BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Belmont Telecom Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Belmont Telecom Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (617) 489-5952 Fax: (617) 489-9945 130 Trapelo Rd, Belmont, MA 02478 http://www.belmontel.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Belmont Telecom Inc./Long Distance Post/OneSimCard.com offers telecommunications services. The company provides the distribution of long distance services and international cell phone services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Belmont Telecom Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Belmont Telecom Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Reviews  are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Belmont Telecom Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 18, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1994 in MA Business incorporated: 04/02/1997 in MA
Type of Entity

S Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alex Filippov, General Manager Mr. Yury Levin, Customer Service Manager Ms. Arina Rudyakova, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Filippov, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Yury Levin, Customer Service Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Arina Rudyakova, General Manager
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE All Other Telecommunications (NAICS: 517919)

Products & Services

Belmont Telecom Inc. sells the following brand(s): EuroMama phone cards, GlobalPapa phone cards, Happy Hours Europa international calling cards, Night Owl - Sova Phone Card, OneSimCard, Peanuts Prepaid Long Distance, TeleTzar calling cards, The Good Card Phone Card

Belmont Telecom Inc. offers the following product(s): International Cell Phone or International SIM Card, Prepaid Phone Cards, U.S. Prepaid Cell Phone and/or U.S. SIM Card

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Alternate Business Names
Long Distance Post OneSimCard.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Belmont Telecom Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 130 Trapelo Rd

    Belmont, MA 02478

  • PO Box 481

    Belmont, MA 02478

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2013 I bought *** *** **** plus all extra features that I had to buy in order for the card to work. In June 2013 I received the notification from your company stating that I have $20.73 balance which is about to expire. When I called *** *** **** and spoke to ********* I was informed that I had to make a call in order to keep the balance. The call was made from Replay’d store in Brighton with ********* from *** *** **** being on another line, but the balance has expired. When I questioned the company about it, you asked me to pay additional $25.00 to keep the balance. I did pay $25.00, but you did not reinstate the balance. On July 8, 2014 the company cancelled my account without any notice leaving me without the phone abroad. I am requesting the refund of $85.92 for the *** card, number and the balance which I am not going to use in the future because the company have cancelled the account.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the refund of $85.92 for the *** card, number and the balance which I am not going to use in the future because the company have cancelled the account.

Business Response: ********** prepaid balances are subject to an Expiration Policy as clearly stated in our terms of Use (http://www.**********.com/terms-of-use/) which the customer agrees to at the time of purchase. Excerpt:

"Expiration The international *** card phone number and account will expire if no outgoing usage is made for 2 years. The outgoing usage could be any of the following: Call made from the phone, *** sent from the phone or any Data Usage.
Personal Extra Numbers will stay active as long as they have been funded properly.
The *** card balance is valid for 10 months. The balance will continuously roll over to the next 10 month period provided that at least $25 is added within 10 months after the last recharge.
If the balance expires, the service can still be used after a new recharge of the *** card."

In this case, we offered the customer a one-time courtesy of reinstating the balance upon a $25.00 recharge of her account.  The customer failed to notify ********** of making this recharge for over 2 months. Subsequently, this transaction was cancelled (refunded back to the customer) as reflected in the attached Purchase History details.  The balance of $19.84 expired in accordance to our Terms of Use.  Any other funds associated with this customer was used for the services provided.

Thank you,
**********

Consumer Response:

 

Quotes from the message from *** *** **** on June 9, 2014
"If you add the minimal recharge of $25 we will reinstate the balance... If you wish to have us reinstate the balance, ***ply let us know when the recharge has been completed"

After I recharged the card I called you. You said that the old balance will be reinstated the next day. Two weeks later the old balance was not reinstated and you simply cancelled the account with $ 25 leaving me without the phone abroad.

Regards,

 

 

 

Business Response: Hello,

********** was not notified of the $25.00 recharge for a considerable amount of time.  We are not able to monitor these transactions and are dependent on the customer to inform us that the recharge took place.  This was not done in the timely manner in this particular case.  Therefore, the funds were refunded back to the customer and the original expired balance could not be reinstated.  

Moreover, the customer placed multiple calls to ********** Customer Support that included less than pleasant, as well as frankly rude comments and demands, even after we offered to reinstate the balance as a one-time exception.  We feel strongly that every reasonable effort was made to accommodate requests made and regrettably,  ********** is no longer able to assist this customer.

Thank you,

**** ** *****
Customer Service Manager,
********** 

Consumer Response:

 

Dear Yuri,
Thank you for your reply. Which phone calls are you referring to? After I received the message from **** on June 9, I called the company once to inform that I added $25. The gentlemen who answered the phone adviced me that the balance will be reinstated the next day.
I have never asked you to cancel the account and I was counting on this card abroad and. Since it was your decision to cancel the account please credit me the amount of $85.92 that I paid in advance for card and phone number.
Thank you,

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent a great deal amount of time on chat with customer service representatives to purchase an international sim card for my child going to South Korea for a month. I was convinced by all those I spoke with that as long as I followed their instructions I was not going to have an issue communicating with my daughter. I did as I was told, when my child landed in South Korea, the sim card did not work. After a few days the card seemed to work and was able to call me. We spoke on the phone approx 20mins...this was the only phone call she was ever able to make with this Sim card, I was afraid to have her call the customer service as I thought since the card was not working we would be charged tons of fees. Bottom line the card did not work as they said it would, there was $50 loaded on the card and there is still $33 on the card as it would not work often. I called the company to see about getting any type of refund and was told its been over 30days since I purchased and perhaps the $4.99 charge that did an automatic recharge could be refunded. After holding for several minutes for a manager, the 2nd girl I spoke with got back on the line and asked me more questions I proceeded to tell her that I wanted a refund because the card did not work like I was told. She stated manager is just really busy, sorry there is no refund and was not given the choice to continue to hold for management. I paid $64 for the card itself and then loaded $50 I am only asking for teh remainder of the loaded money refunded, not the entire purchase of the card.

Desired Settlement: $33.16

Business Response: Hello,

We have reviewed the calling records for this customer and verified usage of the SIM card in South Korea for incoming/outgoing calls and SMS (text messages).  This constitutes usage of our services. As stated clearly in our Terms of Use (https://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/), to which customer agreed to at the time of purchase, OneSimCard is unable to issue a refund for any portion of any unused airtime.  Excerpt:

"Refunds 

We cannot give refunds for the airtime. You may return an unused phone or OneSimCard SIM card within 30 days after the receipt of the item, provided you never placed a call to or from the mobile phone issued and all airtime is intact. A 25% restocking fee will be applied. Returned products must be undamaged and unused in their original packaging in order to be accepted. We reserve the right to refuse refunds for any products that are returned with damage and are unable to be resold at the purchased price."

Furthermore, we do not see any attempt for the customer to contact us directly (calls to Customer Service are free for the first 3 minutes with an option for a call back to avoid any charges).  It is often difficult to troubleshoot an issue with cell service through a third-party, especially considering the fact that the service was used successfully for calls and text messages.  

Unfortunately, the remaining balance for this customer's prepaid airtime does not qualify for a refund per our Terms of Use.

Thank you,

**** ** *****
Customer Service Manager, OneSimCard

Business Response: Hello,

We are unable to locate any service request calls from the customer.  Calls to Customer Support are free for the first three minutes with an option to request a call back to avoid any charges altogether.  Considering the complaint of intermittent service, this issue was most likely due to a weak network signal.  This type of a service issue is generally resolved by having the customer switch to another network, something that would have been suggested in this case.  OneSimCard provides a connection to a local network and cannot guarantee a strong signal everywhere in the world.  Unfortunately, we are unable to refund any portion of unused airtime as stated in our Terms of Use:

http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/

The remaining funds are valid for 10 months since it was added to the OneSimCard prepaid balance.

Thank you,
OneSimCard


Consumer Response: I will accept their answer because they keep saying the same thing, of course my call to customer service could not be located yet every other contact where I DID NOT have issue is there.  I have learned my lesson, I will not use this company as my child travels to study abroad for 9mths and I will be sure to let others know my experience.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The site claims to sell phones that are prepaid for international travel. I bought a phone added all the services they required so my daughter would have a phone when she traveled to Ireland with her Choir. The phone never allowed calls while she was in Ireland. She had the phone on and could not text or receive calls nor place calls. I had performed a test call like the instruction stated and this failed. I opened a ticket with the company and they did assist initially with the test called in the United States. The test call worked and texting worked while in the US, but she never got calls, texts or could use the phone while in Ireland. I asked for a refund from their company and hung up on/disconnected when I tried to get a refund on the remaining balance.

Desired Settlement: I want to find out if I have been scammed. I would like to know what happened.

Business Response: We have reviewed the account of the customer (******* *****) in great detail.  We are able to conclude that the customer was using the OneSimCard SIM without following the correct dialing format and therefore was unable to complete voice calls from his device.  OneSimCard International SIM has a primary European number which requires an International dialing format in order to be used (00-country code-area code-local number).  This information, along with all other necessary instructions, is provided in the User/Quick Start Guides (attached to the SIM card when shipped) as well as in the customer's OneSimCard online account.  We are showing the customer dialed incorrectly every attempted outgoing  number.   We have received a single email service ticket request from the customer while he was still located in the US.  This inquiry was replied to and correct instructions were forwarded, along with the links to our instructional videos online.  The issue with connectivity in the US was resolved.  However, subsequent attempts to make calls from outside of the US were dialed incorrectly and no further requests for assistance were made until we received a call demanding a refund.  Unfortunately, since there was some usage on the SIM card, we are unable to provide a refund for the unused portion of airtime. This policy is under our Terms of Use and was agreed to by the customer at the time of purchase. (http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/) We recommend for the customer to contact us directly for the detailed instructions on how to use our product or for any other requests regarding his OneSimCard account. I would be glad to assist the customer directly at (***) ******** x.*** Thank you, **** ** ***** Customer Service Manager OneSimCard.com Belmont Telecom Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I request that the demonstrate the logs regarding the dialing procedures for we did use the country code. There is also the fact that the phone would not send texts messages while abroad, nor would it make local or international calls while in the country of Ireland. Furthermore, the phone could make calls and receive calls, and texts messages while in the United States. So if the company has proof that the phone was not being used properly they had better well provide proof of the numbers that were attempted while my daughter was a broad or refund me the remaining balance on the card for I will be happy to ship the entire system along with the sim card back!

Business Response: Hello, Attached please find an example for the customer's SIM card call details where the incorrect dilaing format is indicated.  We have very detailed instructions on how to dial in our User Guides and in the customer's online accounts.  The customer is welcome to contact us directly if there is anything further we can assist him with. Thank you, **** ** ***** OneSimCard 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

As in line with their services and that I have never been able to get through to their tech support, the didn't send the attachment. They could have easily sent me the log to the BBB and me for they have my email address. I have never received an email from them and I truly believe they are just wasting the BBB and my time by stalling. I reject this response!

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an e-mail notification from OneSimCard indicating that my 10 month term on my Sim Cards was about to expire. I recharged two of my three sim cards before the 10 month expiration date. This should have effectively keep my sim card balance live or two of the three cards. I did this on two separate occasions and I received no error message from their system that the charge did not go through. I contacted them, service request ticket *****, and they replied they claimed the charge was never made.

Desired Settlement: They need to reinstate the two of the three SimCards that I attempted to recharge and correct their checkout process; the recharge attempts were made , they should be able to confirm such attempts.

Business Response: We would like to address the complaint by ******* ****** by stating our Company policies and by referring to our previous attempts to communicate this information directly to the customer. 

The following SIM card/balance expiration policy is clearly stated under out Terms of Use (http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/): Expiration  The international SIM card phone number and account will expire if no outgoing usage is made for 2 years. The outgoing usage could be any of the following: Call made from the phone, SMS sent from the phone or any Data Usage. Personal Extra Numbers will stay active as long as they have been funded properly. The SIM card balance is valid for 10 months. The balance will continuously roll over to the next 10 month period provided that at least $25 is added within 10 months after the last recharge. If the balance expires, the service can still be used after a new recharge of the SIM card. It is the responsibility of the customer to monitor his/her SIM cards in order to prevent the expiration of the balances.  We have an extensive notification system to advise our customers when the 10 month expiration date is approaching. Automatic emails are sent to customers notifying them that their SIM card balances are about to expire.  These notification emails are sent at least a month in advance and continue to be sent out weekly up until the balance expires.  These emails were sent to Mr. ****** to his email on file with us.   The customer in this case had 3 SIM cards purchased at the same time and the 10 month balance expiration occurred simultaneously in December of 2013, 10 months after the initial purchase since the customer never made another recharge.  The customer did make an attempt to recharge the balance on the SIM cards just before the balance expiration; however, the credit card information entered was invalid and the transactions were declined.  An error message was generated for the customer to see that the credit card transaction did not succeed and another attempt should be made.  Had the recharges been successful, a confirmation email would have been sent and the online airtime balance would have reflected the updated amount.  This did not happen in this case.  The customer contacted us more than a month later and stated that he was unaware that his recharge attempts were declined by the bank. Unfortunately, at that time we were unable to provide the customer with a refund or to restore his expired balance.  This is in accordance with our Terms of Use. Thank you, **** ** ***** Manager, Customer Service OneSimCard.com The Belmont Telecom Inc.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for service with their speaklonger service. They advertise that once you register your phone numbers their system recognizes these when you call their access numbers to place a call and you do not need to use a PIN number. After registration I tried to make a call and was asked for my PIN. I tried both phones and was asked for this PIN. I tried their troubleshooting guide on their website and everything is good on my end. I have called several times and sent emails which were never acknowledged informing them of this problem. It is not working as advertised and using a Pin is extremely inconvenient and not practical as for one I would never remember it. Thid business has the worst customer service I have encountered and obviously doesn't care.

Desired Settlement: Fix problem and offer service like advertised. If unable to do so refund my money as I previously requested

Business Response: Hello,  Customer, ***** *****, subscribed to the SpeakLonger long-distance telephone in early august of 2013.  At one point in August we did have a very short, temporary technical issue with the PINless dialing option.  This option allows customers to dial directly from their registered phones without the necessity of entering the PIN number each time.  This option was introduced as an added convenience to our customers.  During the very brief interruption in the PINless dialing, customers were still able to use their accounts to make phone calls with entering the PIN number separately.  This added step adds no more than few seconds to the process of completing a phone call. We were advising our customers of the interruption as they call in to our technical support.  If Mr. ***** called us during this time, he would have been advised to use his account with the extra step of entering the PIN number until the PINless option is restored.  The service went back to normal within two days.  

Subsequently, we have tried to contact Mr. ***** upon the receipt of this complaint. I have personally left several messages.  We know that Mr. ***** has been aware that the issue has been because we see the usage on his account which has a balance of $1.12 (attached) We also have the call detail history that shows that the account has been used. 

We certainly do not wish for any service interruptions, but sometimes this is inevitable as it is a technical product.  We would like to keep Mr. ***** as a customer and apologize for the brief interruption in his SpeakLonger service.

Thank you,
**** ** *****
Customer Service, SpeakLonger (Belmont Telecom)

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The information in that response was not true. First the technical problems lasted several weeks not 2 days as stated. When I called in which I did several times I was never told they were experiencing technical issues in actual fact the first time I called the rep told me the problem was with my phone carrier. After several more calls they told me they were going to issue a trouble ticket. The business did not attempt to contact me several times as stated but once weeks later when the problem was resolved. I am using this service and intend to deplete my prepaid balance and not replenish it. The phone service itself is very good but despite the lies I just read and the deplorable customer service I will no longer be a customer

Business Response: Respectfully, we strongly disagree with the response that ***** ***** submitted.  The technical issue that our service SpeakLonger experienced, was corrected within a few days, not weeks. The reason for the interruption in service was beyond our control and the only way that our customers could be notified is when a call was placed to our technical support.  This type of interruption can occur with any telephone service provider as we are dependent on third party networks to support our service.

The issue with PINless dialing was fixed within days while the customers still had an ability to make phone calls using a simple additional step of manually entering their PIN numbers.  Once the issue was corrected, Mr. ***** continued using the service with no other complaints.  It should also be noted that we had no other complaints from any other customers during this brief technical issue related to the PINless dialing. While we regret that Mr. ***** had to go through an inconvenience of manually entering a PIN to make a phone call, his complaint has no relevance to the quality of our product or our customer service.

Thank you,
**** ** *****
Manager, Customer Service
LD Post/Belmont Telecom Inc.

Consumer Response: Once again I state that the technical issue lingered for weeks not days as stated. I continued using the service with the intent of depleting the prepaid balance as I was getting nowhere with the subpar customer service. Also the business attempted to contact me once several weeks later when the problem was resolved not several times as stated as my caller id log can attest. As the balance is almost depleted and I am using the service of another provider I see no reason to keep this complaint open. The reason I reject the response is the fact that the business is not being truthful in its response.

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been Belmont Telecom’s customer since 2007 and used an international phone a few times. During my last travel, my phone didn't work at all: “Network is not found.” I could not make any calls, neither could receive any. I was not able to contact to the company at that time because of the phone failure, and internet service was not accessible for me then. After arriving back to USA, I contacted to Belmont Telecom Inc. twice with the request to give me my money back, but was rejected. I followed their rules, I recharged my phone at time, but when the company failed to provide their service, it just decided to blame me of not contacting them during my trip and keep my money. The company is not willing to give me the refund for the service they did not provide, neither extend my balance’s expiration date.

Desired Settlement: The business should return money because the service was not provided or at least fix the phone's/card's problem and give the opportunity to their clients to use the remaining balance (without recharging it) during their future trips.

Business Response: Hello,
Customer did not appear to have coverage with networks while traveling in Russia, hence was unable to use service. Network and Coverage details are provided on our web-site at www.onesimcard.com and can be reviewed in advance. OneSimCard can also troubleshoot any service issues if we are contacted. We offer all means of contact including email, chat, phone, etc.

The customer has initially contacted OneSimCard 3 months after recharge, however the customer agreed to OneSimCard Terms of Use: http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/ where it clearly states our return policy of 30 days. We are unable to honor a refund request and our balance expiration policy is also agreed to and stated under Terms of Use.

Thank you,
OneSimCard

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I used this same phone at the same areas before during my previous travels and it worked. I recharged my phone for my future trip which took place in July-August. Does the company expect their customers to deposit money on accounts and cancel the service in 30 days before trips would take place? What is the company’s purpose? To provide service, I hope, not to collect money. I contacted to the company AFTER my trip was over, not before (it is nonsense),not during (because I could not). 

Business Response: I used this same phone at the same areas before during my previous travels and it worked. I recharged my phone for my future trip which took place in July-August. Does the company expect their customers to deposit money on accounts and cancel the service in 30 days before trips would take place? What is the company’s purpose? To provide service, I hope, not to collect money.

I contacted to the company AFTER my trip was over, not before (it is nonsense),not during (because I could not). Hello,The coverage may change without prior notice, and it can and should be be verified on the carrier's web-site. We can not guarantee coverage in every distant location and it does depend on local carrier's tower coverage.If a customer is experiencing technical problems, we can only assist if there is a direct contact and most of the time we can solve problems with the service, if there are any. If we are contacted promptly, we could have researched all options, including the possibility of phone malfunctioning, refunding, etc.If there is no contact, we are unable to assist and can not offer a refund for the service that could still be used by the customer.

We are unable to honor the refund request.OneSimCard Terms of Use are posted here: http://www.onesimcard.com/terms-of-use/ and all the detailed information can also be found under FAQ on www.onesimcard.com

Thank you,
OneSimCard

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

For some reason the representatives reject any logicalexplanations. I have told already that the phone had worked before; what personwill check the coverage area again while traveling to the same place with thesame phone and service? The company is willing to loose the customers and somebusiness instead of satisfying the reasonable complaints. If you don’t have$39.60 to return, why would not you just extend the time for me, isn’t itreasonable request? I mention before that I am planning to travel to Europe during July, so I can use your service and mymoney you hold.  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the website to buy the product (http://www.onesimcard.com/international-sim-card/), it is advertised that one can get up to $30 of airtime when additional airtime is purchased immediately with Simcard. There is no reference as to how much airtime should be purchased to get $30. After reporting issue with customer service, I was told that it requires $170 airtime purchase to get $30. When I requested a portion of credit proportional to $10 that I purchased, it was denied.

Desired Settlement: The company should change the website and either: - remove the false advertising - define properly how to get additional airtime (example: a table with airtime purchase and extra credit or amount of additional credit per $1 purchased limited to $30, ...) Due to unclear advertising at time of purchase, the company should at least give me $1.76 credit for the airtime purchased.

Business Response: There is no false advertisement on the web-site. The message clearly states: "Add Airtime Credit Now - Save up to $30". This does not mean that any airtime purchase will get an airtime credit, but only the ones provided in the drop-down menu located on the same page where the statement provided is located.  The customer always has an option of calling OneSimCard Customer Service where we can clarify any misunderstandings.  We are unable to honor any credit pertinent to the issue provided here.

Thank you,
OneSimCard

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have attached two screen prints showing the display on the website... I believe they the company should add a ? icon button or something that would explain that the default selection of $10 does not give any savings. "up to" is misleading because it infers some savings limited to the max amount. If a minimum purchase is required to get credit, it should be specified like: Min purchase of $90 to save up to $30. The dropdown without any explanation is confusing.   Note: that $10 option does not have the $ amount in parenthesis as in the other options.  I did not think about checking the other values in the dropdown... I thought wow, only $10 for $30 dollar credit is a deal...The fact that the $10 option default value is formatted differently from other options show clear intent for deceit.

Business Response: There is no intent to deceit, and as stated before, every customer is more than welcome to call OneSimCard Customer Service for any clarification.  Nowhere on the web-site does it state that you will get a credit for a $10 airtime purchase. It clearly states that you may "save up to $30" - it does not imply that with any purchase you get that credit or that it's a proportional credit you get or anything else to that extent.

"I did not think about checking the other values" - this is your personal decision you have made that is not directly relevant to the information posted on the web-site and does not imply any false advertisement.  We advertise that you can save up to $30, and it can be read in multiple places on the web-site, as well as this information can be obtained from OneSimCard Customer Service, what options you have in order to get a savings credit.  We are unable to honor any credits.

Thank you,
OneSimCard

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Let's agree there is no intent for deceit. Then the company should not mind changing the website content to make it clearer for the customers that there is a min purchase amount required before getting credit? I have provided suggestions on the prior response as to what could be done. Wouldn't it make more business sense to amend the website than spending time answering complaints?

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While traveling, I thought it was important to have a phone so I would be able to contact loved ones back home. The company requires that you prepay for minutes even though you are required to put down a hefty deposit for
the international phone. I had the phone setup to recharge at 50.00... Upon returning to the states, I returned the rented equipment. I have a balance of $35.10 on the phone for minutes that were unused. When I recieved my
final bill from the company, they refused to refund the money for the unused minutes. I talked with customer service twice to try to resolve this issue and was told "Yes, we get to keep it..." The web site states that they do not refund airtime for misdialed calls, calls to customer service ect... I just want my money back. I was required to pay for the minutes prior to using the phone. How is anyone to know how many minutes they are going to need.
This is stealing and they know it. I was told "You should have used up the minutes before I returned the phone." This is just wrong...

Desired Settlement: I just want the money that they took from me returned.

Business Response: Hello,

When a customer places a rental order on our web-site, they agree to our Terms of Use by placing a check mark in the check off box that we provide on the web-site: http://www.onesimcard.com/?idmenu=15. It clearly states: Refunds: There
are no refunds for airtime
. Mr. ******** acknowledged that airtime is non refundable by checking off that box as well. It is our policy that Airtime is non-refundable and each customer is free to get familiarized with our Policy and Terms of
Use on our web-site.  We will not be able to honor this refund request.

Thank you,
OneSimCard Support

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

In the agreement they have a definition of terms section.  In the terms it states no refund for airtime and defines it directly below as no refund for airtime for misdialled calls, no refund for airtime for customer support, no refund for messages ect... no where in the "Terms and Conditions" does it state "NO REFUND for UNUSED Airtime or unused minutes".  If the company is going to take and keep your money for a service they are not providing, they should state such. They do not clearly state that there is no refund for unused minutes. This is deception and after the fact they try to put everything under a broad umbrella.


 

 

Business Response: Hello,

Please, visit this link again: http://www.onesimcard.com/?idmenu=15

It clearly states: Refunds: "There are no refunds for airtime." There is no broad umbrella, this includes airtime in any way a customer wants to understand it. If the customer would have had questions in regards to this part of the Terms and Conditions prior to using OneSimCard SIM service, our Customer Service is always there to assist and answer any questions. We do clearly state that Airtime is non-refundable. That's our policy, and the customer did receive service they paid for. They put the amount on the sim balance, and whatever is left on the sim, is non-refundable according to the Terms and Conditions they checked off for and did not have any questions in regards to at the time.

We will not honor this refund request.

Thank you,
OneSimCard Support

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Better Business Bureau. I recently purchased a cellphone and sim card from ONESIMCARD.COM of Belmont Telecom. The website advertised a flat rate for international calls yet when I paid $400.88 for a phone, sim card, and phone service with them I was amazed to find that the flat rate for international calls were a lie. Therefore I pulled out my calculator and realized that I was being charged a per minute rate at what was listed as the flat rate. I then contacted the company through the online service and was informed that the rates advertised were by the minute. Looking at their website they claim that a customer needs a RMA number issued from them within 30 days of purchase for unused equipment to return their product as well as pay a 25% restocking fee if you have not used their product. However one cannot find out their thievery unless 1)*Word Rejected*waits on the item to ship; 2) uses the service
and realize you are paying an arm and a leg; and then 3) requests an RMA number given at their behest (discretion) within 30 days. To top it off I already have a cheaper vonage service which only their falsely advertised prices beat.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from this business and for the business to accurately represent their products and services on their website as well as a refund of the money I was charged $400.88 + return shipping costs. This is what I should
be refunded with out any problem. Why should a customer have to pay for a service at a rate they didn't agree to. It is still within the 30 day return period but cutting it close. Therefore I will contact my bank as well to see what can be done.

Business Response: The customer purchased a service that clearly stated on our web-site www.onesimcard.com as an International Sim Card Service for calls abroad charged at a per minute rates. The customer never contacted us originally with any questions, but
rather acquired the service and used it successfully. At a later time he realized that he is being charged properly, at a per minute rate, as advertised on our web-site, however strongly believed it was to be charged at a flat rate (which is not
mentioned anywhere on the web-site).

Our policy is that product can be returned within 30 days of purchase (which is over) if it has not been used. The customer used the service successfully on constant basis and experienced no problems. It is customer's responsibility to make sure
that they understand all details about rates and coverage and it is stated on the web-site in multiple places as well as the customer has agreed to it at the time of purchase.  Unfortunately, we will not be able to honor a refund request based on the information provided above.

Thank you
OneSimCard Support

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaintI guess what British Telecom is trying to say is that I purchased a cellphone and calling plan from them so I could make a few international calls and then return their product. However, as I mentioned before I already have an international calling plan that I was using before during the time I purchased their services. My Vonage bill is attached showing this as well as the cheaper calling rate. Now had my intention been meant to make a few calls and then return the product why did I contact them mentioning that what they offered is not what I recieved. In fact after contacting the BBB I also contacted them two times  verbally and online requesting the number that they require for a return all within the 30day window. However, after I returned their call I believe a representative
named ********* as well as a supervisor refused to give me what was needed to return the item to them. As any rational person knows after making a purchase of any kind even a meal one cannot determine whether what was offered is actually what is in front of them until they use the product. Now as anybody with a telephone knows you get a statement off all outgoing calls and incoming calls monthly, the only reason why I contacted them online the first time is because I noticed a significant dip in remaining balance. I knew something was awry so I contacted them when I could and as any customer who realizes that someone has tried to dupe them I took time to ponder the best approach. Do I let them swindle me or should I take action. Being swindled was not acceptable so I decided to ask for a refund as well as contact the BBB of this deception. I have attached documentation showing my contact with them as well as a snapshot of their website's deception.


 

Business Response: Customer's Vonage or any other service has no relation to our service and does not imply that our service has to be cheaper or more expensive than any of that used by the customer.  The customer first contacted us on 3/9/12 by e-mail:  Question: 2012-03-08 11:15:08 USA Nigeria ************* **** ** $0.45 $13.50.  Why is this charge billed at a per minute rate of .45 instead of a flat rate of .45?  The response we sent the same day was as follows:

******,

All our rates stated on our site is given in a per minute rate. This is stated under the Networks & Coverage table when looking at rates & coverage & choosing your location.

The customer continued to use our service for over 15 days after that response was sent. This clearly means the customer did not have any problems using the service. He called the day when BBB complaint was filed and was refused to accept the product back. The service was successfully used by the customer and the information pertinent to the product was agreed to in the Terms and Conditions at the time of purchase.   We will not be able to honor any refund request at this time.  Thank you.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This was a purchase of a sim card for a European phone to be used when traveling in Germany and Austria. According to the rep and the on line information, this card would work there. I activated it as soon as I received it and then when I tried to use it in Germany and Austira it would not accept the number. I have used this phone before in Europe so I know it works, but the sim card provided did not. I called the company and they said I should have reported it, but I had no phone to do so. Then they said I should have tried it out before I left the USA, but being a European phone, I could not power it up in the USA-wrong current/plug. Then they said they would not refund any money since it was more than 30 days since purchase.

Desired Settlement: Can be cash, credit adjustment or check. ($39.95)

Business Response: The customer purchased a sim card that was never tested in USA. Customer did not attempt to contact us for once since November 21, 2011 until 02/09/12 and our policy clearly states the Refund Policy of 30 days. The customer has a phone that's locked to one European carrier, looks like a French one, therefore OneSimCard sim did not work and it states everywhere on our web-site that you need a GSM Unlocked phone that you should test it with in the US and contact our Customer Support if you have any issues otherwise the Refund Policy is within 30 days of purchase. None of this was done. The sim card is still operational and will work just fine, the customer still needs a fully unlocked operational GSM phone.

According to our policy the Refund is not an option at this time, but we are glad to assist with finding the best way to use the product as it is a fully working sim card.

Thank you
****** *

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 12, 2011 I called OneSimCard (A div. of Belmont Telecom, Inc) to complain that they were charging me $38.00 for a 38 minute call that never took place. Actually, the call was made by me in Mexico between my two cell phones and never answered. After the Customer Support agent took all the information, he assured me that in no more than a week they would have a settlement and credit me back for this mistake. THEY NEVER CONTACTED ME BACK!!! It is now a month later and I called them back today and I got the same answer, that they had no information on this charge and to call them back in one month. THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE; they are ripping me off.

Desired Settlement: I demand a credit back to my Credit Card of $38.00 plus a compensatory recharge to my OneSimCard.

Business Response: Hello ***,

Your OneSimCard balance has been reimbursed with $38.00 charge back on December 20, 2011. Please, log in to your account and review your current balance. We did as we promised, and returned the charge back on the sim balance. You were able to continue using this balance since December 20, 2011.

We also called you earlier to inform that the balance has been put back into your account.

Thank you
OneSimCard Customer Support Manager
****** *

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Regards,

*** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.