10/8/2015 Predatory Practices and Poor Customer Service: I joined this site first as someone looking to work, and then a couple of years later as someone looking to hire. It was ok as a person looking to work, but my experience as someone looking to hire has been extremely frustrating. The system automatically enrolls you into a monthly subscription. And, once you are in the system, it does not allow you to remove your credit card. I went through the process of downgrading my account. Apparently there was an error in the downgrading process. I later realized that they continued to charge me. When I contacted customer service, I had to search outside their site to find a number, and when I finally got through that process, they informed me that billing only communicates by email, and that they would respond to me within 7 days. I have gone back and forth on email with their billing department, receiving flat responses and directing me to their long list of reminders about their subscription program. I feel that I have been taken advantage, and part of a system designed without any care for the customer. For a company that builds itself all on the idea of family and care, it seems to have no value on the consumer.
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by AL on 10/8/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business All subscriptions automatically renew until canceled, and this feature was listed on the enrollment page when you joined Care.com. Additionally, this feature is also listed on the upgrade page, just below our list of subscription options. Many members find this feature useful as they like the assurance of having a community of caregivers available whenever they need care. by on 10/16/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
6/12/2015 ****** was determined, thorough and kind in resolving a technical issue that went on for weeks. Keep hiring people just like her, Care.com!
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
This customer WOULD recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Gale H. on 6/12/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2 people found this review helpful .
6/10/2015 I was appreciative of the volume of applications (over 40) I received from a request for a house/pet sitter; however, I feel frustrated that I have no way of letting them know that I already found a house/pet sitter. I removed the job posting quickly after I found my sitter (through another website). I signed up only for the free membership which does not allow communication unless an upgraded membership is purchased. A reasonable short-term membership fee would be more attractive.
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
by Sherry C. on 6/10/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business At Care.com we offer a free Basic Membership option so that our members can browse the site and view the profiles of actual care providers in their area before making a financial commitment. We want to make sure that our members get a chance to see if there are qualified candidates first. So as part of the trial, our members are able to post a job and preview care provider responses. We believe this is a fair option that allows our members to make an informed decision about whether to invest in our services. To ensure the safety of our community and to support our efforts in providing our members a high quality service, they must upgrade to a paid Premium Membership if they would like to begin the screening process (contacting care providers to schedule interviews, requesting background checks, or listening to references from their previous employers) with your potential candidates. We offer several different members plan lengths to accommodate our member’s needs. That being said, we certainly appreciate our member’s feedback and as we are always working to make sure our members are having the best experience possible with the site, we will make sure to pass the reporting member’s experience and suggestions on to our Product Management team for review. We are always grateful when our members let us know if something isn’t working well, or when they have an idea of how something could work better! by on 7/4/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
4/30/2015 Care.com offers good services to care seekers looking for jobs. The only complaints I have are about their reference process. They accidentally delete written references after they are posted, they don't ask you which profile you want the reference to appear under, they say they send requests for written references but the recipient often does not get them so you have to ask them to resend it a couple of times, they don't tell you how to request a reference on your own, and sometimes they send reference requests to persons you have not asked them to send them to. Sometimes they do not post updates to your profile after you have submitted them or set up Job Alerts correctly. The Care.com response team is very good at responding to messages but you often have to write to them several times to get a clear explanation of how to get something done. I think this could be a valuable service if their processes were improved.
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
by Lynn R. on 4/30/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business At Care.com we provide the tools to assist our members with building a profile to enhance their job search. One such feature is the ability to add references. A member can add references to any profile they choose and this is up to the member. Care.com does not delete or add references to a member’s profile without their permission. Likewise, we do not send reference requests to individual the member has not listed on their account. Once a member enters a reference, an email is sent to that individual with a link which allows them to submit their feedback about the member. The written reference then appears on the members profile for potential employers to view. A member is able to update the profile at any time. As profiles are public, our Review Team approves all edits before the post live to our website. This process usually takes about 24 hours. All job alerts are based upon the member’s service profile category, zip code and distance of miles they have indicated they are willing to travel. Our Email Care Team is available to assist our members and we guarantee a response within 24 hours! The reporting member has contacted our Email Care Team and upon review of their account history, the information which was provided to them was accurate and addressed their questions and concerns appropriately. by on 6/24/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
4 people found this review helpful .
2/19/2015 I finally got through to someone on care.com. After being a nanny for 15 years with an outstanding background for the various medical professionals I nannied for, I am very saddened to say I was ill treated by care.com who closed down my account for no logical reason. All correspondence with families looking for nannies was kept in a polite and professional manner. I would not recommend this website to other people, and to use another website to look for a nanny job and to find the right nanny for your child or children. Also, my references were posted in mid to late December and were never verified by the company, which included two veteran teachers one married to an ob/gyn I had nannied for.?
This customer had a NEUTRAL experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Megan D. on 2/19/2015 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business Due to the nature of the service we provide, Care.com employs a standard of safety which is set in place for the security of our members. We are committed to the safety and security of members and take numerous precautions, such as running random verifications checks on all of our members and checking member information against various databases for criminal or other inappropriate activity. In addition, our dedicated safety team reviews profiles for suspicious and inappropriate content and investigates job posts, profiles and messages that are flagged by our members as objectionable. As a membership-based online community. As stated in our Terms of Use, Care.com reserves the right, in its sole discretion, to remove a member's Care.com membership for any reason or no reason, with or without notice. If we terminate a member’s registration, we have no obligation to notify the member of the reason, if any, for their termination. Our removal guidelines are clearly listed in our Terms of Use on our website. Accordingly, any decision by Care.com to remove a member's Care.com membership does not constitute and should not be interpreted or used as information bearing on the member's character, general reputation, personal characteristics, or mode of living. The reporting member received an alert that one reference they submitted was not approved due to the fact that the information was not complete. We require that references include a first and last name or last name initial as well as an email address and a description of how they are related to the member. The reporting member updated and re-submitted their reference’s information and it was subsequently approved. by on 2/23/2015

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful and 2 people did not find this review helpful.
1 2 3 4