BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Boston Walk In Bath specializes in walk-in bath tubs for people who have difficulty getting in and/or out of a traditional bath tub.  The business states they only use licensed general contractors for installation. The business states they are also a dealer of ACORN and ThyssenKrupp indoor and outdoor stairlifts, as well as curved indoor stairlifts. Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift also sells outdoor aluminum ramps.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 30, 2008 Business started: 06/23/2006 in MA Business incorporated: 07/08/2008 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert M. Presti, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert M. Presti, Owner
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

STAIR LIFTS HANDICAPPED/DISABILITY DESIGN-ACCESORIES BATHS BATHROOM EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES WHEEL CHAIR LIFTS & RAMPS BATHROOM REMODELING - WALK-IN TUBS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift LLC sells the following brand(s): ACORN Stairlifts, ThyssenKrupp Stairlifts and Personal Elevators

Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift LLC offers the following product(s): Curved Stairlifts, EZ Access Ramps , Outdoor Stairlifts, Personal Wheelchair Lifts/elevators, Stairlifts, Walk-in Tubs, Wheelchair Access Showers, Wheelchair Access tubs

Method(s) of Payment
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Service Area
Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift LLC provides their services in CONNECTICUT , MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW YORK , RHODE ISLAND & VERMONT.

Additional Locations

  • 566 Middle Road

    Boxborough, MA 01719 (781) 229-0072

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company was great at sales pitch its like buy from your grandfather. BUT THAT’S IT > The price was about 11,000 I bought for my mother that lives with me. I was told 1.5 days or 2 days at the most and I was told it would be besides the bath it would be like they were never here. It took about 4 or 5 days and you can tell they were there by the damage left behind. We were told the once removed the entire walls around the tub would be insulated for temp and sound and they did not do as much as they told me they would. We had some issues after the install and it took several calls from me and my wife to get them back out. And when told we will check our schedule and call you back within a day or two that did not happen we had to call them several more times The bathroom door and casing had to come out and was nicked like the walls. The install guy ruined in a few spots my walls that we had to ask several times just to get them patched and painted (they never painted) The caulking we had to call about 4 times on to get them to fix the caulking (this still is not 100% complete) The hot hot water control ***** is loose, they came out about a month ago looked at it and told me it’s a defect in parts and they would come back and fix that they never did. They while installing the tub ruined a ceiling tile in the basement and never fixed that either. The insulation for sound and temp was done about 20% when they in fact told me all would be 100%

Desired Settlement: 1) The walls behind the tub were sealed up without the insulation, they did some but missed most. 2) The ceiling tile in the basement needs to be replaced. 3) The hot water control ***** needs to be fixed or replaced its loose. 4) Finish the caulking. 5) Walls were they damaged were patched but not painted. 6) This company must respond and act upon customer complaints , instead tell me EVERY time I call they have been doing this for years and never had a complaint ever. 7) Plus I was also told they never have had to return and fix anything ever since the company started. Which was a major factor when I was making my decision to have them do the job. 8) Great sales but very poor service after the sale !!!

Business Response: Re: ******, ****    Contract was signed on March 3, 2012    Installation date of April 17, 2012   We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the ******s. Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift is proud of and committed to our customer care and takes customer concerns seriously.   On the final day of installation, Mrs. ****** signed off on our Installation Satisfaction Sheet. There is absolutely no mention of any problems with the issues as stated in this complaint. I have attached the signed copy for review. All reasonable care was taken to protect their property from damage, as Mrs. ****** herself signed off on, see line 5. All 12 questions on the Satisfaction Sheet were answered in a positive "yes"! The contract states 3 wall panels are provided for the tub surround. Since we do not remove existing walls, we can’t and don’t install insulation. No sound or temperature insulation is included on any line of the contract. The ******’s made no mention of this lack of insulation on the Satisfaction Sheet. We were not aware of any mention of a ceiling tile damaged in the basement on any of our three separate service calls. The installer replaced the complete faucet set on a return call.  This was at our own discretion, even though we saw no leaking or need for any replacement parts. We re-caulked around the tub on at least two other service call visits to satisfy the customer. We use GE Silicone tub and shower seal. As stated by the ******s, the installer did patch some minor scrapes, but we do not paint. Again, there is no mention of any problem on the Satisfaction Sheet.   We feel that this complaint is unwarranted and filed simply to discredit us. The customer states they want us to finish the job. We state that we have finished the job on April 17, 2012. We have returned for requested follow up as part of the Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift service commitment and warranty program. The ******’s have threatened us on voice mail with a lawsuit as well as wanting money back. We consider this job to be done. Satisfaction Survey Sheet attached for review.   

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

OK. My wife signed that paperwork. Thats our fault because we trusted this guy/company. But He/They know they made promises they did not keep. But with that said the company states "we have returned for requested follow up as a part of service commitment and warrenty program. I would like to see that signed by us paperwork history because we have no copies of that.   Because if they are calling it service rather than a job unfinished - What are they planning on doing for that? They have not returned multiple calls asking for as they say service.   The hot water control knob needs to be fixed or replaced it is loose. The caulking  job they said they did not last, they came out and did most of the caulking but had to come back and they said they would and have not. The most recent time they came out the two guys told be the hot water control knob would be replaced under warrenty and we still are waiting on that. Those guys did not have a piece needed to finish the caulking job and said when they came back for the hot water control knob they would finish the caulking. They state they replaced a complete faucet set , were is the signed paperwork on that? The company states it has no knowlegde of the basement ceiling tiles, but yet they left box saw in my ceiling that if i grabbed and pulled it down it would have cut a water pipe... I have digital pictures I can send you. So if this company is saying the job is done fine, but what about getting them to do warenty service. How do we get that done if they don't return our phone calls.   If they provided warrenty service like their telling you they did, please have the company provide their signed service records with all they state they did.     This is a unresloved issue.                  

Business Response: June 6, 2013   Mr. ******,   We agree with you that the job is completed. We will check with the manufacturer to see if you actually submitted the required  warranty information, for future limited lifetime warranty work on the tub. You did check off ‘Yes” on having received the instruction and warranty information. Hopefully, you took the time to mail it in. We have at our discretion replaced both hot and cold knobs. If they were loose, a simple turn with a Philips screwdriver will tighten them up, if treated with normal reasonable care. Boston Walk-In Bath and Stairlift has installed tubs from VA to ME to PA. We use the same materials and installation procedures for each tub. We have never had to repair or replace a knob or redo caulking. We have spoken to the 3 different techs that visited your house. We don’t do tilework and we don’t paint, which was explained to you. We appreciate the opportunity to have responded. Thank you.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The company provided proof that we signed that the job is done (again our fault we learned a very valueable lession on dealing with contractors and moving forward in life we will never take verbal agreements ever again)With that said now the business states they "We have at our discretion replaced both hot and cold knobs" now that is a verbal from them and also the business states"We have spoken to the 3 different techs that visited your house. We don’t do tilework and we don’t paint, which was explained to you" thats another verbal from the business.Please provide your copies of that signed paperwork with that information.Please understand thats how this all started. During the sales call at my home the salesman made alot of verbal agreements with me.1) We will be in and out of your house within 1.5 days (that was not true)2)It will be like we were never there (It took that as the new tub will be installed without any signs that contruction was done and that is also not true) 3)The caulking issue must be what the business is calling service so please have the business provide the service signed paperwork for that.( And still not complete)So now the business is calling this "service" thats fine again please provide all your paperwork showing our signatures that the business did the part replacements and completed the caulking job.I have attached pictures.    

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/30/2011 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract to buy a walk in tub with this company on July 11, 2011. Total price was $9100, with $6370 down and $2730 to follow upon delivery. Delivery was estimated at "5 weeks or sooner". My check was cashed on July 18, and a confirming letter sent to me on July 21. A 5 week delivery would put it at August 19. I specifically asked Mr. ****** to call me when the tub was ready to ship so I would be home.  He never called and the last contact I had with him was in early August.  I tried to call him twice on Sept. 19 and the phone was not answered, with no voicemail available.  I then made a complaint with the Mass. AG Office.  Mr. ****** did not respond to their letter with my attached complaint.  They did reach him by phone and he stated the tub was ready to ship.  He was asked to provide documentation of when the tub had been ordered and that it was indeed ready to ship but he has not.  I am seeking the return of my entire deposit since he has not complied with our contract and is not responsive to me or the AG office.  Given his history of 13 or so complaints to your office, I will not agree to accept delivery of this tub now.  He has offered to refund my money only after he sells the tub but I will not agree to that as I would have to believe in his good faith to do this in a timely fashion and he has no credibilty.

Desired Settlement: As far as I am concerned, this contract is null and void, and I want a full refund of the deposit amount of $6370.

Business Response:

********

Delayed response due to October storm and power outage.

 

1.      Customer first contacted Boston Walk-In Bath on May 7th, 2011 by phone

2.      After many back and forth phone conversations, the customer decided to purchase a walk-in tub over the phone after he supplied the measurements and requirements. He himself, declined installation by us.

3.      Contract signed and mailed back contract with $6370 about July 18th.

4.      Custom walk-in tub had a 5 week delivery time frame

5.      Customer changed contract from final payment due of $2730,“payable 10 days before delivery” to “payable at time of delivery/inspection”

6.      Boston Walk-In Bath was supplying product only, no installation.

7.      Customer’s own plumber was installing the tub.

8.      Bath tub order was placed with our supplier in a timely manner on July 21, 2011



Order confirmation was returned back to us from supplier on July 25, 2011

9.      Customer’s plumber was to contact us before delivery so that we could explain installation procedures.

10.  First plumber was replaced by a second plumber who never called.

11.  Customer never called us. No plumber, no shipping/no inspection, no check. We have Vonage messaging and Mr. Eliassen never called and left a message. We reviewed our records.

12.  I tried to contact the plumber and Mr. ******** on a number of occasions.

13.  Customer contacted consumer assistance office, Metro West on or about Sept.26, 2011

14.  I spoke with Mr. *** from the consumer assistance office and he was surprised that the customer never contacted us. I explained my view of the situation.

15.  There was no need for the customer to contact the BBB because I already agreed in a typed response on October 19, 2011, to the consumer assistance office, to refund the customer’s deposit within 30 business days, even though it is a custom tub and he still owes money on it ($2730). We are attempting to sell this tub. It is custom made and we only sell 3 or 4 of these per year.

16.  I feel that the customer is just trying to get out of the purchase because he has been having difficulty with his plumbers.

17.  Boston Walk-In Bath is committed to customer satisfaction and has many satisfied customers.

18.  We already have an agreement (confirmed with Mr. *** of the Consumer Assistance last week by phone) to cancel this contract and this complaint should be removed from my account. The customer is simply trying to get out of it.

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1