Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tunnera & Sons Roofing & Home Improvements

Phone: (508) 624-9956 View Additional Phone Numbers 23 Barnes Circle, Marlborough, MA 01752

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Tunnera & Sons Roofing & Home Improvements is a residential and commercial general contractor specializing in home improvements, roofing installs/repairs, siding & exteriors, gutters, windows & door installation/repair, drywall, demolition, carpentry, cabinets, patios & decks, all season porches, flooring, interior/exterior painting, and handyman repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tunnera & Sons Roofing & Home Improvements meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tunnera & Sons Roofing & Home Improvements
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 2011 Business started: 05/01/2005 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
The number is 133492.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Paul Tunnera, Owner Mr. Grant Everett, Foreman Ms. Carol Maclellan, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Tunnera, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category


Products & Services

Tunnera & Sons Roofing & Home Improvements sells the following brand(s): CertainTeed, GAF, Owens Corning

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 7:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Service Area
Tunnera & Sons Roofing & Home Improvements provides their services in DEDHAM, FRAMINGHAM, GLOUCESTER, HUDSON, SOUTHBOROUGH, WEST BOYLSTON, WESTBOROUGH & WESTFORD, MA.
Alternate Business Names
Tunnera and Sons
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Cabinet Makers Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Handyman Services Hiring a Carpenter Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Painter Hiring a Painter - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Roofer Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Home Improvement Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Windows

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tunnera & Sons Roofing & Home Improvements has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 23 Barnes Circle

    Marlborough, MA 01752 (508) 624-9956 (774) 249-8065


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tunnera & Sons performed an extensive roof repair including removal of old asphalt shingles and installing ******** ** to the entire roof surface at ** *********** **** *********** ** beginning on 12/5/14 and completing on 12/7/14. All workmanship was guaranteed for 5 years. I purchased this home on January 15, 2015, moving in on January 29, 2015. I needed to have the attic insulated and other energy efficiency work done. Installers arrived on 2/19/15 and immediately detected a leak in the attic from the roof near the chimney area. No insulation work could be done given this situation. I immediately called Tunnera & Sons and spoke to a woman who told me **** *******, owner, was on a roof and would call back as soon as he could. After a period of time I tried the cell phone of **** ******* and got no answer; the message box was full so the call was disconnected. I tried the main number again, getting a message machine, and left a message detailing the detection of a leak and the necessity for **** to come and assess the situation. The leak needed to be repaired and the rest of the roof okayed concerning any additional leaks prior to the necessary insulation work being done. Problems with ice damming were critical, the work needing to be done was critical, and nothing could continue until the roof repair was completed. Photos had been taken which I texted to **** at 3:09 pm, 2/19/15 with the following message: "**** I have been trying to reach you about a leak found in my attic where the chimney is. I have an insulation company waiting for this repair to be made and your ok that the remaining areas are leak free. ** *********** *** ** **********, new roof in early December. Please let me know if you can come look at the area and repair. Photo of problem area to follow." No response. I tried the cell phone again, no answer, call disconnected due to full message machine. Called the main number again, got a strange message about sending a fax, no message machine to record into. So much for common courtesy not to mention honoring a warranty, I never heard from Mr. *******. I had to contact another roofing company and wait for them to be able to come repair my roof. They were able to come 2/27/15 and what they found, according to the repairman, was an incorrectly installed flashing around the chimney that was not doubly protected. Flashing that was too short had been placed under the shingles and water simply ran underneath and into the attic. Longer flashing was installed with the doubled protection necessary. The cost I incurred due to the improperly performed repair and failure to honor a warranty was $270. I participated in the paying of Mr. ******* in the purchase process for this house and wish to be refunded/reimbursed $270.

Desired Settlement: I believe I am entitled to be reimbursed/refunded for expenses I incurred totaling $270. I believe I gave Mr. ******* ample notice of a critical problem and never received a response leaving me no choice but to hire someone else to complete the job.

Business Response:  I have attached the contract we had with the original owners, ****** and *** *****. this is not a transferable contract. We told Mrs. ***** she needed to have the ice damns removed, just like everyone else new roof or not this winter has been hectic for everyone. It had nothing to do with our work. She thought we had to do it, because we did the roof. I did speak with her, and told her that it is not our fault, everyone has ice damns and leaking, if we where to do it, she would have to pay for it.  No we will not reimburse her for work she had some one else do.Best Regards,*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.    Regards, **** *****  

Business Response: I am sorry your unsatisfied, We did not have a contract with you. You had leaking due to ice dams, and you chose to have someone else fix the problem, which I am sure was not the flashing but I apologize that you have issues.  We where very busy and we couldn't get to you when you wanted us too. Again we will not be reimbursing you for having another company do the work.*****

Consumer Response: The "contract" is an estimate prepared for the real estate agent involved in the sale of the property, ***** ******.  I notice the one submitted to BBB says ***** but neither document is signed. Nowhere does it say non-transferable.  As part of the agreement to purchase I paid a portion of the $7,400 bill; this info can be substantiated by the agent ***** ****** and by my attorney ****** *******. I'm sorry the business does not believe the receipt indicating flashing was what was indeed repaired.  Repaired because it was not done properly by Tunnera and Sons, it had to be lengthened and reinforced.  The gentleman doing the work called the prior job "shoddy workmanship".  Nonetheless I provided accurate documentation as to what was done, which was new flashing.The leak was NOT caused by ice damming.  I was saying in my phone call that ice damming was the reason I needed to insulate the attic, that the leak was at the chimney and pitch of the roof which was NOT where the ice damming was occurring.  I realize how bad the winter was but nonetheless there should not have been a leak at that site.  Fortunately there have been no other leaks.  What I was told when I spoke to ***** initially was that **** would call me back shortly.  That never happened.  I simply wanted him to look at the leak to determine if workmanship was the cause and if so, repair it.  I am not the expert but the expert would not respond, there is no way ***** can have an informed opinion.  The company I called IS expert and I rely on their veracity.I believe Tunnera & Sons are responsible under the terms listed in the estimate provided to take care of any issues with the roof due to their workmanship for 5 years.  Due to their lack of response to my request for help they are responsible for reimbursement to me of $270 for expenses I incurredRegards, **** *****  

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Work was done Jan. 2013 a section of flashing has come away from the house susceptible to water coming into house I called Tunnera to repair this: November 2013, early April 2014 and April 21 2014 He has provide me with a 5 year warranty for workmanship

Desired Settlement: Repair

Business Response:  We truly apologize to you *****, Yes time had gone by and he had forgot, but it is all taken care of now.**** went by and fixed the problem and made sure everything look okay on the rubber roof.Thank you,*****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. Regards, ***** ******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tunnera & Sons Roofing & Home Improvements
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart