BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of New Horizon Communications?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

New Horizon Communications Group is a full-service provider of voice, data & Internet solutions for businesses. Headquartered in the Northeast, the business provides services throughout the U.S., with the highest density of customers in the Maine-to-Virginia corridor.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New Horizon Communications meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for New Horizon Communications include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on New Horizon Communications
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 30, 2008 Business started: 10/02/2002 in MA Business incorporated: 10/02/2002 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glen Nelson, Vice President-Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Glen Nelson, Vice President-Marketing
Number of Employees

41

Business Category

TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE TELECOMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS DEALERS CONSULTANTS - TELECOMMUNICATION COMMUNICATIONS EQUIPMENT COMMUNICATIONS CONSULTANTS INTERNET - BASED TELEPHONE SERVICE VOICE MAIL SERVICES DATA COMMUNICATION SERVICE All Other Telecommunications (NAICS: 517919)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
American Express
Cash
Check
Discover Card
MasterCard
Visa
Service Area
New Horizon Communications provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARSHALL ISLANDS , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PALAU , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.
Alternate Business Names
New Horizons Communications Corp.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

New Horizon Communications has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 420 Bedford St Ste 250

    Lexington, MA 02420 (781) 290-4600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6216 Whiskey Creek Dr Ste B

    Fort Myers, FL 33919 (866) 241-9423

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New Horizon provided phone service..... we switched to ******* , which ported over our phone numbers to *******.. New Horizon Continues to bill us.. we have canceled service ... they then presented us with an invoice for $5,203.64.. claiming it was a part of the terms and conditions, and was a termination fee... we never saw a terms and condition sheet , we were never presented with a terms and conditions sheet and we never signed a terms and condition sheet We only signed a Master Service Sheet, which does not refer to a terms and condition sheet as a part of the agreement..... therefore we never knew about a cancellation fee that was several thousand dollars.... New Horizon has threatened to take this to an Attorney for Collection.. and now we either have to pay 5,203. or spend money to have an Attorney handle this... The Master service agreement does not suggest anything about a massive amount of money to be paid if we cancel or switch service.... We have offered to pay a reasonable cancellation fee of $250.. in an effort to be fair and allow New Horizons to recover any installation costs..

Desired Settlement: Settle and pay a 250 cancellation fee..

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Mr ********** has presented a Master Service Agreement which I reviewed and signed...then, now a Terms and Conditions sheet shows up with a signature... that is not my signature...Mr ******* sent me his file, and for the first time several weeks ago I saw a terms and conditions sheet.. and the one he presented me was unsigned... of course it was, I never saw it...now a terms and conditons sheet shows up, with a fraudulent signature... this is wrong...and they know it...     I have been in business 32 years, never failed to pay a bill.... we had never seen a terms and conditions sheet.. had we known there was a huge penalty for switching we would not have switched...    I am shocked to see a document that they now have falsely prepared.. compare the signatures they are quite different... and it shows how deceptive this company really is......     I will pay 350 as a cancellation fee, but what they are doing is wrong... I can't afford to pay 1,500 ... I want this behind me...because who knows what other fake documents they will come up with next ...

Business Response: Attached is our responce to Mr. *******'s complaint regarding NHC's service with *** **********.  NHC and Mr. ******* have communicated multiple times over the last few months regarding *** ********** early termination of NHC's service under term commitiment.  Attached is Mr. *******'s signed paperwork of NHC's terms and service addendums.   The offer of settlement included in our first attahcment is the second good faith offer we have presented to Mr. ******* to settle the issue amicably.  

******* *******
*** **********
*** **** **** Street
Suite **
********, CT *****  

Dear Mr. *******,  We understand you left our services for another provider. I understand from your correspondence that you do not want to pay the fee for breaking the contract. Our records indicate that you signed a 2 year deal at the end of February 2012 and that you left our services prior to your 2 year commitment. I think we can agree upon that point, and I will attempt to address your other issues.                

You stated that you ported to ******* on 3-27-2013 and 4-4-2013. In addition, you indicated it was your impression that ******* was going to notify us and handle your account disconnect with New Horizon Communications. In May you wrote that “******* had agency account authority to do so and to inform you . . . “. I cannot speak to what ******* indicated to you, but any disconnect orders and notifications to cease your account would need to come directly from you. This policy is standard among many carriers and it is specifically is in place to protect the customer. We did not know you were leaving until you informed us, so we cannot be expected to issue any credits based on work you performed with another carrier. When you port your numbers, we still have underlying costs to provide services unless we have a definitive disconnect request.                

We then disconnected the service and issued the term fees, which you are disputing. I am including the paperwork that I have showing the terms and conditions.                

Had you come to us directly, perhaps we could have proposed new services changes and retained you as a customer. But as it was done, early termination does apply. Our offer from June to settle the termination for ½ the amount calculated has been in effect. I can reduce our amount again by offering a settlement here of $1500. Please understand that we do have underlying costs to recuperate.  

Regards,  
**** ************
VP of Finance
New Horizon Communications      

Business Response: New Horizon Communications does not falsify customer agreements.  We are reffering this account to our attorneys for resolution. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. 

Look at the signature on the Terms and Conditions page.. it is quite different...so now is it New Horizons to sue someone for a termination fee, when they never saw the terms and conditions page... Honestly, this is wrong....and I will get a Lawyer to defend this as well as a hand writing analyst to prove that that is not my signature... any one can see that because I never define the letter * in any  of my signatures... shame on New Horizon..

9/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2013 we contacted the company to discontinue the service that we previously subscribed to. They told us the procedure to do so, which we followed. Since then they continued to bill us for several months. They did not return any of our multiple phone calls, or our multiple emails. We eventually had to instruct our bank to block all future payments. Since then they continue to send us invoices every month, each invoice reporting a growing balance owed. We have continued to try to contact them by phone and email, but they continue to ignore all such attempts. At one point we received an email from the company confirming that the service has been cancelled, but that changed nothing - invoices continued to arrive, and the person that sent the email has never replied to any of our subsequent attempts to contact her.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to give us written confirmation that no money is owed to them, that the account is closed, and that they will stop sending us invoices.

Business Response: Attached is a letter to Mr. ******* in response to his complaint regarding JKS Software account ****.    ******* ******* JKS Software ** ****** ****** Stamford, CT 06901 Dear Mr. *******,                 I understand you had a billing and order issue with account **** JKS Software. It appears you attempted to disconnect the account in March 2013 by e-mail to New Horizon Communications. Unfortunately, we could not find a record of that request and you followed up on June 13th 2013. ***** ***** from New Horizon responded that same day and provided you with an order number. A second New Horizon employee contacted you on June 17th confirming the cancellation of the account.                 We did issue a July bill with the services cancelled and no current charges. When service is disconnected, at least one more bill will be issued to reflect the billing change so the customer can see the disconnected prorate and any credits due. Our billing system will issue a bill if there is disconnect  activity, past due balance, or adjustments. You did not owe us any money on this account and we did not charge your bank account. We apologize for the inconvenience here. To be clear, you owe no past due balance and may ignore any final billing from New Horizon on account ****. Your account has since been adjusted to a zero balance.                 I apologize for missing your initial order and for you having to take the time to follow up. Please understand that we did not ignore all of your attempts to reach us, and that we did respond. It can take more than one bill cycle to zero out the balance depending on the activity and timing. Regards, **** ************ VP of Finance New Horizon Communications *** ******* ****** ***** *** Lexington, MA 02420