BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Surgi-Care, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Surgi-Care, Inc.

Phone: (800) 797-8744 Fax: (781) 893-2669 71 1st Ave, Waltham, MA 02451 http://www.surgi-careinc.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Surgi-Care, Inc. is a provider of orthopedic, surgical, and rehabilitative products to hospitals, clinics, home health care providers, and patients.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Surgi-Care, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Surgi-Care, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Surgi-Care, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 18, 2005 Business started: 03/02/1987 in MA Business incorporated: 03/02/1987 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lee J. Rice, President Mr. T. Gary Lawson, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. T. Gary Lawson, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Lee J. Rice, President
Number of Employees

135

Business Category

SURGICAL APPLIANCES & SUPPLIES REHABILITATION PRODUCTS ORTHOPEDIC APPLIANCES Surgical Appliance and Supplies Manufacturing (NAICS: 339113)

Service Area
Surgi-Care, Inc. provides their services in CONNECTICUT , MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS , NEW HAMPSHIRE , RHODE ISLAND & VERMONT.
New England

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 8, 2014 I fell, went to Lowell General Hospital and received a cheap sling. I received a bill for $81.60 for a sling that did not work properly because the Velcro did not hold up the sling. I used a sweatshirt rope to hold up my casted hand. I spoke with a representative from Surgi-care and was told that I had to pay the $81.60 for a piece of cheap fabric because that is what my insurance company (*******) would pay for it. I called ******* and they told me to register a complaint with the Massachusetts Better Business Bureau, The MA Attorney General's Office, and the Massachusetts State Medical Board. This is what I am doing. This is fraud. I searched on line and found an article in *** ****** ***** (August 27, 2012) about the exact same issue. I am a senior citizen, but No one should have to pay this money for a piece of useless fabric. This is immoral.

Desired Settlement: Drop the charge or make it $10 which is still too high.

Business Response:
Dear Ms. ***** *****:

I am writing in response to your letter on the Better Business Bureau website dated July 28, 2014, in regards to your concerns about our pricing practices.  I'd like to thank you for expressing your concerns so that we may address them.  First, I apologize that you were unsatisfied with the product you received. Second, the mechanism for pricing medical devices is unlike that of other goods on the market, so I can sympathize with your frustration at the price of your bill. Hopefully, this letter will help you better understand the industry standards for durable medical equipment (DME) billing and our legal justification for pricing our products the way we do.  Before I respond to the specifics of your letter, I'd like to provide some basic information about how we price our products.

How Our Pricing is Determined

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) are responsible for establishing accurate and appropriate guidelines for DME pricing. These guidelines are included in an annual fee schedule published by CMS, which sets limits on how much a provider should charge for a medical device according to the product billing code and the beneficiary's state of residence.  CMS reviews this fee schedule in January and July of each year to determine if the existing prices for each product are appropriate and "inherently reasonable." 

According to the CMS DME Fee Schedule, the maximum amount a provider should charge for the product you received is $97.57.  This amount is based on the billing code for the product, L3670, and the state where you live, Massachusetts.  Surgi-Care charged you $81.60, according to our contracted rate with your insurer. This amount is below the fee schedule limit, and therefore considered "inherently reasonable" by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid.

Why Our Price Varies from Online Distributors 

The law allows for flexibility in the determination of reasonable charges to accommodate reimbursement for the various ways in which health services are furnished.  For example, when you get a brace at your physician's office, the price of the brace may be higher to accommodate reimbursement for the staff's time fitting and adjusting the brace, submitting the claim to your insurance, following up on denials, and so on.  An online distributor doesn't have to pay a team of clinicians and they don't provide additional services like preparing and submitting your claim, appealing denials, etc.  They simply ship the product to you. This is why they are able to charge significantly less. 

Response to Your Specific Grievance

In your letter, you state that our pricing is “fraud.” As I explained in the second part of this letter, "How Our Pricing is Determined", our price of $81.60 is well within the CMS pricing guidelines for the product you received, and therefore deemed "inherently reasonable" by CMS, the regulating authority for DME pricing.

The first page of the form you signed (enclosed) specifically states:

"For your convenience, this office is contracted with Surgi-Care, Inc. to make these supports available onsite.  However, you may elect to have your physician write a prescription for the support and then purchase it from a retail medical supply company on your own instead."

Additionally, the form also states:

“I acknowledge that I have received the product(s) described below and the product(s) I have received are in good, working condition. By signing below, I acknowledge that I have read, understand, and agree to the terms stated above.”

Customers are given the opportunity to refuse products or take the physician’s prescription and shop elsewhere, but by signing the product order form you are agreeing to pay for the product you received.

Conclusion

Based on our evaluation of your grievances and a review of the pricing of this product, we do not believe we are at fault and are therefore not providing you with any sort of settlement.  According to our records, you owe us a total balance of $81.60 because you have not yet met your deductible with your insurance and that is the contracted rate of this product.  I hope you will honor your legal contract with Surgi-Care and pay your balance in full as soon as possible.


Sincerely,

***** *******

Compliance Officer


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

******* ***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a medical problem with my foot. I went to see a doctor I had not seen before. He gave me a night splint and said it could help but I didn't have to use it because I'd get better on my own. They handed me paperwork and told me to just sign and I could leave. I signed the paper work not expecting a bill because nothing was mentioned when I was at the doctors office.

Desired Settlement: I had no idea I was getting a bill. The doctors office just told me I signing paper work to leave and that I already payed my bill. I'd like the bill closed so I don't have to pay anything and I'd like to send them back their product.

Business Response: RE:  Letter of Complaint Regarding Acct. #xxxxx

Dear xxxxxx:

I am writing in response to your complaint to the Better Business Bureau dated February 7, 2014. According to our records, on November 19, 2013, you received an ankle brace from Dr. xxxxxxx office.

As part of this service, you signed paperwork from our company that included information regarding your right to purchase the product elsewhere, the estimated cost of the brace, and your ultimate financial responsibility for payment of the brace.

It is your responsibility to review contractual agreements before you enter into them.  We are therefore holding you financially responsible for the product your doctor prescribed out of medical necessity and which you accepted under the terms of our agreement.

The current balance for the product you received is $152.55.  Although this item may be covered by your insurance plan, you have not yet met your deductible, so you are responsible for the cost.  Your insurance deductible is the amount you owe for health care services before your
insurance begins to pay for them.  For example, if your insurance plan deductible is $1,000, your plan won't pay for certain health care services until you have "met" this amount by paying $1,000 in health care services yourself. Once you have paid the $152.55, this amount will be applied towards your insurance deductible, and subtracted from your remaining deductible amount. 

If you are having difficulty meeting this obligation due to financial circumstances, or have any questions, please contact our Customer Service Department at xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. We'll be happy to set up a payment arrangement with you to make this debt more manageable.   

 

Sincerely,

 

xxxxxxx
Surgi-Care, Inc.

 

Business Response: Dear Mr. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I'm sorry you were unsatisfied with our response.  Is there anything we can do to help resolve this matter other than waiving your balance?

Sincerely,

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Consumer Response:


I don't see how I am responsible for a contract when I didn't even know I was signing a contract. I've never even used the product. I'd pay if I knew I was signing a Contract because it would be my fault. I was lead to believe that I was simply signing a paper saying that I had attended my doctors visit and that I paid my copay. I'd be more than happy to send the product back. My father put me in touch with a lawyer that specializes in contracts and if we handle this ourselves then I can put you in touch with him. The legal term is "securing execution of document by deception. " 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.