BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Surgi-Care, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Surgi-Care, Inc.

Phone: (800) 797-8744 Fax: (781) 893-2669 71 1st Ave, Waltham, MA 02451 http://www.surgi-careinc.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Surgi-Care, Inc. is a provider of orthopedic, surgical, and rehabilitative products to hospitals, clinics, home health care providers, and patients.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Surgi-Care, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Surgi-Care, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Surgi-Care, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 18, 2005 Business started: 03/02/1987 in MA Business incorporated: 03/02/1987 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lee J. Rice, President Mr. T. Gary Lawson, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. T. Gary Lawson, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Lee J. Rice, President
Number of Employees

135

Business Category

SURGICAL APPLIANCES & SUPPLIES REHABILITATION PRODUCTS ORTHOPEDIC APPLIANCES Surgical Appliance and Supplies Manufacturing (NAICS: 339113)

Service Area
Surgi-Care, Inc. provides their services in CONNECTICUT , MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS , NEW HAMPSHIRE , RHODE ISLAND & VERMONT.
New England

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a medical problem with my foot. I went to see a doctor I had not seen before. He gave me a night splint and said it could help but I didn't have to use it because I'd get better on my own. They handed me paperwork and told me to just sign and I could leave. I signed the paper work not expecting a bill because nothing was mentioned when I was at the doctors office.

Desired Settlement: I had no idea I was getting a bill. The doctors office just told me I signing paper work to leave and that I already payed my bill. I'd like the bill closed so I don't have to pay anything and I'd like to send them back their product.

Business Response: RE:  Letter of Complaint Regarding Acct. #xxxxx

Dear xxxxxx:

I am writing in response to your complaint to the Better Business Bureau dated February 7, 2014. According to our records, on November 19, 2013, you received an ankle brace from Dr. xxxxxxxoffice.

As part of this service, you signed paperwork from our company that included information regarding your right to purchase the product elsewhere, the estimated cost of the brace, and your ultimate financial responsibility for payment of the brace.

It is your responsibility to review contractual agreements before you enter into them.  We are therefore holding you financially responsible for the product your doctor prescribed out of medical necessity and which you accepted under the terms of our agreement.

The current balance for the product you received is $152.55.  Although this item may be covered by your insurance plan, you have not yet met your deductible, so you are responsible for the cost.  Your insurance deductible is the amount you owe for health care services before your
insurance begins to pay for them.  For example, if your insurance plan deductible is $1,000, your plan won't pay for certain health care services until you have "met" this amount by paying $1,000 in health care services yourself. Once you have paid the $152.55, this amount will be applied towards your insurance deductible, and subtracted from your remaining deductible amount. 

If you are having difficulty meeting this obligation due to financial circumstances, or have any questions, please contact our Customer Service Department at xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. We'll be happy to set up a payment arrangement with you to make this debt more manageable.   

 

Sincerely,

 

xxxxxxx
Surgi-Care, Inc.

 

Business Response: Dear Mr. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I'm sorry you were unsatisfied with our response.  Is there anything we can do to help resolve this matter other than waiving your balance?

Sincerely,

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Consumer Response:


I don't see how I am responsible for a contract when I didn't even know I was signing a contract. I've never even used the product. I'd pay if I knew I was signing a Contract because it would be my fault. I was lead to believe that I was simply signing a paper saying that I had attended my doctors visit and that I paid my copay. I'd be more than happy to send the product back. My father put me in touch with a lawyer that specializes in contracts and if we handle this ourselves then I can put you in touch with him. The legal term is "securing execution of document by deception. " 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/2/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Obtained ******* ***** ***** ******** at physician's office from Surgi Care, Inc. Was handed three pieces of paper- A Stock and Order Bill, Note to Patient, and a Privacy Notice. None of these forms states the COST of the item. I want to know how one can be aware of fees/costs if a BILL OF SALE lacks the necessary information (i.e. the selling price).

Desired Settlement: All products, directly billed to insurance or not, should have an UP FRONT cost associated with them. In other words, all Bills of Sale should have a RECEIPT including PRODUCT COST. It's the law...even coffee places provide sales receipts!

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *******,

Thank you for sharing your concern with us.  The inner workings of the health care industry are sometimes difficult for people outside of the industry to understand, so I can certainly empathize with your frustrations.  Transparency is something we constantly strive for, which is why we provide the “Note to Patient” document to all our patients, in which we attempt to explain our role as a supplier of medical goods and your financial responsibilities as a patient.

 

Unfortunately, determining an individual’s financial responsibility for medical services is more complicated than the average sales transaction.  Your ultimate financial responsibility depends on several factors, including:

 

·        Whether you have insurance or not;

 

·        If you are insured, whether the item you received is covered by your insurer or not;

 

·        If it is covered, whether you have met your deductible yet;

 

·        If you have met your deductible and the item is covered, what percentage your insurance carrier will cover; and

 

·        If it is covered by your insurance, whether your diagnosis and medical documentation justify the medical necessity of the item, etc., etc…

 

In other words, in order to determine the actual amount you owe, your claim must first be submitted to, and reviewed by, your insurance carrier.  Since we are unable to submit patients’ claims until we receive the necessary paperwork from their doctors, we are unable to provide them with a cost analysis at the time of product delivery.    This same process applies for most medical transactions, including doctor’s visits, which is why you don’t receive an estimate of charges at the time of your doctor’s appointment, either.    

 

However, as posted on our “Note to Patient” you are always welcome to call our office with any billing questions.  We won’t be able to tell you the exact amount of your bill until your insurance company processes your claim, but after we have spoken with you and obtained some information, we can call your insurance company to get an estimate.

 

In closing, I hope this information has been helpful to you.   Please feel free to call our Reimbursement Team with any further questions regarding our billing and collection practices at ***** ********.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

********** *******

Surgi-Care, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/30/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i went to the ********* *********** ********** in Peterborough n.h. for a heel problem and they gave me a night splint and heel plastic cups. They made me sign a contract from Surgi-car saying that i accepted the items and will pay for the items. The contract had no prices and the clinic said they had no idea of the cost that they had nothing to do with the org., that they were an outside purveyer. So i signed thinking that the prices could not be all that bad. Well the splint was around $220.00 when the same on ****** was around $50.00 and the heel cups were $110.00 when on line ****** prices were $19.95. That is price gouging and taking advantage at trusting patients at the ********* ********** clinic. The clinic said they had nothing to do with the pricing and Surgi-Care reduce their cost by 20% after i complained to the hospital in Peterborough. Well that is still too high of a cost and i wish they were not taking these steps to make you sign on the spot at the clinic without price information, it feels like a strange set up to me. My complaints is about the price gouging and the manipulation of myself as a trusting patient at the clinic.

Desired Settlement: Change of policy at the ********* ********* clinic and Surgi-care.

Business Response:

Our company received a letter of complaint from Ms. ******* regarding the price of our services in early January.  Our Reimbursement Department manager responded on January 18th with a letter of explanation and applied a 25% discount to her bill to compensate for her unsatisfactory experience.  The price on Ms. *******'s original bill reflects the contracted rate set by her insurance provider, ***.  Under the terms of our contract with ***, we are required to bill Ms. ******* for services at this rate, even if they are not covered by ***.  Unlike a direct distributor, such as ******, this rate includes the administrative costs of delivering the product to the physician's office and submitting the insurance claim for reimbursement. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1