Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd.

Phone: (401) 841-9991 Fax: (401) 537-9119 127 John Clarke Rd, Middletown, RI 02842 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lineartitle.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. provides title, closing and ancillary services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Linear Title & Closing, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 12, 2007 Business started: 12/31/2004 in RI Business incorporated 12/31/2004 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
1511 Pontiac Avenue , Cranston RI 02920
http://www.dbr.state.ri.us/divisions/banking/
Phone Number: 401-462-9617 or (401) 462-9500
Fax Number: 401-462-9602 or (401) 462-9532
DBR.BankInquiry@dbr.ri.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nick Liuzza, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Liuzza, President
Number of Employees

330

Business Category

TITLE COMPANIES MORTGAGES-COMMERCIAL MORTGAGES-BROKER MORTGAGES-ADVISORY SERVICES INSURANCE COMPANIES INSURANCE ESCROW SERVICE Title Abstract and Settlement Offices (NAICS: 541191)

Products & Services

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. sells the following brand(s): American Guaranty, Commonwealth , Fidelity , Old Republic

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. offers the following product(s): Commercial Services, Default Title Services, Title & Closing Services, Wireless Title Services

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Wire
BBB Program Participation

BBB Community Patrons
BBB Community Patrons are like-minded businesses that see ethics as the key factor in creating a stronger, healthier business community.

BBB Community Patrons' additional financial support enables BBB to pursue distinctive, mission-based programs focused on ethics that would not be possible if not for the generous backing from BBB Community Patron Sponsors.

Industry Tips
Adjustable Rate Mortgages Advance Fee Mortgage and Loan Brokers Finding an Insurance Company - 5 Tips - Video Health Insurance Home Equity Loans Homeowners Insurance Insurance Companies Life Insurance Mortgages - Broker Read Before You Sign Tips for Title Insurance Tips for Title Insurance - 5 Tips - Video Tips for Title Insurance Part II - 5 Tips - Video Tips for Title Insurance Part III - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 127 John Clarke Rd

    Middletown, RI 02842

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint in reference to Linear Title Linear Title & Closing Close Faster. Close More. **** ** ********* **** ***** *** ********* ******** ** ***** Direct Line: ************ Web: http://www.lineartitle.com In November of 2015 we "re-mortgaged" our home. Our representative suggested using Linear Title for assisting with that work. We were displeased with the service and had some customer service issue along the way. Our representative from ******* ********, **** *********, tried to assist with issues as he suggested and set up this Title company. In short, after all was done, we had a 3 way call with ****, ******* ********, ****** - Linear Title, and myself, **** ******. We asked for clarification on concerns of a check as well as a copy of all documents we signed. The representative of Linear did not leave a card or and data. Also, I asked some questions about data and she said she just printed it off. She then left us with a packet of data that had been minimized to fit standard paper which is very difficult to read. During our call with ****** ******* [d*******@lineartitle.com] and ****, I did request a copy of all documents that we signed. She stated the representative should have given it to you. I stated that she did, however, it is not legible as it had been shrunken down to fit standard paper. She said she could send to me. I shared concerns for privacy and she said that is not an issue it will be sent protected. Our issue for the BBB is the safety of our personal data and information. On 11/04/2015 ****** sent all of our personal data out (EVERYTIHGN - SS#s, tax info, Birthdays of us and children, etc...) via email with an adobe password protection on it. After our phone call she sent an email which read: Date: 11/04/2015 Time: 4:11 PM Hi there – Your signed loan docs will be sent via email These documents will be password protected PASSWORD: xxxxxxxxx (changed for reporting to BBB site - however also important due to generic nature) Her next email read as the below with a 170 page/14MG document : Date: 11/04/2015 Hi there Attached is a copy of your signed loan docs pkt The password has been sent in a previous email Thank you ****** ******* Linear Title * Upon receipt of this email, we were now extremely concerned about our personal data and security. On 11/04/2015 - I sent her the following email in response: Hi ******, thank you for the information. Can you clarify your companies Privacy Policy for emailing over data that has social security numbers and private information in it. Also can you clarify how you sent our data over to the woman who executed our paperwork for the home closing. Thank you, **** ****** On 11/04/2015 ****** included another representative from her company, Casey Sterling - csterling@lineartitle.com, and responded: HI **** You received the loan docs pkt with password protection – correct? ****** ******* Escrow Officer 11/04/2015 I responded and also included ******: ******, I did receive the data. The methodology for security of private information is not up to regulations. Your methodology nor password meet regulations for privacy information- ie: SS#'s, etc... Does Linear Title have a Privacy Policy ? As requested, as a client, this should be able to be remitted. Also, what methodology did you use with any other persons or agency's of which you sent our data to? This would be inclusive of and not limited to the woman, notary, who did our closing. Please share her full name and information. She did not have data on her the evening she came out. What checks do you use on someone like her (your policy should clarify). Thank you, **** 11/4/2015 ****** then responded: Good Afternoon, For our notaries they have to log into a secure website after being subject to a back ground check. At no time do we email documents unless specifically requested by a borrower and then we will only send them to the borrower with password protection on them. Thank you, ****** Sterling Escrow Manager * I brought **** ********* in on the issue and as I understand they had telephonic discussions and Linear Title was going to send us a response. On 11/04/2014 I also went to Linear Titles main website and reviewed their privacy policy : http://www.lineartitle.com/#!privacy-policy/cjoo This appears to be only for their website. So, I contacted them by using their "Contact Form" on the bottom of their home page and requested data on how they send client data. Is it in the same fashion as they state in their privacy policy: How we protect your information We adopt appropriate data collection, storage and processing practices and security measures to protect against unauthorized access, alteration, disclosure or destruction of your personal information, username, password, transaction information and data stored on our Site. Sensitive and private data exchange between the Site and its Users happens over a SSL secured communication channel and is encrypted and protected with digital signatures. * I never received a response. On 11/05/2014 I sent a follow up email: Hello ****** and ******, As I have shared, we are extremely concerned about your methodology of handling and sending our personal data. We would request correspondence to the below by close of business 11.16.2015 . If you are unable to respond and prefer us to speak with someone else in Linear Title please let us know. Thank you, **** ****** * I have never received a response. On 11/17/2015 I started the process of figuring out what my next steps were. Our daughter had a head trauma that day which resulted in concussion, testing and specialists. We are just getting back to this issue. In the meantime we have a barrage of cold calls, odd #'s, etc.. on our home phone, my daughter's phone as well as had our credit "hacked" on Dec. 24th. While I realize this may not be connected it has all just begun since our re-mortgage.

Desired Settlement: We feel that Linear Title put all of our personal data and security in jeopardy by the methodology they used to send over all of our personal data. We feel they are not following the correct local, state, and/or Federal laws of HIPAA and other data guidelines. We would like answers as to their system, the representative who was onsite at our home, and how the privacy of our data was safeguarded throughout the entire process. We would like there to be repercussions and corrective actions to the "group" that sent our data out carelessly and erroneously. We also feel our information is now at jeopardy and want Linear Title to pay for monitoring for our entire family.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******, We are very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with Linear Title.  We strive to provide excellent customer service to all borrowers.  We would like to address your concerns as you have presented them.  First, we apologize for the lack of communication after your closing with various employees at Linear.  This is something we are addressing with the employees in question as it is our policy to promptly reply to all inquiries from borrowers.  Please know that we will take all appropriate action to ensure this is not a recurring problem.  With respect to your privacy concerns, we do not believe that your personal information has been compromised by Linear Title.  The process of sending two emails – one with a password protected PDF and the other with the password is an accepted practice in our industry and an appropriate means to receive your loan documents.  Additionally your email hosting server, Comcast, supports TLS encryption, which means all emails sent from Linear Title to you were sent securely.  The notary who signed your loan documents with you has been vetted by the notary service and loan documents are sent to the notary service via a secure website portal.  If a notary were to experience any kind of security breach on their end, they are obligated to promptly notify Linear, at which time Linear would provide the proper notification to the consumer.  Your personal data is handled securely when in our office.  We are a paperless office, so no hard files are kept.  The digital files are protected by safeguards designed to protect borrower data.  Linear undergoes an SSAE16 audit by a third party firm to ensure it has appropriate controls in place to protect customer data and to verify that those controls are operating effectively.  Additionally, the company’s website and file server(s) are co-located in an enterprise-class data center that is audited under SSAE 16 standards annually.  Logical access controls are in place to ensure only authorized users are able to gain access to the company’s information resources and customer data. All employees and contractors must  acknowledge and adhere to the Company’s Information Security Policy in order to gain access to the Company’s information resources. Data security surrounding Linear Title’s website includes secure communication of all website traffic and mandatory security account controls to protect data accessed through the company’s website. At this time, there is nothing to indicate that any data has been compromised from our end so we cannot conclude that your credit being hacked is attributable to your recent refinance.  HIPAA is not applicable in this instance, as it relates to sensitive medical and health information of an individual, however other data privacy laws are applicable.  Those laws were followed as described above.   Sincerely,Linear Title & Closing

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  We disagree with your answer and feel it is exceptionally  poor from a customer perspective.  You have "emailed" us a stated business response.  We have requested documentation that supports you have these systems and items in place.  Also, there is no follow through or up with our persons that dealt with us.  If this is your resolutions - we will disagree and follow next steps.  Regards, **** ******    

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ******, We apologize that our initial response did not meet your expectations.  We tried to provide you with the comprehensive answer you were looking for regarding our process and procedures and also explain how our process was followed and that it meets all relevant laws.  It was completely tailored to your question.  We have followed all security protocols required by applicable law.  The only follow up/follow through we can provide is with respect to the lack of communication you experienced, and as mentioned in our initial response, the relevant employees are facing the appropriate disciplinary action.  It is also important to note that the refinance transaction was done in your husband's name, therefore we only had your husband's social security number.  While you signed a few documents as part of the transaction, we did not and do not have you or your daughter's social security number, therefore any suspicious activity with that information could not have come from a breach on our side.  Regards,Linear Title & Closing

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  In  actuality, this serves as another clear example of you all NOT reviewed the data and packet. You had all of our personal data. Mine, my children's, and my husbands. This included personal data, SS#'s, DOB, and much more. All of this data was within the packet.  Also, the data provided was medical and financial in nature due to the requests and packet in place.  If you re-read - I also signed all paperwork. Data that was provided was on the full family (for several reasons) and only my husband is liable/responsible for the loan. You must have missed those parts.  Just as we feel very strongly you missed several other items in your process that you feel are documented - however were NOT followed by your subcontractors and other staff. You still have not provided us with a route of our data - who it went to (inclusive of the sub contractor) nor an actual policy that you state you have and are supposed to be able to supply if a customer asks. Regards, **** ******    

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a home on online and linear title was to do the closing we have waited so far 2 months and we are still not closed on the home so we have been making calls to them to find out what is going on and yesterday I was informed that it was are fault cause we didn't send a paper back after it was notarized they stated it was sent in e-mail and the e-mail told us what to due. I pulled up the e-mail and all it said was to e-mail it back and they could have the home completed. their was no shipping label with the e-mail so the sent one over so how is that our fault we did what we were told to due. before all this took place we would call to them and we would get rude employees on the phone saying they don't know nothing about our home. so I would ask for a supervisor and they would state that they were not available at the time and would call us back the never called us back. also on another time we had called them and they said we were holding up the closing cause they needed payment on the home so we asked about the paper work that would be for closing and they said we needed to fill it out and return it by 5pm our time with the payment or we could not close without it. this was only 1 hour notice cause they failed to call us ahead. so we ran around town to get this all back to them and it did nothing for us were still waiting for closing. I paid 41,000 for the home and paid 44,000 for another home and the fees for linear title were way higher then the other and they have fees for other things that were not on the other closing

Desired Settlement: I would like them to give me my money back with no amount taken from the closing and send it to my other closing company so I can get it closed and not have pay their high fees.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to address the issues raised in this complaint. This sale concerned an REO property and experienced delays due to the foreclosure documents not being recorded in a timely manner. The recording of the foreclosure documents is the responsibility for the foreclosure attorney. The foreclosure deed on this file was recorded on 7-10-15 which unfortunately was after the estimated closing date 7-6-15. Linear acknowledges that delay in recording of the foreclosure deed and the subsequent delays in the closing process caused by the delayed recording were not properly communicated to the buyer.  Our process is to alert buyers of any closing delays once they are known to Linear, in this instance the buyer was not properly informed of the delays cause by other parties. During subsequent conversations with the Buyer on this file it was determine that  the buyer was communicating with Linear's work share partner (Linear utilizes a work share partner in ** to provide title and settlement services) regarding the closing of the file. Linear had not informed its partner of the closing which caused confusion on our partners end. (Linear's process is not to inform its partners of a closing until the foreclosure work is confirmed to be completed.) We have addressed communication protocols with our partner and asked that communication on pre-closing items be direct to the appropriate Linear team. Regarding the timing payment issues in the closing, Linear notified the buyer on 8-10-15 of the need to wire funds into escrow however the email made reference to a 24 hour time period and that reference should have been removed. This was an automated email that is typically sent out at least 48 hours in advance of a closing. Team members have been altered to review timing provisions in emails to ensure buyers have adequate notice of the need to wire additional funds for closing. Regarding the buyers fees, additional fees were paid by the buyer due to the need for Linear to use a work share partner in **. Linear has reduced its fees to match the buyers expectations. Linear has worked with the buyer since receiving this complaint and he has been indicatedthat he is satisfied with the resolutions Linear has implemented. We hope to confirm that through this portal.

7/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Linear Title completes a large number of transactions on behalf of ************ *********** does not negotiate the closing company for transactions. Linear title takes advantage of the consumer's inability to use a different title company to close the transaction on the purchase of a home by charging over 200% the average price for the closing of a real estate transaction. They take advantage of a consumer by telling them they either pay the fees or lose their deposit, which is usally thousands of dollars.

Desired Settlement: Linear Title stops charging people obscene amounts for transactions that the consumer has no control over.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the consumer’s concerns.Linear Title & Closing, Ltd does provide title and settlement services to alarge number of transactions that are facilitated through ***********. In eachcase, prior to Linear's involvement with the consumer, the consumer will beprovided a disclosure of fees and a contract that outlines the manner in whichtitle and closing fees will be broken down.  In this case the consumer's contract provided for the buyer (consumer) to payfor both the seller’s side and buyer’s side of the title and closing fees. A fee breakdown disclosure was also provided to the consumer prior toLinear's involvement which disclosed a range of possible settlement fees. In preparingfor the closing Linear must follow the contract and allocate the closing andtitle fees accordingly.While the payment of fees by the parties is something that is negotiated priorto Linear's involvement, Linear often works with consumers on our fees to tryto reduce what we can given facts specific to each transaction.  Providingconsumers with exceptional service and reasonable fees is Linear’s highestpriority.The consumer also made a comment about a loss of deposit. The payment of anearnest money deposit is dictated by the terms and conditions of the contractbetween the seller and buyer. As with the title and closing fees Linear's roleas an escrow agent is to follow the terms of the contract. In the case of fees,we portion our fees between the buyer and seller as the contract indicates. Inthe case of the deposit, Linear holds the deposit in escrow and if either partybecomes entitled to receive the deposit then we disburse the deposit accordingto the terms of the contract. If any money is considered disputed funds thenLinear will hold the funds until a court or the parties resolve the issues. Linear understands that the terms of eachcontract is unique for every transaction and the amount of fees each party(buyer/seller) is responsible for can vary greatly; therefore we strive toprovide the consumer with fee transparency and work with them to make sure theyare comfortable with the details of the closing transaction. Linear encouragesconsumers to contact our team to discuss any questions and concerns they mayhave about our fees so they can be promptly resolved. 

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company known as Linear Title & Closing at *** **** ****** **** in **********, RI ***** have failed to provide my spouse and I legible copies of all signed closing documents pertaining to a settlement that they conducted within our home on February 17, 2015. We have called and emailed them more than 8 times asking for the documents and an e-copy of the documents as well. We have spoken with **** *******, ***** ********, and **** * ******** (Westar Mortgage - the loan company that they serviced). No one has provided us these legal documents. We've also contacted the Rhode Island Chamber of Commerce and have been advised that this is against the law. This is our next step to receiving the documents that have been legally recorded in ******* ******, VA. We seek remedy.

Desired Settlement: We will accept nothing less than the closing documents that we signed; we're entitled to a copy of the documents by law.

Business Response: Linear Title & Closing has reached out to the borrowers to supply them with copies of the complete closing package. At this time the borrowers have been supplied with the available scan copies which include a complete record of the closing package. We have also offered to send the borrowers a complete hard copy as well which is more legible when printed out then when viewed electronically. In addition we have offered to supply copies of the electronically recorded documents which are clear when viewed electronically. 

We will continue to follow up with the borrowers to supply whatever information and documents that we can. We have supplied, at this point, all of the signed documents within ourescrow file. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not completely satisfy my issues and/or concerns, but it appears to be the best that can be done. The closing documents mailed to us still weren't as clear as they should have been; however, there are no other documents that will remedy this issue.  in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

******* **********