Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Belmont Telecom Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (617) 489-5952 Fax: (617) 489-9945 130 Trapelo Rd, Belmont, MA 02478 http://www.belmontel.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Belmont Telecom Inc./Long Distance Post/OneSimCard.com offers telecommunications services. The company provides the distribution of long distance services and international cell phone services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Belmont Telecom Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Belmont Telecom Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Belmont Telecom Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1994 in MA Business incorporated 08/06/2003 in MA
Type of Entity

S Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alex Filippov, General Manager Mr. Yury Levin, Customer Service Manager Ms. Arina Rudyakova, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Filippov, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Yury Levin, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE All Other Telecommunications (NAICS: 517919)

Products & Services

Belmont Telecom Inc. sells the following brand(s): EuroMama phone cards, GlobalPapa phone cards, Happy Hours Europa international calling cards, Night Owl - Sova Phone Card, OneSimCard, Peanuts Prepaid Long Distance, TeleTzar calling cards, The Good Card Phone Card

Belmont Telecom Inc. offers the following product(s): International Cell Phone or International SIM Card, Prepaid Phone Cards, U.S. Prepaid Cell Phone and/or U.S. SIM Card

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Alternate Business Names
Long Distance Post OneSimCard.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Belmont Telecom Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 130 Trapelo Rd

    Belmont, MA 02478

  • PO Box 481

    Belmont, MA 02478

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advertised their *** cards as saving 85% compared to US carriers for international charges when their rates are much higher when undisclosed charges are factored in. The company advertised that the phones would display a US phone number for caller ID, but only displayed an ******** phone number. I purchased a number of minutes but they charged for phone calls on top of the minutes used. The data charges were much higher than the posted rates. For example they charged $15 minutes for alleged data use on a cruise ship, when in fact, we were using a free wifi network. The company had no disclosure about this. In the middle of the trip, the company disabled the *** cards but denied that they did so even though I have SMS messages from them confirming this fact. I tried repeatedly to resolve this with the company but they have stonewalled. A customer service supervisor said he would call me but never did

Desired Settlement: I have already disputed this with ******** *******. I believe that this will be charged back to the merchant. They advertise an A+ rating from BBB. I do not think this rating is well deserved.

Business Response: Hello, We take exception with the assertion that the rates were higher than advertised.  Our rates are always as posted on the website.  We would welcome specific and clear examples of any discrepancy. Moreover, assigned numbers are explained in multiple places on the website.  The primary number is from ******* as stated.  Additionally we offer a US number as well. Thank you,**********

6/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company provided horrible customer service (and that's saying a lot). The support staff routinely hang up at the start of a call, they don't listen and when they can't solve a simple problem they claim you're using foul language and hang up on you or disconnect the chat. Since when has "damn" or "IT DOESN'T WORK." classed as foul? Purchased phone in advance of European trip (more than 30 days out). The only thing the phone was good for was a camera. I sent out test text messages and phone calls (that weren't received by others traveling with us) and was charged for them. OneSimCard won't provide any sort of credit on any of my issues. I won't recommend this product to any one I know traveling abroad.

Desired Settlement: I will gladly return the phone and any accessories it came with (free shipping) and would like to be credited back the cost of the phone and any charges that were incurred (regardless of if I was told the test calls and text went through when they didn't). If this happens I have no reason to further reach out to the company or say anything negative about them.

Business Response: Hello, We have carefully reviewed this account and found that the phone/SIM cards was used in Europe and all billing was verified to be correct.  Our records also indicate that during a call to Customer Support the customer used inappropriate and profane language directed towards a OneSimCard Customer Care representative.  OneSimCard has a zero tolerance policy for such language and the call was terminated.  Moreover, we have an email service ticket on file where all pertinent support was provided to the customer (Ticket ****** on 02/14/16 and Ticket ****** on 5/21/16).Thank you,OneSimCard

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Thank you for your quick response.Since you record all calls - please provide examples of said inappropriate language as I feel that the policy you've created has allowed your employees to terminate a call even if a certain tone of voice is used. Also, please provide proof that the calls and text messages were received by the phones they were sent to. I'm not disputing they were sent, but that they weren't received. One of them was sent to my phone and I didn't receive it. I have reached out to your company via *******, ******** and ******* and have not received responses. I've noticed that any negative comments have been grayed out or hidden unless looking closely.It's frustrating that it's more important to stick your inaccurate data than to provide a refund. The $139.12 is worth more to me than your company, yet you would rather leave with less money and an extremely negative impression of your business. Regards, ***** ******    

Business Response: Hello, All call/SMS/Data logs are available through your online account under MySimCards>Call Details.  Our system only allows us to verify that an SMS has been successfully sent out and left your device.  Our records indicate multiple and successful usage of OneSimCard service.  The service email details we provided earlier referenced regular product/recharge questions, not a specific SMS delivery complaint.We consider this matter to be closed.Thank you,OneSimCard

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Thanks for the update. I'll be reaching out to my credit card company to report this as fraud as I didn't receive what I purchased. Regards, ***** ******    

6/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted to be distributors of OneSimCard some time ago, with a pre-purchase of simcards for distribution outside of the US. Recently those paid for simcards were deactivated without notice or warning. At no time were we informed the simcards had a 'shelf-life' as is now being claimed by customer support. More concerning is there was at no time any communication that the simcards would be deactivated. We only found out when we attempted to allocate the cards to new customers. The signed contract made no mention of simcards needing to be activated or sold to end-users by any specific date. And again, we reiterate, at no time were we afforded the courtesy of being warned these may be deactivated. We have now made numerous attempts to discuss the issue and resolve the situation, in most cases we've had no response or responses which do not apply to the situation at hand. We believe our request have been reasonable and with fair intent to come to a reasonable agreement given the investment made and we have only sought to have some fair dialogue. We now believe our requests and communication are being actively ignored - effectively hoping we go away. We would have preferred not to take this approach, however the lack of communication and interest in the situation has forced us to seek a resolution through other avenues.

Desired Settlement: We would have previously been happy with a replacement arrangement, however now being forced to take action outside of what we hoped would have been an honest attempt at discussing and resolving the issue we will be seeking a refund of the unused portion of our original purchase. We want the company to engage in some active dialogue with an honest desire to resolve the issue that has been cause by a lack of communication and seeming lack of interest.

Business Response: Hello,We have attempted to communicate our Expiration Policy with the customer on numerous occasions over email.  Just like with any other similar prepaid services, the product does indeed has an expiration timeline.  Our 2 year inactivity/expiration policy is well above the industry standard and is clearly stated on our website under the Terms of Use:http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/In this particular case, the customer well exceeded the Policy and regrettably the SIM cards cannot be re-instated.Thank you,OneSimCardBelmont Telecom Inc.

Consumer Response: This is not at all correct, as per the attached agreement, we are a distributor not an enduser.  The clause mistaken referred to is for end users of the simcards once activated not for distributors under agreement.  No where does it state the simcards must be sold by a certain date, nor does it state anywhere that simcards can be deactviated without notice.  What is more of the issue and the company continues to ignore our repeated questions, is that there was absolutely no communication what so ever that the simcards would be deactivated/cancelled prior to the action being taken and being so done on a very arbitrary date not in line with any policies or terms.  Over the past 2 weeks our attempts to have an amicable solution have also been totally ignored, forcing us to use other means to have some form of dialogue.Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business Regards, ******* *****  

Business Response: Hello, The customer had the inactive SIM cards in their possession for a period that exceeds ours or any similar prepaid expiration timeline by a number of years, not days or months. OneSimCard is unable to maintain and keep SIM cards in an inactive state for this period of time.  The Terms are stated in all agreements and on our website. Thank you,OneSimCard

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Once again the business is ignoring the issue and not responding honestly or in context. There is no mention of distributor expiry dates in the distrbution agreement - which we have transparently presented, there is absolutely no mention of cancellation of simcards without notice whether it is 2 years or 5 years.  Most importantly there was never any communication by the business that the simcards purchased for distribution were to be cancelled or deactivated. Facts that are continued to be ignored.T&C on the website are not related to distributors they are related to end users/consumers.  Any continued reference to these shows ignorance of their own T&C's and a very poor attempt at deflecting accountability.  The business is attempting to treat this as if it were $20 of prepaid unused airtime by a customer who signed up for a single simcard online.  So it is very clear, this is $1,000 worth of distributor investment in physical simcards based on a signed distribution agreement.  The difference is clear to everyone expect it seems the person answering on behalf of the company.As such we resolutely reject the most recent response.   Regards, ******* *****    

5/30/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and signed up for their sim card about two months ago, mainly due to the 100 bonus airline miles advertised on their page: http://www.onesimcard.com/mobile-miles/ that other resellers of the same network didn't have. After meeting the requirements for the offer, I was told to contact a 3rd party email to inquire about the offer. I went back and forth with them over two emails, until they stopped responding. Any queries to onesimcard was again a simple redirect to this 3rd party, even though the advertisement and offer is made on their site.

Desired Settlement: 100 bonus miles credit, or a $10 account credit.

Business Response: Hello,Our ****** ***** program is completely separate from OneSimCard.  We are simply an affiliate.  All requirements and program offers are clearly stated on our website:***************************************All questions and concerns about how the points/miles are applied have to be directed to ***********.Thank you,OneSimCard

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  The product's features are advertised and offered by the company. It can't pass the buck to another company for something it clearly advertises, and doesn't deliver. Regards, ***** *****    

Business Response: Hello, *********** Rewards program is an independently-operated affiliate of OneSimCard.  All requests for Customer Support should be directed to *********** directly. Thank you,OneSimCard

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  This offer is advertised on the merchant's website, even to this date. Contacting their third party yields no replies to emails, so the merchant is thus still responsible for the bad advertising or bait and switch. Regards, ***** *****    

Business Response: Hello, All requests for service regarding the *********** program should be directed to the service provider:********************************************** Thank you,OneSimCardBelmont Telecom Inc.

12/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Belmont telecom / LD Post Company provides very poor telephone service and did not handel the issues reported by customers properly - the international calls interrupt at all times with no way to call back to the person I just talked. The customer service reps just hang up the phone not wishinf to discuss the issue. They also refuse to provide a management or headquater contact information representing themselves as a "higher position representatives", they they NEVER represent themselves by names so you don't know who you are talking with. It took me a time today to get 2 names - ***** and ****, both introduced as a managers. I re-charged my prepaid card today depositing $20.00 but my call to Kazakhstan was interrupted and i couldn't connect with my husband again, the representatives ***** and **** told "dial the right number" without any explanations and hanged up. Money from my account was taken off in spite of inability to connect with my family and my request to check what is going on (instead of 600 min left after conversation was interrupted today just 90 min left which is equwalent of $1.00), no explanations were given also. Please help to resolve this ongoing issue with this company and thank you for helping!

Desired Settlement: Recover a connection and adjustment of charges in my prepaid card

Business Response: Customer contacted Customer Support on multiple occassions regarding the same issue.  LD Post Support replied each time with the reason for the unconnected calls - the customer is dialing in the wrong format.  We have provided the correct format to the customer over the phone.  None of the unconnected calls were charged.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  it is absolutely false statement from Customer service - the connection they provide is ver poor, the calls interrupted frequently, they charge money for incomplete calls, th4e customer service instead of fixing connection and improving service make stupid advise like "dial a number right way" ignoring the fact that I was disconnected DURING conversation talking to my family member which means phone was dialed right. I meet the issues every time when have to call to the customer service.Please help to resolve the issues listed above and to credit money they charged for the calls which were not go through.Thank you! Regards, ******** ********    

Business Response: Hello, None of the unconnected calls were ever charged.  The routing issue was corrected soon after the issue was reported.  We have closed the account per customer's request and refunded the outstanding balance to the customer's credit card on file. Customer Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.    I did not request to close account and they can't do that without my permission, I asked to fix connection issues and to credit money they charged for non-connected calls. By the way - the credited extra charged funds  for undone calls to my account multiple times in the past but today they decided to forget about that. They continue to tell a lie that connection recovered (is still not), about credited funds (no money returned to the account), regarding my  request to close account, for not charged money, for a fixed connection. It's absolutely inappropriate for the business to treat customers this way and to weist a time of BBB representative.Please refer to my request in my complaint and ask the LD Post to take care of the issues with connection and extra charged money if possible. Regards, ******** ********    

Business Response: We have already addressed this issue and consider the matter to be closed. The account has been fully refunded and closed. Thank you,LD Post

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.   The issue addressed incorrectly, nobody asked to close account or refund money, you were asked to reinstate a phone connection and to creadit overcharged money Regards, ******** ********    

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sim card from this company before my travel for work to the Mediterranean. Once I got to work, I tried to activate the card and get it working with my phone but the sim card does not work. No matter how many times I tried to contact them over chat by computer internet, I was given awful customer service, they blocked me on chat, and refuse any kind of refund when I just want the $100 I prepaid on the card refunded so I don't have to use this product any longer. I just wanted to be able to contact my family back home but that seems to not be any of their concern let alone giving any kind of polite customer service. Please assist me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund of $100 that I prepaid on the sim card for international calls and text messages while working abroad.

Business Response: Hello,OneSimCard Customer Support made good faith efforts to address this issue directly with the customer on multiple occasions.  Customer's inquiries, as well as call detail records, indicate that the customer was unable to use the service due to being outside of the coverage area.  By his own words, the customer attempted to use OneSimCard cellular service in the 'open sea'. OneSimCard provides service in over 200 countries while connected to a land-based network.  Additionally, the customer used a device originally assigned to Sprint network in the US. Sprint is known to lock their phones, thereby preventing its use with any other SIM card, including OneSimcard SIM.Our further attempts to assist the customer directly were unsuccessful due to the customer's unwillingness to provide any further information for troubleshooting purposes.  Customer activated the SIM card along with prepaid Data packages.  Data package activation are accompanied by a warning message stating that these are non-refundable transactions.  Also, since the SIM card has been activated, we are unable to issue a refund, as stated in our Terms of Use:http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/Thank you,OneSimCard.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. I I tried using the card while not at sea meaning on land and the settings didn't work and it is too complicated to use  it simply didn't work  I reject their comment and expect a refund. Regards, ******* *****  

Business Response: Hello,Based on facts and details of the customer's account, we are unable to provide a refund based on OneSimCard's Terms of Use (agreed to by the customer at the time of original product purchase):http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/We have exhausted all reasonable options to assist the customer.  OneSimCard can provide all records of service tickets upon request.Thank you,OneSimCard.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  It does not matter if all options were exhausted, I can not get my purchased product to work in my device correctly. I will not drop this issue until the company makes it right.  As soon as the refund goes through, I will be happy to conclude all of this.Regards, ******* *****    

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to get information regarding a SIM card for Europe. Both the employee and manager I spoke to were extremely rude and unhelpful. Both hung up on me as I was talking, the employee was very disrespectful, the manager told me to return the product because it "would be easier for everyone", and then he deleted the airtime credit I already paid for. The manager specifically spoke over me, told me to return the product but I would lose out of shipping (the product was $30...shipping was $15), and the kicker is, they have to first APPROVE the return! This place is a scam and just tries to take your money then refuses to help you with question. In fact, the employee said "you may want to talk to someone else for any questions".

Desired Settlement: I would like the manager to call me and apologize for both his behavior and the employee. Additionally, I would like a full refund for the product I paid for.

Business Response: Hello,A Return Merchandise Authorization was approved and issued on 4 June 2015 per customer's request.  A separate email has been sent  to the customer containing exact instructions on how to return the SIM card.  In such cases, the original spending limit is automatically set to zero to prevent any future unauthorized charges; customer was also informed of this action via email.  At no point did OneSimCard remove the original $20.00 of prepaid airtime from the customer's account, this balance is currently posted and available. Should the customer return the SIM card per our instructions, OneSimCard will promptly issue a refund in accordance to the posted Terms of Use. https://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/Thank you,OneSimCard Support 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  [This response does not address the customer service I received when trying to work with OneSimCard.  Further, had I returned the product, I would have been out almost 50% of the price I paid.  The manager specifically hung up on me when I tried asking for help regarding two questions and I do not feel as they are competent in handling questions or customers.  Nothing has been resolved and I was issued the refund with the preface that I would lose money due to a "restocking fee". ] Regards, ********* *********  

Business Response: Hello,OneSimCard Customer Care Representatives have attempted to assist this customer on numerous occasions, via live chat and over the phone, by offering detailed product description and assistance in setting up the service.  We would be happy to email all chat transcripts directly to the customer for reference purposes.  OneSimCard also provides instructions in the Quick Start Guide and the User Guide that were mailed along with the SIM card.  More help tools are available in customers' online account, including a detailed instructional video tutorial.All returns are subject to the conditions outlined under our Terms of Use, including information on shipping fees and the restocking fee.Thank you,OneSimCard Support 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  [Yes - I would like the transactions because it shows directly in the chat on 6/8 where the representative disconnected the chat prior to me answering my questions (after she refused to refer to me by my last name, rather than calling me by my first name). Additionally, I was not understanding the directions which is why I called in and was asking for help, prior to the manager hanging up on me.  This comes directly after the rep. told me to "ask another person for help".  Completely unprofessional and unacceptable. ] Regards, ********* *********  

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently rented a cell phone to use overseas with Belmont Telecom Inc. also known as ****** card. The phone worked only one day the next week it could not make a or receive calls. I called the company to let them know I will be returning the phone cause it does not work. When I sent the phone back I called customer service and I was told that they have received the phone and I will be receiving a full refund. On 3/12/15 I received a partial refund, when I called the company they said I will not receive a full refund because they phone worked for one day. because of that my refuse cell phone carrier bill is $200 over because my wife had to use our cell phone over seas. The company has failed to provide full refund as verbally promised.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a full refund as verbally promised for the entire amount that I was charged.

Business Response: Hello,Our records indicate usage on the device for this customer, confirming the service was operating properly.  ********** Customer Support records reflect our attempts to assist the customer when contacted; we did not receive any replies to our requests for more information in order to troubleshoot any possible issues with the service. Our Rental Department provided a discount when closing the rental by charging for the first week only and the original shipping cost.  At no point did any of the ********** representatives mentioned or offered a full refund for this rental order.Thank you,**********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. The response by ****** card rep is untruthful in every word. I spoke to customer service and they did veryfi that the cell phone only worked once and also that they see multiple unsucceful connections. Every company records their customer service I would like to request that recording to prove that I was offered full refund because the phone did not work properly. Regards, ****** *******    

Business Response: Hello,Respectfully, we have to stand by our original reply.  Our records indicate completed calls and thereby we are unable to unable to issue a refund, per our Terms of Use:*************************************** ********** Rental Department provided the customer with a discount by charging for the shortest possible rental time period (1 week), solely based on the customer's original Customer Service contact.Thank you,**********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Please provide customer service recording when I called.  It will prove that customer rep acknowledged that there were multiple unsuccessful connections as well as verbally promising a full refund. I can provide the date and time called to help you retrieve this recording.Regards, ****** *******    

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a One SIM Card Plus (SIM card) from Fry’s Electronics for my recent oversea travel. When I traveled in China from August 20 to August 31, I could not use the SIM card in China. There was no signal connection to the SIM card. I could not make and receive any phone calls and texts, nor able to connect the Internet. I followed the instruction provided by onesimcard.com for many times. I could not use the SIM card.

Desired Settlement: I request a total refund of $97.55 which includes the following: the $30 purchase of SIM card, $25 recharge fee, $9.98 extra number payment, $10 registration fee, and the current balance of $22.57.

Business Response: Hello,We have reviewed the customer's account and concluded that the SIM card was working correctly.  The customer successfully used the SIM card for calls, text messages, VOiP and Internet Data.  We do not see any service requests from this customer while in China.  We provide a number of options for our customers to contact Customer Support (live chat, email, phone).  The issue with connecting to a network in China can only be looked into while the customer is located there and most likely would have been resolved instantly had the customer contacted us.  Some devices require a programming code to be entered for network connectivity in China, and the customer's phone may have required this code to be entered manually. According to our posted online rates for China, we do not offer Internet Data there with the OneSimCard PLUS.  (****************************************************************************).  Moreover, OneSimCard is unable to provide a refund for any unused airtime, in accordance to our Terms of Use (****************************************).  We welcome the customer to contact our Customer Support at*********** for any troubleshooting-related issue or to address any other concerns that he may have.Thank you,**** ** *****Cistomer Service ManagerOneSimCard.com

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.  1.  According to onesimcard.com's instruction, there are no additional setup required.  The only instruction from onesimcard.com is the initial setup with my phone and the SIM card.  There are no indications that additional setup is required for using the SIM card outside of U.S.2.  After following the instruction, when the SIM card is not working properly, you need to refund the costs associated with my SIM card purchase.  When I purchased the SIM card, I expect that you provide services in satisfactory manners.  If you do not provide services to customer and refuse to refund money, you are stealing customers' money.  This is unacceptable.Regards, ***** ****  

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2013 I bought *** *** **** plus all extra features that I had to buy in order for the card to work. In June 2013 I received the notification from your company stating that I have $20.73 balance which is about to expire. When I called *** *** **** and spoke to ********* I was informed that I had to make a call in order to keep the balance. The call was made from Replay’d store in Brighton with ********* from *** *** **** being on another line, but the balance has expired. When I questioned the company about it, you asked me to pay additional $25.00 to keep the balance. I did pay $25.00, but you did not reinstate the balance. On July 8, 2014 the company cancelled my account without any notice leaving me without the phone abroad. I am requesting the refund of $85.92 for the *** card, number and the balance which I am not going to use in the future because the company have cancelled the account.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the refund of $85.92 for the *** card, number and the balance which I am not going to use in the future because the company have cancelled the account.

Business Response: ********** prepaid balances are subject to an Expiration Policy as clearly stated in our terms of Use (http://www.**********.com/terms-of-use/) which the customer agrees to at the time of purchase. Excerpt:

"Expiration The international *** card phone number and account will expire if no outgoing usage is made for 2 years. The outgoing usage could be any of the following: Call made from the phone, *** sent from the phone or any Data Usage.
Personal Extra Numbers will stay active as long as they have been funded properly.
The *** card balance is valid for 10 months. The balance will continuously roll over to the next 10 month period provided that at least $25 is added within 10 months after the last recharge.
If the balance expires, the service can still be used after a new recharge of the *** card."

In this case, we offered the customer a one-time courtesy of reinstating the balance upon a $25.00 recharge of her account.  The customer failed to notify ********** of making this recharge for over 2 months. Subsequently, this transaction was cancelled (refunded back to the customer) as reflected in the attached Purchase History details.  The balance of $19.84 expired in accordance to our Terms of Use.  Any other funds associated with this customer was used for the services provided.

Thank you,
**********

Consumer Response:

 

Quotes from the message from *** *** **** on June 9, 2014
"If you add the minimal recharge of $25 we will reinstate the balance... If you wish to have us reinstate the balance, ***ply let us know when the recharge has been completed"

After I recharged the card I called you. You said that the old balance will be reinstated the next day. Two weeks later the old balance was not reinstated and you simply cancelled the account with $ 25 leaving me without the phone abroad.

Regards,

 

 

 

Business Response: Hello,

********** was not notified of the $25.00 recharge for a considerable amount of time.  We are not able to monitor these transactions and are dependent on the customer to inform us that the recharge took place.  This was not done in the timely manner in this particular case.  Therefore, the funds were refunded back to the customer and the original expired balance could not be reinstated.  

Moreover, the customer placed multiple calls to ********** Customer Support that included less than pleasant, as well as frankly rude comments and demands, even after we offered to reinstate the balance as a one-time exception.  We feel strongly that every reasonable effort was made to accommodate requests made and regrettably,  ********** is no longer able to assist this customer.

Thank you,

**** ** *****
Customer Service Manager,
********** 

Consumer Response:

 

Dear ****,
Thank you for your reply. Which phone calls are you referring to? After I received the message from **** on June 9, I called the company once to inform that I added $25. The gentlemen who answered the phone adviced me that the balance will be reinstated the next day.
I have never asked you to cancel the account and I was counting on this card abroad and. Since it was your decision to cancel the account please credit me the amount of $85.92 that I paid in advance for card and phone number.
Thank you,

 

 

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent a great deal amount of time on chat with customer service representatives to purchase an international sim card for my child going to South Korea for a month. I was convinced by all those I spoke with that as long as I followed their instructions I was not going to have an issue communicating with my daughter. I did as I was told, when my child landed in South Korea, the sim card did not work. After a few days the card seemed to work and was able to call me. We spoke on the phone approx 20mins...this was the only phone call she was ever able to make with this Sim card, I was afraid to have her call the customer service as I thought since the card was not working we would be charged tons of fees. Bottom line the card did not work as they said it would, there was $50 loaded on the card and there is still $33 on the card as it would not work often. I called the company to see about getting any type of refund and was told its been over 30days since I purchased and perhaps the $4.99 charge that did an automatic recharge could be refunded. After holding for several minutes for a manager, the 2nd girl I spoke with got back on the line and asked me more questions I proceeded to tell her that I wanted a refund because the card did not work like I was told. She stated manager is just really busy, sorry there is no refund and was not given the choice to continue to hold for management. I paid $64 for the card itself and then loaded $50 I am only asking for teh remainder of the loaded money refunded, not the entire purchase of the card.

Desired Settlement: $33.16

Business Response: Hello, We have reviewed the calling records for this customer and verified usage of the SIM card in South Korea for incoming/outgoing calls and SMS (text messages).  This constitutes usage of our services. As stated clearly in our Terms of Use (https://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/), to which customer agreed to at the time of purchase, OneSimCard is unable to issue a refund for any portion of any unused airtime.  Excerpt: "Refunds  We cannot give refunds for the airtime. You may return an unused phone or OneSimCard SIM card within 30 days after the receipt of the item, provided you never placed a call to or from the mobile phone issued and all airtime is intact. A 25% restocking fee will be applied. Returned products must be undamaged and unused in their original packaging in order to be accepted. We reserve the right to refuse refunds for any products that are returned with damage and are unable to be resold at the purchased price." Furthermore, we do not see any attempt for the customer to contact us directly (calls to Customer Service are free for the first 3 minutes with an option for a call back to avoid any charges).  It is often difficult to troubleshoot an issue with cell service through a third-party, especially considering the fact that the service was used successfully for calls and text messages.   Unfortunately, the remaining balance for this customer's prepaid airtime does not qualify for a refund per our Terms of Use. Thank you, **** ** ***** Customer Service Manager, OneSimCard

Business Response: Hello,

We are unable to locate any service request calls from the customer.  Calls to Customer Support are free for the first three minutes with an option to request a call back to avoid any charges altogether.  Considering the complaint of intermittent service, this issue was most likely due to a weak network signal.  This type of a service issue is generally resolved by having the customer switch to another network, something that would have been suggested in this case.  OneSimCard provides a connection to a local network and cannot guarantee a strong signal everywhere in the world.  Unfortunately, we are unable to refund any portion of unused airtime as stated in our Terms of Use:

http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/

The remaining funds are valid for 10 months since it was added to the OneSimCard prepaid balance.

Thank you,
OneSimCard


Consumer Response: I will accept their answer because they keep saying the same thing, of course my call to customer service could not be located yet every other contact where I DID NOT have issue is there.  I have learned my lesson, I will not use this company as my child travels to study abroad for 9mths and I will be sure to let others know my experience. Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ******* *****

4/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The site claims to sell phones that are prepaid for international travel. I bought a phone added all the services they required so my daughter would have a phone when she traveled to Ireland with her Choir. The phone never allowed calls while she was in Ireland. She had the phone on and could not text or receive calls nor place calls. I had performed a test call like the instruction stated and this failed. I opened a ticket with the company and they did assist initially with the test called in the United States. The test call worked and texting worked while in the US, but she never got calls, texts or could use the phone while in Ireland. I asked for a refund from their company and hung up on/disconnected when I tried to get a refund on the remaining balance.

Desired Settlement: I want to find out if I have been scammed. I would like to know what happened.

Business Response: We have reviewed the account of the customer (******* *****) in great detail.  We are able to conclude that the customer was using the OneSimCard SIM without following the correct dialing format and therefore was unable to complete voice calls from his device.  OneSimCard International SIM has a primary European number which requires an International dialing format in order to be used (00-country code-area code-local number).  This information, along with all other necessary instructions, is provided in the User/Quick Start Guides (attached to the SIM card when shipped) as well as in the customer's OneSimCard online account.  We are showing the customer dialed incorrectly every attempted outgoing  number.   We have received a single email service ticket request from the customer while he was still located in the US.  This inquiry was replied to and correct instructions were forwarded, along with the links to our instructional videos online.  The issue with connectivity in the US was resolved.  However, subsequent attempts to make calls from outside of the US were dialed incorrectly and no further requests for assistance were made until we received a call demanding a refund.  Unfortunately, since there was some usage on the SIM card, we are unable to provide a refund for the unused portion of airtime. This policy is under our Terms of Use and was agreed to by the customer at the time of purchase. (http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/) We recommend for the customer to contact us directly for the detailed instructions on how to use our product or for any other requests regarding his OneSimCard account. I would be glad to assist the customer directly at (***) ******** x.*** Thank you, **** ** ***** Customer Service Manager OneSimCard.com Belmont Telecom Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I request that the demonstrate the logs regarding the dialing procedures for we did use the country code. There is also the fact that the phone would not send texts messages while abroad, nor would it make local or international calls while in the country of Ireland. Furthermore, the phone could make calls and receive calls, and texts messages while in the United States. So if the company has proof that the phone was not being used properly they had better well provide proof of the numbers that were attempted while my daughter was a broad or refund me the remaining balance on the card for I will be happy to ship the entire system along with the sim card back!

Business Response: Hello, Attached please find an example for the customer's SIM card call details where the incorrect dilaing format is indicated.  We have very detailed instructions on how to dial in our User Guides and in the customer's online accounts.  The customer is welcome to contact us directly if there is anything further we can assist him with. Thank you, **** ** ***** OneSimCard 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

As in line with their services and that I have never been able to get through to their tech support, the didn't send the attachment. They could have easily sent me the log to the BBB and me for they have my email address. I have never received an email from them and I truly believe they are just wasting the BBB and my time by stalling. I reject this response!

1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an e-mail notification from OneSimCard indicating that my 10 month term on my Sim Cards was about to expire. I recharged two of my three sim cards before the 10 month expiration date. This should have effectively keep my sim card balance live or two of the three cards. I did this on two separate occasions and I received no error message from their system that the charge did not go through. I contacted them, service request ticket *****, and they replied they claimed the charge was never made.

Desired Settlement: They need to reinstate the two of the three SimCards that I attempted to recharge and correct their checkout process; the recharge attempts were made , they should be able to confirm such attempts.

Business Response: We would like to address the complaint by ******* ****** by stating our Company policies and by referring to our previous attempts to communicate this information directly to the customer.  The following SIM card/balance expiration policy is clearly stated under out Terms of Use (http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/): Expiration  The international SIM card phone number and account will expire if no outgoing usage is made for 2 years. The outgoing usage could be any of the following: Call made from the phone, SMS sent from the phone or any Data Usage. Personal Extra Numbers will stay active as long as they have been funded properly. The SIM card balance is valid for 10 months. The balance will continuously roll over to the next 10 month period provided that at least $25 is added within 10 months after the last recharge. If the balance expires, the service can still be used after a new recharge of the SIM card. It is the responsibility of the customer to monitor his/her SIM cards in order to prevent the expiration of the balances.  We have an extensive notification system to advise our customers when the 10 month expiration date is approaching. Automatic emails are sent to customers notifying them that their SIM card balances are about to expire.  These notification emails are sent at least a month in advance and continue to be sent out weekly up until the balance expires.  These emails were sent to Mr. ****** to his email on file with us.   The customer in this case had 3 SIM cards purchased at the same time and the 10 month balance expiration occurred simultaneously in December of 2013, 10 months after the initial purchase since the customer never made another recharge.  The customer did make an attempt to recharge the balance on the SIM cards just before the balance expiration; however, the credit card information entered was invalid and the transactions were declined.  An error message was generated for the customer to see that the credit card transaction did not succeed and another attempt should be made.  Had the recharges been successful, a confirmation email would have been sent and the online airtime balance would have reflected the updated amount.  This did not happen in this case.  The customer contacted us more than a month later and stated that he was unaware that his recharge attempts were declined by the bank. Unfortunately, at that time we were unable to provide the customer with a refund or to restore his expired balance.  This is in accordance with our Terms of Use. Thank you, **** ** ***** Manager, Customer Service OneSimCard.com The Belmont Telecom Inc.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Belmont Telecom Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart