Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pingo

Phone: (781) 505-7500 Fax: (781) 505-7300 20 2nd Avenue, Burlington, MA 01803 http://www.pingo.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pingo specializes in the sale of prepaid international calling services. There is no recurring commitment and your balance is carried forward every month. Customer can choose when and how to add funds to their accounts.

Terms and Conditions

Frequently Asked Questions

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Pingo


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pingo meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pingo include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Pingo
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 23, 2004 Business started: 08/02/1996 in MA Business incorporated 08/02/1996 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edmond Romulus, Fraud Analyst Mr. Les Stevens, Retail Business Manager Mr. Dhaval Jhaveri, Business Manager Mr. Ardjan Konijnenberg, VP Business Strategy
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dhaval Jhaveri, Business Manager
Principal: Mr. Edmond Romulus, Fraud Analyst
Principal: Mr. Les Stevens, Retail Business Manager
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

CALLING CARDS TELEPHONE SERVICE-LONG DISTANCE MOBILE TELEPHONE SERVICE All Other Information Services (NAICS: 519190)

Products & Services

Pingo sells the following brand(s): Pingo, Pingo EZ Dial (Free Dialer Application), Pingo Soft Phone (make calls from your computer with Internet connection)

Pingo offers the following product(s): Pingo Diamond Plan - Calling Plan with competitive rates with a $1.98/month fee, Pingo Mega Plan - Calling Plan with super-low rates with a $2.98/month fee, Pingo Platinum Plan - Calling Plan with good rates with a low $0.98/month fee, Pingo Premium Plan - Calling Plan with NO monthly plan fee

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
PayPal

Pingo accepts United States Dollar (USD), Canadian Dollar (CAD), European Union Euro (EUR) and Great British Pound (GBP).
Refund and Exchange Policy
Pingo will refund 100% of you purchase less any promotional amounts for new customers requesting their accounts be closed. Existing customers will be refunded 100% of their available balance to their original method of payment, unless most recent payment transaction is greater than 90 days old. In such case, customers will be issued a paper check for the balance, within 2 - 4 weeks of the date of account closure. All account closure request must be made either in writing or by contacting our customer service department at  1-888-878-8838. 
Service Area
Pingo provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.
Alternate Business Names
iBasis, Inc.
Industry Tips
Telephone Communication Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pingo has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20 2nd Avenue

    Burlington, MA 01803 (781) 505-7500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being charged extra for all the mobile phone calls I make to Portugal when I use Pingo.com. Their rates are as follows: Portugal = 5cents Optimus = 7cents TMN = 7cents Vodafone = 7cents Example of one of many: I called optimus phone number for 3.18min. = 4 min, and was charged 0.32 cents. I should have been charged 0.28 cents according to their rate (4min. x 7cents = 0.28) This happens throughout all my bills.

Desired Settlement: The business is responsible to review all my bills and provide a refund of all the money wrongfully charged.

Business Response: Hi,
We reached out to the customer over the phone, but he could not talk at the time of our call.  We called back, but the customer was not available so we left a message.  We also sent an email to the customer explaining to him the 1 cent difference that exists in the rates per minute when using our local access number versus using Toll free number to make an international call, which may be where the discrepancy lies.  Our record also indicate that the customer has only been charged $5.53 for all calls made during the month of September 2014, which is when the incident occurred, yet the customer is disputing a $10 charge.  We have asked the customer to help clarify things for us so we can resolve the issue amicably.  We're waiting to hear back from the customer.

Regards,
****** *******

8/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called the company Pingo in March, April, May, June and August 2014 to tell them to stop the monthly Maintenance Fee of $0.98/month. Last spoke to **** and his Manager ******* on August 14, 2014 to ask for refund of billing errors for the last four months. Pingo has billed for UNAUTHORIZED Platinum plan with deception and without my consent. This complaint affects a lot consumers and will be referred to a law firm specializing in class action

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the monthly fee of $0.98/month with a written apology.

Business Response: Hi,

We refunded the disputed amount of $12 back to the customer's credit card on file.  We also credited the customer's Pingo account for $5 at no cost to the customer.  We tried reaching the customer at the number provided on the BBB complaint ***** ********, but we weren't able to get a hold of the customer.  We left a voice message explaining our actions.  We hope this will help resolve this issue.

Thank you,

The Pingo Team

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is in regards to multiple issues: 1) unauthorized credit card charges, 2) unauthorized changes to the contract or agreement, 3) failure of customer service to respond to written request, and 4) failure to honor their policy regarding refund. During a recent review of my statements, I noticed that Pingo has been charging me $0.98 every month for the past year for a "Platinum" service I never agreed to. When I signed up with Pingo over 5 years ago, there was never any monthly charge. I emailed Pingo on September 24, 2013 inquiring about these charges, and requesting that they cancel all past instances of the charge and switch me back to their basic no-monthly-fee service. I added that if they cannot do this, then to please cancel my account and refund my remaining balance, which at the time was $14.02. I never received a response. Yesterday, October 23, 2013, they charged me $0.98 again, decreasing my balance to $13.04.

Desired Settlement: To refund all instances, past and present, of the $0.98 monthly charge. If this is not possible, then to close my account and refund my balance AT THE TIME of my original email, which was $14.02.

Business Response: Hi,  Our terms and conditions clearly indicates that we charged a monthly maintenance fee of $0.98 per month.  When a customer signs up for our service, they are agreeing to all of our terms and conditions including accepting the fact that we charge a $0.98 monthly maintenance fee.  Per the customer's request, we refunded $14.02 back to the customer's credit card which the customer should see back on his/her credit card within 3 to 5 business days.  I should also mention that we tried reaching out to the customer, but were unable to get a hold of the him/her.

Thank you,
****** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

****** ******* from Pingo has not addressed my primary concern, which was to refund past instances of the monthly fees and switch my account to their basic no-monthly-fee plan. He says that their terms and conditions clearly indicate they charge a monthly maintenance fee of $0.98 per month, and that when a customer signs up, he agrees to the terms and conditions including the $0.98 monthly maintenance fee. This is not correct. Pingo has various plans including a plan that charges NO maintenance. I have attached a screenshot. And when I signed up over 5 years ago, it was for the no-monthly-fee plan. Mr. ******* also says that Pingo tried to reach out to me. I received no email or voicemail from Pingo. In any case, I clearly indicated my wish to cancel the account if they could not refund the instances of the monthly fee. No response from me was required. Mr. ******* did, however, just process a refund of $14.02 (not for the monthly fees, but for my remaining balance.) I ask again that my account be canceled completely. As of now it is still active (I am able to log-in). There is no way to cancel an account on their website. I do not wish my credit card to be charged $0.98 again next month.

Business Response: Hi,  We refunded the maintenance fee of $0.98 and closed the account per customer request.  Please let us know if you have any other issues or concerns.

Thank you,
****** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

9/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/5/13 I signed up for international phone service to Sierra Leone. After completing the process and the $50 charge was taken out of my account, I tried to make a phone call, only to learn (for the first time) that one city in Sierra Leone was NOT covered by Pingo. That city was Freetown, the capital, and the ONLY place I need to call! I immediately sent an email message to Pingo explaining the situation and requesting that my $50 be refunded. In reply I received a message congratulating me that my application had been accepted and I could start making calls! I sent a second message, again requesting the $50 be refunded and no more charges be made to my account, and stating that if not, I would be contacting BBB. I received no reply. Today I went back to their webpage and brought up my account information. It still showed that 2 automatic renewals had been approved. I tried to change that to 0, but could not do so. I sent a 3rd message today, requesting the refunds for the $50, plus any automatic renewal charges that might have been made. I also complained about not being able to cancel the automatic refunds.

Desired Settlement: Refund to my credit card account for the $50 start-up fee, plus any automatic renewals that may have been charged to my account; cancellation of any future renewals.

Business Response:

Hi,  Unfortunately we do not provide service to that route.  Our Terms & Conditions clearly states that on our rates page " ** Sorry we don't provide service to Freetown".  We refunded the full amount of $50 back to the customer.  We tried reaching out to the customer, but were unsuccessful in our attempts.  We left a voice message. 

Thank you,
******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened an account with PINGO on 07-05-10, and purchased $50 of calling time. I provided an email address (****************) for Pingo to send my confirmation email to. As of 9pm ET 07-06-10, my Pingo account has not been activated. I have called Pingo several times today and contacted the compnay via their website but to no avail. I got hold one of the customer service representatives at one time who told me Pingo has sent the confirmation email to the address I (****************) I provided. I've been checking my messages all day long and got no message from Pingo, not even in my junk mail folder. I also provided a different email address for Pingo to send the confirmation email to but they didn't. I just checked my bank account to see if the $50 charge from yesterday has been presented to my bank because I wanted to close the Pingo account. I just realized that Pingo has submitted two %50 charges to my bank account when infact my account has not been activated. I have not been able to make any of the international calls I had planned to make today. This is poor customer service. I've informed Pingo that if the second $50 withdrawal causes any overdraft charges from my bank account, the company will be held responsible. DesiredSettlementID: Refund Product_Or_Service: Prepaid Call Order_Number: ********** Purchase_Price: 50.00

Desired Settlement: Pay me back my money $100.00, and any overdraft charges

Business Response: Hi, This issue appears to be a 3 year old issue. Our record indicates that the issue was dealt with.  The customer's account has a $0.00 balance.  We tried reaching out to the customer at the number provided in the complaint, it went back to someone else with a different last name.  We also tried to reach out to the customer at the number that we have on file, that number is no longer in service.  We are ready and are prepare to clear up any confusion surrounding this issue.  if the customer wishes to contact someone at pingo.com directly regarding this issue, please have the customer contact us at ###-###-#### or *******************.

Thank you,
******

7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I noticed unauthorized used on my account, and called Pingo to suspend/close. The account is still active, and they let the credit runs out. Someone break my account, changed the auto-recharge to $50, and made(and still making) a lot of calls to Egypt. I called Pingo to suspend or close my account. They told me the account will be closed in 30 minutes, but when I check back after hours, they call me they "will close" the account, and refund what is left in the balance. But they do not know when the account "will be" closed. Calls are still being made now, and I think by the time they close my account, the credit in the account will become "Zero" and my credit card will get charged again. It is ridiculous that when a fraud is being reported and the customer rep cannot suspend/close the account immediately. They can only report it to their supervisor, and wait. When you ask when it can be done, they will just ask you to call back, put you on hold, or drop your call.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the unauthorized charges to my credit card.

Business Response: We refunded the account and closed it per customer request. Customer should see refund within 3 Business Days.

Business Response: Hi,This appears to be an old complaint. Our record indicatesthat the issue was resolved.  We would more than happy to clear anyconfusion surrounding this issue.  If the customer wishes to contactsomeone at directly pingo.com, please have the customer contact us at###-###-#### or *******************.

Thank you,
******

7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mom recently passed away. I closed her Pingo account and they refused to refund the balance of her account. It's not much money but it is the principle of the matter that is the point. The amount is $12.45. DesiredSettlementID: Refund Product_Or_Service: long distance phone service Order_Number: ********** Purchase_Price: 12.45

Desired Settlement: Refund $12.45.

Business Response: Hi, This appears to be an old complaint. Our record indicates that the issue was resolved.  We would more than happy to clear any confusion surrounding this issue.  If the customer wishes to contact someone at directly pingo.com, please have the customer contact us at ###-###-#### or eromulus@ibasis.net.

Thank you,
******

7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised 2.75¢ per minute ?No hidden charges or fees?the rate you see is the rate you pay? and they are charging me 68 cents the first minute!  Refund Product_Or_Service: Calling card Purchase_Price: 22.96

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Hi,This appears to be an old complaint. Our record indicatesthat the issue was resolved.  We would more than happy to clear anyconfusion surrounding this issue.  If the customer wishes to contactsomeone at directly pingo.com, please have the customer contact us at###-###-#### or *******************.

Thank you,
******

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is impossible to speak to a real person with this company. I have had problems making phone calls and have been getting charged for calls that have been incomplete. I keep getting answering machines and have people refer me to the website DesiredSettlementID: Refund Purchase_Price: 50.00

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or at least a phone number where I can speak to a real person

Business Response: Reach out to the customer- & Left him a message. Waiting to hear back from Customer

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The carrier long distance international lines have been down for weeks and they refuse to fix the lines. They have elevated the issue for weeks. I still cannot dial an international number. They tell me daily wait 2 hrs and try again to still get message 7. They need to fix their lines or give people their money back.

Desired Settlement: Refund Give me my balance on the account back.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I funded my Pingo account with $20 and then did not use their services. When I closed my account with them and asked them to refund my money they refused. Then when I asked them to reopen the account with a $20 credit that I could still use, they refused. They basically took my money, provided zero services, and now will not correspond with me.They are, in truth, thieves, plain and simple. Product_Or_Service: calling card

Desired Settlement: Refund I would like my account funds of $20 to be refunded to me, with a check sent to my address.

Business Response: Our record indicates that the customer has a zero balance on his/her Pingo account. In the interest of resolving this situation, we will mail a $20 refund check to the customer. The refund check will be sent to the address that we have on file.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are traveling to Africa (Equatorial Guinea) and I was referred to this company for a calling card. I went to their website to sign up. When signing up it asked where I would be calling from and of course I entered Equatorial Guinea. I was then asked to where I would be calling from there and of course I entered United States of America. Nowhere in anything on their website state that I couldn't use their service while calling the USA from out of the country. I called the customer service number (that was only provided after I completed the sign up)to find out what the international code is to call the USA since I was unable to obtain it from there automated system. The man I spoke with was named ***** and he was not very helpful. He stated that I can only call other countries while in the USA, and that I can not call the USA from another country. I advised that I want my account closed and that my credit card better not be charged since this information was not listed anywhere. He stated that he will take care of it. I requested something that states that my credit card will not be charged and that this account will be closed and he told me that he can't do that. ***** stated that they already charged my account and that I will have to just wait to see what happens with any kind of credit. I advised that I wanted to speak with a supervisor and he asked, "Why?" So again I told him that I will not be charged for something that they fraudulently charged me for since their advertising was misleading and incorrect. Product_Or_Service: International Calling card Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement: Refund I would like confirmation of my account being closed and confirmation that my credit card will be refunded the $20.00 that they charged plus $35.00 for my time and aggravation since they will not work with me and their website is not accurate as well as misleading to the public.Thank you,****** ********

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Contact Phone: ###-###-#### Contact Email: ******************* We apologize to the customer for the inconvenience that this issue caused. Our service does work outside of the U.S. In countries where we don't have access numbers, customers simply have to login to their pingo.com account and use our softphone system to make international calls. Again we apologize for the confusion. Also, we in fact did reverse the transaction back to the customer's credit card, which she should have seen back on her account within 3 to 5 business days. Please let us know if that is not the case and we will look into issue. Again we apologize for what transpired.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used the Pingo calling card service for many years to call Australia. For the past ten days and at times for the past six months, every time I place a call I get a message that that number is not available at this time. I have an automatic recharge of $20.00 on my account and since my credit card number recently changed, I accidently added an additional %20.00. So they now have $40.00 of my money and I am unable to place the calls that I have taken out the service for. When I requested a refund, I was told that they do not refund the money. On their websote they are still advertising service to Australia, but the service is non-existent. DesiredSettlementID: Refund

Desired Settlement: REFUND OR THE SERVICE TO AUSTRALIA THAT I PURCHASED

Business Response: We will research the issue and get back to you as soon as possible. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sign up on www.pingo.com, and put $20 in my account, but the softphone never works well. After hours of trying, I have to give up. I sent email to their custom service to require a refund (as they promised). Every time I sent the refund request, they said the refund needs 3-5 business days . After tens of emails and more than one month's waiting, they didn't reply my email requests any more. No matter what I asked in the email, they just didn't reply. I'm very mad and I think this is a very bad company. Now I just want my money back. I have been waiting more than a month.PS: my account number is 0xxx-xx-xxxx Product_Or_Service: prepaid calling card Account_Number: my pingo account: 04

Desired Settlement: Refund I need a refund of money and don't ask me to wait another 3-5 business days, because you always ask that and I have been waiting more than a month.I would also like an explanation why the customer service didn't reply to customer's request.

Business Response: We refunded $20 back to the customer per the customer's request. We also closed the account because the remaining balance is bonus money that we had given to the customer for signing up. Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a payment through Pingo online.They took my money from my checking account ($10.00)But they said that my account was under review. For over 7 hours and counting they did not make availablemy $10.00 so that I could make a phone call.I emailed them several times and mentioned that I had zero balanceand that I needed to make an call but still they kept sayingmy account is under review. But why did they collect my money?I could have used it to pay another phone company. As I wriitemy account is still under review and my $10.00 is in their account.What is my recourse.Please help. I called their number many times noone picked up the phone.What can I do?

Desired Settlement: Other (requires explanation) I need your advise. Please

Business Response: Our record indicates that the customer tried to recharge more than once and our Fraud prevention measures kicked in; which was the reason why the funds weren't available to the customer right away. We've since resolve the issue and the records show that the customer has been using his Pingo account to make calls.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary of problem: iBasis accepted payment for services, refused to activate the account, and ignored requests for a refund if the account could not be activated. On October 11, 2012 I created an online calling card account and a $5 calling card purchase with ***** (iBasis). The transaction was paid through Paypal, payment ID *****************. Immediately afterward, I received an email from iBasis asking me to "verify my account" by forwarding the email with the first four digits of my account number and the answer to the security question provided when I created the account. Because I own my own domain and have a "catch all" email address (meaning you can send an email to anything at the domain, and the email will be sent to my primary inbox), whenever I create an account with a business, I use an email address linked to that business, for example *****@(MyDomain).com. I did so when I created the ***** account. This means that the security question email was sent to *****@(MyDomain).com, but I received it at my primary email address, which was different than *****@(MyDomain).com. I forwarded the email I received to *****'s security department, stating the above information and clarifying that it was NOT POSSIBLE to send an email from *****@(MyDomain).com, and providing the requested information about my account number and security question. I received an email in reply telling me I must send the required information from the email address I had used to create the account, which I had just told ***** was not possible. I replied to that email, stating that it was not possible to send an email from that address, and if they were unable to activate my account, then please to refund my $5. I was ignored. On 28 November, still not having a refund or a confirmation of my account being activated, I forwarded the security email to *****'s customer service address, reiterating my request for a refund. I was ignored. It is NOT LEGAL to take my money, refuse to activate my account, and ALSO refuse to refund me. You must either provide the service or a refund. To do anything else is fraud.

Desired Settlement: I want Paypal transaction ID ***************** fully refunded. If this matter is not settled by the time the 60 day Paypal refund window expires, then I want the money sent to the same address I used to make the transaction, with the Paypal fees funded by iBasis, so I receive the full $5 back.

Business Response: “Hi,
We were experiencing technical difficulties with our Paypal IPN(s), which was the reason why the customer's ***** account was not automatically credited.  We refunded the $5 back to the customer's Paypal account and have also credited his ***** account for $5 at no cost to the customer.  We apologize for the inconvenience and hope that the customer will understand that it was issues beyond our control that resulted into the bad experience that he had with our service.  Again we're sorry and hope that the customer will give us another chance to prove ourselves.

Thank you,
The ***** Team”

Consumer Response: I have received the refund, thank you.

Your explanation as to why I was not refunded does not fully accord with what happened; although you may have an automatic  mechanism in place that refunds non-activated accounts, the fact remains that I was twice ignored, once by the "security department" and once by customer service in my effort to resolve this matter. If the person reading this has some authority, you may wish to investigate why this happened.

I might also suggest that your account verification procedure is a mystery to me; I don't see how it could possibly be effective, because all it requires is the ability to receive email, and there are a multitude of free email services a thief could use (GMail, etc). Also, given that my Paypal account was verified AND I used a confirmed address, it was obvious it was a real account.

Thank you for the additional credit, but I won't be using your services, and if you have read this far, you may permanently close my account and remove me from any mailing lists.

7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a phone card from Pingo to make international long distance calls. I didn't have a problem for the first 3 weeks, after that I could never get a line to make my calls. I was told to wait and redial but nothing happened. After that I could never get a line to place a call. I contacted the Consumer service by email and was promised a refund within 5 business days. After 11 business days I sent another email. No one replied. I sent another one
and was told that I will get a refund after 3 business days. After 5 business days I still didn't get the refund. My emails to customer service remained unanswered. Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement: My refund (minus the promotional $10 offered at the time of purchase)

Business Response: Hi,
We requested that a refund check for the remaining balance on the account be mail to the customer.  The check will be in the amount of $19.44.  The request was placed on 6/13/2012.  Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns.

Thank you