This business is not BBB accredited.

Gennaro's Eatery Inc.

Phone: (617) 773-1500 12 Blanchard Rd, Quincy, MA 02169

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Gennaro's Eatery is a full service restaurant specializing  in Italian Cuisine. The restaurant also does catering  and private parties, take out is available. The non Italian specialty is Corn Beef and Cabbage on March 17th.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gennaro's Eatery Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gennaro's Eatery Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 2012 Business started: 04/01/1994 in MA Business started locally: 04/01/1994 Business incorporated 04/04/2001 in MA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gerry Martocchio, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerry Martocchio, President
Number of Employees


Business Category


Restaurant Details
Reservation URL: Menu URL: Cuisine: Italian
Hours of Operation
M: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
T: 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
S: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday: Pickup, PreOrdered Catering & Private Parties Only
Method(s) of Payment
American Express
Discover Card
Industry Tips
Read Before You Sign Restaurants

Additional Locations


    12 Blanchard Rd

    Quincy, MA 02169 (617) 773-1500


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a catering order from Gennaro's for delivery at 3:30 on June 7, 2014. The driver dropped off the order, had me sign the charge slip and left. Later in the evening I discovered that I did not receive 3 items I had ordered and paid for: a cold cut platter for 30 people, ($105), a tray of eggplant parm ($65), and two dozen miniature pastries ($30). It was after 8:00 when I discovered I did not receive these items, so I did not call that night. I was also in the middle of my party. I called Gennaro's on Sunday, the next day, and was told the business was closed I would have to call back on Monday. On Monday I called and spoke with *****, the catering manager. She told me there was no way I did not receive everything, and there was nothing she could do because I should have called on Saturday. I told her why I did not call on Saturday and she said there was nothing she could do, she would have to talk to the owner. I told her I wanted a refund for the amount I paid for the items I did not receive, she said there was "nothing she could do" I asked to have the owner call me. The catering manager was rude, was essentially telling my I was lying to her, and hung up on me at the end of the call. On Tuesday, June 10th, *****, the owner called me and told me that the order is triple checked and my order was the only order in the van so it is impossible for me not to have received the order. I told him repeatedly that I did not receive those three items. He continued to tell me it was impossible. He said he would speak to the driver and call me back. He has never called me back. I have called and left messages for him on Thursday June 12th and Friday June 13th. Neither call has been returned. I never received the items above.

Desired Settlement: The total of the items I did not receive is $200 before any taxes or fees. I would like my credit card to be refunded the total amount I paid for the items I did not receive.

Business Response: I am the owner of Gennaro’s & have been here for 20 plus years. I would never be rude to any customer of mine. I tried three times to call back the number on the sheet, with no response. I have a rule in place, that every driver must have the customer look over all items & sign off on the credit slip. You apparently did that & later thought you did not receive all your items. You called me on Monday to tell me that you were missing items from the order. So I researched the problem & viewed the delivery & loading of all the items which we do a triple check before they leave the business. It clearly shows the items being loaded into the van for delivery. There was only one stop loaded in the van for delivery. I’m not trying to be rude in any way & respect all my customers totally. I cannot just lose money every time someone calls us after they signed the invoice & then request money back for missing items. I would like to offer you a gift card for One Hundred Dollars to show you I do care about any complaints. Owning a small business is very difficult to manage on a day to day basis & try to keep everybody happy and coming back for good food and service.  Hope you understand my side of the coin.  I have been in business for twenty years & have a good reputation in business practices and loyalty. ****** ********** Owner & Chef

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********.  As I stated in my original response, the amount of the order I did not receive was $200.  The owner has once again inferred that I am lying about not receiving the food.  I did sign the order, but I did not review what was received with the driver.  I realize that was my error as I trusted that the driver had delivered everything.  However, the driver did not ask me to review the order either.  He had walked away from where the food was set up and was waiting for me to come outside to sign the paper. The owner states he has a rule that drivers review the order with the customer, well this driver is not adhering the rules of the business then.  So, although the owner strongly feels that his driver did everything right and that the order was triple checked, the fact still remains that I did NOT receive my entire order, and I lost $200.  I am deeply offended at the owners statement "I cannot just lose money every time someone calls us after they signed the invoice & then request money back for missing items".  He continues to imply that I am trying to take money from him.  When in turn, he is stealing $200 from me by not delivering what I paid for.  His lack of concern over this matter is evident in that it has taken him 2 months to respond to this complaint.  He did not try to call me 3 times as he states.  I had made multiple phone calls to his business, all of which went un-returned. The owner states he "respects" is customers.  If that is the case, he would have refunded me the $200 or offered me a $200 gift card back in early June when I first contacted him about my issue.  Instead I was treated like someone who was trying to "get something for nothing", by both him and his catering manager.  I will only accept a refund of the full $200 that I have lost. Accepting the $100 offer that he has made will imply that I agree with his evaluation of the situation and that I am lying about receiving the food.  I do NOT agree with his interpretation of the situation and I DID NOT receive the food.  I once again request that Genarro's Eatery act as a  respectful business that he claims he is and refund me the money I am owed.  Anything less than the $200 refund will be seen as theft on his part.  Regards, ******** **************