Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Kemwel

Phone: (207) 842-2285 Fax: (877) 227-7587 View Additional Phone Numbers 39 Commercial St, Portland, ME 04101 http://www.kemwel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Kemwel is a travel agent and discount car rental service. The business offers car rental in Europe at over 4,000 locations. The business also buys back rented vehicles and have over 50 model types to choose from.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kemwel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kemwel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1962 in NY Business incorporated 02/29/1960 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Imad Khalidi, President Ms. Molly Douglas, Customer Service Manager Mr. Brett Gould, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Molly Douglas, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Imad Khalidi, President
Related Businesses
Auto Europe, LLC
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

TOURS-OPERATORS & PROMOTERS TRAVEL AGENCIES & BUREAUS TRANSPORTATION CONSULTANTS AUTOMOBILE RENTING Tour Operators (NAICS: 561520)

Industry Tips
Finding a Travel Agency - 5 Tips - Video Planning a Tour Vacation Read Before You Sign Renting a Car Tours - Operators & Promoters Travel Agencies

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    39 Commercial St

    Portland, ME 04101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a car this past July for my trip to Germany. Rental contract indicated "full insurance coverage" and "no deductible." At the counter in Germany I found out that in order to have no deductible insurance I had to pay another Euro 105.00. The contract issued by Kemwell was fraudulent. I request a full refund for the Euro 105.00

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: The rental included CDW & Theft Protection with a zero deductible.********** Germany informed us they offered additional protection which covered items not covered by standard CDW, for example, Windshield protection and tire protection etc and this was accepted locally, with the price disclosed, for this optional extra, through the signed rental agreement which they provided.We have now re-opened the customer service file and sent this to ********** advising of out mutual client's statement that they did not describe what the additional coverage was and asked that they refund based on this.As soon as we receive their response, we will contact our client without delay.

Consumer Response: Hello!I wanted to let you know that my complaint #******** has been successfully resolved.Thank you for your help.

1/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kemwel sold a car rental via *****. The price was $59.30 as displayed on ***** and as following the link, shown on the Kemwel site, before and through the purchase. The purchase screen on Kemwel indicated - separate from the price box, down the page - that additional charges may apply and are charged locally at time of pick-up but no specific figure. AFTER the purchase, I received a voucher with the same price of $59.30 on the first page at the top with the word PAID IN FULL below it. What I missed is on the second page of the voucher, separate from all other changes, was a note on a " location surcharge" for picking up at the airport or rail-stations (the only places to get rental cars) of 49 Euro or nearly $80 - more than the cost of the rental itself as listed by Kemwel. And since this was a reservation for the next day, non-refundable. Kemwel refused to refund or acknowledge misrepresentation of the pickup fee that completely changed their competitive cost against other providers, but was only provided after purchase. For raising this concern with them and then disputing with the credit card company they threatened me with "watchlisting" and "credit reporting" I assume to discourage pursuing the issue further.

Desired Settlement: Kemwel should refund the local fee, which was MORE than the cost of the original purchase, added AFTER the purchase was made and change their process to FULLY represent their pricing BEFORE purchase.

Business Response: Our client made a reservation for a car rental, online, for one day, in ********* *****.He selected his pick up and drop off dates and times (July,2014), selected the car class and the rate and car company from the options available.In certain instances, depending on our contracts with the various rental car suppliers, and the country of rental, there can be mandatory local fees, which we are not contractually authorized to include in the prepaid reservation cost, and which are due to be paid locally, to the car company itself.For each option selected, before one adds any payment or personal information, there is a clearly defined “Terms & Conditions” section.Before one can confirm a reservation, one must acknowledge they have read the terms and conditions, which discloses what is included in the prepaid price, and what is excluded.The car company our client chose had a premium location surcharge for pick up at an airport location, which was due to be paid locally, and listed in the “Exclusions” section.When one checks the car out, there is a rental agreement which one signs, accepting any mandatory and/or optional extras.He did not contact us until more than two weeks after the return of his rental car and has unsuccessfully initiated several credit card disputes against Kemwel for the prepayment of the reservation which was, in fact, utilized.While we do regret the renter’s disappointment, we strive to make all local fees as clear as possible so that each prospective renter can make an informed decision and select the option best suited to their needs.In this instance, we do not feel a refund of the local fee to be appropriate.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  They are correct in that they have no legal obligation to refund the money.   My primary concern is deceptive business practices - not whether they are contractual obligated to list the fee.  In none of the locations specified and certainly not in the obvious location - where the charges are listed - did the business specify the extra local fee before the purchase, nor would I have any reason to anticipate this local fee would be more than the cost of the rental itself.  The local fee was not "premium" or "optional".   Are they required to return the fee?  No.  Are they being honest that "we strive to make all local fees as clear as possible," clearly not.  This is a deceptive business practice and consumers should be aware, regardless of whether they choose to refund my fee.  Regards, ***** *****  

Business Response: While we regret Mr. *****'s disappointment and feelings that are terms are at all deceptive.We cannot force our clients to read these, but they must select a box confirming they have read them in order to proceed with the booking.We do appreciate this feedback and are continually updating our terms to provide all of the necessary information for our clients to make an informed decision.As all of the information was both online prior to booking as well as printed on the voucher itself, and listed on the signed rental agreement, and as Mr. ***** admits he did not read these terms, in spite of acknowledging he had done so in order to get a confirmed booking, we cannot agree to a refund of the supplier's charge.Unfortunately, our position remains unchanged in this instance.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. I understand that they are not going to refund the fee because they are not legally required.  However, I reject that they continue to refuse to be accountable for their practices and transparent process.  Bottom line everything in my previous rebuttal still holds, they did not list the full fees (or even 50%) prior to purchase. Regards, ***** *****  

2/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kemwel helped me when my flight was delayed from Santiago to Punta Arenas, Chile, to update my car pick-up date/time to the morning of 30 Dec 2013. I had a reservation for Sat, 28 Dec 2013, but as the local ***** was closed when our flight arrived, the Kemwel agent updated my reservation for a Monday morning pick-up. The agent was friendly and sent me a new voucher on the morning of the 30th (see below). However, when I arrived at the airport at the scheduled time, there was no ***** representative there. I phoned the ***** office in Punta Arenas and they said that they did not have a record of my reservation and had no vehicles available. I gave him the voucher number, but they said that "they were the actual car rental company and had more accurate records than a 3rd party booking site." I was traveling with a group (3 couples and 2 kids). We had 2 car reservations total. I had no problems with a car from the 2nd rental agency (Enjoy Patagonia). I was able to rent an extra car from ******** *********************/, at the airport because the representative felt bad for me. I also checked with the ***** desk at the same airport, but he said that he had "double the number of reservations than available vehicles." I think that, due to the high season in Chile, some vendors are overbooked and do not update their electronic inventory frequently, which may have led to the error in my rental with Kemwel. Since I had a reservation time right before close on Sat and I showed up first thing Monday morning, the Kemwel rep assured me via phone that my reserved car would still be available. There is no way that they could have rented the car to someone else, as the office was not open Sat evening or Sun. This means that, most likely, my car was never available, even at my original reservation time on the afternoon of 28 Dec 2013. There was likely an error in the reservation system - either: 1) internally with Kemwel, 2) confirming the inventory at ***** for the original reservation or 3) communicating the updated rental time between Kemwel and *****. I sent the an email to Kemwel on 31 Dec, requesting a refund since they were unable to meet the terms of our contract (via the direct vendor, *****). However, they did not respond. Therefore, I am filing this complaint with the BBB. I hope that Kemwel will consider issuing me a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like Kemwel to refund the 847.22 USD that they charged me, since they were unable to deliver a rental car.

Business Response: We reconfirmed a reservation with ***** Chile for the new dates due to the flight delay.  Once we received the information that our client did not receive a rental car, we contacted ***** Chile to verify non use.  Before this could be verified, we received a credit card dispute.  We have now received confirmation that the reservation was not used, and have canceled the voucher and refunded the full voucher value, in the amount of $847.22 to the credit card on record.  Please allow 1-2 business days for this to post.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kemwel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)