Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Environmental Pools, Inc.

Phone: (978) 256-0200 Fax: (978) 256-6620 184 Riverneck Rd, Chelmsford, MA 01824 http://www.environmentalpools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Environmental Pools, Inc. designs and installs, services, and renovates in-ground gunite pools and spas.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Environmental Pools, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Environmental Pools, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Environmental Pools, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1988 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1989 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andy Everleigh, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Everleigh, President
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS & DESIGNERS SWIMMING POOL SERVICE & REPAIR SWIMMING POOL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Environmental Pools, Inc. sells the following brand(s): BioGuard, Biolab, Creative Water Solutions, Hayward, Interfab, Omni, Pentair, Pool Tool, S.R. Smith, Zodiac

Industry Tips
Buying a Swimming Pool Read Before You Sign Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers & Designers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Environmental Pools, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 184 Riverneck Rd

    Chelmsford, MA 01824

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Environmental Pool was contacted by phone the week of June 16th to inquire about having a pool closing done. The pool is no longer being used and will not be used in the foreseeable future. Environmental Pools called and stated they were sending a man out to do an estimate on this request on June 24th. The man stated he would do the job but needed a deposit. The check was made out to him personally on June 24th and cashed on June 27th. He left his personal cell phone number at that time. Weeks passed and several calls were placed to both Environmental Pools and the individual person that had taken the deposit. His phone mailbox has been full and he does not answer his phone. Calls to Environmental stated that he still worked for them and they would relay the information to him. The last call made was on todays date to both the individual, whose mailbox is still full and to Environmental Pools. Now the story has changed considerably. The individual that came out and took the estimate is not only and employee of the company but also does side jobs for himself. Environmental Pools is now saying they could not do the work so the individual is taking it on himself. This was never mentioned by either the individual or Environmental. He came out as a representative of the company and that was never clarified by either party. In speaking to a representative of the company today they admit "they dropped the ball" , they admit to "not communicating the way they should have", they admit that the way things were handled was all wrong and yet they take no ultimate company responsibility because the check was made out to the individual who at the time was representing their company. I believe that in dealing with an elderly woman,81 years old,this whole incident is not acceptable and that Environmental Pools who admit to making many errors in this situation should be held accountable for the action of an employee who did not disclose any information of doing the job freelance and the fact Environmental was not forthcoming with this information during prior phone conversations

Desired Settlement: I believe Environment should be held accountable and refund the $200.00 and then they can get the money back from their employee.

Business Response: Environmental Pools takes concerns from our clients very seriously.  We believe a business is best served by making clients happy rather than addressing disputes.  As such, we are pleased to have thousands of pleased clients.  When a complaint does come our way, we do our best to address the issues at hand and come to a resolution.  

The general facts of this complaint are true.  We were contacted by the homeowner to assess their pool for a closing, and the technician referenced did perform the estimate.  As we do not perform work on pools of that type, this employee did take the work on himself, which was identified by the homeowner making a check out to him personally.  Upon later discussions with the technician, he stated that he did notify the homeowner that he was doing this work as himself and not Environmental Pools.  Certainly, we should have stated as such when the homeowner contacted Environmental Pools.  

When this issue was discussed with the daughter of the homeowner, it was stated that the responsibility that we are taking is to notify the individual that has been contracted to perform the work.  As it was a private business dealing between the homeowner and someone who happens to work for Environmental Pools, we did not feel it was proper, nor legal, to deduct those funds from his paycheck for work being performed for another entity.  If we did so, we would be facing a wage violation issue.  While we do everything within our power to satisfy our clients, we prefer to avoid breaking the law to do so.  

In speaking to the employee this morning, the work was performed on Sunday, August 24, 2014, and the pool is now closed.  

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #10190505. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

**** ******

7/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this company a total of 3 times to request their service in opening my pool this spring. They never had the courtesy to return ANY of the calls. I then had no choice but to try and open the pool by myself. My ex-husband did the best he could to help and got it running with the exception of one valve which was in the wrong position causing water to flow incorrectly through the pump which caused it to seize. I then called the pool company to come and take a look at it. When they came the the techs started telling me other things that they do when they open a pool (tightening bolts that THEY loosen when they close the pool etc...) All stuff that would have been done if they came and opened the pool as I asked. In any event, by the time all was said and done *** their "service" manager told me I would need to pay between $300-$430 to get my pool back running. I asked him what if anything he could do to help out with this price and he said there was NOTHING he could do and he was sorry no one returned my calls.....!!!!! I asked him if I paid for the fix today if he would consider giving me a complimentary pool closing to which he said NO. He did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to right their wrong!! I am disgusted that I paid this company $75,000 for this pool and had them close it every year since and this is how I am treated. Apparently customers are NOT their #1 priority!

Desired Settlement: I want NOTHING FROM THIS COMPANY other than to tell as many people as I can to BEWARE!! I have been a customer of theirs for more than 10 years and I can honestly say they have the WORST customer service I have ever had in any business dealing with ANY COMPANY!! This company will not be in business for much longer ..........

Business Response: Environmental Pools takes pride in its customer service.  We vigorously dispute the claims in this complaint for several reasons.

First, there were no charges to the potential client in this situation, as is evidenced by the attached invoice.

Secondly, the individual states that due to non-returned phone calls, they “then had no choice but to try and open the pool by myself.”  What the individual does not mention, is that although Environmental Pools has historically closed the pool, we have never opened the pool.  Clearly over the decade or so that Environmental Pools has closed the pool, some other individual or company must have been opening the pool, which the individual clearly stated when the request for a service call was made.  Environmental Pools contends that it cannot be held responsible for work it did not perform or attempt to schedule.  Additionally, as is clear to anyone who does a web or phone book search, Environmental Pools is not the only company in the area that provides pool opening services, and the individual could have certainly called other companies to open her pool.

Thirdly, the damaged valve was noted as being damaged and in need of repair upon opening the pool when Environmental Pools closed the pool in the fall, as is noted on the attached PDF from 10/21/12.  As Environmental Pools does not regularly service the pool in question, the valve must have been under the care of another individual or company.  Again, Environmental Pools cannot be held responsible for others’ work or negligence.
 
Fourth, had Environmental Pools opened the pool as the individual states was requested, there would have been a charge of at least $350.00 to open the pool, in addition to the charges to perform the repair that the individual is complaining about.  Again, since no charges were made to this individual, Environmental Pools does not believe that this individual has a valid complaint.
 
We appreciate all of our clients because we understand that there would not be a company without our clients.  We are fortunate to have a strong, loyal client base that has been with us for many years and hope that they continue to do so.
We do not enjoy having dissatisfied clients, as that is not our business.  We feel that we have built a strong business centered on providing a superior service to our clients by repairing items properly.  This minimizes issues in the long run and creates satisfied clients. 
 
I hope this explanation provides the necessary information to fully understand the situation at hand.  Should you require any additional explanation or any clarification, please feel free to contact me at your convenience. 

*** *********, ASLA
Director of Operations