BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Kemwel?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Kemwel

Phone: (207) 842-2285 Fax: (877) 227-7587 39 Commercial St, Portland, ME 04101 http://www.kemwel.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Kemwel is a travel agent and discount car rental service. The business offers car rental in Europe at over 4,000 locations. The business also buys back rented vehicles and have over 50 model types to choose from.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kemwel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kemwel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 11, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1962 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Imad Khalidi, President Ms. Molly Douglas, Customer Service Manager Mr. Brett Gould, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Molly Douglas, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Imad Khalidi, President
Related Businesses
Auto Europe, LLC
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

TOURS-OPERATORS & PROMOTERS TRAVEL AGENCIES & BUREAUS TRANSPORTATION CONSULTANTS AUTOMOBILE RENTING

Industry Tips
Finding a Travel Agency - 5 Tips - Video Planning a Tour Vacation Read Before You Sign Tours - Operators & Promoters Travel Agencies

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    39 Commercial St

    Portland, ME 04101

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kemwel helped me when my flight was delayed from Santiago to Punta Arenas, Chile, to update my car pick-up date/time to the morning of 30 Dec 2013. I had a reservation for Sat, 28 Dec 2013, but as the local ***** was closed when our flight arrived, the Kemwel agent updated my reservation for a Monday morning pick-up. The agent was friendly and sent me a new voucher on the morning of the 30th (see below). However, when I arrived at the airport at the scheduled time, there was no ***** representative there. I phoned the ***** office in Punta Arenas and they said that they did not have a record of my reservation and had no vehicles available. I gave him the voucher number, but they said that "they were the actual car rental company and had more accurate records than a 3rd party booking site." I was traveling with a group (3 couples and 2 kids). We had 2 car reservations total. I had no problems with a car from the 2nd rental agency (Enjoy Patagonia). I was able to rent an extra car from Recasur, http://www.recasur.cl/, at the airport because the representative felt bad for me. I also checked with the ***** desk at the same airport, but he said that he had "double the number of reservations than available vehicles." I think that, due to the high season in Chile, some vendors are overbooked and do not update their electronic inventory frequently, which may have led to the error in my rental with Kemwel. Since I had a reservation time right before close on Sat and I showed up first thing Monday morning, the Kemwel rep assured me via phone that my reserved car would still be available. There is no way that they could have rented the car to someone else, as the office was not open Sat evening or Sun. This means that, most likely, my car was never available, even at my original reservation time on the afternoon of 28 Dec 2013. There was likely an error in the reservation system - either: 1) internally with Kemwel, 2) confirming the inventory at ***** for the original reservation or 3) communicating the updated rental time between Kemwel and *****. I sent the an email to Kemwel on 31 Dec, requesting a refund since they were unable to meet the terms of our contract (via the direct vendor, *****). However, they did not respond. Therefore, I am filing this complaint with the BBB. I hope that Kemwel will consider issuing me a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like Kemwel to refund the 847.22 USD that they charged me, since they were unable to deliver a rental car.

Business Response: We reconfirmed a reservation with ***** Chile for the new dates due to the flight delay.  Once we received the information that our client did not receive a rental car, we contacted ***** Chile to verify non use.  Before this could be verified, we received a credit card dispute.  We have now received confirmation that the reservation was not used, and have canceled the voucher and refunded the full voucher value, in the amount of $847.22 to the credit card on record.  Please allow 1-2 business days for this to post.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made a car rental for italy through company this month, paid extra for zero deductable, on car, had tire blow out and had to pay 160eu to replace , Kemwel states not covered under ZERO deductable policy that I paid extra for

Desired Settlement: 160eu or 207.65

Business Response:

It is standard with rental car insurances that tires are not covered under standard Collision insurance.  That being said, our voucher for this particular rental did not, at the time of this booking, disclose this.

We would like to extend our most heartfelt apologies to Mr. ******* for this failure.  As such, if Mr. ******* could kindly send the receipt for the €160.00Euro for the tire, to my direct email address: *****@autoeurope.com or fax it to: 1 877 227 7587 and reference the Kemwel Voucher number - KM ******, we will immediately refund the $207.52USD to Mr. *******'s credit card.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Kemwel for a Peugot buy back program for my 3 month stay in France. On May 28,2012 I received an emergency call that my son was taken to the hospital and very ill. It was a Sunday and the next day Monday was a holiday and had no way to get the car back since I left immediately. I informed Kemwel on May 29 what had happened and Cameron Roy said I needed to speak with Peugot directly which I tried to do May 29 multiple times with no response even though they said they would get back immediately. I called Kemwel back and on June 1st **** ********* wrote that I can write an authorization letter so that the owner of the place I rented in France and where the car was, could drive it to Montpellier, the closest drop off place for Peugeot. On June 2 I emailed the owner saying that this could be done and he responded on June 2nd saying he tried to call the number that Mr. ********* provided but they were closed and he would arrange to drop it off that Tuesday, June 5th or Wednesday, June 6th. I did receive an email from Kemwel asking me about the car being dropped off by the owner of my rental in France. My son had emergency lung surgery and was in ICU and didn't respond that day. On June 8th I wrote the president of Autoeurope asking him for his help and why there had been no customer support in France when I spent my money calling for help in this matter. On June 11, the owner of the place in France said he received a call from Peuogot saying that they needed to pick up the car for a client and that there was in fact no way they would ever be authorized to drive the car under any circumstances. I did receive an email from Mr. ********* saying he requested the car to be picked up. I had agreed to this when I told him that the owner said Peugeot needed the car for a client and Mr. ********* said that was not true so I thought it best to let it be picked up. On June 12th ******* ****** the owner of the gite wrote me another email stating the again, Peugeot would not allow any driver to return the car. I feel that Kemwel should have never given me this false information and if they had told me that there was no possible way for any other driver than myself to return it, I would have had the car returned immediately another way. The car was returned June 15th by Peugeot at a cost of 150Euros. I expected to pay for the car to be returned but there was no customer service in France with the numbers that Kemwel provided and Kemwel should of checked before saying that I could write an authorization allowing the car to be driven by someone else which delayed the car being returned. They shouldn't give out information if it is not 100% correct.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbused for the unused days beginning June 1 - 14. Peugeot has given me a total of $279.87 for 16 days starting June 15. The contract stipulates a 16% charge for insurance costs that are not refundable. I paid a total of $3,056.33 from April 1 - June 30. I would also like $50 for the multiple calls to France that were not necessary.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******,

Thank you for contacting Kemwel.
 
Please be advised that we had, yesterday, refunded $297.88USD for the shortened rental period.
 
As a gesture of goodwill, Kemwel has also now refunded an additional $50.00USD to cover any out of pocket expenses for your telephone calls.
 
Please allow 2-3 business days for this to post.
 
If you have any other questions, or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.
 
Sincerely yours,
 
***** *******
Customer Service Manager Kemwel

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

I appreciate the additional $50 for the telephone calls but I was given false information on June 1st which delayed my returning the car.  Kemwel gave me 16 days of reimbursement but should have the additional 14 days from 6/1 - 6/14.

Regards,
*** *******

*** ***** *******

 

 

Business Response: Ms ******* made a reservation, through Kemwel, for a compact Peugeot vehicle to be leased for 91 days starting on 01 April.
 
This was confirmed with the manufacturer, and confirmation was sent to Ms. ******* on 02 March 2012.
 
On 26 April, Ms. ******* contacted Kemwel to request information as to how she could extend her lease by approximately 3 weeks.  She was advised that as she already had the vehicle, she would need to contact the manufacturer directly, but, we would be glad to do a conference call with her.
 
Kemwel was again contacted per telephone on 30 May, by Ms. *******, who informed us that there was a medical emergency and she had had to fly back to the US and that the vehicle was in a safe location at a rented residence in France.  She was informed that she would be best served by contacting Peugeot directly to arrange for the vehicle to be collected by them.
 
On 31 May, Ms. ******* called Peugeot and spoke with one of their employees, but the employee said she had no details as to where the vehicle was located or on what date she wanted to arrange collection.  Peugeot contacted Kemwel and we called Ms. ******* and left a voice mail for her asking her to contact Kemwel as soon as possible to tell us where the car was left.
 
Ms. ******* contacted Kemwel to advise she had left the car in Carnas, France, and gave the address.  She also mentioned that one of her friends at the residence in Carnas, has one key, and Ms. ******* had the other key in her possession in the US.   Kemwel then contacted Peugeot and gave them this information with a request as to the cost of one of their employees to go to this residence and collect the car.  Peugeot informed us that it would be more cost efficient if she had her friend bring the car with the key and registration to Montpellier Airport (approx. 31 miles from where the vehicle was located). 
 
Ms. ******* spoke with the leasing Supervisor, Will Nickerson,  on 01 June, and expressed a preference in having her car returned by one of her friends.  Will sent her an email confirming this and, forwarding the relevant telephone numbers to her, and confirming she must write a letter of authorization for her friend and which the friend would need in their possession while driving and returning the vehicle.  Will also gave her our address in the US where she could send the vehicle key which we offered to forward to Peugeot in France, on her behalf.  Will asked her to confirm when the friend had called Peugeot to arrange the return.
 
Between 01 - 06 June - we had no response from Ms. *******.  Will Nickerson sent a new email to her on 06 June, asking for an update as to where the vehicle was, and confirming a refund cannot be processed until Peugeot is in possession of the vehicle.
 
On 08 June, Ms. ******* called and spoke again with Will Nickerson.  She informed him she was not receiving cooperation from her friend who would now not be returning the vehicle for her.  She asked that we arrange for it to be collected from the residence.  We passed this information on to Peugeot along with the telephone number of the owner of the residence where she had been staying.
 
On 11 June, Peugeot contacted Kemwel and informed us they were not having success in contacting the owner of the residence, and were asking us to confirm with the client that she had left the key and registration papers with the owner of the residence.  Will confirmed to Peugeot that Ms. ******* had sent the key to Kemwel on 11 June and we were expecting receipt of this key within a few days, and would forward this on to Peugeot France per express shipping.  Will also confirmed the owner of the residence had the key and registration in his possession in Carnas, France.
 
Peugeot confirmed the vehicle and registration documents had been collected on 15 June.   Please note, the leasing period is not considered terminated until the vehicle, keys, and documentation has been returned.  The shortened leasing term was calculated from this date. 
   
As a goodwill gesture, Kemwel compensated Ms. ******* for her phone calls which she maintained cost $50.00, as well as paying the expedited shipping cost of her key from Portland Maine to France.
 
We recognize she is disappointed, but find we have competently assisted Ms. ******* throughout her situation.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********





The information in the last response is not correct. I never once spoke to any employee at Kemwel or Peugeot saying that I didn't know where the car was or anything about a date, that is absolutely untrue and would like to know who has said that.  I called Peugeot on many occasions and could not get anyone to help me except for this woman ***** who told me she would have someone contact me within 5 minutes. How would that even be possible since I called and said I had to leave the country and told Mr. Roy exactly where the car was.  It was my idea to see if the car could be driven by the owner of the rental and now Kemwel is saying that Peugeot suggested this would be the fastest way.



The only thing I agree with is that I was unable to call Kemwel or Peugeot between June 1-6 because my son was in intensive care and I should not have had to go to all of this trouble in the first place trying to run after Peugeot to get help when I called May 29,30,31st over and over again from the hospital doing my part to inform them right away.  The bottom line is that I got no service in Europe and I was told by Mr. ********* that the car was allowed to be driven by someone other than myself when there are 2 emails to me stating that Peugeot told the owners NO.  I paid over $3,000 for this car and am asking for $279 for being given information that was not true.  They also told me to mail the key to Portland which I did on June 11th.  I wrote the below email to Mr. ********* explaining why I thought it would be better for Peugeot to collect the car:
Will:
The key was mailed earlier to the Portland address and should arrive within a couple of days with a signature delivery.  I did email Frederic Ledent an authorization letter but think it is safer and faster to have it picked up by Peugeot.  I don't really want to depend on them.  They emailed saying that Peugeot needed the car back immediately because they had a client for the car.  After speaking with you and saying that was not true, it is best for this not to be handled by them.  They did say that they could leave the key and paperwork even if they were not home for whomever does the actual pick up.  As you said best, everyday that goes by is one less for any type of a refund for me.


Autoeurope is saying that it was fine for the owner to drive my car to Montpellier but I received the below email on June 11th and June 12th stating that they received a call from Peugeot asking to pick up the car because they had a client that they needed it for: 
"I'd like to have your confirmation we can give the car, and who we can give it to. (Because the company for the luggages also asked for the car).In fact i was going to call the drop off agency today as they were closed on week-ends and i was in NY last week, but the man from Peugeot on the phone said we can't drive the car anyway because it has red numbers which means it's a very special contract with no insurrance for any other drivers. So finally if this is true it's a good thing Richard or I didn't take the risk to drive it to the drop off in Montpellier."



From: ******* ****** ************************

Subject: ici la FRANCE !!!!

Date: June 12, 2012 3:13:44 AM PDT

To: *** ******* ******************

Reply-To: richard castel <castelrichard@yahoo.fr>



"Hello LIZje viens d'avoir un Monsieur de chez PEUGEOT FRANCE au téléphone(*********0) qui m'a confirmé que je ne pouvais pas conduire la voiture car je ne suis pas assuré, du coup jeudi matin un monsieur veindra chercher la voiture au Domaine.Je préparerai aussi votre valise pour quelle soit prête pour jeudi matin pour que le transporteur puisse la récupérer. Voila !!!! BISOUSSS Richard."

I feel that I did everything possible to try and contact both Kemwel and Peugeot and should be reimbursed for the amount I am asking.  
Regards,

Liz Woods Sanders

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.