BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of ComFi.com?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

ComFi.com

Phone: (800) 219-6993 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 81362, Wellesley, MA 02481 http://www.comfi.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

ComFi.com is an on-line communication company specializing in on-line prepaid phone (calling) cards.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ComFi.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ComFi.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on ComFi.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 09, 2005 Business started: 03/01/1998 in MA Business incorporated: 03/02/1998 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tanya Miller, Financial Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tanya Miller, Financial Manager
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

PREPAID PHONE CARDS-RETAIL CALLING CARDS PREPAID PHONE CARDS-WHOLESALE Telecommunications Resellers (NAICS: 517911)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
PayPal
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states their refund & Exchange Policy is as follows; If at any time you are not happy with a phone card purchased online at Comfi.com, we will work hard to remedy the situation.

If you are experiencing technical difficulties with your international calling card – we will gladly contact the provider of your card on your behalf to resolve the issue.

FOR REFILLABLE CALLING CARDS:

You will always have the option to transfer a remaining balance from your calling card to a different type of calling card from a separate calling card provider.

If you purchased a refillable calling card and your PIN number expires –please contact us within 30 days of expiration to restore the balance of your card. We are unable to reactivate cards with PIN numbers that
have been expired for more than thirty days, or were given out free of charge.

If you find that you are not satisfied with your calling card – we will gladly issue a full refund within 30 days of any refillable card purchase if the card’s PIN is unused. Partial refunds may be made on a case-by-case basis within 30 days of purchase, for refillable cards only.

FOR NON-REFILLABLE CALLING CARDS AND PREPAID CELL PHONE REFILLS:

Calling cards that cannot be refilled online and prepaid cell phone refill cards adhere to a strict “NO REFUND” policy and cannot be returned.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Once you make a purchase you are bound to this refund policy regardless of whether your purchase is flagged for verification or not. A purchase which is flagged for verification by our system may be accepted without further verification, at any time, after it is reviewed by a member of our customer service department, if it meets our security requirements. A purchase which is flagged for verification by our system may also be
refunded, at any time, after it is reviewed by a member of our customer service department, if it does not meets our security requirements.
Service Area
ComFi.com provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARSHALL ISLANDS , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PALAU , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 81362

    Wellesley, MA 02481

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (781) 235-4755 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a international calling card (the card's name is Everest)for $100 in Jan 2013. I have been using the card without any issue until July 6 2013 when Comfi wipe out my account completely and told me that there is no phone card on my account. I made a call on July 4 2013 and there were still around $53 on my account. I also found that the initial order statement was not accurate. The billing statement showed that I purchase $1 while I actually bought $100 (there is no $1 option to purchase the phone card)

Desired Settlement: I would like Comfi to issue a new Everest Card to my account with my unused $51.28 balance.

Business Response: All of our cards are unlimited but do carry an expiration if not refilled in 6 months. This is clearly written on our web site as well as the original invoice. The reason the invoice shows as $1.00 is that a balance transfer was made from another card to the Everest Card. In order to issue a new brand of card, a $1.00complimentary card is given and the balance is then transferred. The balance has been restored and in the future, a call to customer service or a refill every six months is all that is needed to extend expiration.I have attached the original invoice as well as a link to the expiration notice.http://www.comfi.com/Phone-Card/Everest

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company misinformed me about calling rates, I was under the impression of that the rate was 18.4Cents to call Guinea, turns out it was false, I only spoke for 12 minutes. I ended up calling customer service and they rudely told me that it was 84.6 cents. I hope they are able to truly show exact rates instead of bluntly lying to customers. I've created a snapshop of this on http://siteamoi.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/Capture.png

Desired Settlement: I want what I paid for, I want extra minutes added to my calling card at a rate of 18.4 Cents a minutes.

Business Response: Hi ******,
You are indeed correct, the site does show 18.4 c/m for calls to Guinea land line using the Sahara card. However, your call was placed to a Guinea cell phone with an advertised rate of 83.3 c/m. Had you selected cell in the snapshot you provided, you would have seen the  correct rate. This is clearly shown in several different places on our site, which I have attached for your review.http://www.comfi.com/p/card-rate.php?id_from_country=182&id_card_company=51#G

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

3/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They offer $10 credit for referring a friend through the iphone app. I did the referral and never got the credit. I email their customer service, and they say the friend has to make at least 10 dollar purchase. In the advertisement from the app offer, they didn't mention any spending requirement like that.

Desired Settlement: $10 credit

Business Response: Dear ****** *****,
The terms of the bonus are clearly stated in the (Invite a Friend) details section contained within the Application. "Referrer will receive $10 in app credit for every person referred once they complete their first purchase." According to our records, the referred friend at ************** has not completed a purchase, nor have they even downloaded the application. ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several years ago I bought the FASTWORLD calling card from Comfi and refilled it 6 times at $20.00 each time. I called my family and friends overseas and didn't have any problems. On the 7 January 2012, I tried to call but the access nbr would not work. I called the Tech. Dept and they didn't know why it didn't work and gave me 3 other access numbers, one of which was a local ******* nbr. I specifically asked if my local provider was going to charge me for this call. I was told that it shouldn't since the access nbr is a local nbr. I made my call to France, and had no problem. I then try again with one of the other 800 access nbrs and still couldn't get through. I talked to the supervisor and he said the probem should be resolved in 12 hours. The next day, the access nbr was not working. I send a message to the Customer service and said that if they couldn't fix the problem to refund me the balance in my account $26.31. Today I checked my account and it shows that my account was refunded the 4 NOVEMBER 2011! It shows that I made call to Afghanistan (never did) and I still cannot reach the Customer Service. Their phone is dead!

Desired Settlement: I would like the $26.31 refund that was left in my account, and I would like a refund on any charges occured on my *** phone bill if the access number given to me by Comfi tech is not a free access nbr.

Business Response: Dear Customer,

We have found and investigated your account, and see that the amount of $26.31 has already been refunded back to your credit card ending in -0216.

We have only one USA local access number listed on our site, www.comfi.com, for the FastWorld card. The only access numbers listed are the following:
"USA Continental: **************
From mobile or landline with free long-distance: ************
USA Alaska: **************
USA Hawaii: **************
Global Local Access Numbers >> which links to: http://www.comfi.com/Phone-Card/FastWorld/Global-Access"

The above information has been copied from the following link under the tab "Access Numbers": http://www.comfi.com/Phone-Card/FastWorld
The above information is also sent to you in your confirmation email after you make a purchase.

The only USA access number which is not toll free is the one which says it is to be used only from "mobile or landline with free long-distance". If you do not have free long distance with your physical phone provider, you would need to check with them which numbers they allow you to dial for free in your area. All these access numbers are tested daily and have not been disconnected.

Our Customer Service phone number ************** is also tested daily, has not been disconnected, and a live agent can be reached during the below hours:
Mon-Fri 9:00 AM - 9:30 PM EST
Sat 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM EST
Sun 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM EST

We are not able to give credit for charges made by your phone provider for phone calls made to a local access number that is not local in your area.









































Sent:
1/9/2012 1:37:18 PM


From:


BBB of Eastern MA, ME, RI, & VT



To:



Tanya Miller





Subject:

BBB - BBB has Received a Customer Complaint



This complaint requires action on your part. After reading this message
- click here to view your options.




Tanya Miller
ComFi.com
34 Washington Street, Suite 201
Wellesley  MA  02481

Dear Tanya Miller:

Better Business Bureau has received a complaint from one of your customers about your business.

Complaint # 8873794 was filed on 1/9/2012 12:43:08 PM by Stella Hall .


There can be two sides to every story. Sometimes complaints are caused
by mistakes or misunderstandings that a business wants to know about and
correct.
 
BBB is simply requesting your cooperation in making a
good faith effort to resolve the complaint, regardless of the
settlement explanation given by the consumer. Our objective is to assist
both parties in reaching a resolution outside of the legal system.

BBB requests a response within 10 days. Please review the complaint
details below and and respond to BBB and the customer using the BBB
Online Complaint Management System.

If you received this
complaint via email simply click on the “Respond to this Complaint”,
link located on the left, when you are ready to answer. Complaint
responses can be sent to BBB via e-mail, fax and mail as well.

Thank you for your cooperation.
Better Business Bureau


Please understand that the customer's complaint and your response will
be publicly posted on the BBB website (BBB reserves the right to not
post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any
information that personally identifies your customer.  By submitting
your response, you are representing that it is a truthful account of
your experience with this customer.  The BBB may edit the complaint of
your response to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate
language.




CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE INFORMATION

Customer Information:
Stella Hall
8003 Woodway Dr
Houston , TX 77063

Daytime Phone: 713 953 9621
E-mail: stella1001@sbcglobal.net


The details of this matter are as follows:

Complaint Involves:
Contract Disputes

Customer’s Statement of the Problem:

Several years ago I bought the FASTWORLD calling card from Comfi and
refilled it 6 times at $20.00 each time. I called my family and friends
overseas and didn't have any problems. On the 7 January 2012, I tried to
call but the access nbr would not work. I called the Tech. Dept and
they didn't know why it didn't work and gave me 3 other access numbers,
one of which was a local Houston nbr. I specifically asked if my local
provider was going to charge me for this call. I was told that it
shouldn't since the access nbr is a local nbr. I made my call to France,
and had no problem. I then try again with one of the other 800 access
nbrs and still couldn't get through. I talked to the supervisor and he
said the probem should be resolved in 12 hours. The next day, the access
nbr was not working. I send a message to the Customer service and said
that if they couldn't fix the problem to refund me the balance in my
account $26.31. Today I checked my account and it shows that my account
was refunded the 4 NOVEMBER 2011! It shows that I made call to
Afghanistan (never did) and I still cannot reach the Customer Service.
Their phone is dead!
Complaint Background:
Product/Service: phone card
Purchase Date: 4/12/2011
Problem Occurred: 1/8/2012
Talked to Company: 1/7/2012

Name of Salesperson:
on line
Purchase Price: $0.00
Disputed Amount: $26.31

Desired Settlement:

I would like the $26.31 refund that was left in my account, and I would
like a refund on any charges occured on my ATT phone bill if the access
number given to me by Comfi tech is not a free access nbr.





Arabic
Bulgarian
Catalan
Chinese Simplified
Chinese Traditional
Czech
Danish
Dutch
English
Estonian
Finnish
French
German
Greek
Haitian Creole
Hebrew
Hindi
Hungarian
Indonesian
Italian
Japanese
Korean
Latvian
Lithuanian
Norwegian
Polish
Portuguese
Romanian
Russian
Slovak
Slovenian
Spanish
Swedish
Thai
Turkish
Ukrainian
Vietnamese












Content will be sent to Bing Translation Services for translation purposes.



Translations are made through an
automated/computerized process powered by Google or Microsoft/Bing.
Neither BBB nor any, officer, or employee of BBB warrants the accuracy,
reliability, or timeliness of any information translated by this system
and shall not be liable for any losses caused by such reliance on the
accuracy, reliability, or timeliness of such information. While every
effort is made to ensure the accuracy of the translation, portions may
be incorrect. Any person or entity who relies on information obtained
from the system does so at his or her own risk. Content is sent over
secure channels to Google or Microsoft/Bing servers - be sure to take
any desired action to remove sensitive content prior to translation.























What is the next step?


The Better Business Bureau is awaiting your initial response with regard to this complaint.


Respond to this complaint



















Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

Business Response: Dear Customer,

We apologize for any inconveneince, but we are not able to give credit for charges made by your phone provider for phone calls made to a local access number that is not local in your area.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/22/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Calling card advertises .7cents a minute. I made calls of 2-3 minutes and was charges 50 minutes for the call. The do not advertise all their extra fees that make the call 20x what it is normally. Scumballs!

Desired Settlement: I would like my $10 back, for their fraudulent advertising scheme!

Business Response: We have found your account in our records and are investigating this issue with the provider of the calling card. Once we have collected the necessary information, we will update you. We apologize for any inconveneince.  "We have checked with the provider of the calling card you purchased, and found that there was a rating issue. They have corrected this problem and we have issued a full refund to you for the inconvenience." Thank you, ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1