BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Risto Sports, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Risto Sports, LLC

Phone: (207) 319-7607 384 Harold L. Dow Highway Unit 19, Eliot , ME 03903 http://www.ristosports.com/

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Risto Sports specializes in the On-Line and retail sale of Weightlifting Shoes and accessories including Belts, Singlets and Wraps and Straps. Risto Sports also offers Training Seminars for National and International Roanked Lifters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Risto Sports, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Risto Sports, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Risto Sports, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 03, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2008 in ME Business incorporated: 07/26/2010 in ME
Type of Entity

Series LLC

Business Management
Mr. Ivan Rojas, Owner/Coach
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ivan Rojas, Owner/Coach
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

SHOES-CUSTOM MADE SPORTING GOODS-RETAIL SPORTSWEAR-RETAIL ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING PERSONAL TRAINER SPORTS PROGRAMS SPORTS CONDITIONING Shoe Stores (NAICS: 448210)

Service Area
Risto Sports, LLC provides their services in ALABAMA , ALASKA , AMERICAN SAMOA , ARIZONA , ARKANSAS , CALIFORNIA , COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , DELAWARE , DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA , FLORIDA , GEORGIA , GUAM , HAWAII , IDAHO , ILLINOIS , INDIANA , IOWA , KANSAS , KENTUCKY , LOUISIANA , MAINE , MARYLAND , MASSACHUSETTS , MICHIGAN , MINNESOTA , MISSISSIPPI , MISSOURI , MONTANA , NEBRASKA , NEVADA , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW JERSEY , NEW MEXICO , NEW YORK , NORTH CAROLINA , NORTH DAKOTA , OHIO , OKLAHOMA , OREGON , PENNSYLVANIA , PUERTO RICO , RHODE ISLAND , SOUTH CAROLINA , SOUTH DAKOTA , TENNESSEE , TEXAS , UTAH , VERMONT , VIRGIN ISLANDS , VIRGINIA , WASHINGTON , WEST VIRGINIA , WISCONSIN & WYOMING.
Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Health Clubs Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video Shoes - Retail

Additional Locations

  • 384 Harold L. Dow Highway Unit 19

    Eliot , ME 03903 (207) 319-7607

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: was charged 15% for a restocking fee!!!!

Desired Settlement: 32.00

Business Response: The customer was notified at the time of sale as well as at the time of the return of our return policy.  Our policy states " Returns:15% restocking fee for all returns. Seller to reimburse purchase price less shipping and less restocking fee. All items must be returned in new, unworn condition.Purchaser must notify Risto Sports LLC of return with in 2 weeks of receiving items; purchaser is to contact Risto Sports prior to sending items back. Restocking fees cover credit card fees assessed at the time of the sale as well as other expenses to process the returns. All custom items, including shoes and singlets, are NON-returnable. All shoes with personalized straps are NOT returnable." Despite the fact that our return policy was clearly posted on our site prior to his order, emailed to him, and discussed with him over the phone prior to returning the product; the customer made terroristic threats to Risto Sports for processing his return in accordance to our policy. The customer sent the following email containing threats: " listen you thief !! my order was $151.50 you took 32 dollars for a ******* restocking fee ??? don't worry I \m gonna give you a bad review,this will be the demise of your company and I will get my moneys worth outta you !!! you should be ashamed stating you are a non-profit ******** company,I got your name and number and I'm gonna report you ****** ***** ** **** !!!!" .  An image is attached showing the actual email. Risto Sports treated the customer per our agreed to terms of sale.  As to the customer calling us a "thief" and "non-profit ********", Risto Sports sells fair trade made weightlifting shoes, and, as we have very little mark-up in our shoes, we charge a restocking fee for returns to cover: credit card processing fees that we pay for every returned item, costs of transacting inventory. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.    

Business Response: Dear BBB, We have done nothing wrong except treat this sale according our policies that were known to the customer. We will not issue any refund. Best **** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.    

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a pair of shoes from Risto Sports on 14 March 2013. I paid $138.98 for the shoes and $11.50 for the shipping. I based the size of my order on information from the Risto website and on advice from Risto staff via email. When the shoes arrived, they were significantly too large and the interior shoe length did not correspond to the length listed on Risto’s sizing chart on their website. (http://www.ristosports.com/index.php?main_page=page&id=11) I returned the shoes to Risto at my own cost (the return shipping cost was $10.67) and asked to exchange the shoes for a pair that was a half-size smaller. When the second pair arrived, they were significantly too small. According to Risto’s sizing chart, the difference in length between the two pairs of shoes should have been 0.7cm, but it was substantially larger -- closer to an inch. The length of the second pair of shoes also did not match the stated length on Risto's website. One or both of the pairs of shoes was clearly sized incorrectly. I returned the second pair of shoes, again at my own cost (the return shipping cost was $14.82) and asked for a full refund, given the fact that one -- or both -- of the pairs of shoes that Risto shipped me were incorrectly sized. Risto refused to refund my order in full, because their return policy states that there is a 15% restocking fee for all shoes. If the mistake had been my own, rather than Risto’s, I would be happy to pay the restocking fee. But because Risto sent me defective shoes, I believe that I am due a refund in full, plus the money I spent on shipping.

Desired Settlement: Risto refunded me $118.14. I spent a total (the cost of the defective shoes plus three shipping fees) of $175.97. I will be happy to provide the receipts for all these transactions. Therefore, I request that Risto reimburse me for $57.83. I feel strongly that I should not have to pay nearly $60 for a defective transaction.

Business Response: We process this customers order in accordance to our website terms and conditions.

Here are the facts:
1- We sent the customer the size requested
2- The customer indicated they needed a different size
3- To go the extra mile for this customer, we requested that she send a tracing of her foot, such that we can match her to the best she for her foot
4- The customer sent back the original pair of shoes with the intent of an exchange
5- As we did not have that size in stock at the time (we carry over 20 sizes in 3 colors), again, we went the extra mile by making a shoe to her requested exchange sizing details
5a- In other words, we made a second pair of shoes to her exact exchange instructions
6- We processed the customer's refund in accordance to our website.
6a- Our Restocking fee policies are posted on our website. We impose this fee to partially recoup losses due to a return. Many customers do not realize that businesses lose money every time an item is returned. These losses include: cost of carrying additional unforecasted inventory, recoupe credit card processing fees for the initial sale ,  additional man hours to service returns (emails, etc), and refreshing returned shoes.
6b-Our return and exchange policies are clearly posted on our website ( http://www.ristosports.com/index.php?main_page=shippinginfo) and are as follows:

"Returns: 15% restocking fee for all returns.  Seller to reimburse purchase price less shipping and less restocking fee. All items must be returned in new, unworn condition. Purchaser must notify Risto Sports LLC of return with in 2 weeks of receiving items; purchaser is to contact Risto Sports prior to sending items back.All custom items, including shoes and singlets, are NON-returnable. All shoes with personalized straps are NOT returnable.

Exchanges: Items may be exchanged in new, sellable condition with in 2 weeks of receipt of item.  Purchaser is responsible for all shipping associated with exchange, no restocking fees."

Summary: Clearly, we expended an abnormal amount of resources  to make the customer happy. We processed the order following posted terms and conditions, despite the fact that this was an unprofitable order.  We believe the customer simply needed to break-in the second pair of shoes to get the correct fit as the shoes are all leather.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The business made no attempt to resolve the issue in their response. Further, a number of his assertions were incorrect. As I stated in my complaint, the business did *not* send me a correctly-sized pair of shoes. The business does not stamp the shoe size on each pair of shoes. They merely place a sticker on the shoe. Unfortunately, while the shoe I received had the correct sticker, it did not correspond to the measurement listed on the business website. Therefore, the shoe was not correctly sized. Further, the business certainly did not expend an 'abnormal amount of resources' on my attempted purchase. It was very difficult to get the business to respond to me. For example, when I tried to return the first pair of shoes, I found that the business does not list their address on their website. I called and left a message asking for their address, and I received no response. I emailed, and received no response. I emailed again, and finally received this response: "Please ship them to: Risto Sports LLC." They provided no address. Eventually, I had to look up the business in the phone book. It's too bad that they messed up my order and that it has cost them resources, but it's not my fault and I shouldn't have to pay for their incompetence.

Business Response: We sent the shoes the customer requested. The customer isn't right. Check for the disputed amount is in the mail.

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of Nov 2012, I ordered a pair of shoes from Ristos. In the beginning of Dec, I received an email saying they thought that I needed to order a different size based on my notes and they were out of that size of the shoe I ordered but for $20 more I could have a pair of different shoes. I authorized the extra $20 to my credit card, and about 2 weeks later I got my shoes. They were extremely too big. I emailed on a Tuesday, called on a Wednesday, then emailed again on Thursday. After 3 attempts at contacting Ristos, I finally got a response. We decided what I needed to do in order to get the right shoe, so I returned the shoes I had received that were too big. That was in the middle of Dec 2012. By the beginning on Jan 2013 I had not received any shoes nor had heard anything about my order so I emailed. I had to email multiple times to get a response, and the response was simply "We will be receiving a shipment of shoes soon." After waiting over a week more, I emailed again. I needed to send multiple emails to get a response. They had received an order of shoes but were filling other orders so could still not replace mine. I voiced my frustration and told them to just go ahead and cancel my order if they could not fill it within the next 10 days. **** (the guy who handles all orders) said he would, and on Jan 31st, I got a refund of $76.42. I had paid $120.40 total, so I emailed to ask about the rest of my refund. No answer. Emailed again, and after a third or fourth email, **** said he would get back with me as soon as he got into the office. That was last Thursday morning. No response by Friday evening, so I emailed him AGAIN and told him that I was very disappointed in his lack of communication and customer service skills and that I needed him to refund the additional $44.98 he owes me. He very snidely responded, saying "Don't you know there was a big snow storm in New England. I will deal with your issue when as soon as possible." I responded, telling him that again, his lack of communication is horrendous and that even if he couldn't physically make it into his office, he could've sent me an email to let me know what was going on. That has been the issue all along. (Well, that and the fact that I NEVER received the shoes that I originally ordered at the end of Nov 2012.) As of today (Tuesday) I have not heard anything nor have I received the $44.98 refund to my credit card that he still owes me. I ordered a pair of shoes in a specific size at the end of November that I never received, and I have tried to resolve this issue with **** but have had no success. He is almost impossible to get in touch with, and he obviously doesn't care to improve his customer service skills and take advantage of the growing number of people who will be in the market for weightlifting shoes. I have tried to tell him that the sport of weightlifting is growing due to the popularity of ******** and that with better customer service skills, his sales should increase. Of course I have received no answer to that.

Business Response: A check was mailed to teh customer.

Best
**** *****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

However, I am wondering when I should expect to receive this check.  In ****'s response, he stated that a check was mailed to me, and the picture of the check showed it was dated 2/9.  It is 2/18 now, and I still have not received the check.  Based on my experience with ****'s poor communication and customer service skills over the last 2 1/2+ months, I would not consider this case to be closed until I have received my check and have been able to cash it.  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

7/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pair of weightlifting shoes 6 months ago, originally they were advertised as all leather, but it became apparent after 3 months of wear (used only 3 times/week) that the shoes were not all leather.The shoes have began to split apparent places and display a vinyl construction. I brought up the case that the toe material of the shoe was not leather but vinyl and was called a liar. A few weeks later I contacted the company again and asked
for a replacement that was all leather. They informed me that bringing up a case months after purchase was, " untimely," I'm a costumer with other obligations! They further insulted me and informed me that problems I was experiencing were; more cosmetic that functional, due to a non "World Champion" size feet, due to exercises outside of weightlifting. Essentially, they are blaming me for the problems, and suggested that the wear was normal. Their conclusion was, "Clearly, we are beyond the point in time where shoe replacement is viable." This conclusion was mostly based off their 2 week return policy; however, in order for a return the shoes must be new and unworn. How can you tell if a shoe will fit and be of quality if you can't wear try them on? I was unaware that the shoe was made of vinyl until the toe cap began to split from the body. I can provide copies of conversions.

Desired Settlement: Replace shoes and change their approach when dealing with customers, most customers will not be enjoy having their integrity questioned. The shoes are defective and have fallen apart after fewer than 70 times of wear.

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us in response to this complaint. We greatly appreciate your impartial response and would gladly like to provide the facts. In regards to the customer’s complaint, we handled his case in accordance with the terms and conditions clearly stated on our website at the time of sale. Our policy clearly states that unworn shoes can be returned or exchanged within a 2 week period upon receipt of the product. Further our return policy which prohibits returns of unworn items, is consistent with industry companies we benchmark including **** **** and **** weightlifting (atleteps.com). As for the specifics of this customer’s case, the customer has worn the shoes over 4 months before Demanding a replacements or refund of the shoes. Again, 4 months is well outside our return policy as well as the industry standard. Further, there are several problems with the customers’ account: 1-the Risto Sports Staff did not insult or called the customer a liar, nor was his integrity questioned. Conversely, the customer treated our employees discourteously by making accusations about our integrity. 2-the customer is inconsistent with his dates. In his complaint to BBB, he indicates that he purchased a pair of shoes 6 months ago, however, the complaint background dates he submitted to BBB are over a 4 month time period. His complaint to the BBB is over a 5 months period. 3-the complaint, also indicated that he contacted us on 5/5/2012. We have no record of a contact on 5/5/2012. He made his demand for a new pair of shoes on 5/31/2012 and we responded to him in 2 business days. 4-the customer implies that the entire shoe is made of vinyl with “I was unaware that shoe was made of vinyl.” For his particular production run, the heel cup, side panels and protective heel covering were made of leather. 5-the customer complains that the shoe is not “all leather”. Our product photo and description features the shoe’s mesh breathing system, fabric lining, rubber exterior sole, wood heel insert, metal eyelets, metal strap ring, fabric shoelaces and synthetic side decorations. 6-we are attaching the email exchange between the customer and Risto Sports. We responded to him within 2 business days. In summary, we responded to the customer per the posted terms and conditions of the sale. His complaint is contrary to the facts of this matter. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at *****@ristosports.com

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a pair of workout shoes and returned them on 4-12, confirmed by usps tracking. Today is now 4-29-12, have not heard from them. No return phone calls.

Desired Settlement: refund of purchase. 130.50 less 15% restocking fee as described in return policy.

Business Response: Risto Sports LLC credited customer’s account $101.75 proof of credit. Risto Sports LLC sent two email to **********@hotmail.com

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1