6/14/2016 We have requested that Vantage Deluxe World Travel STOP sending us catalogs that are are real burden to us. We are elderly and cannot travel. We have called repeatedly to STOP the catalogs.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by D. T. on 6/14/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by our promotional materials to *** * **** **** ********** We have removed their names from our mailing list. The passengers should see the catalogs stop arriving within 6-8 weeks as there may already be some scheduled mailings. They can still view our Memorable Journeys online, on our website, ***************** by on 6/14/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful .
5/28/2016 My concern is how the BBB can maintain a rating for Vantage Deluxe World Travel of A+ when they clearly practice deceptive sales practices and the majority of reviewers rate the company as negative and unsatisfactory. My Experience. My wife and I reserved a spot on their Croatia and the Dalmatian Coast cruise a full 6 months in advance and made a downpayment and received a confirmation number for the booking of that trip. We immediately signed up for the Vantage Portfolio where you could see your reservation and everything about it on line, such as air itinerary, trip itinerary, etc. Everything seemed normal and we fully thought that we had a valid reservation. There was never a mention that we were overbooked or that we didn't have a cabin. As a matter of fact on one of the phone calls to them, I asked why we hadn't been assigned a cabin and was told that the ship company did that just prior to sailing. 3 months prior to the sailing, Vantage contacted us and requested full payment, which we gladly supplied. We called up the air department and got seat reservations on our flights to and from the destination. Yesterday, 11 days before our flight out of O'Hare, we were called by ***** *******, supposedly a manager from Vantage, informing us that they had overbooked our trip and that we were being bumped out of the trip. As with other travelers who have complained, 3 choices were given, 1- we could wait to see if a cancellation came in, 2- they would reschedule our trip on a date of our choosing and give us a cash discount, or 3- they would refund our trip cost in its entirety. When I asked ***** how this was possible since we had confirmation numbers, he said if we looked carefully at the reservation, there was never a room assigned and that their normal booking practices were to overbook trips to insure they were filled. He also told me this was common practice. This seemed like an outright lie to me and upon checking with 3 more reputable companies we had travelled with prior to this trip, we were told that the sales and operations people were in constant touch and never overbooked but instead told customers the trip was completely booked but had waiting lists for that date if you so chose. I also talked with 2 travel agents, neither or which book with Vantage (and now I know why) who said they had never heard of a cancellation that late happening before. So not only does Vantage have shady at best practices but the henchman they assign to give you the bad news generalizes about all companies as if that will make it OK for them to do it. In retrospect I should have paid more attention to some red flags during the whole process. When I first booked the trip and the air portion, I should have insisted on getting a room number on the boat like you do with other tour companies. There was also a problem with getting seats on the flights assigned. When we first booked we were told it was too early to get seat assignments. When I called a few months later I was again told it was too early. When I called 3 months prior to the trip, I was told there were only a few seats left in the back of the plane. When I asked how that was possible, they told me I should have requested the seats when I first signed up for the trip! (HUH). In all I feel the practice of overbooking and not informing the customer that they have been overbooked until just before the trip is reprehensible at best and borders on deception that may be legally punishable. Even now, I cannot find in any of their brochures and trip booklets they constantly send you, anything mentioning their policy of overbooking or the companies ability to cancel your trip at the last minute. When I asked ***** to speak to someone higher up the food chain, he told me that no-one above him could change this decision, he was as high as I could go. I told him I wanted to speak to the head of operations to pass on my displeasure and was told I could send a complaint eMail. Why the BBB continues to support an organization like this makes me question the commitment BBB has to serving the customer. As for me, I have learned my lesson. I will never do business with Vantage Deluxe World Travel again. I would suggest that if you have done business with them in the past you should re-evaluate your choices or if you have never done business with them, keep it that way. There are plenty of travel companies out there that will do a much better job of meeting your needs. Look up reputable companies like ***** on the BBB and see if they have over 70% unfavorable reviews or for that matter any reviews at all. I certainly wish I had done so prior to making my reservation with Vantage.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by William B. on 5/28/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We are sincerely sorry for the overbooking which occurred on this trip and also that the other dates offered to Mr. & Mrs. ******* did not work for them. This is certainly not a pleasant experience for us either and your disappointment is understandable. However, Vantage, like most tour operators, overbooks its tours. We do this because historically, some people cancel their tour after they book with us. Overbooking is done in the best interest of our customer and Vantage. With the revenue produced by filling spots on our tours that would otherwise go empty, we maintain exceptional value on our tours. We certainly understand the ********* disappointment, and will be sending them an email with an offer. by on 6/14/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
5 people found this review helpful .
5/5/2016 Everyone who travels a fair amount with tour companies knows there may be changes to the accommodations or schedule. Sometimes you are happy with the change and sometimes you're not. However, what just happened on the Vantage Deluxe World Travel trip to Cuba was not just a change of hotel as it first seemed but a fraudulent and dishonest scheme. In Vantage's initial brochure we were excited to see we would be staying at the ***** ******** ** **** ** ******. In the that brochure, under the heading "Highlights", Vantage filled a third of a page describing ***** ********. Every communication from Vantage, including the final documents, continued to state we were staying at ***** ********* In the final documents, on page 2 and 3 they listed Hotel *********de Cuba as our hotel in Havana. However, somewhat buried on the eighth and last page, in the very last paragraph, the hotel was changed to ****** *****. The Documents stated they had the right to change the hotel to a similar hotel. I had been to Havana before and knew ****** ***** is not at all similar to Hotel ********* I wrote to the group agent, the trip agent, and to the President of Vantage. I did not receive any communication from them. When we arrived in Havana, the Vantage director for all of South America and Antarctica joined our group. After he listened to all our complaints, he surprised us all by stating that we were never suppose to stay at Hotel ********* This was not a change of hotels at all. That's when one member of our group went to Hotel *********and asked if rooms were available and indeed they were. By booking us into the ****** *****, this wasn't just a breach of contract because they did not book us into a similar hotel, it actually was fraud - a criminal deception intended to result in financial or personal gain. Believe me, they saved a great deal of money booking ****** *****. The hotel is filled with black mold and we had at least three members in our party change their rooms because water poured out from the ceiling light fixtures. They are trying to update the hotel but that meant there was constant drilling and sanding noise in our rooms all day long and sometimes until midnight. I am not looking to receive my money back. I am trying to save other people from suffering from the actions of this dishonest company. If there is a way to write to any agency that licenses this company, I would greatly appreciate knowing where I can contact such an agency.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by A. L. on 5/5/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We regret to hear of the disappointment Ms. ********* experienced on her last journey to Cuba due to the hotel change from Hotel Nacional to Habana Libre. Vantage is never happy that we are forced to change accommodations on a journey. Occasionally, due to circumstances outside of Vantage's control, we do have to make itinerary or accommodation changes, and we always try to find similar accommodations to what was originally listed. We do realize that Ms. ********* was disappointed with the Habana Libre. The change should have been communicated to passengers well in advance of the trip, and we are sorry that it was not. We are looking into internal processes to find out where the break in communication occurred to avoid it in the future. We appreciate Ms. *********** patronage in the past and hope to welcome her on many more travels with Vantage. by on 5/19/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3 people found this review helpful and 1 person did not find this review helpful.
4/14/2016 I booked a Christmas cruise yesterday on a special promotion. I found out there is a conflict with a relative's wedding. I called Vantage Travel to cancel. This is less than 24 hours. To my biggest surprise, they told me they have to impose $50 penalties on each guests that has reservations. No one mentioned that to us. Even the discount airlines websites allow you to cancel without penalties within 24 hours. No only that, we have to wait for their "review" for 3 days before we can cancel ! This is utterly ridiculous.Further more, we need their immediate cancellation acknowledgement in order to cancel our airlines tickets, also within 24 hours. This travel company is inconsiderate! Beware of booking anything with Vantage Travel!!!!
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Rose C. on 4/14/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business We are sorry to hear that Mrs. ****** has been upset by our terms and conditions. The terms and conditions were indeed told to Mrs. ****** by the reservations agent as part of the risk free deal. In addition, it is detailed in the promotional piece itself as follows: "All cancellations associated with the Risk-Free bookings will be exempt from normal cancellation penalties, and will be charged a nominal administrative fee of only $50 per traveler. In addition, if flights have been ticketed, additional penalties may be incurred up to full cost of air arrangements. All cancellations must be made in writing. " We are sorry for Mrs. ******** disappointment, however, the terms and conditions were outlined both verbally and in pint. by on 4/14/2016

Report Abuse I called in for the reservation because it runs the special promotion through Travelzoo. Thus if they have a contract in fine print, they should show that to the customer and make them book online instead of through the agent. The agent never specify that there is a penalty involved. I would like to hear the recording if Vantage Travel insists that it exists and the agent has informed me. by Rose C. on 4/14/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful and 1 person did not find this review helpful.
3/31/2016 I recently started receiving unwanted advertising from this company even though I have my preferences through *** to not receive unsolicited mail. I assume this company either does not check consumer preferences or just chooses to ignore same. Due to this unwanted mail, I will never use their service.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by K. V. on 3/31/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Thank you for bringing Mrs. ******** concerns to our attention. We are sorry that she has been inconvenienced by any of our advertisements. We would be happy to assist Mrs. ****** by removing her name from our mailing list; however, we would need her customer number or her full mailing address to do so. We have also emailed the customer directly for the information in order to remove her from our mailing list. by on 4/1/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful .
1 2 3