8/20/2016 I have had several complaints with Care.com. Some got resolved in a positive manner. Only due to shear determination on my part. I could possible summarize my complaints with them appears to be their narrow focus on their bottom line. On all their e-mails they write, "We are there for you!" Lase!! Briefly...my most current complaint was about an unfair review (filled with downright lies) that caused my 5-star rating to go to 3.5 . (She only gave me 1 out of 5 stars.)This is hurting my chances to get good jobs.( I am a retired, certified elem ed teacher, middle and high school math teacher. In ** I am also certified spec ed. Decades ago I taught a 4 & 5 year kindergarten and worked with pre-first students who were not ready for first grade. I have earned a M.Ed. and an MBA.) The woman writing the review claimed I quit in the middle of a 3 week assignment due to end Aug 18th. I notified her that my last day would be the 15th. She told me not to come in on the 15th. I would have finished the last few days if she would have asked. I never felt comfortable in this position, mainly because I knew the mom was pushing the academics. Her son was 3...and he definitely was still at the stage where all he wanted to do was play. That was very OK with me. Her son called me "grandma" and we got along great, except when he was not given his own way immediately. I had mentioned to this mother that her son should be in a setting with multiple children to learn appropriate social skills.) Another false remark she made was that I only want to work with children who want to learn colors, read, want to color, etc. She stated that I was not suited to work with active 3-year-olds. That was the complete opposite from the truth. What right did she have to pass judgement on what I would or would not do? She never actually observed me. The info above was background, only. I will now explain my complaints with Care.com in regard to this matter.This latest incident has caused me to e-mail them at least six times in the last six days and all I get are these "cookie cutter" answers. Each response sent to me by e-mail tells me to: 1.) Request the writer of the e-mail to delete it. That failed. 2. ) Write a response to the review, which I did. **3.) Have other people write positive reviews for me. I tried that...but since I work for another similar agency...those people can not write a review without joining Care.com. In today's busy world, I cannot expect people to go through that much bother,when those assignments were only date-night's. **4.)I wanted to challenge the review and get it completely deleted. (Shouldn't there be a process that allows this to happen?) I firmly believe it misrepresents the facts...and just down-right lies. She wrote it when she was angry...and was not fair at all. (I was always punctual, I only charged her $12 an hour and I originally told her I would charge $16. Until that last day...she "seemed" to be very happy with me. Never expressed a concern...except when I quested her son's readiness to learn colors, read books, etc.) Care.com told me at least three times in e-mails that it could not be done...but...they mentioned there were customer service agents that could assist me. (Yet they provided no special e-mail address or phone number.) In the "Help" section there is no information about how one could contest a review one believed to be false. In fact, that sections claims you can not get a review removed. That does not seem professional! Also, I saw their phone number on your web-site, I could not find it on their web-site...despite serious effort. ** Note: The items that are starred need investigation on your part, please. They are not behaviors of a professional organization...in my opinion. Why do I stay with Care.com? They are the largest babysitting/nanny service around. I want to continue to work with kids. I believe in age-appropriate activities, that conform with the child's readiness level. Thank you for listening.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by J. P. on 8/20/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
8/19/2016 I was very disappointed with my experience with Care.com, and I am frustrated that they refuse to give me a refund, when I did not get what I paid for. Care.com will allow you to post a job for free and receive applicants for that job--so they say. I posted a job for a babysitter and immediately started receiving responses. However, these responses were definitely "canned" and it didn't seem as though the respondents had actually read my post. I was getting responses from towns 30+ miles away (which, in Atlanta traffic can equal a 2+ hour drive). Furthermore, I checked the box that filtered out underage applicants, but I still got teenage responses. All in all, it seemed more like Care.com's system was sending me an inbox full of random profiles, rather than getting real, direct responses from candidates. In any case, I still tried responding to these candidates, but found out that in order to contact them, I needed to purchase a "premium" membership of $39 per month. Included with this premium membership was supposed to be the ability to view background checks and reviews. I figured $39 was a small price to pay to make sure that I was hiring quality care, so I did it. Only after I put up the money, did it become evident that several of these profiles had no verifications, no reviews and to get the background checks cost EXTRA money! When I contacted customer service to explain that I was unable to find anyone and expressed my frustration over the inability to access background checks, they pointed to their T&C's and refused a refund. I can't think of any business I've ever worked for or with who would refuse to give a refund to a customer who did not receive what they paid for. I would dissuade anyone form using this website
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by L. J. on 8/19/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
7/20/2016 I have been a member for many years and I would not tell anyone to use this site. They will close your account for no reason and customer service is no help. My job comes from this site and now since they closed my account I have not be able to contact the people I was interviewed with , therefore it's jeopardizing my job.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Ruth L on 7/20/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business I'm sorry for any inconvenience you have been caused. Pursuant to the Care.com Privacy Policy and Terms of Use, Care.com is not required to release the specific details as to why an account has been closed. Any decision by Care.com to remove a member's Care.com membership does not constitute and should not be interpreted or used as information bearing on the member's character, general reputation, personal characteristics, or mode of living. by on 8/5/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
7/13/2016 I have been on Care.com's website as a provider since 2011 back then and I guess until just recently their background check was $10 now its $59 that's a huge stretch especially because that's one of the many reasons I joined their company. Today on Tuesday 7/12/2016 I decided to call their customer service number to get my money refunded to me because I feel like I over paid and was not satisfied with the service provided to me on Monday 7/11/2016. When I finally got a hold of somebody in customer service she explained to me that my money could not be refunded and that I should just get my use out of the background check and log back into my profile, I then explained to her that I had deleted my profile because I was unsatisfied with the price of the background check. She then said that I still had until August 8th and that after that my account would be deactivated but that I would still not be able to get my $59 back. Customer service was not able to provide a solution to my problem and that tells me that they don't really care about their customers. I have never had such a negative experience in the past with care.com but do to this incident they will never have my business again. I hope that my review is an eye opener for some of you please make sure that you really want whatever your purchasing from them before you do it because they wont refund your money back.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by JCFreeman on 7/13/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
X

Comments

Comment from the Business I'm so sorry for any inconvenience you have been caused. Unfortunately, background checks are non refundable and this is stated on the Background Check screen when you purchase the report. I again apologize and I wish you all the best! by on 8/5/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
6/23/2016 Beware of care.com. They offer different memberships, like "1 month" "3 month" "6 month" etc.. THe longer membership you pick, the cheaper. But what they hide and don't make clear at all, is that ALL MEMBERSHIPS AUTO-RENEW! Even if it's called a "1 month" membership, and even if you're paying a premium price for a short-term membership, if you don't cancel you'll end up paying that premium price over and over again. THey are SO sneaky about it, the way they sell and name their memberships, that I fell for it not once, but twice. If it could happen to me, it could happen to you. so beware.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by michele h. on 6/23/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
BBB Verified Reviewer
X

Comments

Comment from the Business I'm so sorry if you misunderstood our billing policies. All of our subscriptions do automatically renew until cancelled and this is stated on the enrollment and upgrade pages, as well as in our Terms of Use. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and I wish you all the best. by on 7/8/2016

Report Abuse That may be true, I don't recall, but you are still being disingenuous in how you name your packages. If you truly wanted to eliminate the confusion (and a very lucrative stream of income for you) you'd have clearer names for your packages. And in my case, I signed in and let care.com know that I had resolved my search for care. I let you know that my search was successful and even marked off/identified the person I had hired. By doing that, my auto-renewal should've been stopped. I clearly let you know that I was done with your service. by michele h. on 8/11/2016

Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
5 people found this review helpful and 2 people did not find this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 59