Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

US Markerboard

Phone: (800) 791-2946 Fax: (781) 767-9544 View Additional Phone Numbers 270 Centre St Unit F, Holbrook, MA 02343 http://www.usmarkerboard.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

US Markerboard is an online distributor of  restaurant and hospitality products, magnetic products, classroom and office furniture, window treatments, roller clutches, globes, maps, atlases, technology accessories and bulletin boards.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that US Markerboard meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for US Markerboard include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on US Markerboard
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2000 in MA Business started locally: 01/01/2000 Business incorporated 02/14/2000 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Newman, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Newman, CEO
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

SCHOOL SUPLS-RETAIL OFFICE SUPPLIES OFFICE FURNITURE & EQUIPMENT-DEALERS MAPS-PUBLISHERS & DISTRIBUTORS EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS WINDOWS-TREATMENTS Office Supplies and Stationery Stores (NAICS: 453210)

Products & Services

US Markerboard sells the following brand(s): Aarco Products, Balt, Best-Rite, Diversified Woodcrafts, Ghent, Ideapaint, Shain, Waddell, Wooden Mallet

US Markerboard offers the following product(s): brochure racks, bulletin boards, chalkboards, Display cases, fabric tackboards, Whiteboards

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Government IMPAC Cards.
PayPal

Refund and Exchange Policy
The Business States: The refund and exchange policy is based on the policies set forth by each of the manufacturers.  However, in general, we offer refunds, returns and exchanges on product within the first 30 days.  Shipping costs are the responsibility of the individual and there is generally a restocking fee for returned items.  All items must be in resalable condition and must not have been assembled or installed.
Alternate Business Names
Brite Hotel Products Brite Visual Products, Inc. Brite, Inc. ClassroomPlus Home and Life Mats United Lab Supply US Entrance Mats
Industry Tips
Educational Consultants Hiring a Tutor Office Supplies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

US Markerboard has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 270 Centre St Unit F

    Holbrook, MA 02343

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Whiteboard was defective. Trim was severely bent and damaged on one edge. Actual face of whiteboard had deep 5 inch long gauge. Called customer service and they refused to replace the damaged part. Shipping container had no visible damage, yet they blamed shipping. Will not refund or replace my order.

Desired Settlement: Refund my order and shipping costs.

Business Response: Hello.  I believe that ***** ******** has conversed with you about the replacement and a new board is being shipped out to you at no cost.  Upon receipt we kindly ask that you review the product and if there is no visible damage to the box, open the box within 24 hours and notify us of any internal damage.

Thank you for your note.
Kind regards
***** ******
US Markerboard
President

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a markerboard from this company. When the shipment was received, it was placed in storage---in the shipping crate---awaiting the completion of construction so we could install the board. 31 days later we opened the crate and discovered the product was damaged. 34 days after receipt of the product we contacted the company and they said we had discovered the damage "too late" and they would not refund our money or replace the product.

Desired Settlement: Either refund my money, or ship me the product I ordered in good condition.

Business Response: Thank you for your inquiry.

I have reviewed the order as well as the notes behind the delivery and here are the details.
An order for a custom made whiteboard was ordered on March 5, 2015.  On March 10th the order was shipped from the factory in NY to your location in Missouri.  The board was delivered by YRC on March 16, 2015, and signed for by Mr. **** ******** in clear condition, therefore visually inspected at that time for any noticeable damage.  The product was not opened for the next 31 days.  During that time we have knowledge as to how the product was stored or managed.  We have no ability to determine why, how or when the board got damaged.  And, even if you had purchased the delivery insurance, it would have only covered you for the first 21 days after delivery.  Unfortunately the only thing I am able to do is give you a discount on a subsequent order.

Please advise if you would like to consider placing a subsequent order at a one time discounted rate.
Kind regards
***** ******
President
US Markerboard


8/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/15/12, I ordered three whiteboards. They were delivered on 5/23/12. One I took possession of. The other two I returned. I returned one board because it was damaged. I returned the other board due to my error (it was too big to fit in the freight elevator). I called US Markerboard on 5/23 and told them I had sent the two boards back with the ***** driver. I was told I would receive a full refund for the damaged board and a refund for the board I returned due to my error (minus shipping fees and a restocking fee). I stayed in email communication with their Returns and Damages Coordinator for about six weeks before giving up. I kept getting the same "it will be soon" message from him, and that was before he stopped returning my emails altogether. On 7/5/12, I called Customer Service. I was shuffled to two different people, that last of which I spoke with on 7/9. Since then, I have called her twice and have not received a reply. At this point, it has been SEVEN WEEKS since I returned the boards and I still have not received a refund. This is completely unacceptable!!

Desired Settlement: I want the refund that was promised to me seven weeks ago. (Full refund for damaged board; refund for returned board minus shipping charges and restocking fee.) At this point, my credit card information has changed, so I would like US Markerboard to call me and get my new credit card when they are ready to issue the refund.

Business Response: Hello *****
This is to confirm that a check in the amount of $615.13 was issued to you on 7/27/12.  Check number ****.  I refunded you in full for one of the 4'x10' whiteboards, a deducted the cost to ship back the other 4' x 10' board, along with the restocking fee.  I did not charge you for the reconsignment charges that we incurred from the trucking company due to the refusal of the delivery, nor did we charge you for the storage fees we also incurred during the same process.  I apologize for the delay in getting this resolved and look forward to the opportunity to earn your business back in the future.

Kind regards
***** ******
President/ CEO

Consumer Response:   I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.