in a place called ******. The company promised (also on their website) that the accomodations in ****** would be maximum 4 people to a room and if needed, accomodations can be made for 2 or 3 people on a first come first serve basis. I had told Mr. **** prior to the trip that that my parents were elderly and we needed to be together in one room so that I can make sure they are ok and have what they need. He said that he would try to put us together in one room. In actuality this did not happen and we even stayed 5 people in a room after the company promised 4 to a room. We later learned during the trip that Mr. **** brought in his friends from outside the group and the company and put them as extras in some of the people's rooms. This is absolutely unethical and downright just horrible action and service. After a few days we arrived at Mina which are camps that we are required to stay in for a few days. We were supposed to stay in upgraded Mina camps. However, there was nothing upgraded about the camps. The tents were overcrowded and there was not even room to walk to get to our futon, where each person slept. So many times people kept stepping over other people while they were sleeping. Some people couldn't even sleep from the lack of space. This was a very hazardous situation where people could have easily gotten hurt. Someone stepped over my mother's foot which was already swollen and pain stricken and she could not stop screaming from pain. There should have been special care given to elderly people or those with special needs but she suffered a great deal from the crowd and lack of space. We had access to our rooms in ****** in case someone needed to go back to change or shower but the distance is very far and the walk alone is about 45 minutes. Our group leader did not provide us with any transportation to the ****** rooms during our stay in the camps and even at the end of our camp stay to take us all back to ******. Other groups within the same company, were provided transportation although they paid less money than our group. One time it took me nearly 2 hours to move with my elderly parents to the ****** apartments from the camp with a wheel chair in extremely dangerous traffic and hot weather with no directions or guidance. I kept asking the police for directions, who didn't have much of an idea of the city. When we arrived at the apartments I was filled with so much stress, anxiety, and fatigue from what I went through and yelled at the group leader that he had no management, organization, or communictation skills. I told him I wanted transportation to take my family and I back to the camp after we were done. He said that there is no transportation that will come here to take people. 10 minutes later, a bus arrived a while group of people from the apartments walked outside and got on the bus back to the camp. When I asked him where that bus was going, he said to a different place. I walked out and asked the people getting on the bus where the bus was going. They answered: back to the Mina camps. Then an announcement was made that all the members of the group should get on the bus going to the camps because the bus was ready to leave. Our group leader, ******** **** lied right to my face while the bus was standing right there and the people were getting on. How much more inferior and ridiculous can one be treated? It cannot get worse than this. During the stay in the Mina camps, there is one day that is spent in another camp at ****** ********. This is the most important stay of the entire spiritual trip where the utmost focus and prayer must take place. We took a train from the Mina camps to the mountain. The group leader was in such a rush to get to the train and was walking very fast. An elderly lady was trying to keep up but fell on the platform and broke her arm, rushing to keep up with the group. The group leaders left her for the remainder of the trip with no medical care or attention and the women was screaming in pain the whole time. With no transportation to medical facility or doctor, I think the women's situation has gotten worse. After this situation, I think that a company like Adam Travel no longer deserves to stay in business. When we got off the train to walk to our tent, our leader did not even know where the tent was and kept walking us in the wrong direction for a long time in the heat before realizing we had to go back the other way. Because, I have an elderly parent in a wheel chair, we were slower than the rest of the group and got lost from them. We kept wandering along in the extreme heat with another person with an elderly mother in a wheel chair till we made many calls to other group members and managed to find the place. This is very irresponsible and unprofessional for a group leader to do this. He should have hired more group leaders to guide the large group but since he wanted to save every penny possible, this was not done. Adam Travel on their website claims that they provide specially upgraded air conditioned tents for group 3A. The tents that were provided to us were in no way, shape or form upgraded because it was shared with other groups who paid way less money that we did. And to make things worse, they were not even air conditioned. This day was extremely hot and no one was able to focus or make proper prayers. The tents on the men's side were extremely over crowded and there was not enough room for everyone. This is a very hazardous situation where people can get hurt and sick from the heat. Upgraded tents means that there should be futons to sit on, less people, and certainly not sharing the tent with people from other groups. This was the worse part of the whole trip since this is the most important day of the trip. After sunset on this important day, the pilgrims must go to a place called ********** to camp till sunrise. ********** is an open space where all the millions of pilgrims must spend the night. Thus organization, coordination, and communication is key in order to keep the group together and make sure no one gets lost. Again, we got lost from our group due to no guidance, planning, or organization. First our group leader sat us far away from everyone else on a sidewalk and then later on realized it was the wrong place and moved us further down. Group members just randomly sat at different areas and my family got lost from them and followed another group and stayed the entire time with them. We noticed how the other group was more organized and did not move till they made sure everyone was together. We saw other companies reserving special places for their groups with carpeting and a bus nearby in case someone needed to sit on the bus for a while or use the restroom. Of course it was impossible to sleep or rest from the lack of space and organization. After this day, there are three days of consecutive stoning of walls which is a mandatory ritual. The group leader was supposed to lead the group to do this but after this the group leader had disappeared completely and was no where to be found. The group leader disappeared for the rest of the trip and we had no more guidance. We would go to do the stoning in small groups together and return. On the third day of the stoning, Adam Travel tore down the entire Mina camp and basically threw everyone out although, the groups were entitled to one more day in the camp for optional stoning. There was no more food or drinks and everyone was dying of thirst and we had to go around asking other surrounding camps, from other companies for water. We were entitled to stay one more day in the camp but they just forced us out and everyone had to find their way back to the apartments on their own with their belongings. As I mentioned before, other groups in the same company who paid less money were provided transportation back to the apartments and we were not. My family and I opted for the premium package to obtain better service since my parents are elderly and need better service but we obtained even worse service. When we got back to the apartments we tried to find someone to make complaints to about this entire experience. We managed to find someone after a long while and he said he would inform the owner of the company and get back to us. No one got back to us or even apologized. We later stayed in a hotel in ***** for the remainder of the trip. Again when we arrived, there were some group members who weren't provided a room when they arrived and spent a night with no room. Other group members had extra people in their rooms, while they paid for a specific number of people per room. We paid for a triple occupancy room and only had two beds and had to inform the desk to bring another bed. There were so many problems with the accommodations. The groups insisted on having a meeting with the owner of the company, Mr. **** *******, about the problems we all experienced. He blamed the mishaps on the local contractor and said that he had no control of what happened. But this is not the problem of our group, we have a contract with Adam Travel. Adam Travel should take responsibility for the problems. There were people who were in our group who went with this agency before and said that the service was good a year before and that's why decided to go with them the following year but were very shocked by the service this year. The owner Mr. **** *******, said that he would contact all of us by the end of the month (November 2011) with a resolution to the problem. And till this day (Almost 7 months later), we have never heard back from him. When I went to confirm our departure with the company agents, the agent gave me incorrect information and told me I was supposed to leave that day when I was supposed to leave the next day and made me worried and confused over nothing, again showing that this company lacks organization and proper communication amongst themselves. Then I realized that they gave me the wrong return date from a connecting city that I was going to first before flying back to the US. The agent said that he could not change it and that I would have to leave that day, although the mistake was the company's. On the final day when we were leaving to get to the airport, the bus driver did not even know where the terminal was and stopped at a wrong terminal and kept calling the agents to find out the right terminal. They were giving him incorrect information and when the group members asked around in the airport for the right terminal, we found out it was somewhere completely different. Again this shows you the lack of communication and organization for the simplest things. Again please keep in mind, this is a Travel Agency, meaning this is their job. We would have been late for our flight had the group members not asked the airport employees. Even when we got to the desk, the airline agents gave us a hard time with our bags, wanting us to pay any money for the same amount of bags that we came with and the same weight claiming we had overweight bags. When we argued and told them we didn't have that much money in local currency, they told us to go exchange the money outside the terminal because they don't take dollars or credit cards. They nearly refused to put us on the flight. We told them this is what we have, take it or leave it. They took whatever we had after much pleading and arguing and we finally got on our flight after that strenuous trip filled with so much hardship and agony. These are only some of the horrible experiences and details that I can remember. There is much more but as anyone can conclude, the problems with this company are unlimited and do not end. The hazards they put us through are extremely tough given the fact that the journey is tough in itself. The purpose of the agency is to make it easier by providing organization and the services that they have promised. The building blocks of any company is efficiency, organization, and proper communication, which this company completely lacks. This is a travel agency, so it it should be their expertise to be organized, efficient, and manage well. They have been in business for so many years and they have so many branches worldwide. It is completely unacceptable for a company of their size to engage in such a horrible manner. To their dismay, I have many friends and family who wish to make this trip in the future, but I would never ever recommend this company to anyone. I also have a key position in my community where I interact with many people who are planning to make this trip and will go to great strides to make sure this company goes on the black list if I share my experience with them all. All my fellow group members feel the same way and will go to great efforts to do the same.

Desired Settlement: I demand an immediate refund for all the pain, suffering, and non delivery of services as well as the deceit and ill treatment for myself, my family and my fellow group members. Also for the deceptive fraudulent activity the company has engaged in and the false promises and advantage taken on the people who went on the trip and couldn't fight or scream or complain because of the state of spirituality they were in. I also demand that the company recognize what they did and apologize rather than denying what they did and blaming it on others. They should take responsibility for what they have done and all the problems they have caused. They need to recognize their shortcomings and listen to people's feedback in order to improve their services in the future. Otherwise they will never learn nor become a successful travel agency considering they have so many competitors and I have many connections within this community and it is very easy to spread the bad word. I also demand that the owner punish ******** **** for his fraudulent activities, lack of management, respect, organization, communication, care and deceit of the people. I think that this person played an enormous role in making this trip extremely bad for us. For the company's success, I strongly believe that Mr. **** ******* should not continue to work with him.

Business Response: In response the complaint:
The client purchased a trip to the pilgrimage in Saudi Arabia. The contract was for Adam Travel to provide Airline tickets, hotels and Transportation for the **** and airports. The client received and utilized all services mentioned. The pilgrimage in itself is not a vacation and we do not have control over the crowd and accommodations in the tents. We contracted and paid for the upgrade camps and air-conditions from the Saudi government and provided to the client. The client did complain about the tents being crowded and the heat. The client 's expectations was not in its place with regards to the pilgrimage journey. Others were extremely impressed with the camps.
The client mentioned that she was did not know the date of travel. I have attached a document that was posted online and that she also received, it indicated the dates of travel and the package details. The client elected for her father to be the correspondent with Adam Travel as he lived in ***, he was given the itinerary and the full flight details. The client complained that we did not want to accept Credit Card for payment. Businesses in the United States have the right to accept or not accept Credit Cards and it is not a requirement. It is apparent now that the client had other intentions. She took a chargeback on the Credit Card that we agreed to charge unjustly and we are currently pursuing this with the proper authorities. She told the CC company that she is asking for Charge back for serious issue and the Credit company declined then she proceeded and said it was a fraudulent charge. We have her signed document and a copy of the credit card charge authorization.
The client complained that the bus driver did not know which airport terminal to go to: The saudi airport officials do change departure terminals for flights during **** without prior notice and until it is time for the flight we would not have access to this information. The client complained about the luggage weight and airlines. We as a travel agency cannot change the Airline policies . All travelers must abide by the airline policy.
Finally, with regards to the complaint, They appointed a delegate from their group to communicate with Adam Travel and this matter was settled with the delegate

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Adam Travel says that they have provided Airline Tickets, Hotels, and Transportation. But as a reputable travel agency that provides pilgrimage services they need to be able to manage, coordinate, and plan for the well being and safety of the pilgrims. Otherwise one could go with any agency to obtain tickets, hotel, and transportation. Adam Travel has received premium money for providing premium services and that includes making sure pilgrims don't get lost, knowing where to take the pilgrims, and having a leader that knows where to go. One could pay for these services on their own but not have a leader to guide them through the trip. Adam Travel says they provided transportation. But as I mentioned in my initial complaint, transportation was not provided from the **** camps to ****** although other groups that paid less money than our groups within Adam Travel, did receive transportation from **** to ******. In addition, as you can see Adam Travel clearly indicates in their itinerary that accomodation in ****** is 4 per room. But in actuality we stayed 5 in a room in ******. So where the the correct accomodation that Adam Travel promised?

 

Adam Travel says that they paid for the Saudi government for upgraded camps and airconditioned tents. This was not provided because the air conditioning was broken and the President of Adam travel told the group that they had control over this because the Saudi government did not provide as asked for. Also Adam Travel said that due to crowding they have no control over the crowd and accomodation in tents. But if that is the case, why does Adam Travel ask for more money for upgraded camps and tents if they know over so many years of experience it will be overcrowded and everyone will be in the same spot anyhow?? Does this seem ethical? Taking more money and then saying we had no control over the crowds??? Adam Travel arranges for specially upgraded tents in Arafat and **** and they have illustrated to you in their itineray. This is for people who have paid more than others in package 3A. So shouldn't Adam Travel provide as promised. This is not the first or second of even tenth year that Adam Travel provides hajj services. If the Saudi government did not provide as promised then it is up to Adam Travel to take it up with Saudi authorities rather than letting the customers bear the costs. 

 

Adam Travel says I did not know the date of travel and they have attached a document indicating dates of travel. I did not say I did not know the date of travel. If you look at my original complaint, I said that we were told the wrong date of travel and only found out the real date of travel a day before. There is a big difference. If I did not know the date of travel, I would certainly ask since I am the one traveling. I did ask and I was told the wrong date. The dates of travel indicated as you can obviously see is an interval 26-28 Oct 2011. Please advise me if this is a specific date? As I very well mentioned before that we were told we were traveling Oct 28th while we were supposed to travel on Oct 27th. Is this a proper way to indicate a specific date of travel? And I was the correspondent with Adam Travel the whole time and the one in communication the whole time. My father just gave Adam Travel a check for the money while all correspondence was with me. 

 

There are so many other issues that I have mentioned in my original complaint that were not addressed and neither were the above issues mentioned addressed either as you can see the responses make no sense and do not apply  to the specific issues I mentioned. Also Adam Travel mentioned that our group appointed a delegate to communicate with Adam Travel and the matter was settled.  Please advise as to the delegate is because I do not know who I appointed and I would like to communicate with them regarding the settlement as Adam Travel mentioned. Thank you

 

 

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response: In response to the Rejection:

Hajj is a spiritual Journey that is conducted once a year and over 4 million people arrive from all over the world and must camp in a small area called **** for a few days.
It is well managed by the Saudi Government given the amount of people and differences. We provide other accommodation before and after this section.

Ms ***** is complaining pilgrims get lost. Some pilgrims do stray from the group and get lost, it doesn't happen often but it does happen, and they call us and we guide them, they all have id's with addresses and phone numbers and they are all required to wear them at all times.
She refers to the crowd in upgrade and that she paid extra for upgrade. "upgrade" refers to geography more than anything. the regular camps are over an hour walk to the place of worship. the Upgrade camps are directly across from the required area.
Ms ***** is still insisting that she did not know the travel date. Ms ***** 's Father is the person of contact and not Ms. *****. She had appointed him and he came in to the office and had communication and was very aware of the dates and ********. She had also previously mentioned some other people issues, we cannot discuss others with Ms *****, We will discuss each person's issue with them respectfully. Mr. **** is the person that was representing the group as a delegate.
The major issue with Ms ***** is her expectations of what the trip should be vs. the reality of what it is and always has been.