BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Linear Title & Closing, Ltd.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd.

Phone: (401) 841-9991 Fax: (401) 537-9119 127 John Clarke Rd, Middletown, RI 02842 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lineartitle.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. provides title, closing and ancillary services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Reviews  are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Linear Title & Closing, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 12, 2007 Business started: 12/31/2004 in RI Business incorporated: 12/31/2004 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
1511 Pontiac Avenue , Cranston RI 02920
http://www.dbr.state.ri.us/divisions/banking/
Phone Number: 401-462-9617
Fax Number: 401-462-9602
DBR.BankInquiry@dbr.ri.gov

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. Nick Liuzza, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Liuzza, President
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

TITLE COMPANIES MORTGAGES-COMMERCIAL MORTGAGES-BROKER MORTGAGES-ADVISORY SERVICES INSURANCE COMPANIES INSURANCE Title Abstract and Settlement Offices (NAICS: 541191)

Products & Services

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. sells the following brand(s): American Guaranty, Commonwealth , Fidelity , Old Republic

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. offers the following product(s): Commercial Services, Default Title Services, Title & Closing Services, Wireless Title Services

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Wire
Industry Tips
Adjustable Rate Mortgages Advance Fee Mortgage and Loan Brokers Finding an Insurance Company - 5 Tips - Video Health Insurance Home Equity Loans Homeowners Insurance Insurance Companies Life Insurance Mortgages - Broker Read Before You Sign Tips for Title Insurance Tips for Title Insurance - 5 Tips - Video Tips for Title Insurance Part II - 5 Tips - Video Tips for Title Insurance Part III - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Linear Title & Closing, Ltd. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 127 John Clarke Rd

    Middletown, RI 02842

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed on refinance Oct 19th, 2012. I noticed on the HUD-1 a line item for property tax payment. I erroneously assumed they checked with either the county or previous mortgage holder that the quarterly payment had not been made. They did not check close to closing and indeed my previous mortgage company had made the quarterly payment. I discovered this after I called them to see my escrow balance. I called Linear and they said they couldn't stop the check and I would have to wait 5-7 days for the check to get to the county, wait for the county to return the check, then mail me a check back. I paid in excess of $1500 for title services and lender's title insurance. What did that large fee get me but an incorrect HUD-1 and hassle waiting for escrow over payment to hopefully, eventually get back to me. I feel this is inferior service, it is their job to get the HUD-1 and property tax payments correct.

Desired Settlement: I would like my overcharge for property taxes returned as well as a portion of the fees payed for inferior service.

Business Response: Linear Title& Closing, Ltd. (“Linear”) acts as title insurance agency and escrow agencyfor real estate transactions.  As the escrow agency for a real estate transaction,Linear is responsible for ensuring that real estate taxes are paid for thesubject property.  For that reason, Linear will contact the tax collectorto verify whether taxes are owed for the subject property.  In the instantcase, the tax collector informed Linear that taxes were not yet paid for thesubject property.  Per the borrower, hisprior mortgage company had already disbursed funds from his escrow account tomake the relevant tax payment.  However, by the time of closing anddisbursement, the prior mortgage company’s tax payment had still not beenprocessed and posted by the tax collector.  While the borrower was able topresent proof of the disbursement from his escrow account, it is possible forthese payments from the mortgage company to be reversed or lost when they arenot yet posted by the tax collector. Therefore, Linear collected and disbursedthe tax payment because the tax collector had not yet shown the tax payment wasposted.   Upon being made aware of the payment from theborrower’s previous lender and being presented proof of the disbursement to thetax collector, Linear began contacting the tax collector daily to verifythat taxes have been paid. Linear justconfirmed today November 6, 2012, that the mortgage company’s tax payment wasreceived by the tax collector.  Linear is currently in the process ofcancelling the check sent by Linear and will refund the borrower the taxpayment.

9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did a closing on our house and told me I needed to pay extra property tax if due less than six weeks but my mortgage already payed them for the whole year. I explained that, but was told since the paper work was made out showing that the taxes were due . I had to pay the amount on the paper work. when I call and ask about the refund I am told that they have to get the check that they sent to ***** county but when I talked to ***** county I was told they sent the check back over a month and a half ago. I am always told they will look into it and they will get back to me and I never hear anything unless I call back and than I told the same thing

Business Response: Linear has refunded the borrower the tax payments.  The funds were delivered to the borrower on 8/21 and cleared Linear's account on 8/31.  Linear considers this matter resolved.

9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2010, I did in fact purchase a property from ********* ******** who was represented at closing by Linear Title & Closing. I did in fact pay in full all monies due to successfully complete the sale. I in turn in June of 2012 had the property contracted for sale to an approved buyer, I then found out from the city of ********* and the title/ escrow company that I DO NOT in fact own this property, the property was never recorded and I nor my realtor was contacted in this matter. So I paid for and improved a house that I do not own in the city of *********. I contacted Linear Title & Closing and spoke to numerous persons from the recording dept. to the quality control dept. I have not received any satisfaction. I am out of a buyer for this property, the buyer walked away and does not feel safe with contacting Linear due to the fact of their past negligance with myself. I have been requesting my purchase money and intrest that has incurred since August 2012. I have put over $7,000 worth of work in a house that I do not own and can not sell. I just want my funds returned and walk away from this disaster.

Desired Settlement: I want my purchase money and my intrest and improvements refunded. I have all paperwork and receipts available for review

Business Response: Ms. *****’ complaint appears to be that the Deed was not recorded.  Ms. ***** was the purchaser in a real estate transaction with a Seller.  During the real estate transaction the Seller signed a Deed conveying the subject property.  Once the deed was signed by Seller, Linear attempted to record the Deed.  When Linear presented the Deed for recording, the County Recorder’s Office rejected the recording.  The County Recorder’s Office rejected the Deed recording because there were unpaid citations pending against the subject property.  The County Recorder’s Office required that the property violations be paid prior to the County Recorder’s Office recording the deed.  Neither buyer nor seller paid for the violations.  To record the deed, Linear ended up paying the violations to get the Deed on record.

The Deed is now recorded and Linear considers this matter resolved.